DETAILED ACTION
In Applicant’s Response filed 2/24/26, Applicant has amended claims 1-3; amended the abstract; and amended the specification. Currently, claims 1-3 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al (WO 2007/003905) in view of Hishinuma (US 6423165).
With respect to claim 1, Griffiths discloses a bandage of elongate form (material suitable for forming into a wound dressing/bandage – pg 1 lines 1-4; the bandage material is in elongate form and provided in a roll as shown in fig 1) in which sections of the bandage can be of a woven or non-woven fabric (pg 1 lines 4-6); the bandage comprising multiple side-by-side sections (cut lengths of the roll material can be joined together along longitudinal edges thus providing multiple side-by-side sections of the bandage – pg 6 lines 16-23) wherein the adjoining sections of the multiple side-by-side sections are held together via fibre material (the cut lengths of the roll material are joined by stitching – pg 6 lines 16-19).
Griffiths does not, however, disclose that the side-by-side sections are held together via water-soluble fibre material.
Hishinuma teaches use of water soluble threads (threads are interpreted as being fibre material) for sewing pieces of cloth together (col 3 lines 11-12,40-42) and then using water to solve and remove the water-soluble threads in order to disconnect the cloth pieces and separate them from one another (col 3 lines 51-53 and col 8 lines 16-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used water soluble threads as taught by Hishinuma for the stitches that join the side-by-side sections of the bandage in Griffiths in order to allow easy separation of individual sections from one another using just water to permit selective removal of sections in order to customize the shape and/or size of the bandage.
With respect to claim 2, Griffiths in view of Hishinuma discloses the bandage substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Griffiths further discloses that the adjoining sections of the bandage are sewn together (the cut lengths of the roll material are joined by stitching – pg 6 lines 16-19).
Griffiths does not, however, disclose that the sections are sewn together with a water soluble thread.
Hishinuma teaches use of water soluble threads (threads are interpreted as being fibre material) for sewing pieces of cloth together (col 3 lines 11-12,40-42) and then using water to solve and remove the water-soluble threads in order to disconnect the cloth pieces and separate them from one another (col 3 lines 51-53 and col 8 lines 16-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used water soluble threads as taught by Hishinuma for the stitches that are used for sewing the sections together in Griffiths in order to allow easy separation of individual sections from one another using just water to permit selective removal of sections in order to customize the shape and/or size of the bandage.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al (WO 2007/003905) in view of Hishinuma (US 6423165) and further in view of Simon (US 2006/0159730).
With respect to claim 3, Griffiths in view of Hishinuma discloses the bandage substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not disclose that the adjoining sections are joined together by a non-woven soluble material which is attached to each adjoining section of the bandage by needling or alternatively adhesive.
Simon, however, teaches a structure which includes multiple sections (layers of nonwoven fabric) that are joined together by non-woven soluble material (the medium used to form the article can comprise at least two layers of nonwoven fabric that are each constituted essentially by fibers that are soluble in water – see para [0053]; more specifically, the medium can comprise a plurality of layers that are assembled together as described in para [0076] which is interpreted to mean that the article includes more than just two layers, wherein one of said layers inherently will join the layers located directly adjacent to it to each other) which is attached to each adjoining section by adhesive (the plurality of layers are assembled together such as by adhesive – para [0076]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the bandage of Griffiths in view of Hishinuma so that the adjoining sections are joined together by a non-woven soluble material which is attached to each adjoining section of the bandage by adhesive, as taught by Simon, in order to allow easy separation of individual sections from the bandage using just water to permit selective removal of sections in order to customize the shape and/or size of the bandage.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 2/24/26 have been fully considered as follows:
Regarding the objections to the abstract, Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objections which, accordingly, have been withdrawn.
Regarding the objections to the specification, Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objections which, accordingly, have been withdrawn.
Regarding the objections to the claims, Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objections which, accordingly, have been withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant’s arguments on pages 4-7 have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN A CARREIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786