DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price et al (US # 9,261,406). The Price reference discloses a pyrometer device (104, 210) for temperature determination in laser plastic welding (Figs. 3 & 5), comprising:
a first fiber connector (unlabeled) for a first optical fiber (218);
a second fiber connector (116) for a second optical fiber (108, 214); and
a radiation temperature sensor (102, 206);
wherein the pyrometer device is adapted to forward process laser radiation received via the first fiber connector (218) to the second fiber connector (214) and output via the second fiber connector (Col. 4, ll. 55-67);
wherein the pyrometer device (104, 210) is adapted to forward thermal radiation received via the second fiber connector to the radiation temperature sensor (Col. 5, ll. 61-64; Col. 5, ll. 26-66).
With respect to claim 2, see column 4, lines 55-67.
With respect to claim 3, see column 5, lines 26-66.
With respect to claims 4 & 5, Price discloses the partially transmissive mirror (230) for separating the laser beam from the pyrometer signal (Col. 5, ll. 50).
With respect to claim 6, the mirror 230 has a “highly reflective surface” 232 affects the coupling between the fibers 234, 214.
With respect to claim 7, the Price reference discloses that the optic fiber 214 is not just for delivery of the optical signal, but also has “homogenization function” on the light beam as well (Col. 6, ll. 5-25). This is an “adjustment device” as it affects the light beam.
With respect to claim 10, the Price reference discloses the first (234) and the second (214) optical fibers.
With respect to claim 15, Price discloses the system (Col. 3, ll. 26-53).
With respect to claim 16, the laser disclosed is either a “fiber laser”, or a “diode laser” (Col. 4, ll. 65-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al (US # 9,261,406). The exact wavelength of the laser, and the wavelength of the reflected light signal, would have been obvious parameters for the ordinary practioner to optimize through routine trial and error. See MPEP § 2144.05, subsection (II).
With respect to claims 11-13, the relative diameters of the optical fibers would have been obvious parameters for the ordinary practioner to optimize through routine trial and error.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Price et al (US # 9,261,406). The Prince reference discloses generic “optics” 228 for directing a signal to the pyrometer, but does not expressly disclose a “spectral filter” for filtering out the laser radiation. However, it is clear that the mirror 230 is designed to reflect the laser but not the reflected signal, so this seems to meet the limitation of a “spectral filter”; but in the alternative, if not inherently present already, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to include a spectral filter to prevent the laser light from entering the pyrometer and giving false temperature readings.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al (US # 9,261,406) in view of H.R. Potts (US # 3,420,719). The Price reference does not disclose a power meter for monitoring the output of the laser diode, but this was a well-known feedback mechanism for maintaining a laser output at a stable level as shown by the example of the Potts reference (Col. 2, ll. 35-53), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the control of the diode laser (206) of Price to include a power meter to monitor the output of the diode laser (206) to provide feedback control of the laser output to insure a stable power output over time.
Conclusion
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855