Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Claims 3 and 4 use the term “peracid”. An accepted meaning of the “per” prefix (depending on context) is the presence of a peroxy group (-O-O-). A “peracid” is therefore an acid characterized by the presence of a peroxy group, such as peracetic acid [CH3C(O)-O-O-H] or persulfuric acid. See Hawley, attached.
In contrast, the specification indicates examples of “peracids” include substances such as di-t-butylperoxide, cumene hydroperoxide, dicumyl peroxide, or benzoyl peroxide (¶ 17), but these compounds are not “peracids” in the ordinary sense discussed above. The term “peracid” is not re-defined within the specification, nor within the claims. Therefore, the scope of the claims is unclear as it is uncertain what the full intended scope of the terminology “peracid” is meant to be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott (U.S. Pat. No. 3,700,615) as evidenced by Watabe (U.S. Pat. No. 4,426,459).
Regarding Claim 1, Scott teaches methods of depolymerizing waste vulcanized rubber via heating rubber in the presence of free-radical initiator and molecular oxygen (Abstract). The action of oxygen on transitional metal salts procures free radicals, which in turn depolymerize the rubber (Col. 4, line 63 to Col. 5, Line 29) construed as radical precursor converted into radical active species via radical initiator. Scott teaches examples where waste tires are depolymerized to effect rubber dissolution in solvent (Example 2). As evidenced by Watabe, decomposable scrap tire rubber is originally created via sulfur vulcanization (Col. 2, Lines 20-43). Note also Scott indicates the resulting rubber is re-vulcanized via sulfur (Col. 8, Lines 1-12). While not describing the overall mechanism by which the rubber is depolymerized, since Scott also depolymerizes vulcanized rubbers/tires using free radicals, it stands to reason the free radicals produced acts on sulfur crosslinks present within the vulcanized rubber in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watabe (U.S. Pat. No. 4,426,459).
Regarding Claim 1, Watabe teaches methods of decomposing vulcanized rubber via heating in the presence of hydroperoxide (free radical intiator) and copper/cobalt salt (radical precursor) (Abstract; Examples). The reaction can also be accelerated by air/oxygen (Col. 3, Lines 54-60), also deemed to be radical precursor. Examples are taught where waste vulcanized tires are depolymerized with heating (Col. 4-5). The decomposable scrap tire rubber is originally created via sulfur vulcanization (Col. 2, Lines 20-43). While not describing the overall mechanism by which the rubber is depolymerized, since Watabe also depolymerizes vulcanized rubbers/tires using free radicals, it stands to reason the free radicals produced acts on sulfur crosslinks present within the vulcanized rubber in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, Watabe teaches comparative examples where phosphine compound is used as radical precursor in conjunction with t-butylhydroperoxide (Col. 4, Lines 25-29; Table 1), the latter construed as a “peracid” (see ¶ 17 of the specification).
Regarding Claim 3, Watabe teaches embodiments where t-butylhydroperoxide is used (Col. 5, Lines 4-9), construed as a “peracid” (see ¶ 17 of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott (U.S. Pat. No. 3,700,615) in view of Watabe (U.S. Pat. No. 4,426,459).
Scott teaches methods of depolymerizing waste vulcanized rubber via heating rubber in the presence of free-radical initiator and molecular oxygen (Abstract). The action of oxygen on transitional metal salts procures free radicals, which in turn depolymerize the rubber (Col. 4, line 63 to Col. 5, Line 29) construed as radical precursor converted into radical active species via radical initiator. Scott teaches examples where waste tires are depolymerized to effect rubber dissolution in solvent (Example 2). As evidenced by Watabe, decomposable scrap tire rubber is originally created via sulfur vulcanization (Col. 2, Lines 20-43). Note also Scott indicates the resulting rubber is re-vulcanized via sulfur (Col. 8, Lines 1-12). While not describing the overall mechanism by which the rubber is depolymerized, since Scott also depolymerizes vulcanized rubbers/tires using free radicals, it stands to reason the free radicals produced acts on sulfur crosslinks present within the vulcanized rubber in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Scott teaches embodiments where depolymerization occurs via peroxy/azo compounds or with transitional metal compounds such as cobalt naphthenate generating free radicals via action of molecular oxygen (Col. 2, Line 71 to Col. 3, Line 7). Scott differs from the subject matter claimed in that the further inclusion of radical precursor with the peroxy/azo compounds is not described.
Watabe also pertains to the chemical devulcanization of waste rubbers via free radicals (Abstract; Examples). Watabe teaches it was known transition metal salts such as cobalt or copper salts are capable of reacting with other oxidants such as peroxides (Abstract; Col. 2, Line 64 to Col. 3, Line 18). The salts give higher degrees of depolymerization compared to using peroxide alone (Tables 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize radical precursor salts such as the cobalt/copper salts of Watabe within the reactions of Scott because doing so would increase the degree of depolymerizations as taught by Watabe.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 19/022,319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the ‘319 application claims a method of desulfurizing vulcanized rubber using phosphine oxides as desulfurizing agents and free radical initiator that generates a radical active species (Claims 1 and 2). Heating is performed (Claims 6 and 7). Therefore, the ‘319 application anticipates the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1, 2, 6, and 7 of copending Application No. 19/022,319 in view of Scott (U.S. Pat. No. 3,700,615).
The discussion regarding the ‘319 application within ¶ 22 is incorporated herein by reference.
To the extent ‘319 differs from the subject matter claimed via the use of “peracid” / azo compound radical intiators, the use of such initiators were known in the art for the purpose of effecting free radical devulcanization of waste rubbers. See Abstract, Col. 4, line 63 to Col. 5, Line 29 of Scott. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize known free radical intiators such as “peracids” / azo compounds, thereby predictably affording workable radical devulcanization reactions within the ‘319 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alvarez (US 2025/0075053 A1) and Noel (ACS Sustainable Chem. Eng. 2022, 10, 159-165) both describe the devulcanization of waste rubbers using peroxides.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759