DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a first Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DESAI et al, US 2017/0040831.
Re claim 1:
DESAI teaches a receiver circuitry for receiving power through wireless power transfer, said receiver circuitry comprising:
A power receiver configured to receive a power signal from a wireless power transmitter and generate an alternating current (AC) input signal (i.e., inductive element 80 [0067] [Figure 6]);
A converter circuit configured to receive the AC input signal and to convert the AC input signal to a direct current (DC) output signal (i.e., rectifier 81 and DC-DC converter 85 form a converter circuit [0069]-[0071] [Figure 6]);
A control unit configured to control at least one parameter of the converter circuit for controlling efficiency of power transfer (i.e., controller 86 [0069]-[0071] [Figure 6]);
A detector configured to generate a measurement signal representing available power of the AC input signal (i.e., current sensor 87 in conjunction with peak detector 88 [0069] [Figure 6]);
Wherein the control unit is configured to receive the measurement signal from the detector and to control the at least one parameter based on the measurement signal for feedforward control of the at least one parameter (i.e., processor 92 receives output of the peak detector and is configured to provide feed forward control of the duty cycle of the DC-DC converter [0069]-[0071]).
Re claim 2:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 2, wherein the detector is a peak detector configured to detect an amplitude of the AC input signal for the power receiver being unloaded, whereby the measurement signal represents the amplitude of the AC input signal [0069].
Re claim 5:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to store a conversion rule for converting a value of the measurement signal to a control signal for controlling a value of the at least one parameter (implicit [0070] [0071]).
Re claim 8:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the converter circuit comprises a rectifier circuit (81), configured to receive the AC input signal and to convert the AC input signal to a DC input signal, and a DC-DC converter circuit (85) configured to convert the DC input signal to the DC output signal, wherein the control unit is configured to control more than one parameter of the rectifier circuit and/or the DC-DC converter circuit [0056] [0069]-[0071] [Figure 6].
Re claim 9:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 8, wherein the rectifier circuit comprises a comparator configured to drive a switch [0068].
Re claim 13:
DESAI discloses an implant device comprising the receiver circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the implant device is configured to be implanted in a body and configured to receive power through wireless power transfer [0072].
Re claim 14:
DESAI discloses a method for receiving power through wireless power transfer, said method comprising:
Receiving a power signal from a wireless power transmitter [0067];
Generating an alternating current (AC) input signal based on the power signal [0067] [0068];
Measuring the AC input signal to generate a measurement signal representing available power of the AC input signal [0069];
Controlling at least one parameter based on the measurement signal for feedforward control of the at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is at least one parameter of a converter circuit, configured to receive the AC input signal and to convert the AC input signal to a direct current (DC) output signal [0069]-[0071].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DESAI et al, US 2017/0040831.
Re claim 3:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 2, but does not specify the detector comprises an active peak detector; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the peak detector of DESAI to be an active peak detector. Active peak detectors are merely one common type of peak detector that provides higher accuracy than passive peak detectors.
Re claim 4:
DESAI discloses the receiver circuitry according to claim 2, but does not specify the detector comprises a passive peak detector; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the peak detector of DESAI to be a passive peak detector. Passive peak detectors are merely one common type of peak detector that is known to provide simple and low-cost detection that do not require connection to a power source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SMITH et al, US 2013/0310630, teaches a method and system for powering implantable devices.
/LAURA A GUDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876