DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 02/12/2026.
Claims 1-13,15-19 and 37-38 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3-4,6, 9, 11, 13, 15-16, and 18 are amended. Claims 14 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 37 and 38 are added.
Response to Amendment
Rejections for claims 4 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are withdrawn.
Examiner notes that claims 4 and 16 with the same original limitations are now amended differently. Claim 4 amended limitation recites “wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further in response to determining that a bandwidth of the first access point is below a threshold”, examiner emphasis. Claim 16 recites “wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further based on determining that a bandwidth of the first access point is below a threshold.” , examiner emphasis. For purposes of examination, the amended claims 4 and 16 will be interpreted as filed 02/12/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 02/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 20150052255 A1, hereinafter “Sun”), in view of Naganna et al. (US 20240381228 A1, herein after “Naganna”), in view of Jin et al. (US 20160330077 A1, hereinafter “Jin”).
RE Claims 1 and 13, Sun discloses a system or method:
control circuitry (Electronic devices configured with coverage hole detection unit, link establishment unit, and configuration unit, e.g. smart phone, network bridging, or access point. Fig. 1: 102, 104, or 108; Fig. 7) configured to:
identify a first performance metric of a first wireless network connection between a client device and a first access point (Client device receives beacon message to determine link quality, e.g. weak signal, versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. low signal strength, a high attenuation level, high error rate, low data rate, etc. ¶0059, Fig. 6), the first wireless network connection associated with a first BSSID (Client device sends connection request to a first access point. ¶0027, Fig. 2A; Client device joins the BSS of the network device, first access point. ¶0048), the first BSSID corresponding to the first access point and a first location of the client device (Network device, first access point, determines location of the client device, first location, from the client device. The location of the client device is recorded in terms of MAC address, first BSSID, of the network device, first access point. ¶0034, Fig. 2B);
identify a second performance metric of a second wireless network connection between the client device and the second access point, the second wireless network connection associated with the second BSSID (Client devices detects multiple access points, a second access point. Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034);
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
identify a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the client device and the first BSSID;
identify a second BSSID detectable to the client device, the second BSSID corresponding to a second access point;
determine that a performance of the second wireless network connection is higher in quality than a performance of the first wireless network connection, based at least in part on comparing the second performance metric and the first performance metric;
based at least in part on the determining, automatically configure the second wireless network connection with the second BSSID and the SSID.
However, Naganna discloses:
identify a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the client device and the first BSSID (First wireless client, client device, associates with a first access point having a BSSID and a first SSID. The SSID broadcast is inhibited, hidden SSID mode for one or more SSIDs, causing the first wireless client to send a probe with the specific SSID to associate, a specific relation of a client device with a first BSSID and SSID. ¶¶0007-0011, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 8);
identify a second BSSID detectable to the client device, the second BSSID corresponding to a second access point (User1, client device, identifies a CommonAreaAP, a second access point, and the associated BSSID, a second BSSID. ¶¶0035-0036, Fig. 6, 7);
Sun and Naganna do not explicitly disclose:
determine that a performance of the second wireless network connection is higher in quality than a performance of the first wireless network connection, based at least in part on comparing the second performance metric and the first performance metric;
based at least in part on the determining, automatically configure the second wireless network connection with the second BSSID and the SSID.
However, Jin discloses:
determine that a performance of the second wireless network connection is higher in quality than a performance of the first wireless network connection, based at least in part on comparing the second performance metric and the first performance metric (Control And Provisioning of Wireless Access Points (CAPWAP) is a protocol that enables a centralized control in wireless networks. ¶0003; The CAPWAP protocol enables a central wireless local area network (LAN) Access Controller (AC) to manage a collection of Wireless Termination Points (WTPs). ¶0072; In the case of a CAPWAP frame 2200 being transmitted from a WTP to an AC, the wireless specific information 2230 may include, but is not limited, any of the following fields: RSSI 2232, SNR 2234, and/or data rate 2236. ¶0172; In this scenario, WTRU 2302 is already attached to the network, via WTP 2304, but at 2314 the signal quality it perceives is getting low, so at 2316 WTRU 2302 begins looking for additional APs (WTPs), for example WTP 2305. This may include the WTRU 2302 actively scan searching for available 802.11 networks and for more APs from the same ESS (e.g. WTRU1-WLAN). ¶0176, fig. 23; At 2320, after receiving both Probe Request frames 2318 and 2324, the CAPWAP AC 2313 may decide to replicate the virtual WLAN (e.g., SSID=WTRU1-WLAN) on WTP 2305, so that WTRU 2302 can roam there. The decision to do so might be based, for example, on the SNR and RSSI values encapsulated together with the Probe Request frames 2318 received via WTP 2304 and Probe requests 2322 and 2324 from WTP 2305. ¶0178, fig. 23; A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that one basis for handover decision is comparing current and target access in terms of signal quality.);
based at least in part on the determining, automatically configure the second wireless network connection with the second BSSID and the SSID (The SDN/OpenFlow controller 1413 may send an SDN/OpenFlow message 1422 to the selected AP, which is AP 1404 in this example. For example, the SDN/OpenFlow message 1422 may be sent with an OF-Config message (e.g. OF-Config[set-config(new VLAN, SSID=WTRU1-VLAN, additional info)]). SDN/OpenFlow message 1422 may contain information to configure a virtual AP on physical AP 1404, including, but not limited to, an SSID (e.g. SSID=WTRU1-VLAN), basic service set identification (BSSID), channel, authentication parameters, and/or security parameters, for example. ¶0127; At 2320, after receiving both Probe Request frames 2318 and 2324, the CAPWAP AC 2313 may decide to replicate the virtual WLAN (e.g., SSID=WTRU1-WLAN) on WTP 2305, so that WTRU 2302 can roam there. The decision to do so might be based, for example, on the SNR and RSSI values encapsulated together with the Probe Request frames 2318 received via WTP 2304 and Probe requests 2322 and 2324 from WTP 2305. At 2328, the AC 2313 may send an IEEE 802.11 Add WLAN primitive to WTP 2305 indicating any of the following: SSID=WTRU1-WLAN, split-MAC, and/or other parameters. At 2330, a virtual WLAN with SSID=WTRU1-WLAN is created on WTP 2305, which may send a probe response (e.g. with SSID=WTRU1-WLAN) to the WTRU 2302. ¶0178; A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that one basis for a handover decision is comparing current and target access in terms of signal quality.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and a neighboring second BSSID such as a common area use AP, with the teachings of Jin, creation of virtual access points at physical access points that are enabled on-demand as mobile nodes appear with characteristics tailored to the specific needs of the mobile node it serves, specific SSID or ESSID. “When the need to connect to a new network arises due to low signal quality from the current point of attachment when an already connected mobile node moves, the network may configure neighboring radio accesses to provide candidate targets to the mobile node that belongs to the same L2 network. This virtual L2 network may also be connected to the same logical L3 network. This may effectively create a virtual network that “follows” the mobile node.”, Jin ¶0082.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of performance is made to determine selection of an access point with the best performance. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Jin: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0005, 0067, 0071-0074, 0075, 0082, 0086-0090, Fig. 6)
RE Claim 2, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein the performance metric includes one or more of signal strength, bandwidth, retry rate, packet loss rate, latency (element is optional), or jitter(element is optional) (Client device receives beacon message to determine link quality, e.g. weak signal, versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. low signal strength, a high attenuation level, high error rate, low data rate, etc. ¶0059, Fig. 6; low backhaul bandwidth, ¶0032; highest bandwidth, ¶0034; number of failed transmission attempts, ¶0071).
RE Claim 5 and 17, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein the client device is associated with a location profile (Network device, access point, can determine location, actual or relative, of client device to the network device. ¶0034, Fig. 1: 102), the location profile including at least one of a location fingerprint of the client device (Location of the client device recorded in terms of a MAC address, BSSID is part of a fingerprint, of the network device, access point. A location of a coverage hole, region of poor performance/coverage. ¶0034; Central access point records location of client device in a coverage hole. ¶0054.), signal strength data associated with at least one access point corresponding to a BSSID detectable to the client device at a previous location (Client device transmits a coverage hole notification to central access point of a location where client device detected low signal strength from a detected access point. ¶0059; Central access point records location of the client device in a coverage hole by recording MAC address, BSSID, of the network device, an access point. ¶0054), or at least one BSSID corresponding to an access point previously connected to the client device at the previous location (Coverage hole detection detects locations access points provide good WLAN coverage, previous connected, and access points that provided bad WLAN coverage. Records of the location of coverage hole, signal strength, device identifiers of detected access points, BSSIDs, are provided to the central access point. Client device reports list of detected access points and a link quality associated with each of the detected access points. ¶¶0070, 0073; Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034);
determining a current location of the client device (Network device, access point, can determine location, actual or relative, of client device to the network device. ¶0034, Fig. 1: 102; Coverage hole detection by monitoring user activity at a current location. ¶0071;);
determining, based on the location profile, that the second access point corresponding to the second BSSID is at least one of: having a stronger signal strength of a plurality of access points at the current location (Network device, access point, can determine location, actual or relative, of client device to the network device. ¶0034, Fig. 1: 102; Coverage hole detection by monitoring user activity at a current location. ¶0071; Client devices detects multiple access points, a second access point. Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034), being frequently connected with the client device at the current location (element is optional), or being recently connected with the client device at the current location (Coverage hole detection detects locations access points provide good WLAN coverage, previous connected, and access points that provided bad WLAN coverage. Records of the location of coverage hole, signal strength, device identifiers of detected access points, BSSIDs, are provided to the central access point. Client device reports list of detected access points and a link quality associated with each of the detected access points. ¶¶0070, 0073; Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034).
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein configuring the second wireless network connection with the second BSSID and the SSID is further based on:
However, Naganna discloses:
wherein configuring the second wireless network connection with the second BSSID and the SSID (User, UE1, changes location from an apartment, location for first access point and specific SSID, to a communal area in a multi-dwelling unit, location of a second access point. Second access point, a second BSSID, is configured with the specific SSID associated with the user from the first access point. ¶0029, Fig. 1) is further based on:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of performance is made to determine selection of an access point with the best performance. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7)
RE Claims 6 and 18, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein the control circuitry (Electronic devices configured with coverage hole detection unit, link establishment unit, and configuration unit, e.g. smart phone, network bridging, or access point. Fig. 1: 102, 104, or 108; Fig. 7) is further configured to:
based at least in part on determining a change in a location fingerprint of the client device and determining that the performance of the first wireless network is higher in quality than the performance of the second wireless network connection at a current location of the client device (Network device, access point, can determine location, actual or relative, of client device to the network device. ¶0034, Fig. 1: 102; “As another example, if the client device 108 receives a beacon message that are not in accordance with preferred performance measurements (e.g., if the received beacon message has a low signal strength, a high attenuation level, high error rate, low data rate, etc.), the coverage hole detection unit 128 can infer that the client device 108 is in a coverage hole.”, ¶0059.; Coverage hole detection by monitoring user activity at a current location. ¶0071; Location of the client device recorded in terms of a MAC address, BSSID is part of a fingerprint, of the network device, access point. A location of a coverage hole, region of poor performance/coverage. Client device detects multiple access points in the network and typically select the access point with the preferred communication capabilities, e.g. highest signal strength performance metric. ¶0034;):
reestablish the first wireless network connection with the first BSSID and the SSID (A reserved SSID is associated the client. ¶¶0024, 0051; A first AP, a first BSSID, receives connection request from the client. First access point determines that the client can establish a communication link to a second access point, a second BSSID. A coverage hole is determined for first or second access point. If the client can establish a link to the second access point and not the first access point then it establishes the link with the second access point. Alternatively, If the client can establish a link to the first access point and not the second access point then it establishes the link with the first access point. ¶¶0026-0030, Fig. 2A; Beacon report feature used to identify locations broadcasting reserved SSID, the SSID, that provide good WLAN coverage with received high signal strength. Client transmits report to network devices. The client reports a list of detected access points and a link quality associated. Central Access Point, CAP, uses information to disables one of the network device from transmitting the reserved SSID. ¶0073;).
RE Claims 7 and 19, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein the control circuitry (Electronic devices configured with coverage hole detection unit, link establishment unit, and configuration unit, e.g. smart phone, network bridging, or access point. Fig. 1: 102, 104, or 108; Fig. 7) is further configured to:
identify a plurality of access points each having a performance metric below a threshold (APs in the network of the client device that are not detectable or detected but at a preferred level WLAN coverage, e.g. detects a weak signal strength from an access point, a low data rate, high error rate, high attenuation, etc. are identified. ¶¶0014, 0021);
disable the plurality of access points (Central access point, CAP, executes operations to detect coverage holes and minimize/eliminate the coverage hole in the network. CAP configures AP functionality to enable or disable AP functionality. ¶0022; CAP can also disable the use of the reserved SSID at the AP. ¶0057);
identify an active access point corresponding to a BSSID detectable by each of the plurality of disabled access points (An AP-capable network device may have AP functionality disabled and may operate as a client device. ¶0014; Coverage hole detection unit can query other access points, BSSIDs, to determine whether the access point can detect a client device. The access points can passive monitor traffic from the client to determine if the client device is reachable. ¶0043; Network device can determine whether the client device has joined another BSS by exchanging signaling messages with the other access points. The network device estimate the link quality between APs and client device. ¶0047;);
configure the active access point with a plurality of SSIDs, wherein each of the plurality of SSIDs is associated with one of the plurality of disabled access points (Central coordinator can enable the AP functionality of one of the network devices to address the hole coverage. ¶0015; Network device can switch its configuration to enable its AP module as an access point, operate as a router, and use a non-reserved SSID to establish a link with a client device. ¶0056; SSID may be a reserved SSID associated with the client. ¶0057; Enabling AP functionality may be temporary controlled by the central access point. ¶0061); and
connect client devices associated with each of the plurality of SSIDs with the active access point (The client device can detect the beacon message of the reconfigured network device and transmit a connection request to the network device. ¶0057).
RE Claims 8 and 20, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein each of the plurality of disabled access points periodically collects performance metric data of access points corresponding to BSSIDs detectable by the disabled access point (An AP-capable network device may have AP functionality disabled and may operate as a client device. ¶0014; Coverage hole detection unit can query other access points, BSSIDs, to determine whether the access point can detect a client device. The access points can passive monitor traffic from the client to determine if the client device is reachable. ¶0043;).
RE Claim 10, Sun discloses a method:
wherein a plurality of neighboring BSSIDs is detectable by the client device, and wherein the second BSSID (Client devices detects multiple access points, a second access point and second BSSID. Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034) is further identified based on at least one of: determining that the second access point has a higher performance metric among access points corresponding to the plurality of neighboring BSSIDs (Client device determines first access point has low preferred performance measurements. Client device detects another access point, a second access point, with acceptable or higher preferred performance measurements. ¶0059, Fig. 6); determining that the second access point is closer in distance to the client device among the access points corresponding to the plurality of neighboring BSSIDs (Network device, access point, can determine location, actual or relative, of client device to the network device. ¶0034, Fig. 1: 102; Client devices detects multiple access points, a second access point. Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034); or determining that the second access point was recently connected with the client device (Coverage hole detection detects locations access points provide good WLAN coverage, previous connected, and access points that provided bad WLAN coverage. Records of the location of coverage hole, signal strength, device identifiers of detected access points, BSSIDs, are provided to the central access point. Client device reports list of detected access points and a link quality associated with each of the detected access points. ¶¶0070, 0073; Client device determines link quality versus preferred performance measurements, e.g. a highest data rate, highest bandwidth, lowest attenuation level, highest signal strength, etc. ¶0034).
RE Claim 12, Sun does not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein the SSID on the second wireless network connection is private.
However, Naganna discloses:
wherein the SSID on the second wireless network connection is private (First wireless client, client device, associates with a first access point having a BSSID and a first SSID. The SSID broadcast is inhibited, hidden or private, SSID mode for one or more SSIDs, causing the first wireless client to send a probe with the specific SSID to associate, a specific relation of a client device with a first BSSID and SSID. ¶¶0007-0011, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific, hidden or private, SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of performance is made to determine selection of an access point with the best performance. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific, private, SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7)
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al., in view of Naganna et al., in view of Jin et al., in view of Ozer et al (US 20140269314 A1, hereinafter “Ozer”).
RE Claims 3 and 15, Sun discloses a system or method:
wherein the control circuity (Electronic devices configured with coverage hole detection unit, link establishment unit, and configuration unit, e.g. smart phone, network bridging, or access point. Fig. 1: 102, 104, or 108; Fig. 7) is further configured to:
Sun and Naganna do not explicitly disclose:
calculate an available bandwidth of the second access point;
determine that the second access point is capable of serving the client device based on the available bandwidth; and
based at least in part on determining that the second access point is capable of serving the client device, provision bandwidth to the client device over the second wireless network connection.
However, Ozer discloses:
calculate an available bandwidth of the second access point (Margin thresholds expressed in terms of bandwidth. ¶0045; Margin is computed on resource measurement at a cable modem termination system, CMTS, and corresponding access points, AP, through a central manager. ¶0046, Fig. 3 );
determine that the second access point is capable of serving the client device based on the available bandwidth (Adaptive control algorithms based on rate determination and user requests. ¶0031; If margin is less than a margin threshold the session is accepted. ¶0050, Fig. 3 ); and
based at least in part on determining that the second access point is capable of serving the client device, provision bandwidth to the client device over the second wireless network connection (Cable Wi-Fi network provisioning system used for provisioning and management of access points and wireless links. ¶¶0024, 0026, 0029, 0031, Fig. 2: 115, 113; If the updated margin is less than a threshold value, then the rates of the selected flows are increased. ¶0055, Fig. 5;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID, with the teachings of Ozer, determination of available bandwidth at a second access point and comparison to a threshold for adaptive resource management over cable WiFi systems.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device is and determination of available bandwidth to select access points capable of serving the client. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Ozer: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0021-0023, 0032-0033, 0050, 0055, 0059, Fig. 3, 5)
RE Claim 9, Sun and Naganna do not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein the second access point is configured to provision bandwidth to the client device using PCMM protocol.
However, Ozer discloses:
wherein the second access point is configured to provision bandwidth to the client device using PCMM protocol (Margin thresholds expressed in terms of bandwidth. ¶0045; Margin is computed on resource measurement at a cable modem termination system, CMTS, and corresponding access points, AP, through a central manager. ¶0046, Fig. 3; Cable Wi-Fi network provisioning system used for provisioning and management of access points and wireless links. ¶¶0024, 0026, 0029, 0031, 0120-0121, Fig. 2: 115, 113;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID, with the teachings of Ozer, determination of available bandwidth at a second access point and comparison to a threshold for adaptive resource management over cable WiFi systems.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity in a Cable WiFi provisioning system using PCMM for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device is and determination of available bandwidth to select access points capable of serving the client. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Ozer: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0021-0023, 0029-0031, 0032-0033, 0050, 0055, 0059, 0120-0121, Fig. 3, 5)
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al., in view of Naganna et al., in view of Jin et al., in view of Ozer et al, in view of Wu et al. (US 20170347269 A1, hereinafter “Wu”).
RE Claim 4, Sun and Naganna do not explicitly disclose a system or method:
wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further in response to determining that a bandwidth of the first access point is below a threshold
However, Wu discloses:
wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further in response to determining that a bandwidth of the access point is below a threshold (Provisioning server receives input data for unique SSID and parameters associated with a service account. ¶0036; Parameters comprise resource allocations defining bandwidth assigned to traffic associated with the SSID. The provisioning of bandwidth based on maximum, minimum, or amount of bandwidth for a particular end user device, EUD. ¶0037; Provisioning server can instruct the AP to dynamically adjust the maximum amount of bandwidth associated with a specific SSID based on detection of whether there may be not be enough bandwidth to the meet the requests of the end user device(s). ¶0039; ¶¶0041-0042 Fig. 3; ¶¶0044-0045, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID, with the teachings of Wu, provisioning an access point with a specific SSID based on available bandwidth requested by a user client device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of available bandwidth is made to determine selection of an access point with the bandwidth requested by the client device. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Wu: Abstract, ¶0002, 0020, 0037-0040, 00440-0045, Fig. 3, 4).
RE Claim 16, Sun and Naganna do not explicitly disclose a system or method:
wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further based on determining that a bandwidth of the first access point is below a threshold
However, Wu discloses:
wherein the second wireless network connection is configured with the second BSSID and the SSID further in response to determining that a bandwidth of the access point is below a threshold (Provisioning server receives input data for unique SSID and parameters associated with a service account. ¶0036; Parameters comprise resource allocations defining bandwidth assigned to traffic associated with the SSID. The provisioning of bandwidth based on maximum, minimum, or amount of bandwidth for a particular end user device, EUD. ¶0037; Provisioning server can instruct the AP to dynamically adjust the maximum amount of bandwidth associated with a specific SSID based on detection of whether there may be not be enough bandwidth to the meet the requests of the end user device(s). ¶0039; ¶¶0041-0042 Fig. 3; ¶¶0044-0045, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID, with the teachings of Wu, provisioning an access point with a specific SSID based on available bandwidth requested by a user client device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of available bandwidth is made to determine selection of an access point with the bandwidth requested by the client device. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Wu: Abstract, ¶0002, 0020, 0037-0040, 00440-0045, Fig. 3, 4).
RE Claim 11, Sun and Naganna do not explicitly discloses a method:
further comprising: directing LAN traffic between the first BSSID and the second BSSID to remain within a LAN boundary and from traversing a common switch device, wherein the LAN boundary comprises the first BSSID and the second BSSID, and wherein the common switch device is installed at a front-end of the first BSSID and the second BSSID.
However, Wu discloses:
further comprising: directing LAN traffic between the first BSSID and the second BSSID to remain within a LAN boundary and from traversing a common switch device, wherein the LAN boundary comprises the first BSSID and the second BSSID, and wherein the common switch device is installed at a front-end of the first BSSID an the second BSSID (End user device requests access based on SSID associated with user’s preferred network as part of a connection to an AP. Data received from end user device can be forwarded to a routing device along with SSID to route data to a device of a network assigned to the SSID. Data received from the end user devices have selected different SSIDs that are isolated to prevent cross-network security risk. ¶0055, Fig. 7; ¶¶0044-0045, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun, identify two access points and compare performance metrics of each BSSID, with the teachings of Naganna, identify a specific SSID associated with a first BSSID and a client device and configure a second BSSID with better performance with the same specific SSID, with the teachings of Wu, isolating a user’s data traffic within a given network to prevent cross-network security risks.
The motivation in doing so would be to support client device connectivity for best performance of a given location as it moves between access points and coverage levels. Detection of access points within reach of the client device and comparison of best performance is made to determine selection of an access point for the client device. Selection of other access point includes configuration for the other access point with the specific SSID that associated with the device client to minimize handover interruptions and to isolate traffic for the specific SSID. (Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0014-0016, 0024; Naganna: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0013, 0029, 0039, Fig. 1, 7; Wu: Abstract, ¶0002, 0020, 0037-0040, 00440-0045, Fig. 3, 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to the references “Sun in view of Naganna renders Sun unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and changes the operation of Sun. Specifically, Sun discusses that if a client device in a coverage hole or a region of poor performance is unable to establish a connection with any other access points, then a network device with previously disabled access point (AP) functionality is enabled. (Sun, Abstract and paragraphs 0014, 0024, 0051, and 0057).” Further, “Sun keeps the AP functionality of the network device disabled until that network device is needed as a "last resort" for the client device to stay connected to the communication network. (Sun, paragraphs 0014, 0024, 0051, and 0057). Naganna would frustrate the purpose and principle of operation of Sun because in order for client devices in Naganna to send probe requests to an access point for a hidden SSID, such access point in Naganna must remain active (e.g., not disabled) and responsive to probe requests.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sun discloses “In some embodiments, as will be further described in FIGS. 2A-4, instead of disabling the AP functionality of the hybrid device 104, the hybrid device 104 can be configured to selectively accept connection request messages from a client device, depending on whether the client device is in a coverage hole. The hybrid device 104 can enable/activate its WLAN AP functionality and can indicate its presence in the communication network 100 (e.g., by periodically transmitting beacon messages).”, ¶0023. “In other words, the client device may be in an area of poor network coverage or no network coverage. Such an area in the communication network that has poor (or no) network coverage is herein referred to as a "coverage hole.", ¶0014. “As another example, if the client device 108 receives a beacon message that are not in accordance with preferred performance measurements (e.g., if the received beacon message has a low signal strength, a high attenuation level, high error rate, low data rate, etc.), the coverage hole detection unit 128 can infer that the client device 108 is in a coverage hole.”, ¶0059. Therefore, Sun discloses a method where an AP is enabled to transmit beacons and receive request messages to support connection quality measurements to determine quality of performance measurements for network coverage.
Applicant’s second argument is that “Furthermore, once the AP functionality of the network device is enabled in Sun, the network device broadcasts a beacon with the SSID, to which the client device responds with a connection request. (Sun, paragraph 0024, emphasis added). Naganna also frustrates this purpose and principle of operation of Sun by teaching inhibiting broadcast of SSIDs specifically in order to prompt wireless clients to send probe messages. (Naganna, paragraphs 0008-0011, emphasis added).” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Naganna applies a ‘hidden SSID mode’ while supporting a specific SSID requested by a device, ¶0007. In addition, “By selecting the same BSSID for use with different SSIDs, and retrieving the WLAN profile for an SSID from the server in response to a probe from the user equipment for a specific SSID, the limitation to the number of SSIDs that may be used by an access point is removed, so that in principle any of the users of the data network may form an association with an access point in a communal area using the SSID and profile that they normal use in their apartment.”, ¶0032. The claims, as written, only require identifying BSSIDs and SSID as part of the method and system.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 for the 5th and 6th limitations have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20190246347 A1 Lopes et al.
Various aspects of the present disclosure provide mobility to end-user devices moving between wireless coverage areas of APs (e.g., fixed APs (FAPs) and mobile APs (MAPs)/OBUs of FIGS. 1-8) with a minimum perceptible effect upon the operation of wireless (e.g., radio frequency (RF)) communication of the end-user device or the experience of the end-user regarding those aspects of the end-user device that involve such wireless communication via the APs. In a network of moving things in accordance with the present disclosure, wireless RF network handoffs of an end-user device between APs are seamless, and without disruption of communication of the end-user device with the various services and/or resources (e.g., the Internet) accessed via the wireless RF network provided to the end-user device by the APs. In accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure, movement of end-user devices between coverage areas of APs may be handled in a number of ways., ¶0170.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409