DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 6, illustrated in Fig. 8, claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 18 read on this elected Species in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of these Species together in one application would not place a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because
MPEP 808.02 identifies 3 options to support the burden requirement:
different field of search
separate classification with separate field of search
separate status with separate field of search
Each of these requirements includes a separate field of search component. Separate field of search means it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s)
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo 20060113105.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 110;
a semiconductor die (local silicon interconnect - LSI 102) disposed on the substrate;
a lid 152/130 disposed on the substrate and covering the semiconductor die, wherein the lid has an opening 152b (hollow – par [0054]) to expose the semiconductor die; and
a liquid metal 160 disposed on the semiconductor die;
a gel 170B (par [0066] - 170B is made, for example, of buffer rubber or gel) disposed between the semiconductor die and the lid; and
a thermal dissipation structure 154 disposed on the lid and covering the liquid metal, wherein the semiconductor die, the gel and the thermal dissipation structure form a closed space for accommodating the liquid metal.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 110;
a semiconductor die (local silicon interconnect - LSI 102) disposed on the substrate;
a molding compound 106 surrounding the semiconductor die;
a lid 152 disposed on the substrate and covering the semiconductor die and the molding compound;
a gel 170B arranged between the molding compound and the lid; and
a liquid metal 160 arranged between an entire top surface of the semiconductor die and the lid, wherein the semiconductor die, the lid and the gel form a closed space for accommodating the liquid metal.
Regarding claim 2, Kubo discloses wherein the lid comprises an extending portion 152c extending towards the semiconductor die, and the gel is in contact with the extending portion of the lid to seal a gap (region occupied by 170B is a gap) between the semiconductor die and the extending portion.
Regarding claim 7. The semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, wherein a bottom surface of the extending portion is lower than the top surface of the semiconductor die, and the top surface of the semiconductor die is lower than or flush with a top surface of the extending portion.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the gel is affixed to the thermal dissipation structure.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the thermal dissipation structure covers a top surface of the extending portion, and the gel fills a gap between the thermal dissipation structure and the top surface of the extending portion.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the gel fills a recess of the thermal dissipation structure, wherein the recess is recessed from a bottom surface of the thermal dissipation structure.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the gel is arranged on an edge of a top surface of the semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the lid is arranged on the substrate by an adhesive 140.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses wherein the thermal dissipation structure 154 is arranged on the lid by an adhesive 140.
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. 20230075909.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 1C of Hung discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 118;
a semiconductor die (104/102/104/106 combination) disposed on the substrate;
a lid 126/138/134 disposed on the substrate and covering the semiconductor die, wherein the lid has an opening (region between bottom of 126b and left and right 134) to expose the semiconductor die; and
a liquid metal 130 (par [0129]) disposed on the semiconductor die;
a gel 132 (par [0129] - gel thermal interfacial material (TIM) 132) disposed between the semiconductor die and the lid; and
a thermal dissipation structure 140 disposed on the lid and covering the liquid metal, wherein the semiconductor die, the gel and the thermal dissipation structure form a closed space for accommodating the liquid metal.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 6 of Kubo discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 118;
a semiconductor die (104/102/104/106 combination) disposed on the substrate;
a molding compound 122/116 surrounding the semiconductor die;
a lid 126/138/134 disposed on the substrate and covering the semiconductor die and the molding compound;
a gel 132 arranged between the molding compound and the lid; and
a liquid metal 130 arranged between an entire top surface of the semiconductor die and the lid, wherein the semiconductor die, the lid and the gel form a closed space for accommodating the liquid metal.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1C of Hung discloses wherein the lid comprises an extending portion 134 extending towards the semiconductor die, and the gel is in contact with the extending portion of the lid to seal a gap (region occupied by 132 is a gap) between the semiconductor die and the extending portion.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 1C of Hung discloses wherein a bottom surface of the extending portion (that of 34) is lower than the top surface of the semiconductor die, and the top surface of the semiconductor die is lower than or flush with a top surface of the extending portion.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893