DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: regarding claims 1 and 10-11, the bullet points “○” or “●” should be removed/deleted. Regarding claim 3, “ii” is listed twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 34-35 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 34-35 has not been further treated on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 22, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 27, 31, and 33-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,878,973 B2 in view of Chan et al. US 2021/0171958 A1 (Chan) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 22, and 40 below.
Claims 21, 27, 31, and 33-36 of the reference patent differ from the instantly claimed invention in that the claims of the reference patent do not explicitly recite the use of an instant agent (e.g., cisplatin, paclitaxel, etc.); however, this deficiency would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Chan for the reasons set forth herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 19, 22, 24-33, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim reads upon “an agent which can…of cancer cells”; however, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the instant “agent” as the “agent” is only described in functional terms. The recitation(s) “sensitise the cancer cells…WRN inhibitor”, “prime the cancer cells…in cancer cells”, “create or increase MMR…in cancer cells”, “create or increase MSI-H…in cancer cells”, and/or “increase MMR…of cancer cells” is/are not sufficient to convey a chemical structure, chemical name or the like to the instantly claimed conjugate. There is nothing inherently wrong with defining some part of an invention in functional terms; however, a functional limitation must be evaluated and considered, just like any other limitation of the claim, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the pertinent art in the context in which it is used. Functional descriptions of chemical compounds/compositions must be coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure. This deficiency is not cured in claims 2, 6-10, and 40.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations after the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the text “selected from MSS…or MGMG-methylated MSS (microsatellite stable) cancer” reads upon an improper Markush group as members of the group are listed in an alternative manner. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if "wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D" is a proper limitation, then "wherein R is A, B, C or D" shall also be considered proper.
Regarding claim 19, the term “including” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations after the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). This deficiency is not cured in claims 28 and 38-39.
Regarding claim 22, the parenthetical phrase(s) “(e.g. doxorubicin hydrochloride)” and/or “(e.g. mitomycin A…particularly mitomycin C)” render(s) the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further, the term “e.g.” and/or “particularly” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations after the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further still, claim 22 contains the trademark/trade name Camptosar®, Taxotere®, Adriamycin®, Rubex®, Adrucil®, Efudex®, Xeloda®, Platinol®, Paraplatin®, and Taxol®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the at least one chemotherapy agent and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claims 24-27 and 29-33, the parenthetical phrase(s) “(at least one)” render(s) the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 22, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. US 2021/0171958 A1 (Chan).
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, and 40 are drawn to a method for treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a WRN inhibitor and
an agent which can
sensitise the cancer cells, for example for an improved response to treatment with a WRN inhibitor,
prime the cancer cells, for example, such priming may include triggering hypermutation status in cancer cells,
create or increase MMR deficiency in cancer cells,
create or increase MSI-H status in cancer cells, or
increase MMR heterogeneity of cancer cells, and optionally wherein the treatment further comprises administration of:
ii. a chemotherapy.
Claim 22 is drawn to a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, in particular microsatellite instability-high (MSI-H) or mismatch repair deficient (dMMR) cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a WRN inhibitor in combination with a therapeutically effective amount of at least one chemotherapy agent selected from gemcitabine, camptothecin, irinotecan (Camptosar®), docetaxel (Taxotere®), doxorubicin (e.g. doxorubicin hydrochloride) (Adriamycin®, Rubex®), 5-fluorouracil (Adrucil®, Efudex®), capecitabine (Xeloda®), etoposide (Vepesid®), epirubicin (Ellence®, Pharmorubicin®), oxaliplatin (Eloxatin®), mitomycin (e.g. mitomycin A, mitomcyin B or mitomycin C, particularly mitomycin C), cisplatin (Platinol®), carboplatin (Paraplatin®), bleomycin and paclitaxel (Taxol®).
Chan features methods to treat cancer having ARID1A mutations and cancers with mutations in other subunits of the BAF complex [0002]. The invention also features methods to treat cancer having a mismatch repair deficiency (MMRd), e.g., in a subject in need thereof. In some embodiments, the methods described therein are useful in the treatment of cancer in combination with immunotherapies. In some embodiments, the cancer has a microsatellite instability (MSI)-positive or MSI-high (MSI-H) phenotype [0008]. In some embodiments, the MSI-positive phenotype is characterized by the presence of an MSI at least one of the mononucleotide or dinucleotide markers selected from the group consisting of BAT25, BAT26, D2S123, D5S346, and D17S250.
Chan teaches that in some embodiments, the cancer is an MSI-positive cancer, an MSI-H cancer, an adrenocortical carcinoma, a bladder carcinoma, a breast carcinoma, a cervical squamous cell carcinoma, an endocervical adenocarcinoma, a cholangiocarcinoma, a chronic lymphocytic leukemia, a colorectal cancer (e.g., a colon adenocarcinoma), a cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, a lymphoid neoplasm diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, an esophageal carcinoma, a glioblastoma multiforme, a head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, a kidney chromophobe, a kidney renal papillary cell carcinoma, an acute myeloid leukemia, a lower-grade glioma, a liver hepatocellular carcinoma, a lung adenocarcinoma, a lung squamous cell carcinoma, a mesothelioma, a nasopharyngeal carcinoma, an ovarian cancer (e.g., an ovarian serous cystadenocarcinoma), a pancreatic adenocarcinoma, a pheochromocytoma, paraganglioma, a prostate adenocarcinoma, a rectal adenocarcinoma, a sarcoma, a skin cutaneous melanoma, a stomach adenocarcinoma, a testicular germ cell tumor, a thyroid carcinoma, a thymoma, an uterine corpus endometrial carcinoma, an uterine carcinosarcoma, an uveal melanoma, a pediatric acute myeloid leukemia, a pediatric neuroblastoma, or a pediatric high-risk Wilms tumor [0016].
Chan teaches that an agent that reduces the level and/or activity of WRN in a cell in a subject as described therein, can be administered alone or in combination with an additional anti-cancer therapy [0130]. The anti-cancer therapy may be an additional therapeutic agent (e.g., other agents that treat cancer or symptoms associated therewith) or in combination with other types of therapies to treat cancer (e.g., radiological therapies or surgical procedures). In some embodiments, the second therapeutic agent is selected based on tumor type, tumor tissue of origin, tumor stage, or mutation status. In combination treatments, the dosages of one or more of the therapeutic agents may be reduced from standard dosages when administered alone. Chan teaches that in some embodiments, the anti-cancer therapy is a chemotherapeutic agent (e.g., a cytotoxic agent or other chemical compound useful in the treatment of cancer) [0133]. Non-limiting examples of chemotherapeutic agents include cisplatin and 6-thioguanine. Further examples of chemotherapeutic agents include doxorubicin and taxoids, e.g., TAXOL® (paclitaxel; Bristol-Myers Squibb Oncology, Princeton, N.J.)
Thus, Chan teaches or reasonably suggests a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a WRN inhibitor. See [0002], [0008], [0016]. Chan teaches or reasonably suggests the administration of the WRN inhibitor in combination with an additional anti-cancer therapy. Chan teaches or reasonably suggests that the anti-cancer therapy may be an additional therapeutic agent(s) (e.g., cisplatin, 6-thioguanine, paclitaxel, and/or doxorubicin, etc.) or in combination with other types of therapies to treat cancer (e.g., radiological therapies). See [0130], [0133]. Chan teaches or reasonably suggests that the method may be used to treat an adrenocortical carcinoma, a breast carcinoma, a colorectal cancer (e.g., a colon adenocarcinoma), or an esophageal carcinoma. See [0016]. Chan teaches or reasonably suggests all of the instantly claimed elements.
Chan differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chan does not explicitly teach the administration of a WRN inhibitor and an additional anticancer agent to a subject in need thereof in a singular embodiment; however, this deficiency would have been prima facie.
In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
It would have been obvious to administer a WRN inhibitor of Chan in combination with an additional anticancer therapy disclosed by Chan such as cisplatin or paclitaxel to an instant subject in need thereof (e.g., a subject having a breast carcinoma). Use of materials in combination, each of which is known to function for intended purpose, is generally held to be prima facie obvious as the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Thus, claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 22, and 40 would have been obvious based upon the preponderance of evidence.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11, 19, 22, 24-35, and 38-40 are pending. Claims 1-3, 6-10, 19, 22, 24-33, and 38-40 are rejected. Claims 4-5 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 34-35 are objected to. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/