DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
For clarity, references to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections are provided in parenthesis.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on 18 June 2026, is acknowledged.
Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naskar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0305358 A1), hereinafter as Naskar, in view of Kurokawa (Pub. No.: US 20130207170 A1), and in further view of Yuan et al. "Characterization of aluminum gallium oxide films grown by pulsed laser deposition", hereinafter as Yuan.
[Li et al. "(AlxGa1-x)2O3-based materials: Growth, properties, and device applications", hereinafter as Li, is used herein as evidence]
With regards to Claim 1, Naskar teaches a capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), capacitor 110) comprising: a first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a first electrode 103); a second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a second electrode 101) spaced apart from the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(d)); a dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(d)); and an interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) between the second electrode and the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d)), wherein the interface layer comprises a first element (see Naskar [0043]: “In embodiments, the interface layer 107, the interface layer 109, the interface layer 127, the interface layer 129, may include a pseudocapacitive layer, and the pseudocapacitive layer includes RuOx, MnOx, VOx, an active redox center material, or a catalytic relay material.”) and a second element (see Naskar [0043]: “In embodiments, the interface layer 107, the interface layer 109, the interface layer 127, the interface layer 129, may include a pseudocapacitive layer, and the pseudocapacitive layer includes RuOx, MnOx, VOx, an active redox center material, or a catalytic relay material.”).
Naskar does not teach that the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Kurokawa teaches that an interface layer (see Kurokawa Fig. 14B, gate insulating film 719) comprises a first element (see Kurokawa [0255]: “Note that an insulating film which is in contact with the oxide semiconductor film 715 (in this embodiment, corresponding to the insulating film 714 and the gate insulating film 719) may be formed using an insulating material containing an element that belongs to Group 13 and oxygen.”; and see Kurokawa [0256]: “An insulating material containing a Group 13 element is an insulating material containing one or more Group 13 elements. Examples of the insulating material containing a Group 13 element include gallium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum gallium oxide, and gallium aluminum oxide. Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let aluminum be the first element.), a second element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let gallium be the second element.), and a third element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let oxygen be the third element.), the first element comprises aluminum (Al) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let aluminum be the first element), the second element comprises gallium (Ga) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let gallium be the second element), and the third element comprises oxygen (O) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let oxygen be the third element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface layer of Naskar with the materials taught by Kurokawa in order to have a high dielectric constant of ∼10 and realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices (see Li pg. 2, section 1: “One merit of (AlxGa1-x)2O3 materials is the high thermal and chemical stability, and the high dielectric constant of ∼10, which is critical to realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices.”).
Naskar and Kurokawa do not teach that aluminum gallium oxide is a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Yuan teaches a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
By defining aluminum gallium oxide’s chemical formula and elemental composition range, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach that the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, which is a mixture of aluminum, gallium, and oxygen elements.) in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the aluminum gallium oxide of Kurokawa by the chemical composition taught by Yuan to be x=0.1, y=1.9, and z=3 in order to control and utilize the wide bandgap properties of aluminum gallium oxide (see Yuan, Introduction, “As a result, when Al2O3 is doped or incorporated into Ga2O3, the bandgap value of aluminum-gallium oxide ((AlxGa1-x)2O3, AGO) materials can be increased to higher energy (commonly 5–7eV), expanding its DUV applications.” Having a wide bandgap means that it is harder to excite electrons and conduct electricity.).
With regards to Claim 2, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the interface layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) comprises a plurality of layers (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109), the plurality of layers comprise at least one first layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107) and at least one second layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 109), and a composition ratio (see Kurokawa [0256]: “Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide for the first layer.) of Al to Ga in the at least one first layer is different from a composition ratio (see Kurokawa [0256], where one would choose gallium aluminum oxide for the second layer.) of Al to Ga in the at least one second layer (see Kurokawa [0256]).
With regards to Claim 3, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) is amorphous (see Li Fig. 11(a) and Li pg. 10, section 3.4: “Low growth temperature can improve the growth rate. However, growth temperature lower than 400C lead to the formation of amorphous oxides.”; the process used in Kurokawa (see Kurokawa [0177]; also see Kurokawa [0245]) to form the gate insulating film is a combination of a solid-phase reaction and a reaction by a vapor deposition method. One of the methods explored by Li is Pulsed Laser Deposition (PLD), which is a physical vapor deposition method. By using the parameters set forth by Kurokawa (high pressure, low temperature), Li shows that the structure of aluminum gallium oxide is inherently amorphous when formed.).
With regards to Claim 4, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) is in direct contact with the second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a second electrode 101), and the interface layer is in direct contact with the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105).
With regards to Claim 9, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) comprises at least one of zirconium oxide (ZrO2), hafnium oxide (HfO2), titanium oxide (TiO2), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), or a combination thereof (see Naskar [0042]: “In embodiments, the dielectric layer 105 or the dielectric layer 125 may include Al2O3, HfO2, ZrO2, TiO2, Nb2O5, Ta2O5, SrTiOx, BaTiOx, Ga2O3, Y2O3,”).
With regards to Claim 10, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) comprises an oxide having a perovskite type crystal structure (see Naskar [0042] where SrTiOx and BaTiOx are listed, which follows the general perovskite structure AB(O)x and are well known perovskite structures.).
With regards to Claim 11, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 10, wherein the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) comprises at least one of strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), titanium (Ti), hafnium (Hf), yttrium (Y), or a combination thereof and oxygen (O) (see Naskar [0042], where SrTiOx, BaTiOx, TiO2, HfO2, and Y2O3 are listed.).
With regards to Claim 12, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1.
Naskar does not teach that a thickness of the interface layer is 15 Å or less.
Kurokawa teaches that a thickness of the interface layer (see Kurokawa Fig. 14B, gate insulating film 719) is 15 Å or less (see Kurokawa [0245]: “The gate insulating film 719 can be formed using a material and a layered structure which are similar to those of the gate insulating film 703.”; and see Kurokawa [0177]: “generated by such high-density plasma, an insulating film with a thickness of 1 nm to 20 nm,” where one would choose a thickness 1nm, which is 10 angstroms.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the thickness of the interface layer of Naskar with the thickness taught by Kurokawa in order to create a more compact capacitor.
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naskar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0305358 A1), hereinafter as Naskar, in view of Kurokawa (Pub. No.: US 20130207170 A1), and in further view of Yuan et al. "Characterization of aluminum gallium oxide films grown by pulsed laser deposition", hereinafter as Yuan.
[Li et al. "(AlxGa1-x)2O3-based materials: Growth, properties, and device applications", hereinafter as Li, is used herein as evidence]
With regards to Claim 1, Naskar teaches a capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), capacitor unit 113) comprising: a first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123); a second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), second electrode 121) spaced apart from the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)); a dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), dielectric layer 125) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)); and an interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 129) between the second electrode and the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)).
Naskar does not teach that the interface layer comprises a first element, a second element, and a third element, the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Kurokawa teaches that an interface layer (see Kurokawa Fig. 14B, gate insulating film 719) comprises a first element (see Kurokawa [0255]: “Note that an insulating film which is in contact with the oxide semiconductor film 715 (in this embodiment, corresponding to the insulating film 714 and the gate insulating film 719) may be formed using an insulating material containing an element that belongs to Group 13 and oxygen.”; and see Kurokawa [0256]: “An insulating material containing a Group 13 element is an insulating material containing one or more Group 13 elements. Examples of the insulating material containing a Group 13 element include gallium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum gallium oxide, and gallium aluminum oxide. Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let aluminum be the first element.), a second element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let gallium be the second element.), and a third element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let oxygen be the third element.), the first element comprises aluminum (Al) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let aluminum be the first element), the second element comprises gallium (Ga) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let gallium be the second element), and the third element comprises oxygen (O) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let oxygen be the third element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface layer of Naskar with the materials taught by Kurokawa in order to have a high dielectric constant and realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices.
Naskar and Kurokawa do not teach that aluminum gallium oxide is a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Yuan teaches a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
By defining aluminum gallium oxide’s chemical formula and elemental composition range, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach that the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, which is a mixture of aluminum, gallium, and oxygen elements.) in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the aluminum gallium oxide of Kurokawa by the chemical composition taught by Yuan to be x=0.1, y=1.9, and z=3 in order to control and utilize the wide bandgap properties of aluminum gallium oxide (see Yuan, Introduction, “As a result, when Al2O3 is doped or incorporated into Ga2O3, the bandgap value of aluminum-gallium oxide ((AlxGa1-x)2O3, AGO) materials can be increased to higher energy (commonly 5–7eV), expanding its DUV applications.” Having a wide bandgap means that it is harder to excite electrons and conduct electricity.).
With regards to Claim 5, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1, wherein the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123) comprises at least one of: titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), molybdenum (Mo), an oxide of Ti, an oxide of Ni, an oxide of Al, an oxide of Ta, an oxide of W, an oxide of Pt, an oxide of Pd, an oxide of Mo, a nitride of Ti, a nitride of Ta, a nitride of W, a nitride of Mo, or a combination thereof (see Naskar [0041]: "The first electrode 103, the first electrode 123, the second electrode 101, or the second electrode 121, may include W, Mo, Ti, Ta, Al, TaN, TiN, TiC, WN, MoN, MoC, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Pd, Pt, Ir, IrOx, graphene, MnO2, Li, RuOx, ITO, SrRuOx, a metal oxide, graphitic carbon, an alkali metal, a low-work-function metal, a transition metal oxide, a Co oxide, LiCoO2, NaCoO2, a transition metal dichalcogenide, a spinel oxide, LiMn2O4, LiNiMnO4, a conducting polymer, or a conductive metal.").
With regards to Claim 6, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 5, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 129) is a first interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)) and the capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), capacitor unit 113) further comprises a second interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 127) between the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), dielectric layer 125) and the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123).
With regards to Claim 7, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 6, wherein the second interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 127) comprises an oxide of a material included in the first electrode (see Naskar [0043]: “the interface layer 127… may include a pseudocapacitive layer, and the pseudocapacitive layer includes RuOx,”; and see Naskar [0041] where the first electrode 123 may include ruthenium.).
With regards to Claim 8, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 5, wherein the second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), second electrode 121) comprises a same material as the first electrode (see Naskar [0041]: "the first electrode 123,… or the second electrode 121, may include W, Mo, Ti, Ta, Al, TaN, TiN, TiC, WN, MoN, MoC, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Pd, Pt, Ir, IrOx, graphene, MnO2, Li, RuOx, ITO, SrRuOx, a metal oxide, graphitic carbon, an alkali metal, a low-work-function metal, a transition metal oxide, a Co oxide, LiCoO2, NaCoO2, a transition metal dichalcogenide, a spinel oxide, LiMn2O4, LiNiMnO4, a conducting polymer, or a conductive metal."; where one would choose the same material for both electrodes.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan , in view of Kil et al. (Patent No.: US 7616426 B2), hereinafter as Kil.
With regards to Claim 13, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the capacitor of claim 1.
Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan do not teach that a thickness of the dielectric layer is 100 Å or less.
Kil teaches that a thickness of a dielectric layer (see Kil Fig. 4B, crystallized thin ZrO2 layer 25A) is 100 Å or less (see Kil col. 4, lns. 63-64: “The crystallized ZrO2 layer is formed to a thickness of approximately 40 Å to 150 Å,” where one would choose a range between 40 Å to 100 Å.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the thickness of the dielectric layer of Naskar with the thickness taught by Kil in order to create a more compact capacitor.
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220013623 A1), hereinafter as Bang, in view of Naskar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0305358 A1), hereinafter as Naskar, in further view of Kurokawa (Pub. No.: US 20130207170 A1), and in even further view of Yuan et al. "Characterization of aluminum gallium oxide films grown by pulsed laser deposition", hereinafter as Yuan.
[Li et al. "(AlxGa1-x)2O3-based materials: Growth, properties, and device applications", hereinafter as Li, is used herein as evidence]
With regards to Claim 14, Bang teaches a semiconductor device (Bang Fig. 6, semiconductor device 2000) comprising: a transistor (see Bang [0085]: “Referring to FIG. 6, the semiconductor device 2000 may include a transistor and a capacitor 1300 connected thereto.”) comprising a semiconductor substrate (Bang Fig. 6, substrate 50), the semiconductor substrate comprising a source region (Bang Fig. 6, a first source/drain region 51), a drain region (Bang Fig. 6, a second source/drain region 52), a channel region (Bang Fig. 6, CHANNEL REGION) between the source region and the drain region (Bang Fig. 6), and a gate stack (Bang Fig. 6, a gate structure 60) over the channel region (Bang Fig. 6); and a capacitor (Bang Fig. 6, capacitor 1300) electrically connected to the transistor (Bang Fig. 6, a contact 71), wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (Bang Fig. 6, lower electrode 130), a second electrode (Bang Fig. 6, upper electrode 230) spaced apart from the first electrode (Bang Fig. 6), and a dielectric layer (Bang Fig. 6, first dielectric layer 13 and second dielectric layer 23) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (Bang Fig. 6).
Bang does not teach an interface layer between the second electrode and the dielectric layer, and wherein the interface layer comprises a first element, a second element, and a third element, the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Naskar teaches a capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), capacitor 110) wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (Naskar Fig. 1(d), a first electrode 103), a second electrode (Naskar Fig. 1(d), a second electrode 101) spaced apart from the first electrode (Naskar Fig. 1(d)), and a dielectric layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (Naskar Fig. 1(d)), an interface layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) between the second electrode and the dielectric layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the capacitor of Bang with the capacitor taught by Naskar in order to increase surface area and improve power density (see Naskar [0011] “Embodiments herein present capacitors that can provide improved power density for the modern day processors or information storage capacity. Capacitors are formed with a corrugated style structure to increase the surface area of the capacitors.”).
The combined device of Bang and Naskar does not teach that the interface layer comprises a first element, a second element, and a third element, where the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Kurokawa teaches that an interface layer (see Kurokawa Fig. 14B, gate insulating film 719) comprises a first element (see Kurokawa [0255]: “Note that an insulating film which is in contact with the oxide semiconductor film 715 (in this embodiment, corresponding to the insulating film 714 and the gate insulating film 719) may be formed using an insulating material containing an element that belongs to Group 13 and oxygen.”; and see Kurokawa [0256]: “An insulating material containing a Group 13 element is an insulating material containing one or more Group 13 elements. Examples of the insulating material containing a Group 13 element include gallium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum gallium oxide, and gallium aluminum oxide. Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let aluminum be the first element.), a second element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let gallium be the second element.), and a third element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let oxygen be the third element.), the first element comprises aluminum (Al) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let aluminum be the first element), the second element comprises gallium (Ga) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let gallium be the second element), and the third element comprises oxygen (O) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let oxygen be the third element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface layer of the combined device of Bang and Naskar with the materials taught by Kurokawa in order to have a high dielectric constant of ∼10 and realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices (see Li pg. 2, section 1: “One merit of (AlxGa1-x)2O3 materials is the high thermal and chemical stability, and the high dielectric constant of ∼10, which is critical to realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices.”).
Bang, Naskar, and Kurokawa do not teach that aluminum gallium oxide is a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Yuan teaches a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
By defining aluminum gallium oxide’s chemical formula and elemental composition range, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach that the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, which is a mixture of aluminum, gallium, and oxygen elements.) in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the aluminum gallium oxide of Kurokawa by the chemical composition taught by Yuan to be x=0.1, y=1.9, and z=3 in order to control and utilize the wide bandgap properties of aluminum gallium oxide (see Yuan, Introduction, “As a result, when Al2O3 is doped or incorporated into Ga2O3, the bandgap value of aluminum-gallium oxide ((AlxGa1-x)2O3, AGO) materials can be increased to higher energy (commonly 5–7eV), expanding its DUV applications.” Having a wide bandgap means that it is harder to excite electrons and conduct electricity.).
With regards to Claim 15, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the interface layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) comprises a plurality of layers (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109), the plurality of layers comprise at least one first layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107) and at least one second layer (Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 109), and a composition ratio (see Kurokawa [0256]: “Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide for the first layer.) of Al to Ga in the at least one first layer is different from a composition ratio (see Kurokawa [0256], where one would choose gallium aluminum oxide for the second layer.) of Al to Ga in the at least one second layer (see Kurokawa [0256]).
With regards to Claim 16, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) is amorphous (see Li Fig. 11(a) and Li pg. 10, section 3.4: “Low growth temperature can improve the growth rate. However, growth temperature lower than 400C lead to the formation of amorphous oxides.”; the process used in Kurokawa (see Kurokawa [0177]; also see Kurokawa [0245]) to form the gate insulating film is a combination of a solid-phase reaction and a reaction by a vapor deposition method. One of the methods explored by Li is Pulsed Laser Deposition (PLD), which is a physical vapor deposition method. By using the parameters set forth by Kurokawa (high pressure, low temperature), Li shows that the structure of aluminum gallium oxide is inherently amorphous when formed.).
With regards to Claim 17, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) is in direct contact with the second electrode (Naskar Fig. 1(d), a second electrode 101; and Shimizu Fig. 8), and the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), an interface layer 107 and an interface layer 109) is in direct contact with the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105).
With regards to Claim 20, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(d), a dielectric layer 105) comprises a zirconium oxide (ZrO2), a hafnium oxide (HfO2), a titanium oxide (TiO2), an aluminum oxide (Al2O3), or a combination thereof (see Naskar [0042]: “In embodiments, the dielectric layer 105 or the dielectric layer 125 may include Al2O3, HfO2, ZrO2, TiO2, Nb2O5, Ta2O5, SrTiOx, BaTiOx, Ga.sub.2O3, Y.sub.2O3,”).
Claims 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220013623 A1), hereinafter as Bang, in view of Naskar, further in view of Kurokawa, and in even further view of Yuan et al. "Characterization of aluminum gallium oxide films grown by pulsed laser deposition", hereinafter as Yuan.
[Li et al. "(AlxGa1-x)2O3-based materials: Growth, properties, and device applications", hereinafter as Li, is used herein as evidence]
With regards to Claim 14, Bang teaches a semiconductor device (Bang Fig. 6, semiconductor device 2000) comprising: a transistor (see Bang [0085]: “Referring to FIG. 6, the semiconductor device 2000 may include a transistor and a capacitor 1300 connected thereto.”) comprising a semiconductor substrate (Bang Fig. 6, substrate 50), the semiconductor substrate comprising a source region (Bang Fig. 6, a first source/drain region 51), a drain region (Bang Fig. 6, a second source/drain region 52), a channel region (Bang Fig. 6, CHANNEL REGION) between the source region and the drain region (Bang Fig. 6), and a gate stack (Bang Fig. 6, a gate structure 60) over the channel region (Bang Fig. 6); and a capacitor (Bang Fig. 6, capacitor 1300) electrically connected to the transistor (Bang Fig. 6, a contact 71), wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (Bang Fig. 6, lower electrode 130), a second electrode (Bang Fig. 6, upper electrode 230) spaced apart from the first electrode (Bang Fig. 6), and a dielectric layer (Bang Fig. 6, first dielectric layer 13 and second dielectric layer 23) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (Bang Fig. 6).
Bang does not teach an interface layer between the second electrode and the dielectric layer, and wherein the interface layer comprises a first element, a second element, and a third element, the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Naskar teaches a capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), capacitor unit 113) wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123), a second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), second electrode 121) spaced apart from the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)), and a dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), dielectric layer 125) configured to electrically insulate the first electrode from the second electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)), an interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 129) between the second electrode and the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the capacitor of Bang with the capacitor taught by Naskar in order to increase surface area and improve power density (see Naskar [0011] “Embodiments herein present capacitors that can provide improved power density for the modern day processors or information storage capacity. Capacitors are formed with a corrugated style structure to increase the surface area of the capacitors.”).
The combined device of Bang and Naskar does not teach that the interface layer comprises a first element, a second element, and a third element, where the first element comprises aluminum (Al), the second element comprises gallium (Ga), and the third element comprises oxygen (O), and wherein the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Kurokawa teaches that an interface layer (see Kurokawa Fig. 14B, gate insulating film 719) comprises a first element (see Kurokawa [0255]: “Note that an insulating film which is in contact with the oxide semiconductor film 715 (in this embodiment, corresponding to the insulating film 714 and the gate insulating film 719) may be formed using an insulating material containing an element that belongs to Group 13 and oxygen.”; and see Kurokawa [0256]: “An insulating material containing a Group 13 element is an insulating material containing one or more Group 13 elements. Examples of the insulating material containing a Group 13 element include gallium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum gallium oxide, and gallium aluminum oxide. Here, aluminum gallium oxide refers to a material in which the amount of aluminum is larger than that of gallium in atomic percent, and gallium aluminum oxide refers to a material in which the amount of gallium is larger than or equal to that of aluminum in atomic percent.”; where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let aluminum be the first element.), a second element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let gallium be the second element.), and a third element (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, so let oxygen be the third element.), the first element comprises aluminum (Al) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let aluminum be the first element), the second element comprises gallium (Ga) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let gallium be the second element), and the third element comprises oxygen (O) (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], let oxygen be the third element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface layer of the combined device of Bang and Naskar with the materials taught by Kurokawa in order to have a high dielectric constant of ∼10 and realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices (see Li pg. 2, section 1: “One merit of (AlxGa1-x)2O3 materials is the high thermal and chemical stability, and the high dielectric constant of ∼10, which is critical to realize high breakdown electric fields for high-power devices.”).
Bang, Naskar, and Kurokawa do not teach that aluminum gallium oxide is a compound represented by AlxGayOz, wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2, and z is 3.
Yuan teaches a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
By defining aluminum gallium oxide’s chemical formula and elemental composition range, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach that the first element, the second element, and the third element are mixed (see Kurokawa [0255] and [0256], where one would choose aluminum gallium oxide, which is a mixture of aluminum, gallium, and oxygen elements.) in the interface layer such that the interface layer includes a compound represented by AlxGayOz (aluminum gallium oxide is often represented by the chemical formula (AlxGa1-x)2O3, with a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 (see Yuan, Abstract)), wherein x is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<x<2 in this chemical formula.), y is a real number of more than 0 to less than 2 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally 0<y<2 in this chemical formula.), and z is 3 (a specific example of (Al0.05Ga0.95)2O3 from Yuan shows that generally z=3 in this chemical formula.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to define the aluminum gallium oxide of Kurokawa by the chemical composition taught by Yuan to be x=0.1, y=1.9, and z=3 in order to control and utilize the wide bandgap properties of aluminum gallium oxide (see Yuan, Introduction, “As a result, when Al2O3 is doped or incorporated into Ga2O3, the bandgap value of aluminum-gallium oxide ((AlxGa1-x)2O3, AGO) materials can be increased to higher energy (commonly 5–7eV), expanding its DUV applications.” Having a wide bandgap means that it is harder to excite electrons and conduct electricity.).
With regards to Claim 18, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123) comprises at least one of: titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), molybdenum (Mo), an oxide of Ti, an oxide of Ni, an oxide of Al, an oxide of Ta, an oxide of W, an oxide of Pt, an oxide of Pd, an oxide of Mo, a nitride of Ti, a nitride of Ta, a nitride of W, a nitride of Mo, or a combination thereof (see Naskar [0041]: "the first electrode 123… may include W, Mo, Ti, Ta, Al, TaN, TiN, TiC, WN, MoN, MoC, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Pd, Pt, Ir, IrOx, graphene, MnO2, Li, RuOx, ITO, SrRuOx, a metal oxide, graphitic carbon, an alkali metal, a low-work-function metal, a transition metal oxide, a Co oxide, LiCoO2, NaCoO2, a transition metal dichalcogenide, a spinel oxide, LiMn2O4, LiNiMnO4, a conducting polymer, or a conductive metal.").
With regards to Claim 19, Bang, Naskar, Kurokawa, and Yuan teach the semiconductor device of claim 18, wherein the interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 129) is a first interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a)), and the capacitor (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), capacitor unit 113) further comprises a second interface layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), interface layer 127) arranged between the dielectric layer (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), dielectric layer 125) and the first electrode (see Naskar Fig. 1(a), first electrode 123).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818