FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0366757.
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Huang teaches a first trace extending from a first end at a first terminal to a second end at a second terminal (first sensing resistors R5 extending between Vcc and Vm+, R7 extending between and Vm- and GND, paragraphs 48-50, figure 6), the first trace having a first sensitivity to a first variable of a measured system (the first sensing resistors R5 and R7 having a temperature coefficient, paragraph 50), the first and second terminals providing contacts to measure the first variable using the first trace (contact terminals Vcc, Vm,+, Vm-, and GND provide ability to measure, figure 6); and a second trace extending from a third end at the second terminal to a fourth end at a third terminal (second sensing resistors R6 extending between Vm+ and GND, R8 extending between and Vcc and Vm-, paragraphs 48-50, figure 6), the second trace having a second sensitivity to the first variable that is less than the first sensitivity (The second sensing resistors R6 and R8 have different temperature coefficients of resistance, therefore the sensitivity is interpreted as being less than because either R5 and R7 have a coefficient less than R6 and R8 or vice versa, paragraph 50.), the second and third terminals providing contacts to measure a second variable of the measured system using the second trace (contact terminals Vcc, Vm,+, Vm-, and GND provide ability to measure, figure 6), the second variable being different from the first variable (temperature and strain can be measured, paragraph 50).
With respect to claim 2, Huang teaches wherein the first trace has a third sensitivity to the second variable and the second trace has a fourth sensitivity to the second variable (the first and second resistors are sensitive to pressure, paragraphs 32, 37, 85-89, figure 6 and 7), the third sensitivity being less than the fourth sensitivity (The first sensing resistors and the second sensing resistors have different gage factors and different temperature coefficients of resistance, paragraph 85. Therefore, the sensitivity is interpreted as being less than because either R5 and R7 have a coefficient less than R6 and R8 or vice versa, paragraph 50).
With respect to claims 10 and 15-16, Huang teaches wherein the first variable is mechanically-induced strain and the second variable is temperature and wherein the second variable is different from the first variable (the first and second resistors are sensitive to temperature and pressure, paragraphs 32, 37, 85-89, figure 6 and 7), and measuring a change in resistance of the first trace of the multi-variable sensor and a change in resistance of the second trace of the multi-variable sensor to determine the first variable of the measured system and the second variable of the measured system, respectively (pressure and temperature information is output, paragraphs 88-89).
With respect to claim 11, Huang teaches a flexible substrate (substrate 10) that supports each of the first trace and the second trace (figure 7).
With respect to claim 13, Huang teaches printing a first trace onto a flexible substrate (first sensing resistors R5 extending between Vcc and Vm+, R7 extending between and Vm- and GND, and the resistors are printed, paragraphs 48-50 and 84, figure 6), the first trace having a first sensitivity to a first variable of a measured system (resistors are sensitive to temperature, paragraphs 48-50); and printing a second trace onto the flexible substrate (second sensing resistors R6 extending between Vm+ and GND, R8 extending between and Vcc and Vm-, and the resistors are printed, paragraphs 48-50 and 84, figure 6), the second trace having a second sensitivity to the first variable that is less than the first sensitivity (The second sensing resistors R6 and R8 have different temperature coefficients of resistance, therefore the sensitivity is interpreted as being less than because either R5 and R7 have a coefficient less than R6 and R8 or vice versa, paragraph 50.).
Claim(s) 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0100316.
With respect to claim 17, James teaches providing a multi-variable sensor (flow sensor 10, figure 1), the multi-variable sensor including first and second traces (temperature sensors 42, 44, substrate temperature sensor 40, and pressure sensor 52 all having serpentine shapes, paragraphs 19, 24-26, figure 1); installing the multi-variable sensor to extend into a fluid flow (flow sensor is for detected a fluid flow over its surface, paragraph 2); and measuring a change in resistance of the first trace of the multi-variable sensor and a change in resistance of the second trace of the multi-variable sensor to determine a first variable of the fluid flow and a second variable of the fluid flow, respectively (processor is connected to sensors for monitoring temperature and pressure values to determine fluid flow, paragraphs 21 and 31).
With respect to claim 18, James teaches wherein the first variable is a flow rate of the fluid flow and the second variable is a temperature of the fluid flow (processor is connected to sensors for monitoring temperature and pressure values to determine fluid flow, paragraphs 21 and 31).
With respect to claim 20, James teaches supporting the first trace and the second trace on a flexible support (interpreted as supported the sensors on substrate 34, paragraph 26, figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0366757 in view of James et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0100316.
With respect to claims 3-5, Huang the claimed invention except wherein the first trace includes a plurality of a primary first trace lines connected by secondary first trace lines to form a single continuous path between the first terminal and the second terminal; and the second trace includes a plurality of a primary second trace lines connected by secondary second trace lines to form a single continuous path between the second terminal and the third terminal, wherein the primary first trace lines are a configured as a plurality of parallel trace lines extending in the first direction, and wherein the primary second trace lines are configured as a plurality of parallel trace lines extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein the primary first trace lines are a configured as a plurality of parallel trace lines extending in the first direction, and wherein the primary second trace lines are configured as a plurality of serpentine trace lines extending in the first direction.
James teaches a flow sensor for determining the velocity and direction of a fluid flow including a substrate wherein the flow sensor 10 includes a substrate temperature sensor 40, a pair of fluid temperature sensors 42, 44, located on top of a thin film of the top layer 37 of the substrate 34 and located above the cavities 51, 48, and the fluid temperature sensors made of thermoresistive material and formed in a serpentine shape (paragraphs 19 and 24, figure 1). Further James teaches that the flow sensor 10 includes a pressure sensor 52 that is a set of pressure sensor resistors 54 made of stress-resistive or piezoresistive materials deposited on the top layer 37 of the substrate 34 and formed in a serpentine shape (paragraph 26, figure 1). Further, James teaches where the sensors are oriented in different directions (paragraph 25, figure 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the shape of the metal traces as well as the orientation of the traces of Huang between the contacts with the serpentine shapes that are a continuous path and parallel as well as have the orientation of the sensors be different as taught by James in order to provide a sensor is a small, compact, and that can accurately measure (James, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0366757 in view of Ng et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0314881.
With respect to claims 6-8, Huang teaches the first sensing resistors and the second sensing resistors may be a metal film resistor, a strain gauge resistor, a semiconductor resistor, a ceramic resistor, or a conductive polymer resistor (paragraph 83).
But Huang fails to teach wherein the first trace is formed from a first electrically conductive ink and the second trace is formed from a second electrically conductive ink that is different from the first electrically conductive ink, wherein the first electrically conductive ink includes silver nanoparticles at a first percent weight concentration and the second electrically conductive ink includes silver nanoparticles at a second percent weight concentration that is greater than the first percent weight concentration, wherein the first electrically conductive ink includes a first concentration of organic binders and solvents, and the second electrically conductive ink includes a second concentration of organic binders and solvents that is less than the first concentration.
Ng teaches a sensor including a sensing element that is formed on a substrate, wherein the sensor have been formed from a palladium complex ink composition that has been deposited onto the substrate (abstract), wherein the palladium complex ink composition comprises a palladium salt, an organic amine that forms a palladium complex from the palladium salt, and at least one solvent, wherein the at least one solvent (paragraphs 1 and 23), where the conductive ink comprises silver nanoparticles (paragraph 71).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensors of Huang and form each of the sensors from the materials of Ng (where the first sensors and seconds sensors have different concentrations or weights of materials due to them having different coefficients) in order to provide a sensor that does not add additional cost or places constraints on form factor, as well as affect measurement sensitivity (Ng, paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0366757 in view of Shih et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0184516.
With respect to claim 12, Huang teaches the claimed invention except wherein the flexible substrate includes a flexible flap configured to extend into a fluid flow.
Shih teaches a pump device 100 that may also include various sensors (pressure and flow sensors) for monitoring the status and operation of a device where the flow sensors may be placed inline or around the fluidic paths to monitor the flow of drug refill or waste extraction, and these flow sensors are merely structural components such as flexible flaps that have different orientations according to the fluid-flow direction and/or rate (paragraph 60).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensor Huang and provide a sensors on flap within a fluid flow as taught by Shih in order to provide a more accurate flow sensing device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0100316 in view of Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0366757.
With respect to claim 19, James teaches the first trace includes a plurality of a primary first trace lines connected by secondary first trace lines to form a single continuous path (paragraphs 20 and 24, figure 1); and the second trace includes a plurality of a primary second trace lines connected by secondary second trace lines to form a single continuous path (paragraph 26, figure 1).
But James fails to teach wherein the first trace forms the single continuous path between a first terminal and a second terminal; and the second trace forms the single continuous path between the second terminal and a third terminal.
Huang teaches a temperature and pressure sensor 100 where the temperature and pressure sensor 100 includes a substrate 10, first sensing resistors, and second sensing resistors (paragraph 32) and having first sensing resistors R5 extending between Vcc and Vm+ and R7 extending between and Vm- and GND (paragraphs 48-50 and 84, figure 6), and second sensing resistors R6 extending between Vm+ and GND and R8 extending between and Vcc and Vm- (paragraphs 48-50 and 84, figure 6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the contact terminals of the sensor of James with the sensors that form a path between a shared contact point as taught by Huang in order to provide a sensor that is a small size and convenient to use (Huang, paragraph 14).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0100316 in view of Shih et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0184516.
With respect to claim 21, James teaches the claimed invention except wherein the flexible substrate includes a flexible flap configured to extend into a fluid flow.
Shih teaches a pump device 100 that may also include various sensors (pressure and flow sensors) for monitoring the status and operation of a device where the flow sensors may be placed inline or around the fluidic paths to monitor the flow of drug refill or waste extraction, and these flow sensors are merely structural components such as flexible flaps that have different orientations according to the fluid-flow direction and/or rate (paragraph 60).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the flow sensor James and provide the sensors on flap within the fluid flow as taught by Shih in order to provide a more accurate flow sensing device.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0100316 in view of Ng et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0314881.
With respect to claims 22-24, Huang teaches the claimed invention except fabricating the first trace from a first electrically conductive ink and the second trace from a second electrically conductive ink that is different from the first electrically conductive ink, wherein the first electrically conductive ink includes silver nanoparticles at a first percent weight concentration and the second electrically conductive ink includes silver nanoparticles at a second percent weight concentration that is greater than the first percent weight concentration, wherein the first electrically conductive ink includes a first concentration of organic binders and solvents, and the second electrically conductive ink includes a second concentration of organic binders and solvents that is less than the first concentration.
Ng teaches a sensor including a sensing element that is formed on a substrate, wherein the sensor have been formed from a palladium complex ink composition that has been deposited onto the substrate (abstract), wherein the palladium complex ink composition comprises a palladium salt, an organic amine that forms a palladium complex from the palladium salt, and at least one solvent, wherein the at least one solvent (paragraphs 1 and 23), where the conductive ink comprises silver nanoparticles (paragraph 71).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensors of James and form each of the sensors from the materials of Ng (the sensors are interpreted as having different concentrations or weights of materials due to them measuring different properties) in order to provide a sensor that does not add additional cost or places constraints on form factor, as well as affect measurement sensitivity (Ng, paragraph 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 12/19/2025