DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20220403900 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a brake device comprising: a caliper body (100, 200); brake pads (120, 110) mounted in the caliper body (140); a pad liner (400) configured to support the brake pads (3, 4); and a pad pusher (500) configured to push each of the brake pads (3, 4), wherein each of the brake pads (3,4) includes protrusions protruding from both side surfaces thereof (330, 340), wherein the caliper body includes guide grooves (223, 263, 233, 273) defined therein to guide the protrusions, respectively, wherein the brake pad are movable by being guided by the guide grooves (see Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220403900 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Hampson (US 20180216681 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the brake device of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose the brake device being a mono block type caliper body.
Hampson teaches a disc brake caliper body of a mono block type (see [0015, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to combine the mono block type caliper body of Hampson with the brake device of Kim in order to provide a robust structure with minimized mass (see US 2018216681 A1 [Hampson]; [0015]).
Claims 3-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220403900 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Barillot et. al. (US 6527090 B1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the brake device of claim 1, wherein the pad liner includes: a flat plate-type upper body (420, 430) with legs each extending downwards; a pad support (422, 432) connected to a lower end of each leg to support one of the protrusions of each brake pad; and a lower body (423, 433) connected to a lower end of the pad support (see Fig. 9)
Kim does not disclose a hooking protrusion included in the upper body.
Barillot teaches wherein the upper body includes a hooking protrusion (17) engaged with a portion of the caliper body (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to combine the hooking protrusion of Barillot with the brake device of Kim in order to securely fasten the pad liner to the caliper body, preventing accidental breaking of the brake device structure (see US 6527090 B1 [Barillot]; 3:53-67, 4:1-14).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses a brake device wherein the pad support includes: an upper plate (A) (see Annotated Fig. 9 below) connected to the lower end of each leg and adjacent to a top surface of the corresponding protrusion; a side plate (422, 432) connected to and extending downwards from the upper plate and adjacent to a side surface of the protrusion; and a lower plate (B) (see Annotated Fig. 9 below) connected to a lower end of the side plate and adjacent to a bottom surface of the protrusion, wherein a guide space where the protrusion is guided is defined by the upper plate, the side plate, and the lower plate of the pad support (see Annotated Fig. 9 below).
Kim does not disclose wherein the lower plate is convex upwards to support the protrusion.
Barillot teaches wherein the lower plate is convex upwards to support the protrusion (47) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to combine the convex part of the lower plate of Barillot with the brake device of Kim in order to improve the torsional strength of the pad support (see US 6527090 B1 [Barillot]; 4:63067, 5:1-14).
Annotated Fig. 9
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses a brake device wherein the pad support further includes a return spring (C) (see Annotated Fig. 9 Above) forming an inclination at a predetermined angle from an inner edge of one of the upper plates, the side plate, and the lower plate and extending outwards within the guide space (see Annotated Fig. 9 Above).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses a pad liner (400) mounted in a brake device (100) including brake pads (300), the pad liner comprising: a flat plate-type upper body (420) with legs each extending downwards (421, 431); a pad support connected to a lower end of the corresponding leg to support a protrusion of each of the brake pads (422, 432); and a lower body connected to a lower end of the pad support and extending downwards (423, 433), wherein the lower body is spaced apart from a lower end of the brake pad (see Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 9).
Kim does not disclose wherein the upper body includes a hooking protrusion engaged with a caliper body of the brake device.
Barillot teaches wherein the upper body includes a hooking protrusion (17) engaged with a caliper body of the brake device (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious combine the hooking protrusion of Barillot with the Pad Liner of Kim in order to securely fasten the pad liner to the caliper body, preventing accidental breaking of the brake device structure (see US 6527090 B1 [Barillot]; 3:53-67, 4:1-14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220403900 A1), as modified by Barillot (US 6527090 B1) as applied to Claim 5, above, further in view of Kamiya (US 20140345984 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim modified by Barillot teaches the brake device of claim 5.
Kim modified by Barillot does not teach wherein each of the protrusions includes a first inclined surface formed along one of an upper edge, a lower edge, and an outer edge of a front surface thereof corresponding to the return spring.
Kamiya teaches wherein a protrusion includes a first inclined surface (16) formed along one of an upper edge, a lower edge, and an outer edge of a front surface thereof corresponding to the return spring (3) (see Fig. 7, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of an inclined surface on the protrusion corresponding to a return spring of Kamiya with the brake device of Kim modified by Barillot in order to ensure proper engagement of the return spring with the pad, enabling the pad to return properly (see US 20140345984 A1 [Kamiya]; [0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220403900 A1), as modified by Barillot (US 6527090 B1), and as modified by Kamiya (US 20140345984 A1) as applied to Claim 6, above, further in view of Lou (US 20150267763 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim modified by Barillot and Miyake teaches the brake device of claim 6.
Kim modified by Barillot and Miyake appears to, but does not explicitly, teach wherein each of the protrusions further includes: a second inclined surface formed along an upper edge of a rear surface thereof; and a third inclined surface formed along a lower edge of the rear surface thereof.
Lou teaches a pad wherein each of the protrusions (14) further includes: a second inclined surface formed along an upper edge of a rear surface thereof; and a third inclined surface formed along a lower edge of the rear surface thereof (see Fig. 3, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to combine the inclined surfaces formed on the protrusions of Lou with the brake device of Kim modified by Barillot and Kamiya in order to control the amount of or create contract friction with the Pad Liner, to slow down or stop the motion of the brake pad (see US 20150267762 A1 [Lou]; [0026]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220403900 A1), as modified by Barillot (US 6527090 B1), as modified by Kamiya (US 20140345984 A1) as modified by Lou (US 20150267763 A1), as applied to Claim 7, above, further in view of Mallmann (US 20160215842 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim modified by Barillot, Kamiya, and Lou teaches wherein an end of the return spring supports the first inclined surface of the corresponding protrusion (see US 20140345984 A1 [Kamiya]; [0030], Fig. 7).
Kim modified does not explicitly detail wherein the end of the return spring includes a curved surface formed by being bent in a rearward direction of the pad liner.
Mallmann teaches a pad lining with an attached return spring (13) wherein the end of the return spring includes a curved surface formed by being bent in a rearward direction of the pad liner (see Fig. 7, Fig. 9, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to combine the return spring of Mallmann with the brake device of Kim modified by Barillot, Kamiya, and Lou in order to account for wear compensation within the return spring, and ensure the spring still performs its return function when in the wear compensated state (see US 20160215842 A1 [Mallmann]; [0011-0012]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim modified by Baillot, Kamiya, and Lou teaches wherein at least one of the upper body, the lower body, or the side plate includes a reinforcement portion extending forwards from an outer edge of the pad liner (see US 20220403900 A1 [Kim]; Fig. 9).
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616