DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2006/0094522) in view of Kato (JP 2006-218080) and Ashcraft (USPN 6261190).
Regarding claim 1, Tang et al. discloses a putter head having a striking surface having a face center and a top surface extending rearwardly from the striking surface (See Figures 1 and 4). Tang et al. also discloses the putter head having a mass of 250 to 500 grams (See Paragraph 0026), length of 3 to 6 inches (See Paragraph 0037), a width of 3 to 6.0 inch (See Paragraph 0031), and a moment of inertia of greater than 3500 g-cm2 about the lzz axis (See Paragraph 0040). It should be noted that applicant shows the z-axis in the same direction as that of Tang et al. (in the top-sole direction). The product of the length and width is greater than 14 in2 considering the maximum length is 6 inches and the maximum width is 6 inches. Tang et al. notes that alternate alignment means can be used (See Paragraph 0035) but does not disclose the volume of the putterhead and putterhead having alignment element having parallel edges the distance of a golf ball diameter. Kato disclose a putterhead having a volume of 5 to 100 cm3 (See Paragraph 0024). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the above volume, as taught by Kato, in order to provide adequate impact absorption. Ashcraft discloses putterhead having an alignment element thereon wherein the alignment element takes on a number of different profiles. One profile includes a pair of parallel edges spaced apart from each other and a being perpendicular to the striking surface laterally offset from the face center (See Figures 6B). Ashcraft also shows the alignment element being the same size of a golf ball (See Figure 2). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an alignment element with parallel edges spaced to the diameter of the golf ball, as taught by Ashcraft, in order to properly align a golf putt.
Regarding claim 2, Tang et al. discloses the center of gravity of the putter head being 0.25 to 1 inch from the external surface of the sole (See Paragraph 0028). Since the center of gravity is less than the height of the putterhead, it is inherent that the putterhead would have a height greater than 0.8 inch.
Regarding claim 3, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Tang et al. discloses the top surface being planar (See Figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, Ashcraft discloses the alignment element having a geometric center that lies in a virtual vertical plane that is perpendicular to the striking surface and passes through the face center.
Regarding claim 7, see the above regarding claim 1. In addition, Tang et al. discloses a central elongated member extending from the rear of the striking wall. Tang et al. further discloses the central elongated member having a width w” of 1 to 3.0 inches (See Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 8, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, see the above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 1. In addition, Tang et al. discloses a first and second alignment element on the top surface thereof and notes that alternative alignment elements may be utilized thereon (See Paragraph 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, see the above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see argument with respect to moment of inertia, filed 8/28/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tang et al. (US 2006/0094522).
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711