DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15-22, 24-56, 58-60, 62, 63, 65, 66, 68-75, 77-111, and 115 have been canceled. Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 23, 57, 61, 64, 67, 76, 112-114, 116, and 117 have been amended. Claims 118122 have been added. Claims 1, 8, 11, 4, 23, 57, 61, 64, 67, 76, 112-114, 116-122 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 117 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation of TG02 lacks specific antecedent basis within the claim.
Claim 122 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 122 is dependent on claim 117 drawn to a kit comprising (16E)-14-Methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,27 tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.12,6.18,12]heptacosa1(25),2,4,6(27),8,10,12(26),16,21,
23-decaene, also known as TG02, in combination with either of an immune checkpoint inhibitor or temozolomide, and instructions, for the intended use of administration to a patient having cancer. Claim 122 states that the type of cancer is hepatocellular, carcinoma, glioma, glioblastoma, lung, breast, head and neck, prostate, melanoma or colorectal. This fails to further limit the kit of claim 117 comprising TG02 and either of a immune checkpoint inhibitor or temozolomide, and instructions because the constituents of the kit remain the same regardless of the type of cancer being n the intended use.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 117 and 122 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT01204164 (version 16, April, 2015, reference of the IDS filed 10/04/2024) in view of Borch et al (Drug Discovery Today, 2015, Vol. 20, pp. 1127-1134)
NCT01204164 teaches the administration of TG02 for treatment of patients with hematological malignancies.
Borch et al teach that pidilizumab is used to treat advanced hematological malignancies and diffuse large cell B lymphoma (page 1130, Table 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide a kit comprising pidilizumab and TG02. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to produce a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from both compounds having been taught individually in the prior art. Applying the same logic to the instant claim 117 drawn to a kit, given the teaching of the prior art of using TG02 or treating patients with hematological malignancies, it would have been obvious to make a kit comprising the TG02 and pidilizumab for the convenience of the medical practitioner because the idea of combining the two agent would have logically followed from their having been individually taught in the prior art to be useful as agents for the treatment of hematological malignancies.
Claim 122 is included with this rejection, because reciting the cancer types as the intended use for the kit does not change the constituents of the kit.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 23, 57, 76, 112, 113, 114, 116-122 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,116 in view of the abstract of Naskhletashvili et al (Neuro-Oncology, September 2010, vol, 12, suppl. 3, pp. iii57-iii58, Abstract No. p148).
Claims 1-8 of the patent teach the limitations of claims 1, 23, 57, 76, 112, 113, 114, 116, 118-121 with the exception of (i)the citrate salt of 16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene required in instant claims 116 and 121, (ii)the kit of claims 117 and 122 and (iii)the requirement for temozolomide to be administered to the patient having cancer in addition to the (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Regarding (i)the requirement for the citrate salt, section 804 IIb of the M.P.E.P states that
The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the patent claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
In the instant case, the specification defines (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene as TG02, and states:
TG02 refers to the free base of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene. In another embodiment, TG02 refers to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene, and i
n another embodiment TG02 refers to the citrate salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Thus, the citrate salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene. In claims 116 and 121 is obvious over the claims of the patent directed to (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Regarding the administration of (iii)temozolomide, the abstract of Naslkhletashvili et al teaches the administration of temozolomide, TMZ, to patients with non-small-cell lung cancer, breast cancer or melanoma brain metastases (title). The abstract teaches the combination of TMZ with whole brain irradiation
It would have been prima facie obvious to add temezolomide to patients with cancer being treated with TG02. . The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to produce a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from both compounds having been taught individually in the prior art. Applying the same logic to the instant method claims, given the teaching of the prior art of using temozolomide for treating patients with cancer, it would have been obvious to use the TG02 and temozolomide together for the treatment of cancer because the idea of doing so would have logically followed from their having been individually taught in the prior art to be useful as agents for the treatment of cancer patients.
Regarding (ii) the kit of claims 117 and 122, it would have been obvious to provide both the temezolomide and the TG02 together in a kit with instructions for the convenience of the medical practitioner for the same reasons as stated above.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 57, 61, 64, 67, 112-114, 116-122 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,116 in view of Pardoll (Nature Reviews Cancer, 2012, vol. 12, pp. 252-264).
Claims 1-8 of the patent teach the limitations of claims 1, 23, 57, 76, 112, 113, 114, 116, 118-121 with the exception of (i)the citrate salt of 16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene required in instant claims 116 and 121, (ii)the kit of claims 117 and 122 and (iii)the requirement for a checkpoint inhibitor, such as a PD-1, PD-L1, CTLA-4, LAG3 or TIM3 inhibitor to be admisnintered to the patient having cancer in addition to the (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Regarding (i)the requirement for the citrate salt, section 804 IIb of the M.P.E.P states that
The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the patent claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
In the instant case, the specification defines (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene as TG02, and states:
TG02 refers to the free base of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene. In another embodiment, TG02 refers to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene, and i
n another embodiment TG02 refers to the citrate salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Thus, the citrate salt of (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene. In claims 116 and 121 is obvious over the claims of the patent directed to (16E)-14-methyl-20-oxa-5,7,14,26-tetraazatetracyclo[19.3.1.1(2,6).1(8,12)]heptacosa-1(25),2(26),3,5,8(27),9,11,16,21,23-decaene.
Regarding the administration of (iii)of the checkpoint inhibitors to CTLA4, PD1, PDL1, LAG3 and TIM3, Pardoll et al teach that these agents are used clinically to treat multiple cancers (page 255, Table 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to administer CTLA4, PD1, PDL1, LAG3 and TIM3 inhibitors, such as ipilimumab, MDX-1106, also known as nivolumab, MK3475, also known as pembrolizumab, CT-011, also known as pidilizumab, to patients with cancer being treated with TG02. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to produce a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from both compounds having been taught individually in the prior art. Applying the same logic to the instant method claims, given the teaching of the prior art of using the checkpoint inhibitors for treating patients with cancer, it would have been obvious to use the TG02 and the checkpoint inhibitors together for the treatment of cancer because the idea of doing so would have logically followed from their having been individually taught in the prior art to be useful as agents for the treatment of cancer patients.
Regarding (ii) the kit of claims 117 and 122, it would have been obvious to provide both the checkpoint inhibitors and the TG02 together in a kit with instructions for the convenience of the medical practioner for the same reasons as stated above.
All claims are rejected.
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643