DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023, 03/19/2024, 04/17/2024, 05/03/2024, 05/07/2024, 05/30/2024, 06/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 3, delete “The” and replace with “the”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bode (WO2019233918A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bode discloses a method for operating a charging station (fig. 1, element CS) having a digital electricity meter (para. 0044; the charging device has an energy meter) for electric vehicles (para. 0012; an electrically powered vehicle),
whereby a current time of day is received by the charging station (para. 0045; the energy meter can be used to determine time information that describes the duration of the charging process) as a digital time stamp (para. 0137-0138; a timestamp can then be obtained from the energy meters 5), whereby
a charging process is carried out by means of the charging station (para. 0135, 0138), whereby
- the charging process is initiated (para. 0066; the user can specify an intended start of the charging process, an intended end of the charging process and/or an intended duration of the charging process), whereby
- after the initiation of the charging process, a meter time of day of the digital electricity meter is adjusted based on the digital time stamp (para. 0061, 0065, 0124, 0138; a time for the start of the charging process. The energy meter 5 also includes an input for receiving time information, which indicates the start of the charging process, the end of the charging process, and/or the duration of the charging process. The time can be corrected if the actual time is different from the intended start time), whereby
- an energy transfer to an electric vehicle is carried out (para. 0138), whereby
- a charging process data set is created by using the meter time of day (claims 1, 3, 7; transferring the signed user data record to the Charging device and storing the user ID from the signed user data record via the energy meter; the user data record additionally describes a current time, a time for the start of the charging process, a time for the end of the charging process and/or a duration for the charging process), whereby
- the charging process is ended (para. 0124; the end of the charging process).
Although Bode does not disclose a meter time of day of the digital electricity meter is adjusted based on the digital time stamp after the initiation of the charging process, Bode does disclose the energy meter 5 also includes an input for receiving time information, which indicates the start of the charging process, the end of the charging process, and/or the duration of the charging process in ¶¶ 0061, 0065, 0124, 0138. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to correct the time information when the actual time is different from the intended start charge time in order to improve the user experience and prevent miscalculating charge fee.
Regarding claim 2, Bode discloses whereby, based on the digital time stamp, a charging station time stamp is created (para. 0022; the time obtained from the time
server, is used for the timestamp),
whereby the charging station time stamp is transmitted to the digital electricity meter (para. 0045; the energy meter can be used to determine time information that describes the duration of the charging process),
whereby the meter time of day is adjusted in that the charging station time stamp is set as a current value of the meter time of day (para. 0066; the technical device can be used to determine the current time and to include data describing the current time [actual time] in the user's data record).
Regarding claim 3, Bode discloses whereby the charging process data set is digitally signed by the digital electricity meter (para. 0087; the signed user data record is used and additionally stored with the time information in the energy meter).
Regarding claim 4, Bode discloses whereby at least one time of day (¶ 0028), selected from the meter time of day and a charging station time of day, is adjusted no later than a predetermined tolerance time period after the receipt of the current time of day as the digital time stamp or after the creation of the charging station time stamp (¶ 0045, 0055, 0060-0063; the energy meter can be used to determine time information that describes the duration of the charging process).
Regarding claim 5, Bode does not disclose whereby 5 seconds, preferably 4 seconds, preferably 3 seconds, preferably 2 seconds, preferably 1 second, particularly preferably 0.5 seconds, is used as the predetermined tolerance time period. However, to choose a 5/4/3/2/1/0.5 seconds predetermined tolerance time period, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the received time information, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art in order to reduce the charging duration and lower the wait time. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Bode discloses whereby, based on the digital time stamp, the meter time of day of the digital electricity meter is adjusted before the energy transfer is started (only when the intended start time is different from the actual time), and/or (interprets as “OR”) whereby the energy transfer is activated only when the meter time of day has been adjusted, based on the digital time stamp.
Regarding claim 7, Bode discloses whereby a user of the charging station (1) is identified during the initiation of the charging process (¶¶ 0025-0027; USER ID), whereby a unique user identification (31) is detected, whereby the unique user identification (31) is transmitted to the digital electricity meter (¶ 0040; the charging device was transmitted and the user ID was stored from the signed user data record using the energy meter).
Regarding claim 10, Bode discloses whereby the user of the charging station (1) is identified on the basis of a) an RFID chip, and/or b) a credit card, and/or c) a smartphone (¶¶ 0103, 0129; the user data record can be appropriately signed using the technical device [smartphone] and transmitted to the charging station via a wired connection or wirelessly), and/or d) a charge card, and/or e) a digital service recipient identification during the initiation of the charging process.
Regarding claim 11, Bode discloses whereby the unique user identification is transmitted to a charging station data center during the initiation of the charging process (¶¶ 0034-0035; the process involves transferring a user ID of a vehicle user to a charging device),
whereby the charging station data center releases the energy transfer at the charging station based on the unique user identification (¶¶ 0040-0042; The charging device was transmitted and the user ID was stored from the signed user data record using the energy meter. The process is used to charge the electrical vehicle's energy storage system).
Regarding claim 12, Bode discloses whereby the charging process data set (25) comprises at least one piece of information, which is selected from a group, consisting of:
the unique user identification (¶ 0037; USER ID), an amount of energy released by the charging station (¶ 0045), in particular transferred to the electric vehicle, a start time and a time period of the charging process, the start time and an end time of the charging process (¶¶ 0060-0061; start and end time; and the duration of the charging process), a unique electricity meter identification of the digital electricity meter (¶ 0064), and a combination of at least two pieces of this information, whereby the charging process data set (25) is preferably created as an OCMF file (¶¶ 0065-0067, 0071; user data can be recorded).
Regarding claim 13, Bode discloses whereby the charging process data set is transmitted to the charging station data center (¶ 0070), and whereby in particular the charging process data set is stored in the charging station data center (¶¶ 0087, 0089).
Regarding claim 14, Bode discloses whereby
- a startup process is carried out immediately after turning on the charging station (¶ 0061; start time), whereby
- the current time of day is received by the charging station as the digital time stamp during the startup process (¶ 0065; current time), whereby
- the meter time of day is adjusted based on the digital time stamp (¶ 0066; when the actual time is different from the intended start time), whereby
- the charging station time stamp is preferably created based on the digital time stamp (¶ 0061; start time),
whereby the charging station time stamp (27) is transmitted to the digital electricity meter (¶¶ 0137-0138),
whereby the meter time of day is adjusted in that the charging station time stamp is set as a current value of the meter time of day (¶¶ 0018, 0066; adjust the time when the intended start time is different than the current time).
Regarding claim 16, Bode discloses a charging station comprising a digital electricity meter (¶ 0040; energy meter), whereby the charging station (fig. 1, element CS) is configured to be operated according to a method according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bode in view of Tate,JR. et al. US 20120233077 (hereinafter Tate).
Regarding claim 8, Bode fails to disclose whereby a charging point of the charging station is selected, in particular by the user, in particular by means of an operating device, during the initiation of the charging process, in particular before the user of the charging station is identified.
Tate further discloses a charging point of the charging station is selected (¶¶ 0011, 0022; the driver of the vehicle 13 can view the available charging stations 20 as points of interest on a displayed map, and can select; the present and projected charging station availability may be transmitted or broadcast such that a status is displayed via the charging device 12, e.g., "charger available", "charger in use", etc. A driver could then select a charging station 20 with an available or projected available status), in particular by the user (¶¶ 0011, 0022), in particular by means of an operating device (¶¶ 0011, 0022), during the initiation of the charging process (¶¶ 0023, 0030; the driver can request a reservation for a designated one of the charging stations 20 identified at step 104 as being near the desired destination. If the driver makes such a request; the vehicle 13 commences charging at the reserved charging station 20), in particular before the user of the charging station is identified (¶¶ 0004, 0026).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bode to incorporate with the teaching of Tate by including an electric charging station reservation system as suggested by Tate, because it would be advantageous to prevent the unauthorized use of a given charging station.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bode in view of Turner (US Pub 2011/0213656)
Regarding claim 9, Bode fails to disclose whereby a payment type is selected, in particular by a user, in particular by means of an operating device, during the initiation of the charging process, in particular before the user of the charging station is identified.
Turner further discloses whereby a payment type is selected (fig. 8, can be credit card and ¶ 0014), in particular by a user, in particular by means of an operating device (¶ 0065; selection screen 800), during the initiation of the charging process, in particular before the user of the charging station is identified (¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bode to incorporate with the teaching of Turner by including the selection screen in the charging station, because it would be advantageous to increase the utility of the charging station and improve user experience.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bode in view of Gaul (WO2012013433A1).
Regarding claim 15, Bode discloses whereby
- the meter time of day is adjusted based on the digital time stamp (¶ 0066; when the intended start time is different than the actual start time), whereby
- the charging station time stamp is preferably created based on the digital time stamp (¶¶ 0136-0137; timestamp), whereby the charging station time stamp is transmitted to the digital electricity meter (¶¶ 0136-0137; timestamp can then be obtained from the energy meters 5), whereby the meter time of day is adjusted in that the charging station time stamp is set as a current value of the meter time of day (¶ 0066; when the intended start time is different than the actual start time).
Bode fails to teach the method includes:
- an updating process is carried out when at least 24 hours, preferably at least 12 hours, preferably at least 10 hours, preferably at least 5 hours, preferably at least 2 hours, preferably at least 1 hour, have passed since a previous adjustment of the meter time of day, whereby
- the current time of day is received as the digital time stamp during the updating process by the charging station.
However, Gaul further discloses the method includes - an updating process is carried out when at least 24 hours, preferably at least 12 hours, preferably at least 10 hours, preferably at least 5 hours, preferably at least 2 hours, preferably at least 1 hour, have passed since a previous adjustment of the meter time of day (¶¶ 0042, 0113; measuring station is programmed to send the time information to the testing facility at intervals, for example at regular intervals), whereby
- the current time of day is received as the digital time stamp during the updating process by the charging station (¶ 0203; this manipulation can be detected by regularly comparing the current time information with stored time information. The current time information must always be newer than all stored time information).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bode to incorporate with the teaching of Gaul by comparing the current time information with stored time information regularly, because it would be advantageous to reduce error rate and provide flawless energy billing.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 07/10/2026