DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied, i.e., “The invention relates to”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification does not follow the guidelines for section headings described above. In particular, the specification should include the above mentioned section headings, e.g., (g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION; (h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION; (i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S); and (j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for containing “unlabeled generic box elements” (see box elements 1, 3.1, 3.2, 5, 7, 9, and 11 in Figure 1). Correction is required in accordance with 37 CFR 1.83 as stated below.
Further, 37 CFR 1.83 – Content of Drawing:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013]
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations of claims 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 3, “Changing” should not be capitalized.
In claim 4, line 4, there is no antecedent basis for “the temperature”.
In claim 4, lines 8-9, “a lighting device” should be changed to --the lighting device--.
In claim 4, line 9, “a display device” should be changed to --the display device--.
In claim 4, line 10, “a display device” should be changed to --the display device--.
In claim 5, line 2, --the-- should inserted before “camera”.
In claim 5, line 6, “A” should not be capitalized.
In claim 5, “a motor vehicle” is recited multiple times, and it is not clear if the recitations are referring to the same “motor vehicle”. For examination purposes, they are interpreted as referring to the same “motor vehicle”.
In claim 6, line 2, --the-- should be inserted before “communication”.
In claim 6, line 4, “a data network” should be change to --the data network--.
In claim 7, line 5, “A” should not be capitalized.
In claim 8, line 4, --the-- should inserted before “camera”.
In claim 8, line 5, “a motor vehicle” should be changed to --the motor vehicle--.
In claim 9, line 4, --the-- should inserted before “camera”.
In claim 10, line 3, --the-- should inserted before “camera”.
In claim 11, the claim should be revised based on antecedent basis provided by claim 1. For example, claim 11 should recite --the at least one signal-- in line 2, --the at least one action-- in line 3, and --the function-- in line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, the claims do not appear to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the abstract idea of “initialize at least one action”, wherein the “at least one action” is disclosed as, e.g., “setting a climate control parameter of the charging station” (see claim 4, and page 13, line 18 of the specification as originally filed). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, e.g., the claim does not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (i.e., the recitation “initialize at least one action” may be interpreted as merely setting a parameter); and the abstract idea is not implemented with a particular machine. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of “detect at least one signal” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity and mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “at least one detection device” (which may be a “communication module” or a “camera”) is considered an additional element, but it is not considered a practical application of the abstract idea, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea because it is merely a generic component (recited at a high level of generality) performing well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “a control device” is considered an additional element, but it is not considered a practical application of the abstract idea, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea because it is merely a generic component (recited at a high level of generality) performing well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation “precondition the charging station” is considered part of the abstract idea, as the specification discloses this may include, e.g., “the charging station is shifted from a rest state into an active state” (see page 11, lines 8-9 of the specification as originally filed), and as such it is not considered a practical application or significantly more.
Regarding claim 9, the recitations “send out an activity-related message and/or to open a communication channel” are considered additional elements, but may be considered receiving/transmitting data over a network, which are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions, claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality); and/or may be considered as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The remaining claims (claims 4-7 and 10-11) do not appear to make the claims eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the claims are machine/apparatus claims drawn to a “charging station”, but do not recite any structure for the “charging station”, and as such the scope of the claims is not clear.
Claim 11 is dependent from claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation "preferably" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "in particular" in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 3-6 and 8-10 are dependent from claim 2 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "in particular" in lines 3 and 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" in lines 5 and 8 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "in particular" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "in particular" in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "in particular" in lines 1 and 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
The above mentioned claim objections and claim rejections under 112(b) are not a complete and thorough listing. Applicant is required to revise all of the claims completely, and not just correct the language mentioned. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIANG (Pub. No.: US 2019/0054835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LIANG discloses a charging station (1, Fig. 2) for electrically powered motor vehicles (¶ 0015: the charging apparatus 5 can provide charging operation for electric vehicle and is adjacent to the authentication data acquisition device 4. Of course, the charging station 1 can be provided with more than one charging apparatus 5, and each charging apparatus 5 or the plurality of charging apparatuses 5 share a neighboring authentication data acquisition device 4 for charging more electric vehicles simultaneously), whereby (this is considered an inclusive/open-ended transitional phrase) the charging station is configured to detect at least one signal (¶ 0016: network camera 6 can be configured to provide an image frame of the charging station 1 to the control host 3, and the control host 3 determines, according to the image frame, whether an electric vehicle has entered into the charging station 1 and parked at the charging apparatus 5 or not; ¶ 0017: the authentication data acquisition device 4 may include an input interface (such as a keyboard or a touch screen) for user to manually input the authentication data through the input interface. Alternatively, the authentication data can be included in an encoded image by two dimension barcode or quick response (QR) code encoding method, and the encoded image is stored on an electronic carrier (such as a mobile phone, a tablet, etc.) or printed on a physical object (such as a card). The authentication data acquisition device 4 further includes an image scanning unit and a decoding unit, the image scanning unit can obtain the encoded image by scanning the encoded image presented on the electronic carrier or the physical object, and the decoding of the encoded image is performed by the decoding unit so as to obtain the authentication data. Then, the authentication data acquisition device 4 transmits the authentication data to the control host 3 as depicted in step S13 of FIG. 1) and to initialize at least one action as a function of the at least one detected signal (¶ 0022: the control host 3 performs the specific calculation on the information to be verified included in the authentication data to obtain the value to be verified and then proceeds to step S20 to determine whether the value to be verified is the same as the preset value or not…if yes, then proceeding to step S21, the control host 3 further transmits the encoded identification information contained in the authentication data to the remote server 2, and as shown in step S22, the remote server 2 further determines whether the identification information is the same as a registered identity information pre-stored therein or not. If yes, the remote server 2 returns an authentication message back to the control host 3, and after the control host 3 receives the authentication message, should the Step S17 is performed to allow the charging apparatus 5 to output electric power to charge the electric vehicle parked at the charging station 1 and electrically connected to the charging apparatus 5).
Regarding claim 2, LIANG discloses the charging station has at least one detection device, which is configured to detect the at least one signal, whereby the at least one detection device is preferably selected from a group, consisting of: a communication module, in particular configured to communicate via a data network (¶ 0015: communication module is implied), and a camera (4 and/or 6, Fig. 2; ¶ 0016-0017).
Regarding claim 3, LIANG discloses the charging station has a control device (3, Fig. 2), which is operatively connected to the at least one detection device (¶ 0015-0016) and which is configured to initialize the at least one action as a function of the at least one signal detected by the detection device (¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 4, LIANG discloses the at least one action is selected from a group, consisting of: Changing an operating state of the charging station, in particular switching over the charging station from a rest state into an active state (¶ 0022), controlling the temperature of, in particular climate controlling, the charging station, setting a climate control parameter of the charging station, displaying a predetermined content on a display device of the charging station, sending a message or a transmission signal (¶ 0016), activating a lighting device of the charging station, changing a brightness of a lighting device or of a display device of the charging station, modifying the type and/or frequency of a content displayed on a display device of the charging station, communicating with at least one other charging station, opening a communication channel, and establishing a communication connection (¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 5, LIANG discloses the at least one detection device is formed as camera, and whereby the charging station is configured to inspect images recorded by the camera with regard to at least one inspection feature and to initialize the at least one action as a function of the at least one inspection feature (¶ 0016), whereby in particular the at least one inspection feature is selected from a group, consisting of: A motor vehicle approaching the charging station (¶ 0016), a ready-to-charge behavior of a passenger of a motor vehicle in the region of the charging station, a vehicle characteristic, in particular a vehicle type or vehicle model of a motor vehicle approaching the charging station, a license plate of a motor vehicle approaching the charging station (¶ 0021, 0023), at least one characteristic of a passenger of a motor vehicle in the region of the charging station, a number or type of passengers of a motor vehicle in the region of the charging station, a behavior of a person or of another living being staying in the region of the charging station, a number of persons staying in the region of the charging station, a frequenting of the region of the charging station by persons or motor vehicles, and an encoded information, in particular a QR code (¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 6, LIANG discloses the at least one detection device is formed as communication module, which is configured to receive a receive signal or a message, in particular from a data network, as the at least one signal (¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 9, LIANG discloses the charging station is configured to recognize an activity in the region of the charging station on the basis of camera images of the detection device, which is formed as camera, and to send out an activity-related message and/or to open a communication channel as a function of the recognized activity (¶ 0016, 0022).
Regarding claim 10, LIANG discloses the charging station is configured to detect encoded information on the basis of camera images of the detection device, which is formed as camera, and to establish a communication connection as a function of the encoded information (¶ 0017, 0022).
Regarding claim 11, LIANG discloses a method for operating a charging station (1, Fig. 2; ¶ 0015: the charging apparatus 5 can provide charging operation for electric vehicle and is adjacent to the authentication data acquisition device 4. Of course, the charging station 1 can be provided with more than one charging apparatus 5, and each charging apparatus 5 or the plurality of charging apparatuses 5 share a neighboring authentication data acquisition device 4 for charging more electric vehicles simultaneously), in particular according to claim 1, whereby (this is considered an inclusive/open-ended transitional phrase) at least one signal is detected by the charging station, in particular automatically (¶ 0016: network camera 6 can be configured to provide an image frame of the charging station 1 to the control host 3, and the control host 3 determines, according to the image frame, whether an electric vehicle has entered into the charging station 1 and parked at the charging apparatus 5 or not; ¶ 0017: the authentication data acquisition device 4 may include an input interface (such as a keyboard or a touch screen) for user to manually input the authentication data through the input interface. Alternatively, the authentication data can be included in an encoded image by two dimension barcode or quick response (QR) code encoding method, and the encoded image is stored on an electronic carrier (such as a mobile phone, a tablet, etc.) or printed on a physical object (such as a card). The authentication data acquisition device 4 further includes an image scanning unit and a decoding unit, the image scanning unit can obtain the encoded image by scanning the encoded image presented on the electronic carrier or the physical object, and the decoding of the encoded image is performed by the decoding unit so as to obtain the authentication data. Then, the authentication data acquisition device 4 transmits the authentication data to the control host 3 as depicted in step S13 of FIG. 1), and at least one action is initialized by the charging station as a function of the detected at least one signal (¶ 0022: the control host 3 performs the specific calculation on the information to be verified included in the authentication data to obtain the value to be verified and then proceeds to step S20 to determine whether the value to be verified is the same as the preset value or not…if yes, then proceeding to step S21, the control host 3 further transmits the encoded identification information contained in the authentication data to the remote server 2, and as shown in step S22, the remote server 2 further determines whether the identification information is the same as a registered identity information pre-stored therein or not. If yes, the remote server 2 returns an authentication message back to the control host 3, and after the control host 3 receives the authentication message, should the Step S17 is performed to allow the charging apparatus 5 to output electric power to charge the electric vehicle parked at the charging station 1 and electrically connected to the charging apparatus 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-11 above, and further in view of ANGLIN (Pub. No.: US 2013/0006677 A1).
Regarding claim 7, LIANG discloses the charging station as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the charging station is configured to additionally initialize the at least one action as a function of at least one surrounding area parameter of the charging station, whereby the at least one surrounding area parameter is in particular selected from a group, consisting of: A location of the charging station and a current time of day.
ANGLIN discloses the charging station is configured to additionally initialize the at least one action as a function of at least one surrounding area parameter of the charging station, whereby the at least one surrounding area parameter is in particular selected from a group, consisting of: A location of the charging station and a current time of day (¶ 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include initializing the at least one action as a function of at least one surrounding area parameter in order to dynamically shift electrical supply on the grid to anticipate localized demand (ANGLIN, ¶ 0025).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-11 above, and further in view of ARNAULT (CN115352293A; English Machine Translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 8, LIANG discloses the charging station as applied to claim 2, and further discloses the charging station is configured to verify whether a motor vehicle approaches the charging station on the basis of camera images from the detection device, which is formed as camera (¶ 0016).
LIANG fails to disclose the charging station is configured to precondition the charging station when a motor vehicle approaches the charging station.
ARNAULT discloses the charging station is configured to precondition the charging station when a motor vehicle approaches the charging station (¶ 0041-0042, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include preconditioning the charging station when a motor vehicle approaches in order to preheat a frozen charging plug to prevent charging delays, thereby increasing user convenience (ARNAULT, ¶ 0002-0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/29/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859