Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 10,181,756) in view of Widmer (US 10,029,577)
Regarding claim 10, Bae teaches an apparatus for performing wireless power transmission (see Fig. 5), the apparatus comprising:
wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate a current value flowing through one or more transmitting (Tx) coils by measuring an impedance value of the one or more Tx coils (see S103; Fig. 6); identify whether a receiving (Rx) coil associated with the one or more Tx coils exists, based on a change in the current value (see S105; Fig. 6); when one or more Rx coils exist (see 60, Fig. 5), determine a position of the one or more Rx coils, based on the correlation value; and perform wireless power transmission to the one or more Rx coils, based on the determined position (see S107-s109, Fig. 6).
However, Bae does not disclose a processor and a memory calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils.
Yet, Widmer in the same filed of wireless power transfer teaches calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bae with the teachings of Widmer having one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by one or more processors and control: calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils in order to enabling optimization without requiring feedback from the secondary side
Regarding claim 19, Bae teaches an apparatus for performing wireless power transmission to: calculate a current value flowing through one or more transmitting (Tx) coils by measuring an impedance value of the one or more Tx coils; identify whether a receiving (Rx) coil associated with the one or more Tx coils exists, based on a change in the current value; when one or more Rx coils exist, determine a position of the one or more Rx coils, based on the correlation value; and perform wireless power transmission to the one or more Rx coils, based on the determined position.
Yet, Bae does not disclose one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by one or more processors and control: calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils.
However, Widmer in the same filed teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by one or more processors and control: calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils (see Col 58 line 7-30; 2004, 2010; Fig. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bae with the teachings of Widmer having one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by one or more processors and control: calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils in order to enabling optimization without requiring feedback from the secondary side.
Regarding claim 1, the combination teaches a method for performing wireless power transmission, the method comprising: calculating a current value flowing through one or more transmitting (Tx) coils by measuring an impedance value of the one or more Tx coils; identifying whether a receiving (Rx) coil associated with the one or more Tx coils exists, based on a change in the current value; when one or more Rx coils exist, calculating a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils; determining a position of the one or more Rx coils, based on the correlation value; and performing wireless power transmission to the one or more Rx coils, based on the determined position (Please see Rejection of claim 10).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the combination teaches wherein the correlation value is calculated through a matrix calculated using a voltage vector and a current vector for each of the one or more Tx coils and the impedance value (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination teaches wherein the position of the one or more Rx coils is determined based on a position of the Tx coil corresponding to a component having a magnitude greater than a pre-defined value in the eigenvector corresponding to the largest eigenvalue of the correlation value (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the combination teaches wherein, when a first Rx coil and a second Rx coil exist, the correlation value for the second Rx coil is calculated by subtracting a correlation value calculated for the first Rx coil from a correlation value calculated for both the first Rx coil and the second Rx coil (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination teaches wherein the change in the current value is determined based on a current value calculated based on a voltage applied to the one or more Tx coils and the impedance value when a Rx coil is absent (see Fig. 6; Widmer).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination teaches wherein a length of the eigenvector corresponding to the largest eigenvalue of the correlation value is equal to the number of the one or more Tx coils (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 7 and 16. The method of claim 6, wherein each component of the eigenvector is mapped one-to-one with the one or more Tx coils (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 8 and 17. The method of claim 7, wherein the wireless power transmission is performed by a Tx coil corresponding to a component in the eigenvector having a value greater than a pre-defined value (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination teaches wherein a check for whether a receiving (Rx) coil associated with the one or more Tx coils exists is continuously performed according to a pre-configured period (see col 16 line 14- col 22 line 5; Fig. 4-19; Widmer).
10. An apparatus for performing wireless power transmission, the apparatus comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a current value flowing through one or more transmitting (Tx) coils by measuring an impedance value of the one or more Tx coils; identify whether a receiving (Rx) coil associated with the one or more Tx coils exists, based on a change in the current value; when one or more Rx coils exist, calculate a correlation value between a Tx coil and a Rx coil for each of the one or more Rx coils, based on a voltage and a current applied to the one or more Tx coils; determine a position of the one or more Rx coils, based on the correlation value; and perform wireless power transmission to the one or more Rx coils, based on the determined position.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836