DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Geissler et al. (WO 2018/193094 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 13-19: Geissler et al. teach a paper product [0020, 0021] that is treated with a composition comprising polyvinyl stearate having a degree of modification of 98 mol%, and the claimed ratio of (a2) to (a1) [0108], toluene and a coagulant (tristearin) [Examples]. The composition of Geissler et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity. Geissler et al. teach food packaging as a preferred embodiment [0020, 0021, 0065].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has alleged that Geissler does not disclose the same substrate as both paper and food packaging. It is initially noted that the instant claims require a paper product with an intended use as a food packaging material or a foot container. What is required is a paper product treated with the oil-resistant agent composition. It is the position of the office that any paper product is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity. It is the position of the Office that the intended use does not result in a structural difference. See MPEP 2111.02. “It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Geissler teaches a paper product treated with their composition, and specifically mentions food packaging materials in the same paragraph [0020]. The first half of paragraph [0020] specifically mentions paper products such as cardboard. Cardboard is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity as a food packaging material or food container. In the second half of paragraph [0020], cellulose products coated with the composition are specifically designated as food packaging. Cellulose products are paper products. In paragraph [0020] paper is cited as the fibrous and/or porous substrate. In paragraph [0021] the fibrous and/or porous substrate materials (i.e. paper) is particularly suitable for food packaging. Furthermore, in the examples the composition was applied to a medical packaging paper. That paper is capable of functioning as a food packaging paper or a food container. The folding boxboard of Example 3 is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity. Clearly Geisler teaches a paper product that is treated with their composition that is used as a food packaging material.
The applicant has made the argument that Geissler does not disclose oil resistance. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763