DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II to claims 2-4 in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0235469 of Holler.
As to claim 2, Holler teaches of a system, the system comprising:
a water electrolysis stack in which water electrolysis cells are stacked (Holler, [0030] and Fig. 1) ;
a water supply side path for supplying water to the water electrolysis stack (Holler, [0030] – [0032] and Fig. 1); and
a hydrogen side path for recovering hydrogen generated from the water electrolysis stack (Holler, [0030] and Fig. 1), wherein:
the water supply side path includes
a pump that is a power source for supplying water to the water electrolysis stack (Holler, [0031] and Fig. 1),
an ion exchanger disposed between the pump and the water electrolysis stack (Holler, [0031] and Fig. 1),
a bypass that is a path that allows water from the pump to flow to the water electrolysis stack without passing through the ion exchanger (Holler, [0031] and Fig. 1),
a valve for adjusting an amount of water that flows through the bypass (Holler, [0033] and Fig. 1), and
a control system for adjusting the valve, wherein the control system performs control so as to adjust an opening degree of the valve based on an amount of ions contained in the water supplied to the water electrolysis stack (Holler, [0035], [0041] and Fig. 1).
As seen in Holler, there is an electrolysis stack (1) that is supplied with water through line (2). Hydrogen gas is recovered through outlet (3). The water is supplied from container (6) by pump (11) through ion exchangers (15/16) and through a bypass line (13) such that a valve (20) adjusts an amount of water through the bypass line.
There is a control system that controls the amount of water through the valve as a function of the metal ion concentration, thus performing the adjusting operation as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of JP 2015048506 of Kurashina et al (translation provided by Applicant on 11/16/2023 within file wrapper of application).
As to claim 3, Holler teaches of a system of claim 2.
Holler does not specifically teach the controller acquires a conductivity of the water supplied to the water electrolysis stack, and adjusting the opening degree of the valve based on a threshold value of the conductivity.
Kurashina teaches of water electrolysis systems that utilize ion exchangers within the water supply line (Kurashina, [0008] – [0015]).
Kurashina teaches that the system utilizes a controller that acquires the conductivity of the water supplied (i.e. metal ions in the water) by using a conductivity sensor such that the conductivity sensed, valves are controlled to supply water to the stack or through a bypass line to ensure proper conductivity of the water to the stack (Kurashina, [0049] – [0058] and Fig. 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holler as per Kurashina so as to utilize a conductivity sensor to acquire the ion concentration within the supplied water in order to control the amount of water through the ion exchanger and bypass line in order to ensure proper conductivity of water is reaching the electrolyzer stack for proper operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 requires that within this type of system a difference in the conductivity is acquired up and downstream of the ion exchanger to control the operation of the valve adjustment. This operation is not obvious or anticipated in view of the prior art of record.
Conclusion
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759