DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Fitzpatrick (EP-3419346 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), comprising: sending (user equipment 102 is configured to send and receive voice, data, and control signals to and from a service network 104 via a communications network 106; paragraph 0042, 0053-0054) data related to network selection of a first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to allow the automated selection and connection of a user equipment device (wireless device) to the most suitable access network; paragraph 0010-0012) ; and using the data related to the network selection of the first terminal to determine first network selection preference information (the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions (e.g., automatically select a wireless communication network for a user equipment device) by generating and sending an enhanced network selection rule (i.e., an ENS rule) to the user equipment device ; furthermore, the selection decision may be based on one or more of user-defined preferences (e.g., an identified residential/office Wi-Fi network), operator-defined business rules (e.g., a specified preferred roaming partner's network), and various contextual data; paragraph 0036- 0038), wherein the first network selection preference information is network selection preference information of the first terminal, and is used to determine a network selection policy (the wireless device can perform autonomous network selection; generating, via a processor of a network selection policy server, a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; paragraph 0009-0012), and wherein the network selection policy is used to determine a radio management policy for the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to use information obtained from a charging system to generate network selection rules or as part of a network selection decision; in addition, the network selection policy server is used to determine a radio management policy for the first UE ; note that the network selection policy server 116 is configured to intelligently determine, select, communicate, and/or enforce various network selection policies, rules, and criteria; the network selection policy server 116 may communicate with various systems and components, such as a user equipment, a subscriber management system, a wireless device mobility manager, an access control manager, a policy management system (e.g., the PCRF 112 component, etc.), and a charging system ; paragraph 0043-0048; paragraph 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 2, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the sending the data related to the network selection of the first terminal includes sending (the network selection policy server 116 may send a set of criteria to the UE 102; paragraph 0042) one or more of the following information: an operation behavior that is of the first terminal and that is related to a network standard (inability to adequately manage a subscriber’s Wi-Fi offloading experience, and the loss of visibility of a subscriber’s traffic, offloading behavior, and quality of experience; paragraph 0047-0049, 0077), network selection information autonomously determined by the first terminal (the UE 102 may monitor the running applications based on the criteria, such as to determine whether some applications connect more frequently than once every five minutes; paragraph 0009-0011, 0079), a network standard on which the first terminal camps, a user package of the first terminal, complaint information that is of the first terminal and that is related to the network standard (the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic (e.g., based on whether the applications meet or exceed the criteria); the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications' traffic; paragraph 0071, 0081-0082),
Regarding claim 3, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the sending the network selection information autonomously determined by the first terminal includes sending at least one of the following information: information about a target network autonomously determined by the first terminal, a reason why the first terminal selects the target network, a priority that is of a frequency and that is autonomously determined by the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology) and automatically select the highest priority network/technology that is available; paragraph 0012-0014), information about a first target cell autonomously determined by the first terminal, or a reason why the first terminal selects the first target cell (priority information and various parameters; a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; furthermore, the network selection policy server may automatically switch the user equipment to a more suitable access network or use a client-based app resident on the user equipment device to prompt the user to switch access networks; paragraph 0014-0018, 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 4, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the sending the reason why the first terminal selects the target network includes sending at least one of the following reasons: an access success rate of a source network is less than or equal to a first threshold (the access network device sends network selection information to the first user equipment based on the RRM policy of the first user equipment; furthermore, the network selection policy server is configured to inform a wireless device to only transition/connect to an alternative network once a radio link with acceptable properties is obtainable (when the result of evaluating a condition that tests whether a radio link property is greater than or equal to a threshold value is “true,” ; in addition, the network selection policy server may give the mobile network operator control over the network selection decisions; paragraph 0074-0075), power consumption of the first terminal during access to the source network is greater than or equal to a second threshold, or a quality of service value during access to the source network is less than or equal to a third threshold (generate the enhanced network selection rule to include information suitable for causing the user equipment device to evaluate whether a value of a radio link property of the second wireless communication network meets or exceeds a threshold value of acceptable radio link properties and transition to the second wireless communication network when the value of the radio link property of the second wireless communication network measured in the user equipment device meets or exceeds the threshold value of acceptable radio link properties; paragraph 0007-0008); wherein the sending the reason why the first terminal selects the first target cell includes sending at least one of the following reasons: an access success rate of a second target cell is less than or equal to a fourth threshold (determine that radio link quality thresholds have been met; the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions based on awareness of resources, quality of service of the available access networks, current network utilization rates, signal strength thresholds, quality of experience, network priorities, frequency bands; furthermore, the user equipment device evaluates whether a value of a radio link property of the second wireless communication network meets or exceeds a value of acceptable radio link properties and transition to the second wireless communication network when the value of the radio link property of the second wireless communication network measured in the user equipment device meets or exceeds the value of acceptable radio link properties; paragraph 0017-0018, 0040, 0084-0088), or the first terminal cannot display, on the second target cell, an icon that identifies a first-standard network, wherein the second target cell is another cell, other than the first target cell, that is accessed by the first terminal (the condition may be whether a value of a radio link property (SINR value, RSSI value, etc.) of the first wireless communication network meets or exceeds a threshold value of acceptable radio link properties; allow a mobile network operator to specify a time threshold for each network offload policy that would prevent the user equipment from connecting to an access point until the user equipment has been in the coverage area for longer than the defined threshold ; note that the timer may be reset and restarted if the beacon is detected and the radio link metrics are above the threshold ; paragraph 0061-0065, 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 5, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the determining the first network selection preference information includes determining one or more of the following information: a network standard preferred by the first terminal, at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal, a weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal (the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic (e.g., based on whether the applications meet or exceed the criteria, etc.); the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications’ traffic and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; note that devices that have a low weighting factor applied, when determining the radio access network cell congestion; conversely, devices with a low rate of movement may be weighted heavier when determining the radio access network cell congestion; a larger weight indicates greater importance; in addition, network selection factor includes the following information: a current battery level, power consumption in the network, the quality of service value in the network, an access success rate of the network, network efficiency; the user equipment may consider other factors such as the applications being used and the bandwidth being consumed, and such factors may be identified via an ENS rule ; paragraph 0069-0071, 0130, 0150), time information corresponding to the foregoing information, location information corresponding to the foregoing information, or service information corresponding to the foregoing information (subscriber or device to access the service network and/or Internet; cable operators are using Wi-Fi networks to offer their customers access to online applications and Internet services while outside the home or office; the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions based on awareness of resources, quality of service of the available access networks, current network utilization rates, signal strength thresholds, quality of experience, network priorities, frequency bands; furthermore, the network selection decisions may be made based on contextual information, such as time of day, device type and location, current connection to an access network, subscriber identity and history, analytics data (e.g., application usage), the network selection decisions may be made based on the wireless device's ability to attempt a reconnection to preferred networks at a later time, based on configurable parameters (such as a duration threshold); paragraph 0074-0075, 0084-0088).
Regarding claim 6, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the determining the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal includes: determining the at least one network selection consideration factor in an autonomous network selection process of the first terminal (determining the radio access network cell congestion; the network selection policy server may be configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology) and automatically select the highest priority network/technology that is available; paragraph 0014-0016, 0051-0053); and the determining the weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal includes: determining the weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor in the autonomous network selection process of the first terminal (the network selection policy server may communicate with other network components in order to determine the networks the user equipment can access; the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic ; the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications’ traffic and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; note that devices that have a low weighting factor applied, when determining the radio access network cell congestion; conversely, devices with a low rate of movement may be weighted heavier when determining the radio access network cell congestion; a larger weight indicates greater importance; in addition, network selection factor includes the following information: a current battery level, power consumption in the network, the quality of service value in the network, an access success rate of the network, network efficiency; the user equipment may consider other factors such as the applications being used and the bandwidth being consumed, and such factors may be identified via an ENS rule ; paragraph 0012-0014; paragraph 0174-0178).
Regarding claim 7, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), comprising: obtaining (the network device obtains network selection information first network selection preference information (read as : network selection preference : a device chooses which cellular or WiFi to connect to, prioritizing speed, signal quality, etc; service data, network data, data of the plurality of User Equipments (UE); generating the enhanced network selection rule to include a network selection policy that includes a plurality of network selection rules, and generating at least one of the plurality of network selection rules based on information obtained from a policy management system, a charging system, and/or a subscriber management system; furthermore, the network selection policy server 116 may cause a user equipment 102 device to transition between communication network technologies (e.g., transition from sending and receiving information via a cellular network to sending and receiving the information via a Wi-Fi network; paragraph 0036-0039), wherein the first network selection preference information is network selection preference information of a first terminal (the wireless device can perform autonomous network selection; generating, via a processor of a network selection policy server, a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; paragraph 0010-0012 ; paragraph 0041, 0048), and the first network selection preference information comprises a learning result obtained by learning data related to network selection of a terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to use machine learning techniques and/or a learning algorithm to learn the relative importance of private hotspots over time (e.g., based on the device's network usage patterns, the user's preferences) and prioritize the hotspots based on their relative importance; paragraph 0014, 0018); and determining a network selection policy based on the first network selection preference information (the network selection policy server may collect network usage information from the user equipment device, generate an information structure (e.g., a feature vector) that characterizes the collected network usage information, apply a data/behavior model to the generated structure to test/evaluate various conditions (e.g., amount of data consumed via the hotspot, frequency in which the hotspot is used, etc.); applying the data/behavior model to the generated structure may generate predictive analysis results that may be used to determine the relative importance of the private hotspots over time and/or to otherwise determine priorities for the hotspots; furthermore, determining priorities for a plurality of wireless communication networks based on the learned network usage patterns; paragraph 0014, 0016), wherein the network selection policy is used to determine a radio management policy for the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to use information obtained from a charging system to generate network selection rules or as part of a network selection decision; in addition, the network selection policy server is used to determine a radio management policy for the first UE ; note that the network selection policy server 116 is configured to intelligently determine, select, communicate, and/or enforce various network selection policies, rules, and criteria; the network selection policy server 116 may communicate with various systems and components, such as a user equipment, a subscriber management system, a wireless device mobility manager, an access control manager, a policy management system (e.g., the PCRF 112 component, etc) and a charging system ; paragraph 0043-0048; paragraph 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 8, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the method further comprises: sending a first request to a second network device, wherein the first request is used to obtain the network selection preference information of the first terminal (the network selection policy server 116 may send a management object that includes information suitable for identifying the costs associated with accessing the network to the UE 102); and the obtaining first network selection preference information comprises: receiving, by a first network device, the first network selection preference information from the second network device (the UE 102 may obtain network measurements from the mobile telecommunication network 1220; the UE 102 may detect a first Wi-Fi network (i.e., Hotspot 1) 1222 and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; the UE 102 may detect a second Wi-Fi network (i.e., Hotspot 2) 1224 and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; paragraph 0138-0140).
Regarding claim 9, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the sending the first request includes sending an analytics identifier, and the analytics identifier indicates to analyze a network selection preference (the processor may send a subscriber profile request message that includes an IMSI value to the relevant subscriber management system ; the processor may receive a subscriber profile response message that includes subscriber information from the SMS; the processor may determine user is a high value user), and wherein the first request further comprises at least one of the following information: an identifier of the first terminal (the second request is used to obtain the data related to network selection of the terminal), location area information corresponding to the analytics identifier, period information corresponding to the analytics identifier (location information: this device specific information can be added in a number of places within the ANDSF management object, such as in the UE_Location or Ext nodes; the UE Profile leaf may incorporate additional useful information), an application identifier corresponding to the analytics identifier (specifically, the PCRF 112 may be responsible for generating, compiling, and selecting a set of business and technology rules that define the policies that are to be enforced for particular call session ; paragraph 0084-0091), slice information corresponding to the analytics identifier, or data network information corresponding to the analytics identifier (the PCRF 112 component may be responsible for identifying the appropriate policy and charging rules for a given communication session of a given subscriber or terminal device, and sending the identified policy rules to the PCEF 110 for enforcement; paragraph 0043-0048).
Regarding claim 10, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the learning the data related to the network selection of the terminal includes learning one or more of the following information: an operation behavior that is of the first terminal and that is related to a network standard (inability to adequately manage a subscriber’s Wi-Fi offloading experience, and the loss of visibility of a subscriber’s traffic, offloading behavior, and quality of experience), network selection information autonomously determined by the first terminal (the UE 102 may monitor the running applications based on the criteria, such as to determine whether some applications connect more frequently than once every five minutes), a network standard on which the first terminal camps, a user package of the first terminal, complaint information that is of the first terminal and that is related to the network standard (the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic (e.g., based on whether the applications meet or exceed the criteria); the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications' traffic; paragraph ), time information corresponding to the foregoing information (period information), location information corresponding to the foregoing information (location information: this device specific information can be added in a number of places within the ANDSF management object, such as in the UE_Location or Ext nodes; the UE Profile leaf may incorporate additional useful information; paragraph 0090-0091), or service information corresponding to the foregoing information (the wireless device sends an operating system identifier and device capability information; the period information indicates to perform network selection preference for a UE in the period; paragraph 0071, 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 11, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the learning the network selection information autonomously determined by the first terminal includes learning at least one of the following information: information about a target network autonomously determined by the first terminal, a reason why the first terminal selects the target network, a priority that is of a frequency and that is autonomously determined by the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology) and automatically select the highest priority network/technology that is available; paragraph 0012-0014), information about a first target cell autonomously determined by the first terminal, or a reason why the first terminal selects the first target cell (priority information and various parameters; a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; furthermore, the network selection policy server may automatically switch the user equipment to a more suitable access network or use a client-based app resident on the user equipment device to prompt the user to switch access networks; paragraph 0014-0018; paragraph 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 12, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the learning the reason why the first terminal selects the target network includes learning at least one of the following reasons: an access success rate of a source network is less than or equal to a first threshold (the access network device sends network selection information to the first user equipment based on the RRM policy of the first user equipment; furthermore, the network selection policy server is configured to inform a wireless device to only transition/connect to an alternative network once a radio link with acceptable properties is obtainable (when the result of evaluating a condition that tests whether a radio link property is greater than or equal to a threshold value is “true,” ; in addition, the network selection policy server may give the mobile network operator control over the network selection decisions; paragraph 0074-0075), power consumption of the first terminal during access to the source network is greater than or equal to a second threshold, or a quality of service value during access to the source network is less than or equal to a third threshold (generate the enhanced network selection rule to include information suitable for causing the user equipment device to evaluate whether a value of a radio link property of the second wireless communication network meets or exceeds a threshold value of acceptable radio link properties and transition to the second wireless communication network when the value of the radio link property of the second wireless communication network measured in the user equipment device meets or exceeds the threshold value of acceptable radio link properties ; paragraph 0007-0008); wherein the sending the reason why the first terminal selects the first target cell includes sending at least one of the following reasons: an access success rate of a second target cell is less than or equal to a fourth threshold (determine that radio link quality thresholds have been met; the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions based on awareness of resources, quality of service of the available access networks, current network utilization rates, signal strength thresholds, quality of experience, network priorities, frequency bands; furthermore, the user equipment device evaluates whether a value of a radio link property of the second wireless communication network meets or exceeds a value of acceptable radio link properties and transition to the second wireless communication network when the value of the radio link property of the second wireless communication network measured in the user equipment device meets or exceeds the value of acceptable radio link properties; paragraph 0017-0018, 0040, 0084-0088), or the first terminal cannot display, on the second target cell, an icon that identifies a first-standard network, wherein the second target cell is another cell, other than the first target cell, that is accessed by the first terminal (the condition may be whether a value of a radio link property (SINR value, RSSI value, etc.) of the first wireless communication network meets or exceeds a threshold value of acceptable radio link properties; allow a mobile network operator to specify a time threshold for each network offload policy that would prevent the user equipment from connecting to an access point until the user equipment has been in the coverage area for longer than the defined threshold ; note that the timer may be reset and restarted if the beacon is detected and the radio link metrics are above the threshold ; paragraph 0061-0065, 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 13, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the learning the data related to the network selection of the terminal includes learning one or more of the following information: an operation behavior that is of the first terminal and that is related to a network standard (inability to adequately manage a subscriber’s Wi-Fi offloading experience, and the loss of visibility of a subscriber’s traffic, offloading behavior, and quality of experience), network selection information autonomously determined by the first terminal (the UE 102 may monitor the running applications based on the criteria, such as to determine whether some applications connect more frequently than once every five minutes), a network standard on which the first terminal camps, a user package of the first terminal, complaint information that is of the first terminal and that is related to the network standard (the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic (e.g., based on whether the applications meet or exceed the criteria); the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications' traffic; paragraph ), time information corresponding to the foregoing information (period information), location information corresponding to the foregoing information (location information: this device specific information can be added in a number of places within the ANDSF management object, such as in the UE_Location or Ext nodes; the UE Profile leaf may incorporate additional useful information; paragraph 0090-0091), or service information corresponding to the foregoing information (the wireless device sends an operating system identifier and device capability information; the period information indicates to perform network selection preference for a UE in the period), wherein the plurality of terminals are related to the first terminal (the information and analysis may enable mobile network operators to identify areas and locations in which a large number of subscribers are connecting to Wi-Fi networks, but where the mobile network operator has no Wi-Fi access points; paragraph 0013-0014, 0074-0075).
Regarding claim 14, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the obtaining the first network selection preference information includes obtaining one or more of the following information: a network standard preferred by the first terminal (obtain network measurements from the associated access point), at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology) and automatically select the highest priority network/technology that is available; paragraph 0069-0071, 0130, 0150) ; a weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal, time information corresponding to the foregoing information, location information corresponding to the foregoing information, or service information corresponding to the foregoing information (determining the weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor in the autonomous network selection process of the first terminal (the network selection policy server may communicate with other network components in order to determine the networks the user equipment can access; the UE 102 may determine/select a network for sending select application traffic ; the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications’ traffic and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; note that devices that have a low weighting factor applied, when determining the radio access network cell congestion; conversely, devices with a low rate of movement may be weighted heavier when determining the radio access network cell congestion; a larger weight indicates greater importance; in addition, network selection factor includes the following information: a current battery level, power consumption in the network, the quality of service value in the network, an access success rate of the network, network efficiency; the user equipment may consider other factors such as the applications being used and the bandwidth being consumed, and such factors may be identified via an ENS rule ; paragraph 0074-0075, 0084-0088).
Regarding claim 15, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the obtaining the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal includes: obtaining the at least one network selection consideration factor in an autonomous network selection process of the first terminal; and the obtaining the weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor of the first terminal (paragraph 0014-0016, 0051-0053) includes: obtaining the weight corresponding to each of the at least one network selection consideration factor in the autonomous network selection process of the first terminal (the user equipment may also take into consideration additional factors, such as the current network load, when determining/selecting the network to use for sending the applications’ traffic and obtain network measurements from the associated access point; note that devices that have a low weighting factor applied, when determining the radio access network cell congestion; conversely, devices with a low rate of movement may be weighted heavier when determining the radio access network cell congestion; a larger weight indicates greater importance; in addition, network selection factor includes the following information: a current battery level, power consumption in the network; paragraph 0012-0014; paragraph 0174-0178).
Regarding claim 16, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the method further comprises: sending the network selection policy to an access network device accessed by the first terminal (sending the first enhanced network selection rule to the first user equipment device so as to cause the first user equipment device to automatically evaluate the condition and determine whether to transition from using the first wireless communication network to using the second wireless communication network, and sending the second enhanced network selection rule to the identified second user equipment device; paragraph 0014, 0017-0018).
Regarding claim 17, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the determining a network selection policy based on the first network selection preference information includes: determining the network selection policy based on the first network selection preference information and a service analytics result of the first terminal (determining the radio access network cell congestion; the network selection policy server may be configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology); furthermore, the network selection policy server 116 may communicate with various systems and components, such as a user equipment, a subscriber management system, a wireless device mobility manager, an access control manager, a policy management system (e.g., the PCRF 112 component, etc) and a charging system ; paragraph 0043-0049).
Regarding claim 18, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining method (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), wherein the method further comprises: sending indication information to the first terminal, wherein the indication information indicates the first terminal to perform network selection based on network selection information delivered by a network (the network selection policy server may be further configured to generate the enhanced network selection rules so that they cause the wireless device to intelligently determine priorities for selecting an appropriate network (or network technology) and automatically select the highest priority network/technology that is available; paragraph 0014-0016, 0051-0053), or the indication information indicates that network selection information delivered by a network is determined based on the network selection preference information of the first terminal (In addition, the network selection policy server may be configured to cause the device to display different icons based on the selected network or enhanced network selection rules; paragraph 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 19, Fitzpatrick discloses a network selection policy determining apparatus (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), comprising: memory storing computer-executable instructions; and a processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement operations comprising: sending (user equipment 102 is configured to send and receive voice, data, and control signals to and from a service network 104 via a communications network 106; paragraph 0042, 0053-0054) data related to network selection of a first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to allow the automated selection and connection of a user equipment device (wireless device) to the most suitable access network; paragraph 0010-0012); using the data related to network selection of the first terminal to determine first network selection preference information (the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions (e.g., automatically select a wireless communication network for a user equipment device) by generating and sending an enhanced network selection rule (i.e., an ENS rule) to the user equipment device ; furthermore, the selection decision may be based on one or more of user-defined preferences (e.g., an identified residential/office Wi-Fi network), operator-defined business rules (e.g., a specified preferred roaming partner's network), and various contextual data; paragraph 0036- 0038), wherein the first network selection preference information is network selection preference information of the first terminal, wherein the processor is further configured to use the first network selection preference information to determine a network selection policy (the wireless device can perform autonomous network selection; generating, via a processor of a network selection policy server, a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; paragraph 0009-0012), and to determine a radio management policy for the first terminal based on the network selection policy (the network selection policy server may be configured to use information obtained from a charging system to generate network selection rules or as part of a network selection decision; in addition, the network selection policy server is used to determine a radio management policy for the first UE ; note that the network selection policy server 116 is configured to intelligently determine, select, communicate, and/or enforce various network selection policies, rules, and criteria; the network selection policy server 116 may communicate with various systems and components, such as a user equipment, a subscriber management system, a wireless device mobility manager, an access control manager, a policy management system (e.g., the PCRF 112 component, etc) and a charging system ; ; paragraph 0043-0048; paragraph 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 20, Fitzpatrick discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to perform operations (fig. 1A, fig. 4B), comprising: sending (user equipment 102 is configured to send and receive voice, data, and control signals to and from a service network 104 via a communications network 106; paragraph 0042, 0053-0054) data related to network selection of a first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to allow the automated selection and connection of a user equipment device (wireless device) to the most suitable access network; paragraph 0010-0012); using the data related to the network selection of the first terminal to determine first network selection preference information (the network selection policy server may be configured to make network selection decisions (e.g., automatically select a wireless communication network for a user equipment device) by generating and sending an enhanced network selection rule (i.e., an ENS rule) to the user equipment device ; furthermore, the selection decision may be based on one or more of user-defined preferences (e.g., an identified residential/office Wi-Fi network), operator-defined business rules (e.g., a specified preferred roaming partner's network), and various contextual data; paragraph 0036- 0038), wherein the first network selection preference information is network selection preference information of the first terminal, and wherein the first network selection preference information is used to determine a network selection policy (the wireless device can perform autonomous network selection; generating, via a processor of a network selection policy server, a first enhanced network selection rule that includes information suitable for causing a first user equipment device to automatically evaluate a condition and determine whether to transition from using a first wireless communication network to using a second wireless communication network; paragraph 0009-0012), and wherein the network selection policy is used to determine a radio management policy for the first terminal (the network selection policy server may be configured to use information obtained from a charging system to generate network selection rules or as part of a network selection decision; in addition, the network selection policy server is used to determine a radio management policy for the first UE ; note that the network selection policy server 116 is configured to intelligently determine, select, communicate, and/or enforce various network selection policies, rules, and criteria; the network selection policy server 116 may communicate with various systems and components, such as a user equipment, a subscriber management system, a wireless device mobility manager, an access control manager, a policy management system (e.g., the PCRF 112 component, etc) and a charging system ; paragraph 0043-0048; paragraph 0064-0069).
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641