DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busch USPA 2015/0093627 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Busch discloses a composite separator for gas separation (Abstract), the composite separator comprising: a support (Abstract: porous film) and a selective layer disposed on one surface of the support (Abstract and paragraph 4: layers that absorb the electrolyte; paragraph 51: additional porous layers also read on the claimed selective layer), wherein the support includes a porous polyethylene film (paragraph 47), and the support has a surface roughness of 100 nm or less (paragraph 55), a surface median pore diameter of 300 nm or less (paragraph 53).
Busch does not disclose a tensile strength in a machine direction (MD) and a transverse direction (TD) of 10 MPa or more. However, Busch discloses that a high mechanical strength is desired (paragraph 7), and the film has excellent strength (paragraph 24). Absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the tensile strength in the machine and transverse directions is considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal durability. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Busch discloses that the permeability has a Gurley value of less than 1000 s, but does not disclose a permeability of 850 sec/100 cc or less. 850 sec/100 cc falls within the range of less than 1000 s. Furthermore, if the disclosed range of Busch is not deemed to anticipate the claimed range, nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the permeability is considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal separation. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Busch discloses that the support has a surface roughness of 50 nm or less (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 4, Busch discloses that the support has a thickness ranging from 5 μm to 100 μm (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 5, Busch discloses that the selective layer has a thickness ranging from 10 nm to 500 nm (paragraph 51: one of the “further porous layer” reads on the claimed selective layer).
Regarding claim 6, Busch discloses a middle layer disposed between the selective layer and the support (paragraph 51: one of the “further porous layers” can be considered the claimed selective layer and another can be considered the claimed middle layer).
Regarding claim 7, Busch discloses a protective layer disposed on the selective layer (paragraph 51: one of the “further porous layers” can be considered the claimed selective layer and another can be considered the claimed protective layer).
Regarding claim 8, Busch discloses that the composite separator has a thickness of 150 μm or less (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 9, Busch does not disclose that the composite separator has a specific surface area of the selective layer according to the following Equation 1 of 10,000 m2/m3 or more: [Equation 1] Specific surface area of selective layer = surface area of selective layer (m2) / volume of composite separator (m3). Nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the specific surface area of the selective layer is considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal separation, as is known in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776