Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/20/2026 with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “the driving link 17 of Gunter does not include a first body extending from the first wing toward the bottom surface of the duct housing and a second body extending from the first body toward the second wing, wherein the first body includes a connecting pin extending horizontally along a connecting groove disposed in the first wing on an upper end of the first body and a guide extending downward from a lower end of the first body and protruding in an opposite direction of the second body to be inserted into guide groove”. However, since connector 17 and slide 18 of Gunter teach a fixed assembly to rotate second blade 9, this assembly reads on the claimed driving link 17 wherein the connector 17 reads on the first body and slide 18 reads on the second body. As shown on fig. 1 of Gunter, connector 17 extends from the first wing toward the bottom surface of the duct housing and the slide 18 extends from the connector 17 toward the second wing; connector 17 comprises first pivot axis 5 extending horizontally along a connecting groove disposed in the first wing on an upper end of connector 17. Additionally, as detailed in the action, the bottom end of connector 17 protrudes downward in a vertical direction, wherein slide 18 comprises a protrusion around slots 21 extending upwards in the vertical direction to accommodate pins 22 of the second blades 9. Thus, the protrusions are formed in the opposite direction from one another. Therefore, Gunter continues to disclose amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gunter (US20230100725A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gunter teaches
A vehicle air vent (air vent 1) comprising:
a duct housing (“The air vent 1 according to the invention shown in the drawing comprises a straight, rectangular tube-shaped housing”) [0024];
a first wing horizontally extending in a discharge port of the duct housing (first blade 8 within outflow opening 4);
a second wing vertically extending in the duct housing (second blade 9); and
a driving link (connector 17 and slide 18 assembly) of having a first side connected to the first wing (at first pivot axis 5) and a second side connected to the second wing (at slide 18 via pins 22), wherein the driving link is configured to slide along a guide groove in a bottom surface of the duct housing in the discharge port to rotate the second wing in a left-right direction (“The connector 17 leads to a slide 18 , which is displaceably guided in a guide groove 19 in a channel wall 20 of the air channel 2… Displacement of the slide 18 causes the second blades 9 to be jointly pivoted parallel to one another about the second pivot axes 6 thereof”) [0036]
wherein the driving link includes: a first body extending from the first wing toward the bottom surface of the duct housing (connector 17 extending from pivot axis 5, fig. 1); and
a second body extending from the first body toward the second wing (slide 18 extends further rearward from connector 17 in direction of second blade 9, figs. 1-2)
wherein the first body includes a connecting pin extending horizontally (first pivot axis 5, figs. 1-2 along a connecting groove disposed in the first wing on an upper end of the first body (as shown on fig. 2, wherein first pivot axis 5 is inserted) and a guide extending downward from a lower end of the first body (portion of connector 17 extending vertically into guide groove 19, figs. 1 and 2) and protruding in an opposite direction of the second body to be inserted the guide groove (as shown on fig. 1, the side of connector 17 extending into guide groove 19 protrudes downwards, which is in an opposite direction of the slide 18 which protrudes upwards in the area of slots 21, as shown on annotated fig. 1 below)
Annotated fig. 1 of Gunter
Regarding claim 4, Gunter teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 3,
wherein the second body includes a coupling hole coupled to a coupling protrusion of the second wing in an end of the second body (“The slide 18 includes a slot 21 for each second blade 9 , which extends obliquely—in the exemplary embodiment, at an angle of 45°—with respect to the longitudinal direction of the air channel 2 . Pins 22 , which project rigidly from the slide 18 at the end faces of the second blades 9 which face the channel wall 20 , engage in the slots 21 . The pins 22 project rigidly from the end faces of the second blades 9”) [0036]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunter (US20230100725A1) in view of Lin (US10792974B2).
Regarding claim 5, Gunter teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 3,
wherein the first wing includes a connecting groove into which the connecting pin is rotatably connected (as shown on fig. 2, wherein first pivot axis 5 is inserted)
Gunter does not teach
the connecting groove is connected to an opening that is open downward from the first wing along an inclined surface inclined downward toward the second wing
Lin teaches
the connecting groove is connected to an opening that is open downward from the first wing (as shown on fig. 4, air register vane 210 comprises an outer edge 216 to accommodate shaft 217, wherein the underside of outer edge 216 is connected to an opening that is open downward from air register vane 210)
Gunter teaches first blade 8 comprising a connecting groove into which the first pivot axis 5 is rotatably connected, however does not further teach the connecting groove is connected to an opening that is open downward from the first wing. Lin teaches a similar air register vane 210 with a knob 220 corresponding to the knob section of operating element 16, wherein each are slidable relative to the vane. Lin further teaches accommodating a grommet 360 within an opening of a shaft groove of the vane assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the knob system of Lin to the knob section of operating element 16 of Gunter, in order to “maintain the knob at a certain position with a suitable friction force and may avoid a position change due to vibration or the like” [0053 of Lin].
The combination teaches
the connecting groove is connected to an opening that is open downward from the first wing along an inclined surface inclined downward toward the second wing (in an orientation of first blade 8 of Gunter to be inclined downward toward the second wing, the connecting groove as applied by the Lin modification is connected to an opening that is open downward, as the connecting groove of Lin is located on a underside of the vane)
Regarding claim 6, Gunter, as modified, teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 5, further comprising
a jog disposed outside the discharge port and coupled to the first wing to vertically rotate the first wing (operating element 16, as modified by knob 220 of Lin)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunter (US20230100725A1) in view of Goto (US20090286462A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gunter teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 3, further comprising
a wing knob disposed on the discharge port and connected to the first wing to vertically rotate the first wing (operating element 16)
Gunter does not teach
wherein the wing knob includes an upper knob and a lower knob which surround the first wing, and in state in which the upper knob and the lower knob are coupled to each other, the upper knob and the lower knob define an inner space of which both sides are open to allow the first wing to pass through the inner space
Goto teaches
wherein the wing knob (operation knob 18) includes an upper knob (top surface of operation knob 18, fig. 2) and a lower knob (bottom surface of operation knob 18, fig. 2) which surround the first wing (air guide vane 7b, fig. 2), and in state in which the upper knob and the lower knob are coupled to each other (as shown on fig. 2), the upper knob and the lower knob define an inner space of which both sides are open to allow the first wing to pass through the inner space (“As illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, a recess 18 a for receiving an air guide vane is formed in the operation knob 18”) [0040]
Goto teaches a similar knob arrangement to that of Gunter, wherein operation knob 18 is slidable relative to air guide vane 7b and comprises a lever portion 18d corresponding to the connector 17 of Gunter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the knob system of Lin to the knob section of operating element 16 of Gunter, since “As the operation knob reciprocates, the supporting rib linearly contacts an elastic member. Thereby, the supporting rib can retain a stable posture with respect to the elastic member” [abstract of Goto], thus improving the stability of the desired outlet direction.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunter (US20230100725A1) in view of Goto (US20090286462A1), in further view of Yang (US20230025043A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gunter, as modified, teaches he vehicle air vent of claim 7,
wherein the lower knob includes a through hole through which the first body passes (as shown on fig. 1, Gunter teaches a hole in the rear section of operating element 16 to accommodate connector 17 to connect to first pivot axis 5)
Gunter does not teach
a support that protrudes from both sides of the through hole and in which the connecting pin is seated, and a seating groove to which the connecting pin is rotatably fitted is disposed in the support
Yang teaches
a support that protrudes from both sides of the through hole and in which the connecting pin is seated (U-shaped holders 115B to accommodate fitting protrusion 122, fig. 5), and a seating groove to which the connecting pin is rotatably fitted is disposed in the support (pair of fitting holes 115A, fig. 5; “If the vane rotating portion 120 is inserted into the lower coupling portion 112 B in the frontward direction, each fitting protrusion 122 is fitted into the fitting hole 115 A, and the vane rotating portion 120 can be fixed to the rear end of the lower coupling portion 112 B” [0062])
Gunter teaches a hole in the rear section of operating element 16 to accommodate connector 17 to connect to first pivot axis 5, however does not explicitly teach how operating element 16 and accommodate connector 17 are coupled to one another via first pivot axis 5. Yang teaches a similar knob arrangement to Goto, as applied to Gunter, wherein Yang shows to coupling between the knob body 110 and vane rotating portion 120. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the coupling system of Yang to Gunter, a modified, in order to provide a simple mechanism to fix the knob and connector of Gunter, as modified, to one another, but also allow the components to be separated for maintenance and assembly purposes.
Regarding claim 9, Gunter, as modified, teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 8,
wherein the upper knob includes a pressing protrusion that protrudes toward the support to prevent the connecting pin from being separated from the seating groove (as sown on fig. 4 of Goto, claw portions 18c protrude downwards to keep the structure engaged with the vane; thus, further prevents disconnection from first pivot axis 5)
Regarding claim 10, teaches the vehicle air vent of claim 8,
wherein the first wing includes an accommodation hole that accommodates the support in a state in which the first wing is disposed in the inner space (as shown on fig. 1 of Gunter, first blade 8 includes an accommodation hole in the lower side to accommodate first pivot axis 5, and thus the structure of the support of the knob as modified by Yang; fig. =4 of Yang teaches a similar recess 226 within horizontal vane 220 on fig. 4)
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Yamamoto (JP2017071243A), which teaches a similar vehicle air vent to that claimed, and Pacher (US20180354338A1) and Suzuki (US20150328959A1), which teach similar wing knob arrangements to that claimed
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762