DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 11/16/2023. Claims 21-39 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-24, 36 & 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9 & 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,423. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 21 & 22, patent claims 1 & 9 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 23, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 24, patent claim 4 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 26 & 39, patent claim 19 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lennox (US 5,507,824).
Regarding Claim 21, Lennox teaches a liner (20) for an acetabular cup (16), comprising:
a proximal surface (shown), at least a portion of the proximal surface is configured to extend along a plane (P5) at an angle relative to an outer rim (shown) of the acetabular cup (16) when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup;
an outer convex surface (shown) configured to at least partially extend into (in cavity 32) an acetabular cup (16) when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup;
a concave bearing surface (socket 62) recessed relative to the proximal surface (shown) and configured to receive a head (68) of a femoral stem (14); and
one or more visual indicators (reference mark 57) on the liner (Fig 5) that is fully capable of identifying a location for applying an impaction force on the liner (as it identifies the center line of the liner).
Regarding Claim 24, Lennox teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators are fully capable of being virtual indicators applied or projected onto the concave bearing surface. An image projected onto the bearing would not structurally change the bearing, and as the device casting the projection is not positively claimed, the device of Lennox is fully capable of receiving a projected image.
Regarding Claim 25, Lennox teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators (57) comprise a visual indicator indicating a center location (Fig 5) of the acetabular cup that is fully capable of applying an impaction force square with the acetabular cup.
Regarding Claim 26, Lennox teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators comprise a visual indicator (57) indicating an offset location (as the socket 62 is offset relative to the liner) of a center of the acetabular cup when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup.
Regarding Claim 27, Lennox teaches wherein a second portion (shown) of the proximal surface is configured to extend along a plane (P4) parallel to the outer rim (P1) of the acetabular cup (16) when the liner (20) is seated in the acetabular cup.
Regarding Claim 28, Lennox teaches wherein an entirety of the proximal surface is configured to extend along the plane (P5) at the angle relative to the outer rim (P1) of the acetabular cup when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup (Figs 2, 4 & 6).
Claim(s) 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryland et al. (US 5,169,399).
Regarding Claim 36, Ryland teaches a method for implanting a liner in an acetabular cup, comprising:
identifying a size of an acetabular cup (112) for an acetabular hole;
identifying a liner (114) for use with the acetabular cup;
inserting the acetabular cup in the acetabular hole (Fig 2);
inserting the liner in the acetabular cup, the liner (114) having a concave bearing surface (shown) and a proximal surface (shown) that extends along a plane (shown in blue) at an angle relative to an outer rim (shown as red) of the acetabular cup when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup (Fig 2); and
impacting the liner into place in the acetabular cup (Col 6: lines 23-27) with an impactor (10) square with the acetabular cup to seat the liner in the acetabular cup, the impactor having an impaction surface (where impactor contacts the liner in Fig 2) corresponding to one or both of the proximal surface and the concave bearing surface of the liner.
Regarding Claim 37, Ryland teaches wherein impacting the liner with the impactor (10) includes applying an impaction force (Col 6: lines 23-27) on the liner so that the applied force is centered on a visual indicator (i.e., the liner opening) on the liner.
Regarding Claim 38, Ryland teaches wherein impacting the liner with the impactor (10) includes applying an impaction force (Col 6: lines 23-27) square on the liner (114) relative to the acetabular cup (112).
Regarding Claim 39, Ryland teaches wherein impacting the liner with the impactor (10) includes applying an impaction force (Col 6: lines 23-27) centered at an offset location (as the central axes of the liner and cup are offset from one another) of a center of the acetabular cup when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 & 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennox (US 5,507,824) in view of Ryland et al. (US 5,169,399). Please refer to the annotated figure(s) supra in consideration of the following rejections.
Regarding Claim 29, Lennox discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Lennox teaches a liner (20) for an acetabular cup, comprising:
a liner (20) comprising:
a proximal surface (shown) configured to extend along a plane (P5) at an angle relative to an outer rim (shown) of the acetabular cup (16) when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup;
an outer convex surface (shown) configured to at least partially extend into (in cavity 32) an acetabular cup (16) when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup;
a concave bearing surface (socket 62) recessed relative to the proximal surface (shown) and configured to receive a head (68) of a femoral stem (14); and
one or more visual indicators (reference mark 57) on the liner (Fig 5) that is fully capable of identifying a location for applying an impaction force on the liner (as it identifies the center line of the liner).
However, Lennox does not disclose an impactor having an impaction surface corresponding to one or both of the proximal surface and the concave bearing surface of the liner.
Ryland teaches an impactor (10) for impacting an acetabular liner (114) in the same field of endeavor. Said impactor comprising an impactor surface (any surface of impactor elements 36 & 38) corresponding to one or both of the proximal surface and the concave bearing surface of the liner (Fig 2) to aid the surgeon in assembling the acetabular cup during surgery (Col 6: lines 23-27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the impactor, as taught by Ryland, in the assembly of the acetabular cup of Lennox. As Lennox teaches that the liner (20) can be secured to the shell member with various mechanisms (Col 12: lines 21-23), utilizing Ryland’s impactor would have been an obvious tool/mechanism for the surgeon to assemble the device of Lennox during surgery.
Regarding Claim 32, the combination teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators are fully capable of being virtual indicators applied or projected onto the concave bearing surface. An image projected onto the bearing would not structurally change the bearing, and as the device casting the projection is not positively claimed, the device of Lennox is fully capable of receiving a projected image.
Regarding Claim 33, the combination teaches wherein the concave bearing surface (62) extends about an axis (shown in green) that is offset from an axis (shown in yellow) of the acetabular cup when the liner is seated in the acetabular cup.
Regarding Claim 34, the combination teaches wherein the impactor (10) comprises a shaft (shown), wherein the impaction surface extends at an angle (shown) relative to a length of the shaft of the impactor (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 35, the combination teaches wherein the impactor comprises a shaft (shown), wherein a first portion of the impaction surface extends at an angle (shown) relative to a length of the shaft of the impactor (as shown on Fig 1), wherein a second portion (shown) of the impaction surface extends perpendicular to the length of the shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23 would be allowed if (1) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and (2) a timely filed terminal disclaimer(s) in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Claims 30 & 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claims 22, 23, 30 & 31, Jackson, III (US 9,561,086), which is the most pertinent art found, fails to teach and/or fairly suggest the instant invention. Jackson III teaches an acetabular cup (10) comprising a plurality of guide lines, or visual markers (12-14 in Figs 2-4), to ensure the acetabular component is properly aligned (e.g., not anteverted or retroverted) during surgery (Col 4: lines 1-10). However, the prior art either individually or in combination, does not teach or render obvious wherein the one or more visual indicators include markings on the concave bearing surface of the acetabular liner, that identify a location for applying an impaction force on the liner.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774