DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
With respect to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 15 and 20 with regards to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, rejections with respect to the same have been withdrawn.
With respect to Applicant’s amendment of claims 7 and 19 with regards to minor informalities, the claim objections with respect to the same have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chawla et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0095111; hereinafter “Chawla” ).
Claim 1: (Currently Amended)
Chawla teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a first version of a cloud-based software application hosted by a cloud-based computing system and data of an error included in the first version, the first version of the cloud-based software application corresponding to a first instance of a version of the cloud- based software application ([0007] “the performance analytics service may pinpoint degradations in a newer version of the application on machines… With the aggregation of these two datasets, the performance analytics service may find instances of faults or errors across both versions of the application.” [0075] “a set of machines 310A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as machines 310)… the machine 310 may correspond to a virtual machine…running on… one or more nodes on the cloud (e.g., the cloud 175 or cloud computing environment 214) to execute the application 340.” [0085] “the first machine 310A and the second machine 310B may each have an instance of the application 340 of the first version 435A.”);
retrieving, by the one or more processors, a second version of the cloud-based software application hosted by the cloud-based computing system, the second version of the cloud-based software application corresponding to a second instance of the version of the cloud-based software application ([0085] “The third machine 310C may have an instance of the application 340 of the second version 435B. The first version 345A may be a more recent, updated version of the application 340, whereas the second version 345B may be a previous version of the application 340.” [0087] “Under process 430, the application assessor 325 executing on the performance analytics service 305 may retrieve, aggregate, or otherwise identify performance metrics 440A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as performance metrics 440) for one or more versions 435 of the application 340.”);
comparing, by the one or more processors, the first version of the cloud-based software application to the second version of the cloud-based software application ([0094] “the application assessor 325 may compare the score of one version 435 (e.g., the first version 435A) with the score of the version 435 (e.g., the second version 435B) of the application 340.”);
generating based on the comparing, by the one or more processors, a result comprising differences between the first version of the cloud-based software application and the second version of the cloud-based software application ([0094] “From comparison, the application assessor 325 may calculate or determine a difference between the scores of the different versions 435 of the application 340. The difference may indicate a degree of dissimilarity in performance between the different versions 435. The application assessor 325 may compare the difference to a threshold. The threshold may identify or indicate a value for the difference at which one version 435 is determined to have undergone a degradation of performance.”); and
outputting the result on a display that is communicatively coupled to the one or more processors ([0112] “the performance analytics service 305 may leverage performance metrics 440 and session data 415, among others, determine whether the cause 470 of a failure in the session 405 is attributable to upgrades to the application 340 from one version 435 (e.g., the second version 435B) to another version 435 (e.g., the first version 435A).” [0113] “The service may analyze the application usage data for fault and errors (515). The service may filter newer versions of applications with degraded performance (520). The service may alert a network administrator and show insights for any degradations (525).” [0106] “Upon receipt of the output 475, the administrative device 315 may present or display the indication of the output 475 via at least one user interface 480. The user interface 480 may be, for example, a graphical user interface (GUI) of an application for managing machines 310 running on the administrative device 315.”); and
enabling, by the one or more processors, a correction of the error based on the result comprising the differences between the first version of the cloud-based software application and the second version of the cloud-based software application ([0011] “Based on the determination of the cause of the failure in the session, the performance analytics service may generate and provide outputs for the network. The performance analytics service may automatically provide a command to the machine to roll back the version of the application on the machine to a more stable version. The performance analytics service also may invoke an environment management service to run custom scripts (e.g., composed by the administrator or provided to the service) to fix or address issues found in the application without administrator intervention.” [0012] “the performance analytics service may use session data and application performance metrics to carry out correlation analysis to determine whether a cause for a failure of a session is attributed to a fault in an application due to an upgrade. Based on the determination, the performance analytics service may automatically correct application faults by issuing commands or providing scripts to address the issues attributed to the faults… the performance analytics service may also provide valuable information regarding the session failures and application faults to the system administrator. With this information, the administrator may be able to better troubleshoot and assess the session, machine, application, and upgrades, and take countermeasures with higher confidence at addressing the degradation in performance.”).
Claim 11:
Chawla teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first version of the cloud-based software application comprises one or more customizations associated with the cloud-based computing system ([0086] “Each version 435 may define one or more functions or features provided by the application 340. Between version 435, the application 340 may have additional, modified, or removed features or functions. Continuing with the above example, the first version 435A may be an updated or more recent iteration of the application 340, relative to the second version 435.”).
Claim 12:
Chawla teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data of the error is included as part of a digital error log ([0087] “The performance metrics 440 themselves may identify or include a time window or time stamp at which the performance metric 440 was measured, obtained, or identified,” wherein the “performance metrics” are the “digital error log”. [0088] “The performance metrics 440 may identify or include various measures related to the performance of instances of the application 340 of a given version 435… for example: … an success rate or an error rate for calls in the application 340; a number (or rate) of launch failures of the application 340; and a number (or rate) of crashes for the application 340; among others.” [0089] “Each machine 310 may store and maintain the performance metrics 440 for the application 340 on the machine 310.”).
Claim 13:
Chawla teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the error is associated with a software identifier and a device identifier ([0080] “The failure indication 410 may include or correspond to any breakdown, malfunction, or seizure associated with the session 405. For example, the failure indication 410 may correspond to a failure to launch the session 405, an unexpected termination of the session 405 after launch, or other breakdown in performance of the session 405, among others. The failure indication 410 may include a session identifier corresponding to the session 405.” [0088] “The performance metrics 440 may also include metadata associated with the application 430, such as an application name referencing the application 430, a process identifier for the application 430, a version identifier referencing the version 435, a device identifier for the machine 310 on which the application 430 is on, a group identifier for a group to which the client 165 (or machine 310) belongs; a device identifier for the client 165 accessing the machine 310, or a user identifier for the user of the client 165 accessing the machine 310, among others.”).
Claim 14:
Chawla teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the software identifier is representative of an object of the first version of the cloud-based software application that failed to deploy and the device identifier is representative of an object instance associated with the error ([0088] “The performance metrics 440 may also include metadata associated with the application 430, such as an application name referencing the application 430, a process identifier for the application 430, a version identifier referencing the version 435, a device identifier for the machine 310 on which the application 430 is on, a group identifier for a group to which the client 165 (or machine 310) belongs; a device identifier for the client 165 accessing the machine 310, or a user identifier for the user of the client 165 accessing the machine 310, among others.”).
Claim 15: (Currently Amended)
With regard to Claim 15, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 1 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 15 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 1.
With further regard to Claim 15, the claim recites additional elements not specifically addressed in the rejection of Claim 1. The Chawla reference also anticipates these additional elements of Claim 15, for example, wherein the system comprises:
at least one data processor (Fig. 1A: Processor(s) 105. [0038] “Prior to discussing the specifics of embodiments of the systems and methods of an appliance and/or client, it may be helpful to discuss the computing environments in which such embodiments may be deployed.”); and
at least one memory storing instructions, which when executed by the at least one data processor, cause operations (Fig. 1A: Non-volatile memory 130. [0039: “Non-volatile memory 130 stores operating system 135, one or more applications 140, and data 145 such that, for example, computer instructions of operating system 135 and/or applications 140 are executed by processor(s) 105 out of volatile memory 110.”).
Claim 20: (Currently Amended)
With regard to Claim 20, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 1 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 20 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 1.
With further regard to Claim 20, the claim recites additional elements not specifically addressed in the rejection of Claim 1. The Chawla reference also anticipates these additional elements of Claim 20, for example, Chawla teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage media comprising programming code, which when executed by at least one data processor, causes operations ([0118] “the systems and methods described above may be provided as one or more computer-readable programs embodied on or in one or more articles of manufacture. The term ‘article of manufacture’ as used herein is intended to encompass code or logic accessible from and embedded in one or more computer-readable devices, firmware, programmable logic, memory devices… The article of manufacture includes hardware logic as well as software or programmable code embedded in a computer readable medium that is executed by a processor.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Gurnasinghani et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0028503; hereinafter “Gurna”).
Claim 3: (Currently Amended)
Chawla teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Chawla does not teach the following, however, Gurna teaches further comprising:
ranking a plurality of solutions to correct the error ([0040] “For example, the automated error analysis and correction platform 102 may train the machine learning engine to identify and/or otherwise compute a confidence score, which may represent a level of confidence that a particular action will correct a corresponding error. In some instances, the confidence score may be a numerical value (e.g., 0.9). In some instances, the confidence score may be a percentage (e.g., 90%).”);
determining that parameters of a first solution of the plurality of solutions are below a threshold ([0040] “automated error analysis and correction platform 102 may train the machine learning engine based on the percentage of times actions successfully corrected corresponding errors with respect to a particular confidence score (e.g., 95% success rate at a confidence score of 0.9). Additionally or alternatively, the automated error analysis and correction platform 102 may train the machine learning engine based on the percentage of times actions unsuccessfully corrected corresponding errors with respect to a particular confidence score (e.g., 15% failure rate at a confidence score of 0.7),” wherein higher “confidence scores” indicate a determination that the “percentage of times actions unsuccessfully corrected corresponding errors with respect to a particular confidence score” is below a certain threshold.); and
automatically implementing the first solution of the plurality of solutions to correct the error ([0059] “At step 217, the automated error analysis and correction platform 102 may compare the confidence score to the first threshold and the second threshold. For example, if the confidence score meets or exceeds the first threshold, then the automated error analysis and correction platform may proceed to step 218.” [0060] “At step 218, the automated error analysis and correction platform 102 may automatically correct the error based on comparing the confidence score to the first threshold and the second threshold performed in step 217.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla with the ranking of solutions as taught by Gurna in order “to identify more efficient and accurate methods for analyzing and correcting errors in a given application” (Gurna [0001]).
Claim 17:
With regard to Claim 17, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 3 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 17 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 3.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Preisler et al. (US Patent 5,675,803; hereinafter “Preisler”).
Claim 4: (Currently Amended)
Chawla teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Chawla does not teach the following, however, Preisler teaches:
wherein the correction of the error comprises a modification of an object of the cloud-based software application (Col. 9 Ln. 30-32: “The operational effect of this dynamic patching system is illustrated in FIG. 7, wherein successive versions of object code are patched to the original version of the object code.” Col. 10 Ln. 40-49: “When an error is encountered in the debugging run, the source code must be edited to correct the error… the Debugger program calls the compiler 504 wherein the modified source code files are recompiled and shared object (.so) files created 506. The new object code file which was generated from the edited source file, is dynamically linked to the running target program 508 using the run-time linker.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla with the error correction including object modification as taught by Preisler since “It is desirable that once a debug session is started errors which are detected in a target program can be quickly corrected” (Preisler Col. 2 Ln. 21-23).
Claim 18: (Currently Amended)
With regard to Claim 18, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 4 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 18 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 4.
With further regard to Claim 18, the claim recites additional elements not specifically addressed in the rejection of Claim 4. The Chawla reference also anticipates these additional elements of Claim 18, for example, wherein Chawla teaches:
the first version of the cloud-based software application comprises one or more customizations associated with the cloud-based computing system ([0086] “Each version 435 may define one or more functions or features provided by the application 340. Between version 435, the application 340 may have additional, modified, or removed features or functions. Continuing with the above example, the first version 435A may be an updated or more recent iteration of the application 340, relative to the second version 435.”);
the data of the error is included as part of a digital error log ([0087] “The performance metrics 440 themselves may identify or include a time window or time stamp at which the performance metric 440 was measured, obtained, or identified,” wherein the “performance metrics” are the “digital error log”. [0088] “The performance metrics 440 may identify or include various measures related to the performance of instances of the application 340 of a given version 435… for example: … an success rate or an error rate for calls in the application 340; a number (or rate) of launch failures of the application 340; and a number (or rate) of crashes for the application 340; among others.” [0089] “Each machine 310 may store and maintain the performance metrics 440 for the application 340 on the machine 310.”); and
the error is associated with a software identifier and a device identifier ([0080] “The failure indication 410 may include or correspond to any breakdown, malfunction, or seizure associated with the session 405. For example, the failure indication 410 may correspond to a failure to launch the session 405, an unexpected termination of the session 405 after launch, or other breakdown in performance of the session 405, among others. The failure indication 410 may include a session identifier corresponding to the session 405.” [0088] “The performance metrics 440 may also include metadata associated with the application 430, such as an application name referencing the application 430, a process identifier for the application 430, a version identifier referencing the version 435, a device identifier for the machine 310 on which the application 430 is on, a group identifier for a group to which the client 165 (or machine 310) belongs; a device identifier for the client 165 accessing the machine 310, or a user identifier for the user of the client 165 accessing the machine 310, among others.”),
the software identifier is representative of an object of the first version of the cloud-based software application that failed to deploy and the device identifier is representative of an object instance associated with the error ([0088] “The performance metrics 440 may also include metadata associated with the application 430, such as an application name referencing the application 430, a process identifier for the application 430, a version identifier referencing the version 435, a device identifier for the machine 310 on which the application 430 is on, a group identifier for a group to which the client 165 (or machine 310) belongs; a device identifier for the client 165 accessing the machine 310, or a user identifier for the user of the client 165 accessing the machine 310, among others.”).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Preisler as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0050537; hereinafter “Thompson”).
Claim 5:
Chawla in view of Preisler teaches all the limitations of claim 4 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler does not teach the following, however, Thompson teaches:
wherein the object comprises an access control list dependent object comprising an access control list, the access control list being used as part of an access control check to confirm whether a tenant is allowed to execute an operation ([0393] “The security model specifies the set of principals who can be granted or denied access to perform these operations on an item through Access Control Lists (ACL's). Each ACL is an ordered collection of Access Control Entries (ACE's).” [0447] “All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format.” [0448] “(2) Generic Access Rights.” [0449] “Generic rights are specified in the 4 high-order bits within the mask.” [0450] “Generic access rights can be used to specify the type of access needed when opening a handle to an object. This is typically simpler than specifying all the corresponding standard and specific rights. The following table shows the constants defined for the generic access rights… GENERIC_ALL Read, write, and execute access [and] GENERIC_EXECUTE Execute access”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler with the access control list as taught by Thompson since this enables “an improved ability to organize, search, and share all types of data in a computer system” (Thompson [0010]).
Claim 6:
Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson teaches all the limitations of claim 5 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler does not teach the following, however, Thompson teaches:
wherein the access control list dependent object is accessed via an access path within the object that is specified by the object ([0106] “Items are stand-alone objects.” [0114] “An item reference is a data structure that contains information to locate and identify an Item. In the data model, an abstract type is defined named ItemReference from which all item reference types derive.” [0118] “ItemPathReference is a specialization of ItemReference that defines a Locator and a Path field. The Locator field identifies an item domain. It is processed by a locator resolution method that can resolve the value of the Locator to an item domain. The Path field contains a (relative) path in the storage platform namespace rooted at the item domain provided by the Locator.” [0397] “In the present embodiment, an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler with the access path information as taught by Thompson since this enables “an improved ability to organize, search, and share all types of data in a computer system” (Thompson [0010]).
Claim 7: (Currently Amended)
Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson teaches all the limitations of claim 5 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler does not teach the following, however, Thompson teaches:
wherein the access control check comprises a verification of an object type corresponding to the object specified and of an access group ([0447] “All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format.” [0447] “ All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format shown in the FIG. 26… the 4 high-order bits are used to specify generic access rights that each object type can map to.” [0452] “Each type of securable object has a set of access rights that correspond to operations specific to that type of object.” [0738] “Underlying all such data organization schemes is the notion of dividing the universe of our data into named groups. As discussed above, this notion is modeled in the storage platform by the concept of a Folder. A Folder is a special type of Item; there are 2 types of Folders: Containment Folders and Virtual Folders.” [0397] “an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item,” wherein the claimed “access control check” is based on the “containment folder(s),” i.e. “access group”, which contain the item/object.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler with the object type verifying as taught by Thompson since this enables “an improved ability to organize, search, and share all types of data in a computer system” (Thompson [0010]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0296470; hereinafter “Kim”).
Claim 8:
Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson does not teach the following, however, Kim teaches:
wherein the access control list specifies which nodes of the object are subject to instance control, the access control list further specifying which access groups can perform operations on each node of an object instance ([0066] “The ACL specifies DM commands that a specific DM server can execute on a specific node.” [0072] “When a DM server generates a new node through command ‘Add’, the generated node does not have an ACL value in general and thus gets the ACL value from the parent node thereof.” [0083] “The “object” is a definition for a group of resources to be used for a specific function (functionality) or purpose, and the “object instance” is an instantiated (created) resource group for the object in a terminal.”[0088] “The ACL is assigned per resource corresponding to a specific function, that is, per object instance.” [0158] “When the M2M server accesses an object instance, that is, the M2M server transmits an operation with respect to the object instance to the M2M client, the M2M client can acquire the access right of the M2M server for the object instance according to the aforementioned access right acquisition method and check whether the access right is granted to perform the operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson with the object instance control as taught by Kim since this enables “control of access rights for resources to be used in the M2M [Machine to Machine] system” (Kim [0087]).
Claim 9:
Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler and Kim does not teach the following, however, Thompson teaches:
wherein the access control list further specifies operations enabled to be performed on each of the nodes of the object instance by particular access group ([0738] “Underlying all such data organization schemes is the notion of dividing the universe of our data into named groups. As discussed above, this notion is modeled in the storage platform by the concept of a Folder. A Folder is a special type of Item; there are 2 types of Folders: Containment Folders and Virtual Folders.” [0397] “an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item,” wherein the “containment folder(s),” i.e. “access group”, specifies which access controls are associated with a specific node/object.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler and Kim with the enabled operations being based on an access group as taught by Thompson since this enables “an improved ability to organize, search, and share all types of data in a computer system” (Thompson [0010]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Coven et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0108419; hereinafter “Coven”).
Claim 10:
Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim does not teach the following, however, Coven teaches:
wherein the access control list specifies temporal access limitations for one or more nodes of the object instance ([0115] “In some embodiments the access token persists for a limited period of time (e.g., 10 minutes) and automatically expires at the end of the period.” [0198] “an access control list which details permissions including for example, the access and operation rights of an object by an individual, a machine, and/or an application, and the circumstances under which the permission rights stand.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim with the temporal access as taught by Coven so that “the effectiveness of existing security and policy governance in the cloud-based collaboration platform can be improved” (Coven [0072]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Preisler as applied to Claim 18 above, and further in view of Thompson, Kim and Coven.
Claim 19: (Currently Amended)
Chawla in view of Preisler teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as described above. Chawla in view of Preisler does not teach the following, however, Thompson teaches:
the object of the cloud-based software application comprises an access control list dependent object comprising an access control list, the access control list being used as part of an access control check to confirm whether a tenant is allowed to execute an operation ([0393] “The security model specifies the set of principals who can be granted or denied access to perform these operations on an item through Access Control Lists (ACL's). Each ACL is an ordered collection of Access Control Entries (ACE's).” [0447] “All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format.” [0448] “(2) Generic Access Rights.” [0449] “Generic rights are specified in the 4 high-order bits within the mask.” [0450] “Generic access rights can be used to specify the type of access needed when opening a handle to an object. This is typically simpler than specifying all the corresponding standard and specific rights. The following table shows the constants defined for the generic access rights… GENERIC_ALL Read, write, and execute access [and] GENERIC_EXECUTE Execute access”),
the access control list dependent object is accessed via an access path within the object that is specified by the object ([0106] “Items are stand-alone objects.” [0114] “An item reference is a data structure that contains information to locate and identify an Item. In the data model, an abstract type is defined named ItemReference from which all item reference types derive.” [0118] “ItemPathReference is a specialization of ItemReference that defines a Locator and a Path field. The Locator field identifies an item domain. It is processed by a locator resolution method that can resolve the value of the Locator to an item domain. The Path field contains a (relative) path in the storage platform namespace rooted at the item domain provided by the Locator.” [0397] “In the present embodiment, an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item.”);
the access control check comprises a verification of an object type corresponding to the object specified and of an access group ([0447] “All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format.” [0447] “ All securable objects arrange their access rights using the access mask format shown in the FIG. 26… the 4 high-order bits are used to specify generic access rights that each object type can map to.” [0452] “Each type of securable object has a set of access rights that correspond to operations specific to that type of object.” [0738] “Underlying all such data organization schemes is the notion of dividing the universe of our data into named groups. As discussed above, this notion is modeled in the storage platform by the concept of a Folder. A Folder is a special type of Item; there are 2 types of Folders: Containment Folders and Virtual Folders.” [0397] “an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item,” wherein the claimed “access control check” is based on the “containment folder(s),” i.e. “access group”, which contain the item/object.); and
the access control list further specifies operations enabled to be performed on each of the nodes of the object instance by particular access groups ([0738] “Underlying all such data organization schemes is the notion of dividing the universe of our data into named groups. As discussed above, this notion is modeled in the storage platform by the concept of a Folder. A Folder is a special type of Item; there are 2 types of Folders: Containment Folders and Virtual Folders.” [0397] “an item in the data store containment hierarchy inherits an ACL along every path from the root of the store to the item,” wherein the “containment folder(s),” i.e. “access group”, specifies which access controls are associated with a specific node/object.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler with the access control list and related operations as taught by Thompson since this enables “an improved ability to organize, search, and share all types of data in a computer system” (Thompson [0010]).
With further regard to Claim 19, Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson does not teach the following, however, Kim teaches wherein:
the access control list specifies which nodes of the object specified and of the access group are subject to instance control, the access control list further specifying which access groups can perform operations on each node of an object instance ([0066] “The ACL specifies DM commands that a specific DM server can execute on a specific node.” [0072] “When a DM server generates a new node through command ‘Add’, the generated node does not have an ACL value in general and thus gets the ACL value from the parent node thereof.” [0083] “The “object” is a definition for a group of resources to be used for a specific function (functionality) or purpose, and the “object instance” is an instantiated (created) resource group for the object in a terminal.”[0088] “The ACL is assigned per resource corresponding to a specific function, that is, per object instance.” [0158] “When the M2M server accesses an object instance, that is, the M2M server transmits an operation with respect to the object instance to the M2M client, the M2M client can acquire the access right of the M2M server for the object instance according to the aforementioned access right acquisition method and check whether the access right is granted to perform the operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler and Thompson with the object instance control as taught by Kim since this enables “control of access rights for resources to be used in the M2M [Machine to Machine] system” (Kim [0087]).
With further regard to Claim 19, Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim does not teach the following, however, Coven teaches wherein:
the access control list specifies temporal access limitations for one or more nodes of the object instance ([0115] “In some embodiments the access token persists for a limited period of time (e.g., 10 minutes) and automatically expires at the end of the period.” [0198] “an access control list which details permissions including for example, the access and operation rights of an object by an individual, a machine, and/or an application, and the circumstances under which the permission rights stand.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as disclosed by Chawla in view of Preisler, Thompson and Kim with the temporal access as taught by Coven so that “the effectiveness of existing security and policy governance in the cloud-based collaboration platform can be improved” (Coven [0072]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8 of the Remarks filed April 20, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of Claims 1, 11-15 and 20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Page 9 of the Remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s first argument regarding Claim 1, Page 9 Paragraph 3 of the Remarks, that “Chawla does not disclose receiving a first version of a cloud-based software application and receiving a second version of the cloud-based software application and comparing the first version directly to the second version, as required by the claims. Instead, Applicant respectively submits that Chawla is limited to comparing performance metrics derived from executions of different versions,” the Office respectfully disagrees. The Office contends that the Chawla reference does disclose receiving and comparing two versions of a cloud-based software application. In support of this assertion the Office would like to direct the Applicant’s attention to the following citations in Chawla:
[0007] “To that end, the performance analytics service may pinpoint degradations in a newer version of the application on machines. In identifying, the performance analytics service may gather historical performance metrics of applications of a prior version hosted on machines. The performance analytics service may collect performance metrics of applications of the newer version. The performance metrics from the newer version may be from machines in a test environment or a group of clients testing the newer version. Data from older versions of the application may be distinguished from the data of newer versions using application tagging. With the aggregation of these two datasets, the performance analytics service may find instances of faults or errors across both versions of the application. The performance analytics service may use statistical analysis methods (e.g., as A/B testing or fixed thresholding) to determine whether the application with the newer version has higher rates of errors or faults or has degradation in performance. The performance analytics service may provide an alert or detailed reports to the administrator to show insights regarding the versions of the application.”
[0075] “Referring now to FIG. 3, depicted is a block diagram of a system 300 for correlating session failures with application faults from upgrades. In overview, the system 300 may include at least one performance analytics service 305, a set of machines 310A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as machines 310), at least one administrative device 315, and one or more clients 165A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as client 165), communicatively coupled with one another via at least one network 170... Each machine 310 may execute or include at least one application 340. In some embodiments, the machine 310 may correspond to a virtual machine (e.g., with a virtual delivery agent (VDA)) running on the client, the server, the gateway or one or more nodes on the cloud (e.g., the cloud 175 or cloud computing environment 214) to execute the application 340.”
[0085] “For context, the applications 430 running on the machines 310 across the network 170 may be of different versions 435A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as versions 435). Among the different versions 435, one version 435 may be an upgrade or update to a prior version 435 of the application 340. In the depicted example, the first machine 310A and the second machine 310B may each have an instance of the application 340 of the first version 435A. The third machine 310C may have an instance of the application 340 of the second version 435B. The first version 345A may be a more recent, updated version of the application 340, whereas the second version 345B may be a previous version of the application 340.”
[0087] “Under process 430, the application assessor 325 executing on the performance analytics service 305 may retrieve, aggregate, or otherwise identify performance metrics 440A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as performance metrics 440) for one or more versions 435 of the application 340. In some embodiments, the application assessor 325 may identify the performance metrics 440 in response to detection the failure indication 410 in one or more of the sessions 405 in the network 170.”
[0093] “Using the performance metrics 440, the application assessor 325 may determine whether there is a degradation (or difference) in performance between the versions 435 of the application 340. The degradation may be indicative or correlated with the difference in versions 435 of the application 430. To determine, the application assessor 325 may compare the performance metrics 440 of one version 435 (e.g., the first version 435A) with the performance metrics 440 of the other version 435 (e.g., the second version 435B) of the application 340. In facilitating the comparison, the application assessor 325 may calculate, determine, or otherwise generate a score for each version 435 of the application 340 as a function (or combination) of the performance metrics 440 for the version 435.”
[0094] “With the determinations, the application assessor 325 may compare the score of one version 435 (e.g., the first version 435A) with the score of the version 435 (e.g., the second version 435B) of the application 340.”
In view of the above citations, it has been shown that Chawla does disclose methods and systems for comparing (Paragraphs [0087], [0093] and [0094]) two different versions (Paragraph [0085]) of a cloud-based software application (Paragraph [0075]).
Further, in response to Applicant's related argument, Page 9 Paragraph 3 of the Remarks, that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “comparing the first version directly to the second version”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is also noted that the Applicant appears to be making the argument that the comparing operations disclosed in Chawla are not the same as the claimed “comparing… the first version of the cloud-based software application to the second version of the cloud-based software application” since Chawla discloses comparing performance metrics of the two versions of the software application, the Office respectfully disagrees. The Office contends that the comparison of performance metrics in Chawla does constitute one specific way of comparing two versions of a software application, wherein the claim language does not specify the type of comparison being performed. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language does not preclude the performance metric comparing in Chawla from anticipating the claim language.
As such, in view of at least the above responses, the Office maintains that the limitations of Claim 1, including the limitation which recites “comparing, by the one or more processors, the first version of the cloud-based software application to the second version of the cloud-based software application,” are anticipated by the Chawla reference.
With respect to the Applicant’s further related arguments, Page 9 Paragraph 4 of the Remarks, that the features of Claims 15 and 20 are not taught by the cited prior art, the Office respectfully disagrees. These arguments rely upon the arguments as presented in relation to Claim 1, and as such the Office directs the Applicant to the response above regarding these arguments.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments, Page 10 of the Remarks, that the features of the remaining claims are not taught by the cited prior art, the Office respectfully disagrees. These arguments rely upon the arguments as presented in relation to claims discussed above, and as such the Office directs the Applicant to the responses above regarding these arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is as follows:
Weaver et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0278517) discloses a method and system for comparing two versions of a cloud based application in a production environment, wherein actual user result data processed by the two versions is analyzed and compared to evaluate the two application versions.
Wang et al. (“BUGPRE: an intelligent software version-to-version bug prediction system using graph convolutional neural networks,” 2022) discusses BugPre, a cross-version defect prediction (CVDP) framework, that analyzes changed modules and constructs graphs leveraging code context dependences to improve defect prediction capability.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOANNE G MACASIANO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2197