Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. The prior art rejection is withdrawn, and a new rejection is entered with additional art in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2021/0245407) in view of Larsson ‘784 (US 2026/0124784).
Regarding claim 1, Larsson discloses a method for forming a fibrous molded article ([0016]), comprising: providing a combination that contains at least an amount of water and a plurality of fibers (cellulose with additives and wet forming entails water, [0062]); providing the combination into a dehydration chamber (dry forming unit 11, [0054], Fig. 1), the dehydration chamber having a screen capable of permitting water to flow therethrough but to substantially prevent the fibers from the slurry from passing therethrough (forming wire 14, residual water passes to vacuum box 24, [0054] [0071], Fig. 1); dehydrating the combination by permitting at least some of the amount of water to flow through the screen until substantially flat or contoured fibrous material is achieved (fibers 12 drawn by vacuum onto the forming wire 14 which is a mesh structure, [0054], Fig. 1); removing the fibrous intermediate form from the dehydration chamber (fibers 12 depart on endless belt of forming wire 14, [0054], Fig. 1); placing the fibrous intermediate form in a press having a first mold portion and a second mold portion wherein at least one of the first or second mold portions includes a contour (forming wire 14 feeds fibers 12 to compacting unit 15 and fibers continue to feeding unit 17 to forming mold 3 with top and bottom mold portions shown in Fig. 1 and Figs. 6a-b, mould part 2a (see contour in Figs. 6a-b) and mould part 2b, [0054-57] [0066] [0102], Figs. 1, 3, 6a-b); applying at least one of heat and pressure to the press such that at least fiber to fiber bonding or chemical cross-linking of fibers occurs (heating and pressure to shape and bond fibers, [0058]); and removing the intermediate part from the press (ejected, [0085]), the intermediate part comprising of three-dimensional solid fibrous materials (cellulose product exists in three dimensions, see example in 4d, also what is seen in Fig. 6b).
Larsson teaches a method substantially as claimed. Larsson does not disclose providing a slurry that contains at least an amount of water and a plurality of fibers, wherein the plurality of fibers are dispersed within the water. Larsson differs in following a dry forming method with a combination containing water and the plurality of fibers instead of a slurry with the plurality of fibers dispersed within the water.
However, in the same field of endeavor of producing a cellulose product with a non-flat product structure ([0001]), Larsson ‘784 teaches providing a slurry that contains at least an amount of water and a plurality of fibers (wet forming with a fibrous slurry, [0050]), wherein the plurality of fibers are dispersed within the water (fibrous slurry is sprayed because the fibers are dispersed in water, [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Larsson to use wet forming instead of dry forming, providing the plurality of fibers dispersed in water as a slurry to form against the mesh because [0050] of Larsson ‘784 teaches that wet forming is an art recognized equivalent to dry forming, which is taught in [0019] of Larsson.
Regarding claim 2, Larsson discloses wherein the slurry is in the form of a mixture (mixture of sizing agent, additive, fibers, [0065]; as modified, slurry as in [0050] of Larsson ‘784).
Regarding claim 3, Larsson discloses wherein the slurry includes natural fibers (cellulose is a natural fiber, [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Larsson discloses wherein the slurry includes at least two types of fibers and each of the two types of fibers is a natural fiber, semi synthetic fiber or synthetic fiber (cellulose from any suitable source including wood pulp and fluff pulp, or cellulose fibres from cotton, linen, hemp, sugar cane and grain, [0053]; starch additives, [0062]; accordingly, natural fibers and the starch additives are a semi synthetic fiber as the term is understood; as modified, slurry as in [0050] of Larsson ‘784).
Regarding claim 5, Larsson discloses wherein the slurry includes biobased molecules or polymers (cellulose from any suitable source including wood pulp and fluff pulp, or cellulose fibres from cotton, linen, hemp, sugar cane and grain, [0053]; as modified, slurry as in [0050] of Larsson ‘784).
Regarding claim 6, Larsson discloses wherein the biobased molecules or polymers is one of chitosan, starches, ionic starches, cellulosic materials such as, but not limited to, carboxymethylcellulose, nanofibrillated cellulose, nanocellulose; natural rubber latex, collagen, gelatine, alginate, polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, and/or polyhydroxyalkanoates (cellulose from any suitable source including wood pulp and fluff pulp, or cellulose fibres from cotton, linen, hemp, sugar cane and grain, [0053]; also starch additives, [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Larsson discloses wherein at least one of the first mold portion and the second mold portion includes at least one of a contour, a texture, a pattern that is imparted onto the three- dimensional solid fibrous molded part (contour shown in Figs. 6a, b).
Regarding claim 8, Larsson discloses wherein heat and pressure is applied to the press (heating and pressure to shape and bond fibers, [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Larsson discloses wherein three-dimensional solid fibrous molded part includes one or more final parts and excess materials (unwanted residual compressed or uncompressed fibers, [0077]).
Regarding claim 10, Larsson discloses wherein the excess material is removed from the one or more final parts (finished product is cut free from unwanted residual compressed or uncompressed fibers, [0077]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in futher view of Larsson ‘784 (US 2026/0124784).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744