DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Applicant’s Remarks filed on April 27, 2026
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4, 8–11, and 13–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2013/0297080 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2024/0036536 A1).
As for independent claim 1:
Ko–Gupta discloses a scheduling system for controlling a Variable Refrigerant Flow (VRF) system in accordance with a programmable schedule, wherein the VRF system includes at least one Outdoor Unit (ODU), at least one Indoor Unit (IDU), at least one controller for controlling the at least one ODU and the at least one IDU, and an I/O interface, the scheduling system comprising:
a controller executing a schedule engine, the schedule engine configured to generate one or more scheduled control point values for one or more of the at least one ODU and/or one or more of the at least one IDU of the VRF system in accordance with the programmable schedule (0031, 0041, Ko discloses an air conditioner with a plurality of indoor units and one or more outdoor units connected to drive the VRF architecture that is controlled through a communication connection that serves as the I/O interface. The outdoor units/indoor units refrigerant system reads on VRF);
a gateway configured to provide a first communication channel between the controller and the I/O interface of the VRF system (0041, 0049, Ko discloses a getaway connected between the central controller and air conditioner. The gateway being connected to the respective outdoor units according to a dedicated line communication and connected to the central controller through the internet);
the controller configured to communicate the one or more scheduled control point values to the I/O interface of the VRF system via the gateway (0042, Ko discloses that the gateway receives control data regarding the ODUs and IDUs from central controller and allow the central controller to directly control the ODUs and IDUs according to he control data);
Ko discloses wherein one or more of the at least one controller of the VRF system in 0034 and 0041, see I/O interface, central controller controlling IDU and ODU. Ko does not disclose receives the one or more scheduled control point values via the I/O interface of the VRF system and controls the at least one ODU and/or the at least one IDU in accordance with the one or more scheduled control point values. Gupta discloses receives the one or more scheduled control point values via the I/O interface of the VRF system and controls the at least one ODU and/or the at least one IDU in accordance with the one or more scheduled control point values in 0108 and 0078, 0080-0084. In the cited sections Gupta discloses that once a schedule control point value is pushed to a device, it becomes linked to a local schedule object on the device’s controller and the local schedule object controls the device/equipment according to schedule values, see thermostat controller and one controllers receiving values over a communication bus and controlling the connected equipment 0083. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 2:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the gateway maps each of the one or more scheduled control point values received from the controller to a corresponding target control point of one or more of the at least one controller of the VRF system, and communicates the one or more scheduled control point values to the corresponding target control points (0035, 0048, Ko discloses that each control point carries address info including a network address, logical address and address of indoor unit. The indoor unit are matched to their control points by comparing the control point address info with the actual attribute data of the indoor units).
As for dependent claim 3:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 2, wherein the gateway maps each of the one or more scheduled control point values received from the controller to the corresponding target control point of one or more of the at least one controller of the VRF system via point sharing (0108, 0109, Gupta discloses that a schedule object pushed to a device becomes linked to a local schedule object on the device). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 4:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 3, further comprising a mobile device that includes a user interface, the mobile device is configured to: receive a selection of the VRF system from a plurality of different VRF systems via the user interface of the mobile device; generate a mapping between the one or more scheduled control point values generated by the schedule engine to a corresponding target control point of the I/O interface of the selected VRF system; and communicate the mapping to the gateway (0032, 0038-0040, Ko discloses a mobile terminal including smart phone and table device that receives attribute data items from the indoor units, matches the indoor units and the control points by comparing the control point address info with the actual attribute data along with transmitting the control points in which the attribute data items are set onward for use in controlling the units).
As for dependent claim 8:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the schedule engine is configured to generate one or more scheduled group control points values for each of two or more groups of ODU's and/or IDU's of the VRF system in accordance with a corresponding group programmable schedule, wherein at least one of the two or more groups comprise two or more ODU's and/or IDU's of the VRF system (0377-0379, Gupta discloses schedule objects used to apply the same schedule to a plurality of equipment in 0092, 0108. Gupta further discloses batch scheduling interface where user select hierarchical groups of equipment and applies the weekly schedule to all selected equipment at once). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 9:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to communicate the one or more scheduled group control point values for each of the ODU's and/or IDU's in each of the groups of ODU's and/or IDU's of the VRF system to the I/O interface of the VRF system via the gateway (0108, 0379, Gupta discloses that he applied batch schedule is pushed to each piece of selected equipment, each of which is then controlled by its linked local schedule object). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 10:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 8, further comprising: a mobile device that includes a user interface, the mobile device is configured allow a user to define one or more of the two or more groups of ODU's and/or IDU's of the VRF system via the user interface of the mobile device, the mobile device further configured to communicate the one or more defined groups for use by the schedule engine to identify the corresponding group programmable schedules (0101, Gupta discloses client device presenting a device selection interface which the user checks the deices to be controlled by a schedule and defining the group of equipment associated with that schedule. Also see schedule manager and group level selection for batch scheduling in 0251-0252, 0377). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 11:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 10, wherein the mobile device is configured to: allow the user to define a schedule for each of the one or more defined groups via the user interface of the mobile device; and communicate the defined schedule for each of the one or more defined groups for use by the schedule engine (0244-0251, Gupta discloses user interfaces by which the user enters a schedule name, selects the devices controlled by the schedule and defines the weekly schedule times). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 13:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduled control point values comprise one or more of: an ON/OFF control point value; and a setpoint control point value (0172, Gupta discloses the schedule attributes include setpoints and on/off points, see 0126, 0220).Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Ko to incorporate the teaching of Gupta schedule manager of controlling HVAC, thus allow building management system to control, automate operation of the air conditioning units according to occupancy patterns to save energy (Gupta, 0129).
As for dependent claim 14:
Ko–Gupta discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the controller is: housed separate from the gateway; or housed by the gateway (0041, Ko discloses central controller and the gateway as separate devices, the gateway being connected between the central controller and the air conditioner).
As for independent claims 15:
Claim 15 contains substantial subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claim 16-19:
Claims 16–19 contain substantial subject matter as claims 2, 3 and 8–10 and are rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claims 20:
Claim 20 contains substantial subject matter as claims 1 and 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 5–7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Gupta, and further in view of Masui et al. (US 2003/0140637 A1, hereinafter "Masui").
As for dependent claim 5:
Ko–Gupta does not disclose the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the gateway is configured to establish a second communication channel with a building controller, wherein the building controller includes one or more wiring terminals for accepting wires that are configured to be connected to one or more building control devices, and wherein the building controller houses the controller. Masui discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the gateway is configured to establish a second communication channel with a building controller, wherein the building controller includes one or more wiring terminals for accepting wires that are configured to be connected to one or more building control devices, and wherein the building controller houses the controller in 0326-0328, 0332. In the cited sections Masui discloses facility management device connected to the central remote controllers through branch means, the facility management device having control terminal to which transmission wiring of the facility devices is connected. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Gupta and Ko to incorporate the teaching of Masui facility device integration ad internet based remote supervision, thus allow building management system to control, halting condition such as when a window is open or a room is unoccupied to avoid wasted energy and enabling monitoring and control from a remote location (Masui, 0041-0045, 0308-0309, 0343).
As for dependent claim 6:
Ko–Gupta–Masui discloses the scheduling system of claim 5, wherein the one or more building control devices include one or more of an HVAC component, a lighting component, a fire system component and a sensor (0308, 0337, 0350, Masui disclose facility devices including a key switch and a window on-off switch, ventilation unit, carbon dioxide concentration sensor). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Gupta and Ko to incorporate the teaching of Masui facility device integration ad internet based remote supervision, thus allow building management system to control, halting condition such as when a window is open or a room is unoccupied to avoid wasted energy and enabling monitoring and control from a remote location (Masui, 0041-0045, 0308-0309, 0343).
As for dependent claim 7:
Ko–Gupta–Masui discloses the scheduling system of claim 5, wherein the gateway is configured to establish a third communication channel with a remote supervisor, wherein the third communication channel comprises the Internet, and the gateway is configured to receive from the remote supervisor over the third communication channel changes to the programmable schedule (0212-0216, Masui discloses connecting the central remote controllers to a remote monitor terminal through the internet and the air conditioners receives the control information). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Gupta and Ko to incorporate the teaching of Masui facility device integration ad internet based remote supervision, thus allow building management system to control, halting condition such as when a window is open or a room is unoccupied to avoid wasted energy and enabling monitoring and control from a remote location (Masui, 0041-0045, 0308-0309, 0343).
As for dependent claim 12:
Ko–Gupta–Masui discloses the scheduling system of claim 1, wherein the schedule engine of the controller is configured to receive external inputs provided by one or more building control devices, and to use one or more of the external inputs in conjunction with the programmable schedule to generate the one or more scheduled control point values for one or more of the at least one ODU and/or one or more of the at least one IDU of the VRF system (0308-0312, Masui discloses receiving the state of a key switch and a window on – off switch and generating halt or initiate control instructions for the air conditioner according to the stored control procedure response to those states). Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Gupta and Ko to incorporate the teaching of Masui facility device integration ad internet based remote supervision, thus allow building management system to control, halting condition such as when a window is open or a room is unoccupied to avoid wasted energy and enabling monitoring and control from a remote location (Masui, 0041-0045, 0308-0309, 0343).
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 7 and 8, filed April 27th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ko et al. (US 2013/0297080 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2024/0036536 A1) and in further view of Masui et al. (US 2003/0140637 A1).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172