Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claim amendments filed 5/4/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The independent claims are amended to require the “attenuated audio information having a non-zero amplitude”.
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to the claim amendments, which are addressed and answered in the new grounds of rejection, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biggs (U.S. Pub. No.: 2017/0180863 A1) in view of Doucet et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2021/0275905 A1) and Bhatia et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2014/0152429 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 12, 16-20: Biggs discloses a process and device for providing haptic feedback to a user, (Abstract), the device comprising: a haptic controller; a linear haptic device, (Fig. 8, 808); a processor, (¶ 109); and a hardware storage device, the hardware storage device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, (e.g., ¶ 236), cause the device to: determine a provided haptic waveform from software audio information, (e.g., ¶¶ 5, 6, Figs. 18, 19), identify vibrational information of a provided haptic waveform in a crossover network, (e.g., ¶¶ 87-89).
Biggs discloses identifying audio information of the provided haptic waveform in the crossover network; attenuate at least a portion of the audio information to create attenuated audio information; remix the vibrational information and the attenuated audio information; and driving a linear haptic device at least partially according to the output haptic waveform, (e.g., ¶¶ 87-94).
Biggs discloses the invention substantially wherein the vibrational information and attenuated audio information is summed (e.g., ¶¶ 90, 91, 108, 109), but does not appear to make explicit, an output haptic waveform resulting from the remixing. Regarding the amendment: The present amendment recites the “attenuated audio information having a non-zero amplitude”. Briggs inherently discloses that audio information has non-zero amplitude because a signal with zero amplitude would not comprise attenuated audio information at all. Rather, in this scenario, the signal would simply be discarded.
However, Examiner is introducing a secondary reference to show the audio information “having a non-zero amplitude”. In a related invention, Bhatia in ¶ 39 makes explicit that a filtered audio frame has an amplitude defined by the variable “A” used in waveform generation. Amplitude “A” is non-zero. Also in a related invention, Doucet teaches remixing the vibrational information and the attenuated audio information in an output haptic waveform, (Doucet, ¶ 32.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have produced an output haptic waveform resulting from remixing Biggs’ vibrational and audio information, as suggested by Bhatia and Doucet, for the purpose of effectively outputting feedback to a user. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize performing a summation operation on Biggs’ waveforms produces an output waveform that is usable to generate a haptic effect with both tactile and sound effects. This yields the predictable results of delivering a haptic experience to a user.
Regarding Claim 2: Biggs discloses wherein an attenuation value is proportional to a frequency value of at least a portion of the audio information, (e.g., ¶¶ 87, 89, 91).
Regarding Claim 3: Biggs discloses, wherein the provided haptic waveform is received from an interactive software application and an attenuation value is received from the interactive software application, (e.g., ¶ 97).
Regarding Claims 6-10, 15: Biggs discloses setting a crossover value before identifying the vibrational information and the audio information, (e.g., Fig. 7, ¶¶ 87-89), and wherein setting the crossover value includes obtaining a resonant frequency, (e.g., ¶¶ 84, 85) of the linear haptic device.
While Briggs discloses applying high and low pass filters, (e.g., ¶¶ 88, 94, 98), Briggs does not make explicit, wherein a crossover value between the vibrational information and the audio information of the crossover network is 100 Hz and wherein the audio information is between the crossover value and 4000 Hz. Modifying the filtering shown by Briggs within the ranges claimed by Applicant would have been an obvious design consideration at the time of Applicant’s filing. For example, a person of ordinary skill in the art could adjust Briggs’ frequency ranges within desired constraints while achieving predictable results. Moreover, Applicant has not described the claimed crossover values as being critical or achieving specific results. Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have modified Briggs’ filtering such that a crossover value between the vibrational information and the audio information of the crossover network is 100 Hz, and the audio information is between the crossover value and 4000 Hz.
Regarding Claim 11, 13, 14: See Briggs, e.g., ¶¶ 120, 160, 165, 167.
Claims 4 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biggs in view of Doucet and Bhatia, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Helmer et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2020/0409460 A1)
Biggs and Doucet teach the invention substantially but do not make explicit, attenuating at least a portion of the audio information includes at least a portion of the audio information based at least partially on an equalizer setting, wherein an amplitude of the at least a portion of the audio information is set to zero.
However, in a related haptic feedback invention, Helmer shows an editing interface where audio and tactile information is attenuated and adjusted with an equalizer setting, (Helmer, e.g., ¶¶ 164, 258, 259.) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have provided Helmer’s editing interfaces in the system of Biggs in view of Doucet and Bhatia for the purpose of allowing an operator to customize and adjust settings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that user preferences differ, allowing editing of audio and tactile feedback thus helps deliver a more customized experience.
Conclusion
Additional Relevant References: See 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715