DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 11, and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 11, and 17 requires “the top wall being positioned to be contiguous with a top panel of an information handling system chassis when the fan system gantry component is mounted within the information handling system chassis” it is unclear if this limitation is positively claimed or intended use because it refers to a previously unclaimed system produced by the combination of the fan gantry and an information handling system chassis. For the purposes of examination the claim is interpreted as intended use, where the contiguity between the fan gantry system and the top panel of the information handling system would depend on which information handling system the fan gantry is installed in, where a person having ordinary skill in the art could install the fan gantry in an information handling system such that the top wall of the fan gantry is contiguous with the top panel of the information handling system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Yin et. al (US 8,075,248 B2).
With respect to claim 1 Yin discloses a fan system gantry component [reference character 30], comprising: a bottom wall [reference character 33]; a front wall [reference character 31] physically attached to the bottom wall, the front wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the front wall defining a plurality of fan aperture portions [reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below]; and, a rear wall [also reference character 31, see annotated Fig. below] physically attached to the bottom wall, the rear wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the rear wall defining a plurality of fan apertures [also reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below] and a plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures [reference character 313], the plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures being positioned to enable attachment of a plurality of fans to the rear wall of the fan system gantry component, attachment of the plurality of fans to the fan system gantry component bolstering structural integrity of the fan system gantry component [attachment of the fans will prevent the parallel front and rear walls from collapsing toward each other].
With respect to claim 3 Yin discloses a right outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the right outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig. below]; and, a left outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the left outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig below].
With respect to claim 5 Yin discloses a top wall [reference character 310] physically attached to a top edge of the rear wall, the top wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the rear wall [see Fig. 1], the top wall being positioned to be contiguous with a top panel of an information handling system chassis when the fan system gantry component is mounted within the information handling system chassis1.
With respect to claim 6 Yin discloses a plurality of retention tabs [reference character 63], each of the plurality of retention tabs providing lateral support to hold a respective fan of the plurality of fans along an edge of the fan system gantry component.
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Yin et. al (US 8,075,248 B2).
With respect to claims 7 Yin discloses a plurality of fans [reference character 50 in Fig. 1]; and, a fan system gantry component [reference character 30], the fan system gantry component comprising: a bottom wall [reference character 33]; a front wall [reference character 31] physically attached to the bottom wall, the front wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the front wall defining a plurality of fan aperture portions [reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below]; and, a rear wall [also reference character 31, see annotated Fig. below] physically attached to the bottom wall, the rear wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the rear wall defining a plurality of fan apertures [also reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below] and a plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures [reference character 313], the plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures being positioned to enable attachment of a plurality of fans to the rear wall of the fan system gantry component, attachment of the plurality of fans to the fan system gantry component bolstering structural integrity of the fan system gantry component [attachment of the fans will prevent the parallel front and rear walls from collapsing toward each other].
With respect to claim 9 Yin discloses a right outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the right outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig. below]; and, a left outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the left outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig below].
With respect to claim 11 Yin discloses a top wall [reference character 310] physically attached to a top edge of the rear wall, the top wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the rear wall [see Fig. 1], the top wall being positioned to be contiguous with a top panel of an information handling system chassis when the fan system gantry component is mounted within the information handling system chassis2.
With respect to claim 12 Yin discloses a plurality of retention tabs [reference character 63], each of the plurality of retention tabs providing lateral support to hold a respective fan of the plurality of fans along an edge of the fan system gantry component.
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Yin et. al (US 8,075,248 B2).
With respect to claims 13 Yin discloses a processor, a data bus coupled to the processor [Yin discloses a server in column 1 lines 17-21 where a processor and data bus are considered inherent to a server] 3; a fan system comprising a plurality of fans [reference character 50 in Fig. 1]; and, a fan system gantry component [reference character 30], the fan system gantry component comprising: a bottom wall [reference character 33]; a front wall [reference character 31] physically attached to the bottom wall, the front wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the front wall defining a plurality of fan aperture portions [reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below]; and, a rear wall [also reference character 31, see annotated Fig. below] physically attached to the bottom wall, the rear wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall, the rear wall defining a plurality of fan apertures [also reference character 311, see annotated Fig. below] and a plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures [reference character 313], the plurality of rear wall fan attachment apertures being positioned to enable attachment of a plurality of fans to the rear wall of the fan system gantry component, attachment of the plurality of fans to the fan system gantry component bolstering structural integrity of the fan system gantry component [attachment of the fans will prevent the parallel front and rear walls from collapsing toward each other].
With respect to claim 15 Yin discloses a right outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the right outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig. below]; and, a left outside wall physically attached to the bottom wall, the left outside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall [see annotated Fig below].
With respect to claim 17 Yin discloses a top wall [reference character 310] physically attached to a top edge of the rear wall, the top wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the rear wall [see Fig. 1], the top wall being positioned to be contiguous with a top panel of an information handling system chassis when the fan system gantry component is mounted within the information handling system chassis4.
With respect to claim 18 Yin discloses a plurality of retention tabs [reference character 63], each of the plurality of retention tabs providing lateral support to hold a respective fan of the plurality of fans along an edge of the fan system gantry component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et. al (US 8,075,248 B2) in view of Tan (US 8,300,404 B2).
With respect to claims 2, 8, and 14 Yin does not disclose that the bottom wall defines a plurality of fan connector apertures, each of the plurality of fan connector apertures being positioned to receive a respective fan connection component, each fan system connection component being coupled to a respective fan of the plurality of fans.
Tan discloses a fan gantry [reference character 100] including a bottom wall [see annotated Fig. below] where the bottom wall defines a plurality of apertures [see annotated Fig. below] positioned to receive a respective fan connection component [reference character 132], each fan system connection component being coupled to a respective fan of the plurality of fans. In Tan the fan connection components extend through the bottom wall so that the fans installed in the gantry can easily interface with the system board fan connectors [reference character 134].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the gantry taught by Yin by including apertures in the bottom wall as taught by Tan so that respective fan connection components can easily interface with their corresponding system board fan connectors.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et. al (US 8,075,248 B2) in view of Gopalakrishna et. al (US 10,485,136 B2).
With respect to claims 4, 10, and 16 Yin discloses a right inside wall [see annotated Fig. below] physically attached to the bottom wall, the right inside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall; and, a left inside wall [see annotated Fig. below] physically attached to the bottom wall, the left inside wall extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall.
Yin does not disclose that the right inside wall and the left inside wall define a slot of a cable routing portion.
Gopalakrishna discloses a fan gantry component [reference character 206] which includes inside walls [reference character 216b in Fig. 4A.] that define a slot [reference character 228 in Fig. 4B] which “…provides a path for electrical components (e.g., cables and bus bars) underneath the fan cage assembly 206 to increase design flexibility for routing various electrical components” [column 3 lines 23-25].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the fan gantry taught by Yin by forming slots in the left and right inner walls, as taught by Gopalakrishna, in order to “…provides a path for electrical components (e.g., cables and bus bars) underneath the fan cage assembly 206 to increase design flexibility for routing various electrical components” [column 3 lines 23-25 of Gopalakrishna].
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 See 112(b) rejection above.
2 See 112(b) rejection above.
3 See pp. 5 and pp. 9 of Bigelow et. al (attached) for evidence of inherency which show a processor and network connection (data bus) as major components of a server system [Bigelow, S. J. (2021, September 7). 7 Major Server Hardware Components You should know: TechTarget. Search Data Center. https://www.techtarget.com/searchdatacenter/feature/Drill-down-to-basics-with-these-server-hardware-terms].
4 See 112(b) rejection above.