DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of foam particles (subject matter of at least claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (U.S. 2022/0020900 A1; “Kuo”) in view of Takiguchi et al. (U.S. 2022/0093833 A1; “Takiguchi”) and Guo et al (WO 20200258878; published 12/30/20; references to English translation, “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo discloses a display module comprising:
A substrate (202, Fig. 3) ([0038]); and
A plurality of pixels on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
A first self-luminescence element (206a, Fig. 3), a second self-luminescence element (206b, Fig. 3), and a third self-luminescence element (206c, Fig. 3) configured to emit lights of a first wavelength band, respectively ([0038]);
A first color conversion layer (208a, Fig. 3) configured to be disposed on the first self- luminescence element, and comprise a plurality of first quantum dots (210a, Fig. 3) to absorb the light of the first wavelength emitted from the first self-luminescence element, and emit a light of a second wavelength band ([0039]); and
A second color conversion layer (208b, Fig. 3) configured to be disposed on the second self-luminescence element, and comprise a plurality of second quantum dots (210b, Fig. 3) to absorb the light of the first wavelength emitted from the second self-luminescence element, and emit a light of a third wavelength band ([0040]);
A partition wall (204, Fig. 3) between the first color conversion layer (208a, Fig. 3) and the second color conversion layer (208b, Fig. 3) ([0038]).
Yet, Kuo does not disclose the following:
The first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer comprise a plurality of foam particles;
A black matrix contacting an upper surface of the partition wall.
Regarding (a), Takiguchi discloses a first color conversion layer (33 corresponding to 1R, Fig. 6, 1) and a second color conversion layer (33 corresponding to 1G, Fig. 6, 1) comprise a plurality of foam particles (332, Fig. 6, 1) ([0086]). This has the advantage of scattering the light emitted from the first self-luminescence element and the light emitted from a second self-luminescence element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Kuo with the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer comprising a plurality of foam particles, as taught by Takiguchi, so as to scatter the light emitted from the first self-luminescence element and the second self-luminescence element.
Regarding (b), Guo discloses a black matrix (50, Fig. 1) contacting an upper surface of a partition wall (30) between self-luminescence elements (20, Fig. 1) ([0049]-[0050]). This has the advantage of preventing cross-talk between adjacent self-luminescence elements and improving uniformity of light distribution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Kuo with a black matrix contacting an upper surface of the partition wall, as taught by Guo, so as to prevent cross-talk and improve uniformity of light distribution.
Regarding claim 2, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo disclose a plurality of foam particles (Takiguchi: 332, Fig. 6, 1) (Takiguchi: [0086]) but do not disclose a diameter of each foam particle among the plurality of foam particles is between 0. 74 µm and 1.26 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a diameter or each foam particle to be between 0. 74 µm and 1.26 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo disclose a plurality of foam particles (Takiguchi: 332, Fig. 6, 1) (Takiguchi: [0086]) but do not disclose a volume fraction of the plurality of foam particles for each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer is between 5.3% and 9%. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to volume fraction of the plurality of foam particles to be between 5.3% and 9%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Kuo discloses the first self-luminescence element (206a, Fig. 3), the second self-luminescence element (206b, Fig. 3), and the third self-luminescence element (206c, Fig. 3) are blue micro light emitting diodes ([0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Kuo discloses the plurality of first quantum dots (210a, Fig. 3) are configured to absorb a light of a blue wavelength band and emit a light of a red wavelength band ([0039]), and wherein the plurality of second quantum dots (210b, Fig. 3) are configured to absorb a light of a blue wavelength band and emit a light of a green wavelength band ([0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Kuo discloses a first color filter (212 over 208a, Fig. 3) on the first color conversion layer (208a, Fig. 3) ([0039]); and a second color filter (212 over 210a, Fig. 3) on the second color conversion layer (208b, Fig. 3) ([0040]).
Claim(s) 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (U.S. 2022/0020900 A1; “Kuo”) in view of Takiguchi et al. (U.S. 2022/0093833 A1; “Takiguchi”) and Guo et al (WO 20200258878; published 12/30/20; references to English translation, “Guo”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2002/0085601 A1; “Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo disclose a plurality of foam particles (Takiguchi: 332, Fig. 6, 1) (Takiguchi: [0086]) but do not disclose the foam particles are from an inert gas. However, Wang discloses a plurality of foam particles from an inert gas ([0034]). Because both Kuo as modified by Takiguchi and Guo and Wang teach methods using a plurality of foam particles for light scattering, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of the plurality of foam particles from an inert gas. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo disclose the first color conversion layer (Kuo: 208a, Fig. 3) and the second color conversion layer (Kuo: 208b, Fig. 3) comprise a plurality of foam particles (Takiguchi: 332, Fig. 6, 1) or scattering particles (Takiguchi: [0086]) (see claim 1 rejection above). Yet, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo do not disclose a plurality of foam particles simultaneously with scattering particles. However, Wang discloses a color conversion layer comprising a plurality of foam particles simultaneously with scattering particles ([0034]). This has the advantage of providing additional light scattering within the color conversion layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo with further including scattering particles, as taught by Wang, so as to add additional light scattering to the first and second color conversion layers.
Regarding claim 6, Kuo, Takiguchi, Guo and Wang disclose the first color conversion layer comprises the first plurality of quantum dots (Kuo: 210a, Fig. 3; [0039])
and a plurality of scattering particles (Wang: [0034]) and the second color conversion layer comprises the second plurality of quantum dots (Kuo: 210b, Fig. 3; [0040]) and a plurality of scattering particles (Wang: [0034]). Yet, Kuo, Takiguchi, Guo and Wang do not disclose the mass ratio between the plurality of first quantum dots and the plurality of scattering particles is between 1:0.04 and 1:0.14 and the mass ratio between the plurality of second quantum dots and the plurality of scattering particles is between 1:0.04 and 1:0.14. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a mass ratio between each of the plurality of first/second quantum dots and the plurality of scattering particles to be between 1:0.04 and 1:0.14, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (U.S. 2022/0020900 A1; “Kuo”) as modified by Takiguchi et al. (U.S. 2022/0093833 A1; “Takiguchi”) and Guo et al (WO 20200258878; published 12/30/20; references to English translation, “Guo”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Suh et al. (U.S. 2022/0246672 A1; “Suh”).
Regarding claim 10, Kuo, Takiguchi, and Guo disclose a first transparent layer (Kuo: 204c, Fig. 3) on the third self-luminescence element (Kuo: 206c, Fig. 3) and a second transparent layer (Kuo: 212’, Fig. 3) on the first transparent layer (Kuo: 204, Fig. 3), wherein the second transparent layer (Kuo: 212’, Fig. 3), the first color filter (Kuo: 212 over 208a, Fig. 3), and the second color filter (Kuo: 212 over 210a, Fig. 3) are on a same plane. Yet, Kuo and Takiguchi do not disclose the first transparent layer and the second transparent layer are resins. However, Suh discloses a first transparent layer (73, Fig. 3) and a second transparent layer (83, Fig. 3) being resins ([0112]-[0113]). Because both Kuo as modified by Takiguchi and Guo and Suh teach methods of forming display modules, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of the first transparent layer and the second transparent layer being resins. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/26 regarding the Drawings objection pertaining to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Drawings were and are objected to for not showing every feature of the invention specified in the claims, particularly for not illustrating the plurality of foam particles in at least claim 1. Applicant has argued that the plurality of foam particles are illustrated as 71b and 72b in Fig. 3 of the present application (Remarks, pp 9). This is not persuasive to the examiner because 71b is introduced in the Specification as “a first quantum dot” and 72b is introduced in the Specification as “a second quantum dot” ([0089]). At least a first quantum dot and a second quantum dot are introduced in claim 1 in lines 8-9 and lines 12-14, respectively. This is contrasted to “a plurality of foam particles” introduced in lines 19-20. Because “a plurality of foam particles” is introduced later in the claim as the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot, the plurality of foam particles are necessarily distinct from the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot.
Examiner further notes that claim 3 indicates the plurality of foam particles are “foam particles of an inert gas.” Therefore, the plurality of foam particles is further evidenced as being different from the first quantum dot and/or the second quantum dot based on a reading of the claims as-a-whole. Therefore, “a plurality of foam particles” is not illustrated in the Drawings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 10/1/2026