DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants amendment filed 07 January 2026 amends claims 1-6, 9, and 17. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 12 of the response, “However, BASSO does not disclose ‘obtain a first profiling configuration that is based on a plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a first memory device, the one or more characteristics of the first memory device corresponding to the first memory device performing cryptographic operations using the plurality of keys,’ as recited in amended claim 1…” This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Veshchikov, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0259618, in view of Cao, “Cross-Device Profiled Side-Channel Attack with Unsupervised Domain Adaptation”, published 2021.
Claim Interpretation
The claimed means appear to linked to the controller (Figure 1, element 130) from Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim 17 recites “generating a model based on the first profiling configuration, the second profiling configuration, the third profiling configuration, and the fourth profiling configuration”, which can be considered to fall into the “Mental Process” grouping of the step 2A, prong one analysis for subject matter eligibility (MPEP 2106.04(a)). Additionally, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), section III, explains that courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) to perform the limitation (See Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper"). Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that computer-implemented method for "anonymous loan shopping" was an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements including “obtaining first/second/third/fourth profiling configuration[s]” and the claimed “means for” performing the claimed functionality. The obtaining limitations can be considered general data gathering steps that have been identified as an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(A)). Additionally, the claimed “means” correspond with the controller (Figure 1, 130), which would be considered generic computer technology that is well-known, routine, and convention and therefore, insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” (MPEP 2106.05(A)).
Claims 18 and 19, include similar “obtaining” and “generating” limitations that were not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Nor would the additional elements be considered to be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veshchikov, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0259618, in view of Cao, “Cross-Device Profiled Side-Channel Attack with Unsupervised Domain Adaptation”, published 2021. Referring to claim 1, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]), which meets the limitation of obtaining a first profiling configuration that is based on a plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a first memory device, the one or more characteristics of the first memory device corresponding to the first memory device performing cryptographic operations using the plurality of keys. The device profile is utilized to create a model ([0004]), which meets the limitation of generate a model based on the first profiling configuration [and the second profiling configuration]. The model is utilized to implement a side channel attack ([0004]), which meets the limitation of initiate a profiled side channel attack using the model.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of obtaining a second profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a second memory, the one or more characteristics of the second memory device corresponding to the second memory device performing cryptographic operations using the plurality of keys, generate a model based on the first profiling configuration and the second profiling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 2, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]: multiple keys read on the claimed first key and second key. Operations read on the claimed characteristics), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller, to obtain the first profiling configuration, is configured to obtain a first profiling configuration that is based on a first key of the plurality of keys, a second key of the plurality of keys, and the one or more characteristics of the first memory device.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller, to obtain the second profiling configuration, is configured to obtain a second profiling configuration that is based on the first key, the second key, and the one or more characteristics of the second memory device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 5, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is further configured to obtain a [third] profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a [third] memory device. The device profile is utilized to create a model ([0004]), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller, to generate the model, is configured to generated the model based on the first profiling configuration, [the second profiling configuration, and the third profiling configuration].
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is further configured to obtain a third profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a third memory device, wherein the controller, to generate the model, is configured to generated the model based on the first profiling configuration, the second profiling configuration, and the third profiling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 6, Veshchikov discloses the determination of countermeasures for the profiling attack ([0017] & [0041]-[0042]), which meets the limitation of determine a countermeasure for preventing another profiled side channel attack.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1). Different countermeasures can be added to the devices to prevent the side channel attacks (Page 44: adding the countermeasures to the devices shows that the countermeasures are transmitted to the devices), which meets the limitation of transmit, to the first memory device, the second memory device, or a third memory device, an indication of the countermeasure for preventing another profiled side channel attack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 7, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]).
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices using the same input (Page 34, Section 3.1: as applied to Veshchikov, the same input would include the same keys), which meets the limitation of wherein the first profiling configuration and the second profiling configuration are based on the same keys of the plurality of keys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 8, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]). The keys provisioned for the device can include newly provisioned keys ([0022]: the keys can include newly provisioned keys), which meets the limitation of wherein the first profiling configuration is based on a first set of keys of the plurality of keys and the [second] profiling configuration is based on [a second set] of keys of the plurality of keys, wherein the [second] set of keys includes one key that is not included in the first set of keys.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices using the same input (Page 34, Section 3.1: as applied to Veshchikov, the same input would include the same keys), which meets the limitation of and the second profiling configuration is based on [a second set] of keys of the plurality of keys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 9, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]), which meets the limitation of obtain a first profiling configuration that is based on a plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a first memory device, the one or more characteristics of the first memory device corresponding to the first memory device performing cryptographic operations using the plurality of keys. The device profile is utilized to create a model ([0004]), which meets the limitation of generating a model based on the first profiling configuration [and the second profiling configuration]. The model is utilized to implement a side channel attack ([0004]), which meets the limitation of initiating a profiled side channel attack using the model.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of obtaining a second profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a second memory, the one or more characteristics of the second memory device corresponding to the second memory device performing cryptographic operations using the plurality of keys, generating a model based on the first profiling configuration and the second profiling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 10, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]: multiple keys read on the claimed first key and second key. Operations read on the claimed characteristics), which meets the limitation of obtaining the first profiling configuration comprises obtaining a first profiling configuration that is based on a first key of the plurality of keys, a second key of the plurality of keys, and the one or more characteristics of the first memory device.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of wherein the obtaining a second profiling configuration comprises obtaining a second profiling configuration that is based on the first key of the plurality of keys, the second key of the plurality of keys, and the one or more characteristics of the second memory device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 13, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]), which meets the limitation of obtaining a [third] profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a [third] memory device. The device profile is utilized to create a model ([0004]), which meets the limitation of wherein generating the model comprises generating the model based on the first profiling configuration, [the second profiling configuration, and the third profiling configuration].
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1), which meets the limitation of obtaining a third profiling configuration that is based on the plurality of keys and one or more characteristics of a third memory device, wherein generating the model comprises generating the model based on the first profiling configuration, the second profiling configuration, and the third profiling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 14, Veshchikov discloses the determination of countermeasures for the profiling attack ([0017] & [0041]-[0042]), which meets the limitation of determine a countermeasure for preventing another profiled side channel attack based on performing the profiled side channel attack.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices such that the profiles are utilized to generate a model (Page 34, Section 3.1). Different countermeasures can be added to the devices to prevent the side channel attacks (Page 44: adding the countermeasures to the devices shows that the countermeasures are transmitted to the devices), which meets the limitation of transmitting, to the first memory device, the second memory device, or a third memory device, an indication of the countermeasure for preventing another profiled side channel attack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 15, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]).
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices using the same input (Page 34, Section 3.1: as applied to Veshchikov, the same input would include the same keys), which meets the limitation of wherein the first profiling configuration and the second profiling configuration are based on the same keys of the plurality of keys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Referring to claim 16, Veshchikov discloses profile attack detection wherein a profile is built for a device ([0004]) based on keys provisioned for the device and key operations performed by the device using the keys ([0019]). The keys provisioned for the device can include newly provisioned keys ([0022]: the keys can include newly provisioned keys), which meets the limitation of wherein the first profiling configuration is based on a first set of keys of the plurality of keys and the [second] profiling configuration is based on [a second set] of keys of the plurality of keys, wherein the [second] set of keys includes one key that is not included in the first set of keys.
Veshchikov does not disclose the profiling of multiple devices. Cao discloses the generation of profiles from multiple devices using the same input (Page 34, Section 3.1: as applied to Veshchikov, the same input would include the same keys), which meets the limitation of and the second profiling configuration is based on [a second set] of keys of the plurality of keys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the models of Veshchikov to have been generated using profiles from multiple devices in order to provide a model that is capable of extracting domain-invariant features as suggested by Cao (Page 34, Section 3.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437