Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 6, filed 16 July 2026 AD, with respect to claim objections for claims 3,4, and 7-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s pages 6-12, filed 16 July 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4, 7-12, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao for claims 1, 2, 10, and 11.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of Robinson et al. (US 20150193027 A1) or Robinson for claim 3.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Locker et al. (US 20110267026 A1) or Locker for claims 4 and 12.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Hu (WO 2024087069 A1) for claim 7.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of QI (US 20230284171 A1) for claim 8.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200305014 A1) or Kim for claim 9.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of QI (US 20230284171 A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200305014 A1) or Kim for claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, and 11are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao.
Claim 1
Lee teaches,
(Currently amended) A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, comprising:
a communication circuit (See Lee FIG. 2 [106] [transceiver]);
a processor (See Lee FIG. 2 [102] [processor]) operatively connected to the communication circuit;
(See Lee paragraph 0097, The transceiver 106 is operatively coupled with the processor 102,…)
and memory (See Lee FIG. 2 [104] [memory]) storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to:
(See Lee paragraph 0073, …the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processor(s) 102 or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods and/or operational flowcharts described in the present disclosure.)
…a first measurement period for performing measurement in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state from a control message received from an external device through the communication circuit; and…
(See Lee paragraph 0372, This procedure specifies the measurements to be performed and stored by a UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE when it has an idle/inactive measurement configuration.)
Shows the UE in RRC Idle or RRC inactive with an idle or inactive measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraph 0011, A wireless device receives, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state.)
Shows the wireless device or UE receiving from the network, second measurement configuration with a frequency set to measure in an idle or inactive state
(See Lee paragraph 0329, A UE may receive a second measurement configuration. When UE receives RRCRelease message, the UE may use the received second measurement configuration (for example, measIdleConfig)...)
Shows the UE receiving measIdleConfig with the second measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraphs 0357-0363,
if the RRCRelease includes the measIdleConfig:
[0358] 2>if T331 is running:
[0359] 3>stop timer T331;
[0360] 3>release the VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0361] 2>if the measIdleConfig is set to setup:
[0362] 3>store the received measIdleDuration in VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0363] 3>start timer T331 with the value set to measIdleDuration;)
Shows the measIdleConfig contains the measIdleDuration
Shows the measIdleCong identifies a measurement duration or period for the second measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraph 0509, ...a wireless device 100 may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106.)
Shows the wireless device containing a transceiver
(See Lee paragraph 0511, The processor 102 may be configured to control the transceiver 106 to receive, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state. )
Shows the transceiver of the wireless device receives second measurement configuration
Shows the UE receiving a measurement period with the measIdleConfig containing the measIdleDuration for performing measurement in an RRC idle or RRC inactive state from a network
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach,
…change the first measurement period to a second measurement period in case that it is determined that an operation mode of the UE is an inactive mode.
Nevertheless, Kianulainen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…change the first measurement period to a second measurement period in case that it is determined that an operation mode of the UE is an inactive mode.
(See Kianulainen paragraph 0040, As is shown in the FIG. 2B, the timer 166 originally starts upon the UE 110 entering into the idle or inactive mode 230 and terminates at the timer expiration 220, if the additional indication 164 includes the indication of the value of Y, the UE 110 may postpone the start of the timer by the duration Y, and in this case the timer 166 will terminate at the timer expiration 224. This allows the UE 110 to save power by defaulting to the Rel-18 eEMR framework, but also allows the network to have the UE 110 still use the Rel-16 EMR framework if too long time has passed since the UE 110 was last in the connected mode 210, in which case the regular measurements are more likely to become invalid.)
Shows the network postpones the UE utilizing the inefficient Rel-16 EMR framework measurements if the T331 timer is postponed
Shows if the UE enters the idle or inactive mode, the network may cause the UE to postpone the timer to utilize the more efficient or less power consuming measurements of Rel-18 eEMR
(See Kianulainen paragraph 0025, In a case where a UE that supports Rel-16 EMR and Rel-18 eEMR is simultaneously configured with both Rel-18 eEMR and Rel-16 EMR, some of the measurements for the Rel-16 EMR may waste UE resources since the UE is configured to perform unnecessary measurements for the Rel-16 EMR during idle/inactive mode as long as the T331 timer is running.)
Shows the Rel-16 EMR causes the UE to waste resources for measurement when the T331 is running in idle or inactive mode
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with updating the first measurement period to a second measurement period different from the first measurement period by extending the time period if the operation mode of the UE consists of inactive as disclosed by Kainulainen to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required to transmit signals from the UE).
Lee also fails to explicitly teach,
…identify…
…wherein the second measurement period is configured to at least partially overlap with a paging period of the UE.
Nevertheless, Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…identify…
(See Zhao paragraph 0006, …where the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period; and the first time period is used by the terminal device to perform positioning measurement or SRS transmission,…)
Shows determining or identifying a first time period based on first information
Shows the firs time period used to perform measurement
…wherein the second measurement period is configured to at least partially overlap with a paging period of the UE.
(See Zhao paragraph 0131, As shown in FIG. 9, in Step S910, if a time of positioning measurement overlaps with a time of paging detection, the terminal device performs the positioning measurement and/or the paging detection.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with identifying a time period based on information to perform measurement and a second measurement period configured to overlap with a paging period of an UE as disclosed by Zhao to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of time required to transition from one measurement period to another measurement period).
Claim 2
Lee teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 1, wherein the first measurement period is included in at least one of a message related to an RRC release or a system information block received from the external device through the communication circuit.
(See Lee paragraph 0011, A wireless device receives, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state.)
Shows a wireless device receives from a network, second measurement configuration in an idle and/or inactive state
(See Lee paragraph 0329, A UE may receive a second measurement configuration. When UE receives RRCRelease message, the UE may use the received second measurement configuration (for example, measIdleConfig)...)
Shows a UE receiving through a RRCRelase message, second measurement configuration including measIdleConfig
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, and Zhao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Lee teaches,
(Currently amended) A method of operating a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
…identifying… …a first measurement period for performing measurement in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state from a control message received from an external device; and…
(See Lee paragraph 0372, This procedure specifies the measurements to be performed and stored by a UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE when it has an idle/inactive measurement configuration.)
Shows the UE in RRC Idle or RRC inactive with an idle or inactive measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraph 0011, A wireless device receives, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state.)
Shows the wireless device or UE receiving from the network, second measurement configuration with a frequency set to measure in an idle or inactive state
(See Lee paragraph 0329, A UE may receive a second measurement configuration. When UE receives RRCRelease message, the UE may use the received second measurement configuration (for example, measIdleConfig)...)
Shows the UE receiving measIdleConfig with the second measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraphs 0357-0363,
if the RRCRelease includes the measIdleConfig:
[0358] 2>if T331 is running:
[0359] 3>stop timer T331;
[0360] 3>release the VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0361] 2>if the measIdleConfig is set to setup:
[0362] 3>store the received measIdleDuration in VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0363] 3>start timer T331 with the value set to measIdleDuration;)
Shows the measIdleConfig contains the measIdleDuration
Shows the measIdleCong identifies a measurement duration or period for the second measurement configuration
(See Lee paragraph 0509, ...a wireless device 100 may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106.)
Shows the wireless device containing a transceiver
(See Lee paragraph 0511, The processor 102 may be configured to control the transceiver 106 to receive, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state. )
Shows the transceiver of the wireless device receives second measurement configuration
Shows the UE receiving a measurement period with the measIdleConfig containing the measIdleDuration for performing measurement in an RRC idle or RRC inactive state from a network
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach,
…changing the first measurement period to a second measurement period in case that it is determined that an operation mode of the UE is an inactive mode,…
Nevertheless, Kianulainen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…changing the first measurement period to a second measurement period in case that it is determined that an operation mode of the UE is an inactive mode,…
(See Kianulainen paragraph 0040, As is shown in the FIG. 2B, the timer 166 originally starts upon the UE 110 entering into the idle or inactive mode 230 and terminates at the timer expiration 220, if the additional indication 164 includes the indication of the value of Y, the UE 110 may postpone the start of the timer by the duration Y, and in this case the timer 166 will terminate at the timer expiration 224. This allows the UE 110 to save power by defaulting to the Rel-18 eEMR framework, but also allows the network to have the UE 110 still use the Rel-16 EMR framework if too long time has passed since the UE 110 was last in the connected mode 210, in which case the regular measurements are more likely to become invalid.)
Shows the network postpones the UE utilizing the inefficient Rel-16 EMR framework measurements if the T331 timer is postponed
Shows if the UE enters the idle or inactive mode, the network may cause the UE to postpone the timer to utilize the more efficient or less power consuming measurements of Rel-18 eEMR
(See Kianulainen paragraph 0025, In a case where a UE that supports Rel-16 EMR and Rel-18 eEMR is simultaneously configured with both Rel-18 eEMR and Rel-16 EMR, some of the measurements for the Rel-16 EMR may waste UE resources since the UE is configured to perform unnecessary measurements for the Rel-16 EMR during idle/inactive mode as long as the T331 timer is running.)
Shows the Rel-16 EMR causes the UE to waste resources for measurement when the T331 is running in idle or inactive mode
The motivation to combine Lee and Kainulainen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Lee also fails to explicitly teach,
…identifying…
…wherein the second measurement period is configured to at least partially overlap with a paging period of the UE.
Nevertheless, Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…identifying…
(See Zhao paragraph 0006, …where the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period; and the first time period is used by the terminal device to perform positioning measurement or SRS transmission,…)
Shows determining or identifying a first time period based on first information
Shows the first time period used to perform measurement
…wherein the second measurement period is configured to at least partially overlap with a paging period of the UE.
(See Zhao paragraph 0131, As shown in FIG. 9, in Step S910, if a time of positioning measurement overlaps with a time of paging detection, the terminal device performs the positioning measurement and/or the paging detection.)
The motivation to combine Lee and Zhao consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Lee teaches,
(Currently amended) The method of claim 10, wherein the identifying of the first measurement period comprises identifying, from at least one of a message related to an RRC release or a system information block received from the external device, the first measurement period for the at least one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state.
(See Lee 0372, This procedure specifies the measurements to be performed and stored by a UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE when it has an idle/inactive measurement configuration.)
(See Lee paragraph 0011, A wireless device receives, from the network, a second measurement configuration including a frequency set to be measured in an idle state and/or an inactive state.)
Shows a wireless device receives from a network, second measurement configuration in an idle and/or inactive state
(See Lee paragraph 0329, A UE may receive a second measurement configuration. When UE receives RRCRelease message, the UE may use the received second measurement configuration (for example, measIdleConfig)...)
Shows a UE receiving through a RRCRelase message, second measurement configuration including measIdleConfig
(See Lee paragraphs 0357-0363,
if the RRCRelease includes the measIdleConfig:
[0358] 2>if T331 is running:
[0359] 3>stop timer T331;
[0360] 3>release the VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0361] 2>if the measIdleConfig is set to setup:
[0362] 3>store the received measIdleDuration in VarMeasIdleConfig;
[0363] 3>start timer T331 with the value set to measIdleDuration;)
Shows the measIdleConfig contains the measIdleDuration set a duration of performing a measurement
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, Zhao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of Robinson et al. (US 20150193027 A1) or Robinson.
Claim 3
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 1, further comprising an application processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE…
…application processor…
(See Ma paragraph 0011, The electronic device includes a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least a part of the electronic device, a display, a communication circuit supporting first cellular communication and/or second cellular communication, an application processor,…)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with an application process executed by a processor as disclosed by Ma to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of processing conducted on a single processor).
Robinson teaches,
…to determine that the operation mode of the UE is the inactive mode in case that the… …is in a sleep state.
(See Robinson paragraph 0057, ...the processor 50 also detects periods of inactivity and enters a sleep mode when the processor 50 determines that the media controller 10 has been inactive for longer than a predetermined period of time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with determining the operation mode of a UE consists of inactive if the application processor consists of a sleep state as disclosed by Robinson to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of detecting the inactive mode of the UE).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Locker et al. (US 20110267026 A1) or Locker.
Claim 4
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. Nevertheless, Locker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 1, further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE
to determine that the operation mode of the UE is the inactive mode in case that the display is in an inactive state.
(See Locker paragraph 0049, ...an operating system of an electronic device 200 may dim the display of the electronic device 200 in response to a signal from an altered power state timer detecting that a user has not entered input for a predetermined time period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with determining the operation mode of an UE consists of inactive if the display consists of inactive as disclosed by Locker to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the UE to operate).
Claim 12
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. Nevertheless, Locker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 10, wherein the operation mode of the UE is determined to be the inactive mode based on at least one of an application processor of the UE being in a sleep state or a display of the UE being in an inactive state.
(See Locker paragraph 0047, The power state transition modifier 230 determines, using accelerometer output, that the user may still be using the electronic device 200 and modifies the timing of the transition of the electronic device 200 into an altered power state. An altered power state includes a state in which the electronic device 200 performs operations related to power savings and/or operates with certain operations suspended or at a reduced capacity. The altered power state may include but is not limited to a standby state, a quiesced state, a low-power state, a hibernate state, the electronic device 200 operating with a dimmed or inactive display, the electronic device 200 powered off, and the electronic device 200 operating a screensaver.)
Shows determining the electronic device to be inactive if the display of the electronic device consists of being dimmed or inactive
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, Zhao and Locker in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Hu (WO 2024087069 A1).
Claim 7
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. Nevertheless, Kainulainen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to:
perform measurement based on the second measurement period while in the inactive mode;
(See Kainulainen paragraph 0060, ...the example method 400 may include an operation 410 of receiving from a first network device, an additional indication for a timer, wherein the terminal device is configured to perform measurements for the EMR when the timer is running; and an operation 420 of determining, at least based on the additional indication for the timer, operation of the timer, wherein the terminal device is configured to connect to a second network device, and the second network device supports at least the eEMR.)
Shows the performing of measurements with the additional indication for the timer
(See Kainulainen paragraph 0061, In some example embodiments, the additional indication may comprise at least one of the following: an indication allowing the terminal device to stop the timer; an indication of a value of Y for postponing a start of the timer by a duration Y; an indication of a value of X for extending a duration of the timer; or an indication allowing the terminal device to ignore the timer.)
Shows the additional indication extends the duration of the timer for the second measurement period
The motivation to combine Lee and Kainulainen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Hu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…and in case that it is determined that a number of measurements performed based on the second measurement period meets a predetermined condition additionally change the second measurement period to a third measurement period based on a predetermined interval.
(See Hu page 12 third to last paragraph...when the average value of the measurement results obtained in a measurement cycle is greater than or equal to the threshold corresponding to the measurement amount, the user equipment 101 determines that the signal quality of the WUS is good and determines to wake up the main receiver. Otherwise, the user equipment 101 does not wake up the main receiver.)
Shows the UE waking up the main receiver if the number of measurement results obtained in a cycle greater than or equal a threshold
(See Hu page 17 paragraph 8 ...the first measurement requirement after the primary receiver of the UE wakes up from a sleep state includes extending the original measurement period, and performing measurement in the period after the extension.)
Shows the UE extending the measuring time after waking from sleep state because the number of measurement results exceeded or equaled a threshold
(See Hu page 14 second to last paragraph, ...the user equipment 101 may determine an extended period based on a measurement period of the RS during the mobility measurement process, wherein the extended period is extended or prolonged on the measurement period of the RS.)
Shows the extension time of the measurement period consists of a predetermined interval
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with updating a second measurement period to a third measurement period if the number of measurements for the second measurement period meets a predetermined condition as disclosed by Hu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of calculating measurement periods for the UE).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of QI (US 20230284171 A1).
Claim 8
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to:
in case that the operation mode of the UE switches to an active mode,
(See Ma paragraph 0038, The auxiliary processor 123 may control at least some of functions or states related to at least one component (e.g., the display device 160, the sensor module 176, or the communication module 190) among the components of the electronic device 101, instead of the main processor 121 while the main processor 121 is in an inactive (e.g., sleep) state, or together with the main processor 121 while the main processor 121 is in an active state (e.g., executing an application).)
Shows the active state with executing an application
identify data throughput required by an application program executed in the UE; and
in case that data throughput required by an application program executed in the UE meets a predetermined throughput,
(See Ma paragraph 0099, In a state where the display 160 is deactivated, the electronic device 101 may monitor (or track) the amount of traffic generated by an application (or a background application) that is being executed. The electronic device 101 may monitor (or track) the amount of traffic of data transmitted or received via the first cellular communication and/or the second cellular communication, and identify whether the throughput satisfies the designated condition.)
Shows the electronic device, although with the display deactivated, executing an application or in an active mode
Shows the UE identifying the throughput of an application and determining if the throughput satisfies a designated condition
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
QI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…limit transmission of a measurement result in the at least one of the RRC inactive state or the the RRC idle state.
(See QI paragraph 0066, If the UE does not always wait for an RRC connected state to do measurement reporting, the total amount of bits a report can contain is limited due to the transmission restriction in RRC idle or inactive state. In such a case, the size of a report is reduced, and an incremental reporting mechanism is adopted.)
Shows the limiting of transmitting of reporting during RRC idle or RRC inactive state
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with limiting the transmission of a measurement result in an RRC inactive state or RRC idle state as disclosed by QI to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy to transmit measurements during RRC idle or RRC inactive states).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200305014 A1) or Kim.
Claim 9
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently amended) The UE of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to,
in case that the data throughput required by the application program executed in the UE does not meet the predetermined throughput,
(See Ma paragraph 0100, In response to the throughput of the electronic device 101, which has failed to satisfy the designated condition in operation 523-N, the electronic device 101 may monitor the throughput of the electronic device 101 and identify whether the designated condition is satisfied every designated time.)
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmit the measurement result in the at least one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to the external device.
(See Kim paragraph 0200, ...the UE may transmit a measurement report in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode that is to be reported to the base station, through the corresponding message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine an UE receiving a first measurement period for performing measurement in a radio resource control or RRC inactive or RRC idle state from a control message received from a network through the transceiver as disclosed by Lee with transmitting a measurement result during an RRC inactive or RRC idle state to an external device as disclosed by Kim to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of overhead required by the UE to transmit a measurement result).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220264384 A1) or Lee in view of Kainulainen et al. (WO 2025067750 A1) or Kainulainen in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20260082358 A1) or Zhao in further view of Ma et al. (US 20230052406 A1) or Ma in further view of QI (US 20230284171 A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200305014 A1) or Kim.
Claim 15 (Original)
Lee fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 10, further comprising: in case that the operation mode of the UE switches to an active mode,
(See Ma paragraph 0038, The auxiliary processor 123 may control at least some of functions or states related to at least one component (e.g., the display device 160, the sensor module 176, or the communication module 190) among the components of the electronic device 101, instead of the main processor 121 while the main processor 121 is in an inactive (e.g., sleep) state, or together with the main processor 121 while the main processor 121 is in an active state (e.g., executing an application).)
Shows the active state with executing an application
identifying data throughput required by an application program executed in the UE; in case that the data throughput required by the application program executed in the UE meets a predetermined throughput,…
(See Ma paragraph 0099, In a state where the display 160 is deactivated, the electronic device 101 may monitor (or track) the amount of traffic generated by an application (or a background application) that is being executed. The electronic device 101 may monitor (or track) the amount of traffic of data transmitted or received via the first cellular communication and/or the second cellular communication, and identify whether the throughput satisfies the designated condition.)
Shows the electronic device, although with the display deactivated, executing an application or in an active mode
Shows the electronic device identifying the throughput of an application and determining if the throughput satisfies a designated condition
…and in case that the data throughput required by the application program executed in the UE does not meet the predetermined throughput,…
(See Ma paragraph 0100, In response to the throughput of the electronic device 101, which has failed to satisfy the designated condition in operation 523-N, the electronic device 101 may monitor the throughput of the electronic device 101 and identify whether the designated condition is satisfied every designated time.)
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
QI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…limiting transmission of a measurement result in at least one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state;
(See QI paragraph 0066, If the UE does not always wait for an RRC connected state to do measurement reporting, the total amount of bits a report can contain is limited due to the transmission restriction in RRC idle or inactive state. In such a case, the size of a report is reduced, and an incremental reporting mechanism is adopted.)
Shows the limiting of transmitting of reporting during RRC idle or RRC inactive state
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, and QI in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 8.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…transmitting the measurement result in at least one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to the external device.
(See Kim paragraph 0200, ...the UE may transmit a measurement report in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode that is to be reported to the base station, through the corresponding message.)
The motivation to combine Lee, Kainulainen, Zhao, and Kim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Teyeb et al. (US 20220174593 A1) or Teyeb teaches determining the validity of at least one idle mode measurements and receiving configuration from a network comprising a measurement duration time value in an idle mode measurement.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414