DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samec (US 20170017083) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an augmented reality near-eye display system, in at least (fig. 5); comprising: an image source system ([1586]) operable to generate image-bearing light beams ([1508]), the image source system ([1586]) comprising a plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]); a temperature sensor ([1471]) operable to detect a temperature ([2134]) within the image source system ([1586]); and a processor (36) and non-transitory computer-readable memory ([2213-2214]) configurated to execute ([2213-2214]) and store ([2213-2214]) a set of computer-readable instructions ([2213-2214]) that when executed by the processor (36) (36) are configured to selectively drive ([0342]) each of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) based on the temperature ([2134]) of the image source system ([1586]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); further comprising: an optically transmissive image light guide ([1915]) ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) operable to propagate the image-bearing light beams ([1508]) via total internal reflection, an in-coupling ([1921]; light source coupling light into the waveguide) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) formed along the image light guide ([1915]) ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)), wherein the in-coupling ([1921]; light source coupling light into the waveguide) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) is operable to diffract ([1921]; configured to in-couple light output from the optical source) at least a portion of the image-bearing light beams ([1508]) into the image light guide ([1915]) in an angularly encoded form ([1637] angular offset); and an out-coupling ([1906]; output coupling elements) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) formed along the image light guide ([1915]), wherein the out-coupling ([1906]; output coupling elements) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) is operable to direct at least a portion of the image-bearing light beams ([1508]) from the image light guide ([1915]) in an angularly decoded form ([1637]; angular offset).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the image source system ([1586]) is a self-emitting microdisplay system ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.), wherein the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) comprises a plurality of self-emitting light sources ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.) configured to emit light as a function of power applied to each self-emitting light source ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the plurality of self-emitting light sources includes a semiconductor micro light emitting diode (uLED) ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.) array ([1885]; arrays).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display (62) thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the plurality of self-emitting light sources includes an OLED array ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.) ([1885]; arrays).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the image source system ([1586]) is a projector ([0264]; fiber scanning projector) energizable to emit a set of angularly related beams ([1581]; angular shift in images to the wearer).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein each of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) comprises a transistor or an electrode ([[0029-0030]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the image source system ([1586]) is supported by a temple member ([2057]; temples or earstems) of a frame (see fig. 5).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the temperature sensor ([1471]) is operable to selectively alter power to a first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453] and [2135]; thermal pipes) corresponding to a first set of pixels (pixels of display lens 106 are surrounded by thermal pipe 28a to cool down display pixels as controlled by processor) in at least a first portion (particular side of the thermal pipe surrounding the display) of an image generated by the processor (36).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) correspond to one or more pixels in an array of pixels ([1759]; separate electrically reconfigurable pixels. In addition to being implemented physically, the occluder (1730a) may be implemented digitally as described herein. For example, image content presented on a display may be limited to a small region as if having been occluded. Similarly, the image that can be viewed on a display can be limited to a small portion of the display by altering the pixels outside said small portion such that said image less discernable than in said small portion of said display.), wherein a first portion of the array of pixels defines a peripheral region ([1759]; altering pixels outside said small portion) of the array of pixels, and a second portion of the array of pixels defines an inner region ([1759]; small region) of the array of pixels, and wherein the first set of pixels ([1759]; small region as if having been occluded) is within the first portion of the array of pixels ([1759]; separate electrically reconfigurable pixels).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the peripheral region ([1759]; altering pixels outside said small portion) of the array of pixels comprises approximately 20% of the array of pixels ([1759]; digital occluder allows for selection of inner and outer region size).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the first set of pixels ([1759]; outer region) are a non-uniform distribution ([2090]; Pixels may be selectively projected to healthy retinal cells, while pixels projected to anomalies may be reduced, minimized, magnified, brightened, or otherwise altered in magnification, intensity, hue, saturation, spatial frequency, or other quality) of pixels within the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the first set of pixels ([1759]; outer region) corresponds to a single color ([1754]; In another implementation, the scene may be occluded to present one or more regions of the image with enhanced chroma (e.g., color) or luma (e.g., intensity) emitted by the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the first set of pixels (1759]) is within a defined space ([1759]; occlusion) within the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein more than 50% ([1759]; due to digital occlusion, any amount desired may be altered) of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) corresponding to one or more pixels ([1759]) in the first set of pixels are altered ([1759]; due to digital occlusion, any amount desired may be altered), and wherein a remaining percentage of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) are not altered ([1759]; due to digital occlusion, any amount desired may be altered).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the temperature sensor ([1471]) is a thermistor ([1736]; non-contact infrared thermometer or other suitable temperature sensor).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches a method of thermal control of an augmented reality near-eye display system, comprising: generating images with an image source system ([1586]), the image source system ([1586]) comprising a plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]); detecting a first temperature ([2134]) within the image source system ([1586]); and adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity) applied to a first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the first temperature ([2134]) of the image source system ([1586]) is above a predetermined threshold ([1491]) to modulate light ([1580]; modulators) emitted from a first set of pixels([1759]) corresponding to the first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]), whereby heat generation by the image source system ([1586]) is reduced.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); further comprising: directing light emitted from image light source ([1508]) system into an optically transmissive image light guide ([1915]), wherein the image light guide ([1915]) comprises an in-coupling ([1921]; light source coupling light into the waveguide) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) and an out-coupling ([1906]; output coupling elements) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) arranged along the image light guide ([1915]); propagating image-bearing light entering the optically transmissive image light guide ([1915]) through the in-coupling ([1921]; light source coupling light into the waveguide) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)) to the out-coupling ([1906]; output coupling elements) diffractive optic ([1915]; light guides (with or without diffractive optical elements)), wherein the image-bearing light is conveyed to an eyebox (fig. 17a-17c) within which the images generated by the two-dimensional image source system ([1586]) are viewable.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); further comprising the step of detecting a second (left eye, right eye) temperature ([2134]) within the image source system ([1586]); and adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity left eye, right eye) applied to a second set (left eye, right eye) of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the second temperature ([2134]) of the two-dimensional image source system ([1586]) is above a predetermined threshold ([1491]) to modulate ([1580]; modulators) amounts of light emitted from a second set of pixels ([1759]; left eye, right eye) corresponding to the second set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]), whereby heat generation ([2134]) by the image source system ([1586]) is reduced by a greater degree than the first temperature ([2134]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); further comprising the step of detecting a third temperature ([2134]) within the image source system ([1586]); and adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity) applied to a third set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the third temperature ([2134]) of the image source system ([1586]) is above a predetermined threshold ([2128]) to modulate amounts of light emitted from a third set of pixels ([1759]) corresponding to the third set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]), whereby heat generation ([2134]) by the image source system ([1586]) is reduced by a greater degree than the first temperature (2134[) and the second temperature ([2134]).
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); further comprising the step of adjusting a size of the images ([0376]) generated by the image source system ([1586]) to utilize fewer of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]).
With regard to claim 22, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the step of adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity) applied to the first set of the plurality individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the first temperature ([2134]) is above a predetermined threshold further comprises the step of altering power ([0546]; adjust intensity) to the first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) corresponding to a non-uniform distribution of pixels ([1759]).
With regard to claim 23, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the step of adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity) applied to the first set of the plurality individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the first temperature ([2134]) is above a predetermined threshold further comprises the step of altering power ([0546]; adjust intensity) to the first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) corresponding to a single color within the array of pixels ([1759]).
With regard to claim 24, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the step of adjusting power ([0546]; adjust intensity) applied to the first set of the plurality individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) when the first temperature ([2134]) is above a predetermined threshold further comprises the step of altering power ([0546]; adjust intensity) to the first set of the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) corresponding to a first set of pixels within a defined space of the array of pixels ([1759]).
With regard to claim 25, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches a micro display thermal management system, in at least one of (Fig. 5; Para. [1442-1453], [1471], [1508], [1586], and [2213-2214]); wherein the step of generating images with an image source system ([1586]) further comprises the step of using a self-emitting microdisplay system ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.) as the image source system ([1586]), wherein the plurality of individually addressable components ([1442]-[1453]) comprises a plurality of self-emitting light sources ([1449]; laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, a dichroic lamp, a full spectrum light source, etc.) configured to emit light as a function of power applied to each self-emitting light source ([1509]; adjust intensity).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872