DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 14, line 2: “the voltage threshold” should be “the equal voltage threshold”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “receiving a set of points based on a voltage value from a sensor device” in line 3; however, it is not clear if the set of points is based on one voltage value, or if each point is based on a corresponding voltage value. From the specification page 8 (the three equations with V0, V1, and V2-), it appears as if the set of points is based on a corresponding voltage value. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “a voltage value” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a voltage value” in claim 1, line 3. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the voltage value”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 4-6 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the external stimuli” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if claim 3 should depend from claim 2. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 4 recites “a plurality of voltage values” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitations “a voltage value” in claim 1, line 3 and “a voltage value” in claim 2, line 2. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” and “plurality” suggest that they are different. If claim 1 includes a plurality of voltage values, then the present recitation’s relationship should be made clear. If claim 1 does not include a plurality of voltage values, it is not clear if the singular voltage values from claims 1 and/or 2 fall within the plurality. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites “a response slope of voltage values between the voltage values” in lines 2-3, but it is not clear if the voltage values of “a response slope of voltage values” fall between “the voltage values” or if the response slope falls between “the voltage values”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites “the voltage values” in line 3, but it is not clear the relationship of this recitation to the recitations “a voltage value” in claim 1, line 3 and “a voltage value” in claim 2, line 2. The similar phraseology and the definite article “the” suggest that they are the same, but the plural usage (i.e., voltage values) suggests that they are different. If claim 1 includes a plurality of voltage values, then the present recitation’s relationship should be made clear. If claim 1 does not include a plurality of voltage values, it is not clear if the singular voltage values from claims 1 and/or 2 fall within the plural values. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements); also, the present recitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites “the voltage values” in line 1, but it is not clear the relationship of this recitation to the recitations “a voltage value” in claim 1, line 3. The similar phraseology and the definite article “the” suggest that they are the same, but the plural usage (i.e., voltage values) suggests that they are different. If claim 1 includes a plurality of voltage values, then the present recitation’s relationship should be made clear. If claim 1 does not include a plurality of voltage values, it is not clear if the singular voltage value from claim 1 fall within the plural values. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements); also, the present recitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites “the voltage values” in line 1, but it is not clear the relationship of this recitation to the recitations “a voltage value” in claim 1, line 3. The similar phraseology and the definite article “the” suggest that they are the same, but the plural usage (i.e., voltage values) suggests that they are different. If claim 1 includes a plurality of voltage values, then the present recitation’s relationship should be made clear. If claim 1 does not include a plurality of voltage values, it is not clear if the singular voltage value from claim 1 fall within the plural values. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements); also, the present recitation lacks antecedent basis. In addition, there is additional confusion with how the recitation “sensed voltage levels” is related to the aforementioned recitations. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites “the received set of points is a respective current value” in lines 1-2. It is not clear how multiple point (i.e., the received set of points) can be a singular value “a respective current value”. Is there a respective current at each one of the points? Is the current value the same at each one of the points? These inconsistencies render claim 10 indefinite.
Claim 12 recites “the decaying detection signal” in lines 2-3, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitations “a detection signal” in claim 11, line 2. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but “decaying” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, then the present recitation should be “the detection signal”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claims 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 12.
Claim 13 recites “a duration” in lines 1-2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a duration” in claim 12, line 2. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, then the present recitation should be “duration”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 17-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 13.
Claim 14 recites “a timing signal based on a voltage of the detection signal attains the voltage threshold”, which is grammatically awkward and unclear. It is not clear if “a voltage” is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a predetermined voltage” in claim 12, line 3. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” and “predetermined” suggest that they are different. If the recitations are the same, then the present recitation should be “the predetermined voltage”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements).
Claim 15 recites “the computed time” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a timing constant” in claim 11, line 6. The different phraseology suggests that they are different, but the definite article “the” suggests that they are the same. If the recitations are the same, then the present recitation should be “the timing constant”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of its dependence from claim 15.
Claim 18 recites “a response slope of voltage values between the voltage values exhibited by the received voltage values” in lines 3-4, which is grammatically awkward and unclear. It is not clear if the voltage values of “a response slope of voltage values” fall between “the voltage values” or if the response slope falls between “the voltage values”. Furthermore, it is not clear the relationship between “the voltage values” and “the received voltage values”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 18 recites “received voltage values” in line 6, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “the received voltage values” in line 4. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of the definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, then the present recitation should be “the received voltage values”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim 1 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “evaluating a timing exhibited by the set of points” (see specification pg. 7 ln. 21 – pg. 9 ln. 11) is being interpreted as judgements/observations (i.e., the measuring of the time differences/durations); or as insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., mere data gathering at a high level of generality – see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g)). The recitation “computing a timing constant based on the evaluated timing” (see specification pg. 7 ln. 21 – pg. 9 ln. 11 and pg. 14 ln. 20-24) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations. The recitation “determining a presence and magnitude of a substance” (see specification pg. 11 ln. 22 – pg. 12 ln. 3 and pg. 15 ln. 11-16) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (i.e., table lookup, etc.). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification pg. 15 ln. 17-27).
Claim 11 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “computing a timing constant defining a rate of decay of the exponentially decaying stimuli” (see specification pg. 7 ln. 21 – pg. 9 ln. 11 and pg. 14 ln. 20-24) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations. The recitation “mapping the timing constant to a concentration level of a measured substance, the exponentially decaying stimuli indicative of the measured substance” (see specification pg. 11 ln. 22 – pg. 12 ln. 3 and pg. 15 ln. 11-16) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (i.e., table lookup, etc.). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification pg. 15 ln. 17-27).
Step 1: This part of eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 2106.03. Claim 1 recites a method, which is directed towards a process (a statutory category of invention). Claim 11 recites a device, which is directed towards a machine/manufacture (a statutory category of invention). Step 1: YES.
Step 2A Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The “mental processes” abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, multiple evaluations and/or judgements/observations. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 1 and 11 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mental process grouping). No limitations are provided that would force the complexity of any of the identified evaluation steps to be non-performable by pen-and-paper practice.
Furthermore, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). The courts consider mathematical calculations, when the claim is given its BRI in light of the specification, as falling within the “mathematical concept” grouping of abstract ideas. A claim does not have to recite “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using a mathematical method, or “performing” a mathematical operation, may also be considered a mathematical calculation when the BRI of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, multiple mathematical calculations/evaluations. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 1 and 11 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mathematical calculations grouping of mathematical concepts).
Alternatively or additionally, these steps describe the concept of using implicit mathematical formulas (i.e., calculations to determine a likelihood score) to derive a conclusion based on input of data, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts (Diamond v. Diehr. 450 U.S. 175, 209 U.S.P.Q. 1 (1981), Parker v. Flook. 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978), and In re Grams. 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). The concept of the recited limitations identified as mathematical concepts above is not meaningfully different than those mathematical concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
a method of measuring a time constant in a measurement circuit for voltage pulses, comprising:
receiving a set of points based on a voltage value from a sensor device;
evaluating a timing exhibited by the set of points;
computing a timing constant based on the evaluated timing; and
based on the timing constant, determining a presence and magnitude of a substance sensed by the sensor device.
Furthermore, claim 11 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
evaluating an exponential decay, comprising:
sending a detection signal indicative of an exponentially decaying stimuli;
generating a triggering signal for triggering the exponentially decaying stimuli;
computing a timing constant defining a rate of decay of the exponentially decaying stimuli; and
mapping the timing constant to a concentration level of a measured substance, the exponentially decaying stimuli indicative of the measured substance.
Step 2A Prong One: YES.
Step 2A Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exceptions into a practical application. Claim 1 recites no other elements, such that claim 1 recites no element that integrates the abstract ideas into a practical application (note that the measurement circuit or sensor device are not positively recited in the claim). Claim 11 recites a circuit, a sensor device, a stimulation circuit, a nonuniform sampling circuit, and a results estimator, which are being interpreted as a generic computer (see specification pg. 15 ln. 17-27). Note that claim 11 does not recite any elements/functions necessitating the structure to include a photodetector or light source, under the BRI. Therefore, the method/device are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2A Prong Two: NO.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As explained with Step 2A Prong Two, claim 11 recites elements directed towards a generic computer (i.e., a circuit, a sensor device, a stimulation circuit, a nonuniform sampling circuit, and a results estimator, which are being interpreted as a generic computer; see specification pg. 15 ln. 17-27). The method/device utilizing a generic computer do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no
indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for
example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is
no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based
problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective
functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e.,
the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Step 2B: NO.
Claims 1 and 11 are not eligible.
Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1, and merely further define the abstract ideas of claim 1. The claims recite no additional element that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Note that claims 6-9 recite elements (i.e., a photodetector, a luminescent film, a set of interconnected comparators, and a single comparator) that further limit the nature of data collected; however, are not positively recited in the claims themselves. The method is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims recite no additional element that adds an inventive concept to the claim and/or amounts to significantly more than the recited exception. The method utilizing a generic computer does not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Looking at the limitations of each claim as an ordered combination in conjunction with the claims from which they depend (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome.
Claims 12-18 depend from claim 11, and merely further define the abstract ideas of claim 1. The claims recite no additional element that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Claim 12 recites a level crossing circuit and claim 13 recites a level shifting circuit, which are being interpreted as the generic computer (see specification pg. 15 ln. 17-27). The device is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims recite no additional element that adds an inventive concept to the claim and/or amounts to significantly more than the recited exception. The device utilizing a generic computer does not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claim 14 recites the additional element of a resistor string. The resistor string does not qualify as integration into a practical application because this limitation is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a high level of generality – see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g) using a generic component (i.e., the resistors are claimed generically). The resistor string does not qualify as significantly more because it is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. For example, Britton, Jr. et al. (US Patent 5,949,539) teaches a method for determining the decay-time constant of a fluorescing phosphor (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which the zero-crossing discrimination circuit 160 utilizes a commercial chip, such as an LM311 chip, with known components including resistors and capacitors (see col. 6 ln. 60 – col. 7 ln. 32; Figs. 7A-7B). Therefore, the resistor string cannot be seen as integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Looking at the limitations of each claim as an ordered combination in conjunction with the claims from which they depend (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The succeeding art rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Mayer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0005047), hereinafter Mayer.
Regarding Claim 1, Mayer teaches a method for calibrating a luminescence lifetime sensing instrument (see abstract and Fig. 2). Mayer teaches a method of measuring a time constant in a measurement circuit for voltage pulses (see abstract and Figs. 2 and 4), comprising:
receiving a set of points based on a voltage value from a sensor device (¶[0088]-[0093] the signal from the photodiode 36 that is put into the circuit, the primary signal curve is put into the comparator 47 along with an inverted signal curve, the curves represent sets of points, and as they are an analog signal, are based on voltage from the photodetector; Figs. 2 and 4);
evaluating a timing exhibited by the set of points (¶[0088]-[0093] the time that the LED is shut off is used as the starting time tstart for the decay constant/lifetime determination, with the timing of the crossing of the primary signal curve and the inverted signal curve as the ending time tend; Figs. 2 and 4);
computing a timing constant based on the evaluated timing (¶[0088]-[0093] the decay constant/lifetime is determined from tstart and tend; Figs. 2 and 4); and
based on the timing constant, determining a presence and magnitude of a substance sensed by the sensor device (¶[0025]-[0029] and ¶[0097]-[0098] the probe that utilizes the measured decay constant/lifetime to determine the analyte partial pressure, such as oxygen; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Mayer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Mayer further teaches determining a gaseous concentration based on a voltage value resulting from an external stimuli detected by the sensor device (¶[0025]-[0029] and ¶[0097]-[0098] the probe that utilizes the measured decay constant/lifetime to determine the analyte partial pressure, such as oxygen, ¶[0088]-[0093] the LED 31 that illuminates the probe 120 to be received by the photodiode 36; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Mayer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the set of points includes at least 3 points on an exponential decay driven by the external stimuli (¶[0088]-[0093] the LED 31 that illuminates the probe 120 to be received by the photodiode 36; Fig. 2, see also Fig. 4, there are more than 3 points on the curves).
Regarding Claim 5, Mayer teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Mayer further teaches identifying a correction factor based on a response slope of voltage values between the voltage values exhibited by the set of points; and adjusting the computed timing constant for the correction factor based on a sensory delay between adjacent points in the set of points (¶[0094]-[0095] there is a delay from the rising of the signal based on the excitation (i.e., LED on) and a delay in the decay when excitation removed (i.e., LED off), of which, the decay constant/lifetime is adjusted/corrected based on those values, the slope is non-reactive during the delay; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Mayer teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the sensor device is a photodetector and the external stimuli is emitted light (¶[0088]-[0093] the LED 31 that illuminates the probe 120 to be received by the photodiode 36; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Mayer teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the external stimuli is based on a luminescent film in a gaseous environment, and the computed timing constant is indicative of a sensed gas (¶[0025]-[0029] and ¶[0097]-[0098] the probe that utilizes the measured decay constant/lifetime to determine the analyte partial pressure, such as oxygen, such probes commonly include a thin film of a solid state photoluminescent composition; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Mayer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Mayer further teaches receiving the voltage values from a single comparator adapted to sense a current level based on three sensed voltage levels (¶[0088]-[0093] the decay constant/lifetime is determined from tstart and tend, the comparator 47 for ascertaining the time of crossing point, which would evaluate more than three voltage signals as the two curves are input into the comparator; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Mayer teaches the method of claim 9 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the received set of points is a respective current value based on a constant voltage difference between the set of points (¶[0088]-[0093] the decay constant/lifetime is determined from tstart and tend, the comparator 47 for ascertaining the time of crossing point, which would evaluate more than three voltage signals as the two curves are input into the comparator, when the voltage difference is zero, the crossing would be determined; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Mayer teaches a method for calibrating a luminescence lifetime sensing instrument (see abstract and Fig. 2). Mayer teaches a circuit for evaluating an exponential decay (see abstract and Figs. 2 and 4), comprising:
a sensor device for sending a detection signal indicative of an exponentially decaying stimuli (¶[0088]-[0093] the signal from the photodiode 36 that is put into the circuit, the primary signal curve is put into the comparator 47 along with an inverted signal curve, the curves represent sets of points, and as they are an analog signal, are based on voltage from the photodetector; Figs. 2 and 4);
a stimulation circuit for generating a triggering signal for triggering the exponentially decaying stimuli (¶[0088]-[0093] the LED 31 that illuminates the probe 120 to be received by the photodiode 36, the LED 31 controlled via the microprocessor 50; Fig. 2);
a nonuniform sampling circuit for computing a timing constant defining a rate of decay of the exponentially decaying stimuli (¶[0088]-[0093] the time that the LED is shut off is used as the starting time tstart for the decay constant/lifetime determination, with the timing of the crossing of the primary signal curve and the inverted signal curve as the ending time tend, the decay constant/lifetime is determined from tstart and tend; Figs. 2 and 4); and
a results estimator for mapping the timing constant to a concentration level of a measured substance, the exponentially decaying stimuli indicative of the measured substance (¶[0025]-[0029] and ¶[0097]-[0098] the probe that utilizes the measured decay constant/lifetime to determine the analyte partial pressure, such as oxygen; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Mayer teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the nonuniform sampling circuit includes a level crossing circuit for computing a time based on a duration at which the decaying detection signal attains a predetermined voltage demarcated by an equal voltage threshold (¶[0088]-[0093] the time that the LED is shut off is used as the starting time tstart for the decay constant/lifetime determination, with the timing of the crossing (the crossing is the equal value threshold, when both curves have the same voltage) of the primary signal curve and the inverted signal curve as the ending time tend, the decay constant/lifetime (i.e., the duration) is determined from tstart and tend; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Mayer teaches the device of claim 12 as stated above. Mayer further teaches a level shifting circuit for isolating a duration of each of the threshold crossings based on received voltage values corresponding to the decaying detection signal (¶[0088]-[0093] the time that the LED is shut off is used as the starting time tstart for the decay constant/lifetime determination, with the timing of the crossing (the crossing is the equal value threshold, when both curves have the same voltage) of the primary signal curve and the inverted signal curve as the ending time tend, the decay constant/lifetime (i.e., the duration) is determined from tstart and tend, the time decay is determined for the one crossing, as the claim does not require multiple crossings; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Mayer teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the stimulation circuit is operable to generate the triggering signal at predetermined timing intervals, and the computed time is based on the predetermined timing intervals (¶[0094]-[0095] there is a delay from the rising of the signal based on the excitation (i.e., LED on) and a delay in the decay when excitation removed (i.e., LED off), of which, the decay constant/lifetime is adjusted/corrected based on those values, the timing intervals are the adjusted pulse made from the correction, used in the determination of the decay constant/lifetime; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 16, Mayer teaches the device of claim 15 as stated above. Mayer further teaches the triggering signal is an optical signal of a predetermined wavelength (¶[0081]-[0084] the LED 31 emits light at a specific wavelength, such as 390 nm for oxygen; Figs. 1-2) and the decaying stimuli is a luminescent decay based on an emitted wavelength quenched by a presence of the measured substance (¶[0025]-[0029] and ¶[0097]-[0098] the probe that utilizes the measured decay constant/lifetime to determine the analyte partial pressure, such as oxygen, ¶[0021]-[0023] the probe is quenched by the analyte; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Mayer teaches the device of claim 13 as stated above. Mayer further teaches identifying a correction factor based on a response slope of voltage values between the voltage values exhibited by the set of points; and adjusting the computed timing constant for the correction factor based on a sensory delay between adjacent points in the set of points (¶[0094]-[0095] there is a delay from the rising of the signal based on the excitation (i.e., LED on) and a delay in the decay when excitation removed (i.e., LED off), of which, the decay constant/lifetime is adjusted/corrected based on those values, the slope is non-reactive during the delay; Figs. 5-6).
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Deas et al. (GB Patent Application GB 2479183 A), hereinafter Deas.
Regarding Claim 1, Deas teaches a technique and methods for a low oxygen alarm for a rebreather utilizing a sol-gel derived film oxygen sensor via lifetime measurement (see abstract and Figs. 1-2 and 14-15). Deas teaches a method of measuring a time constant in a measurement circuit for voltage pulses (see abstract and Figs. 1-2 and 14-15), comprising:
receiving a set of points based on a voltage value from a sensor device (pg. 12 ln. 11 – pg. 13 ln. 25, the voltage output from the photodiode 306, after collecting light from film 304 illuminated via LED 302, there are a plurality of points; Figs. 2-4);
evaluating a timing exhibited by the set of points (pg. 13 ln. 22 – pg. 14 ln. 11, the timing between the raising/falling edge events of the signals 381/391 output from comparators 380/390 corresponding to the lifetime or decay constant for oxygen; Figs. 2-4);
computing a timing constant based on the evaluated timing (pg. 13 ln. 22 – pg. 14 ln. 11, the timing between the raising/falling edge events of the signals 381/391 that correspond to specific voltage/intensity levels, output from comparators 380/390, which corresponds to the lifetime or decay constant for oxygen; Figs. 2-4); and
based on the timing constant, determining a presence and magnitude of a substance sensed by the sensor device (pg. 9 ln. 26 – pg. 10 ln. 14, the life/decay constant is used to indicate oxygen concentration, further used to set an alarm when the oxygen concentration falls below a certain level, pg. 26 ln. 20 – pg. 27 ln. 16, a look-up table may be employed once the sensor is calibrated with known concentrations/lifetimes so as to ensure accurate concentration measurements; Figs. 14-15).
Regarding Claim 8, Deas teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Deas further teaches receiving the voltage values from a set of interconnected comparators (pg. 13 ln. 22 – pg. 14 ln. 11, the timing between the raising/falling edge events of the signals 381/391 output from comparators 380/390 corresponding to the lifetime or decay constant for oxygen; Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, respectively, and in view of Sato et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0116370), hereinafter Sato.
Regarding Claim 4, Mayer teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Mayer teaches applying a correction to the decay constant/lifetime (see ¶[0094]-[0095] and Figs. 5-6), but not specifically that the correction involves evaluating a plurality of voltage values from the sensor device when the external stimuli is dormant.
Sato teaches about size reduction of an optical sensor that detects radiated light, such as phosphoresce radiated from a detection target excited by exciting light (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which phosphorescence is detected/determined via a decay constant (see generally ¶[0090]-[0097]), in which movement may be corrected for based on a correction coefficient determined with values when the target has moved when the light source is turned off, so as to more accurately determine the decay constant (see ¶[0104]-[0111] and Fig. 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the correction of Sato with the measurement probe of Mayer because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the correction would improve the accuracy of the decay constant/lifetime determination (see Sato ¶[0108]-[0111]).
Regarding Claim 17, Mayer teaches the device of claim 13 as stated above. Mayer teaches applying a correction to the decay constant/lifetime (see ¶[0094]-[0095] and Figs. 5-6), but not specifically that the correction involves evaluating a plurality of voltage values from the sensor device when the external stimuli is dormant.
Sato teaches about size reduction of an optical sensor that detects radiated light, such as phosphoresce radiated from a detection target excited by exciting light (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which phosphorescence is detected/determined via a decay constant (see generally ¶[0090]-[0097]), in which movement may be corrected for based on a correction coefficient determined with values when the target has moved when the light source is turned off, so as to more accurately determine the decay constant (see ¶[0104]-[0111] and Fig. 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the correction of Sato with the measurement probe of Mayer because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the correction would improve the accuracy of the decay constant/lifetime determination (see Sato ¶[0108]-[0111]). Here, the modified Mayer teaches the recitation of the claim to “correcting a DC leakage current”, as the claimed function to correct the leakage is taught by the modified Mayer.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer as applied to claim 12 above, and in view of Britton, Jr. et al. (US Patent 5,949,539), hereinafter Britton, Jr.
Regarding Claim 14, Mayer teaches the device of claim 12 as stated above. Mayer does not specifically teach what the comparator comprises, including a resistor string for delivering a timing signal based on a voltage of the detection signal attains the voltage threshold.
Britton, Jr. teaches a method for determining the decay-time constant of a fluorescing phosphor (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which the zero-crossing discrimination circuit 160 utilizes a commercial chip, such as an LM311 chip, with known components including resistors and capacitors (see col. 6 ln. 60 – col. 7 ln. 32; Figs. 7A-7B, the circuit includes resistors connected, which is a resistor string).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the comparator, including resistor strings, of Britton, Jr. as the comparator for the curve crossing determination in Mayer (i.e., the voltage adjusted to that of Mayer rather than zero-crossing) because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Mayer requires a comparator and Britton, Jr. teaches one such comparator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ward (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0256562) teaches a method for measuring a concentration of a substance using a luminescent material, LED, detector, and three accumulators (see abstract, ¶[0088]-[0095], and Figs. 1-6).
/J.D.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791