DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "the connection electrode being electrically connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element" as claimed in claims 1, 10, and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The anode is identified in the disclosure as element 141. 141, the anode, is only shown in Fig 2, however, Fig 2 fails to show the connection electrode 180 shown in the non-active region NA of Figs 3 and 4. Examiner is unclear how the anode 141 is connected to the connection electrode 180 if the connection electrode 180 is only in the non-active region NA since the anode 141 is only depicted in cross-section of the active region AA of Fig 1 shown in Fig 2.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show "the connection electrode being electrically connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element" as stated in paragraphs [0010] and [0011] of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
As discussed above Examiner is unclear how the anode 141 is connected to the connection electrode 180 if the connection electrode 180 is only in the non-active region NA since the anode 141 is only depicted in cross-section of the active region AA of Fig 1 shown in Fig 2.
To further prosecution, the limitation "the connection electrode being electrically connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element" of claims 1, 10, and 19 will not be examined when comparing to the prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to for minor informalities.
Regarding claim 30, the claim states, "wherein the connection electrode is electrically connected to low potential power line. ," which appears to be missing the article "a." to further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "wherein the connection electrode is electrically connected to a low potential power line." Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation, "the second electrode is disposed between the plurality of touch electrodes and the plurality of signal lines" is indefinite since the plurality of signal lines claimed in claim 1 are in the non-active area. the plurality of touch electrodes and the second electrode are claimed to be in the active area. Examiner is unclear how the second electrode could be between the plurality of touch electrodes and the plurality of signal electrodes if the signal electrodes are not in the same area.
To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the second electrode is disposed vertically between the plurality of touch electrodes and the plurality of signal lines," which Examiner will interpret as the second electrode is in a layer lower than the touch electrodes and higher than the signal lines. Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, the claim limits "a non-active area" and "a non-active area in the substrate." The claim is indefinite as to whether these are the same or different areas, such that, when "the non-active area" is claimed in subsequent clauses, Examiner is not able to distinguish which area is being recalled.
To further prosecution, Examiner will assume "a non-active area" and "a non-active area in the substrate" are the same area. Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-16, and 18-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang (US 20210083013 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang teaches a display device (DM, Fig 9), comprising:
a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in (shown in) an active area (DA) of a substrate (SUB),
the light emitting element (OLED) including a first electrode (AE), a light emitting layer (EML), and a second electrode (CE);
a connection electrode (E-CNT) disposed in (shown in) a non-active area (NDA) of the substrate (SUB),
a plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA); and
a plurality of signal lines (SHL) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA),
wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT) is disposed between (shown vertically between) the plurality of signal lines (SHL) and the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2), and
wherein at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) includes a hole (H: hole between SL2) overlapping (shown overlapping) with a hole (TH2) in the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 2, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2, Fig 9) including the hole (H) is an outermost touch routing line (SL2_OM: leftmost SL2) among the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2).
Regarding claim 3, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first electrode (AE, Fig 9) is an anode electrode (anode, [0091]), and the second electrode (CE) is a cathode electrode (cathode, [0091])).
Regarding claim 4, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
an encapsulation unit (TFE, Fig 9) covering (shown covering) the light emitting element (OLED) and the connection electrode (E-CNT);
and a plurality of touch electrodes (TE, Fig 8) disposed on (shown on; included in touch sensor TS of Fig 9) the encapsulation unit (TFE) in (shown in) the active area (DA), wherein
the second electrode (CE) is disposed between (shown between) the plurality of touch electrodes (TE; included in touch sensor TS of Fig 9) and the plurality of signal lines (SHL).
Regarding claim 5, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein at least one of the plurality of signal lines (SHL, Fig 9) includes a hole (TH1) overlapping (shown overlapping) with at least one hole (TH2) in the connection electrode (E-CNT) or at least one hole in one of the plurality of touch routing lines.
Regarding claim 7, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a low potential power line (E-VSS, Fig 9) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA),
wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT) is electrically connected (shown electrically connected) to the low potential power line (E-VSS).
Regarding claim 8, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) includes a plurality (plurality shown) of first holes (TH2),
the hole (TH2) in the connection electrode (E-CNT) being included in (shown included) the plurality of first holes (TH2), and
wherein the at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) includes a plurality (plurality shown) of second holes (H),
the hole (H) in the at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) being included in (shown included) the plurality of second holes (H).
Regarding claim 9, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) is disposed on (shown on) a same layer (40) as the second electrode (CE).
Regarding claim 10, Bang teaches a display device (DM, Fig 9), comprising:
a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in (shown in) an active area (DA) of a substrate (SUB),
the light emitting element (OLED) including a first electrode (AE), a light emitting layer (EML), and a second electrode (CE) extending further (shown extending further) towards a non-active area (NDA) than the first electrode (AE);
a connection electrode (E-CNT) disposed in (shown in) a non-active area (NDA) of the substrate (SUB),
a plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA); and
a plurality of signal lines (SHL) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA),
wherein a contact area (NDA2_T: area of NDA2 where E-CNT directly contacts CE) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) directly contacts (shown directly contacting) the second electrode (CE) of the light emitting element (OLED),
wherein a first portion (E_VAL: portion of E-CNT extending to the left of NDA2_T) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) extends away (shown extending away) from the contact area (NDA2_T) in a direction (left) toward (shown toward) the non-active area (NDA), and
a second portion (E_R: portion of E-CNT extending to the right of NDA2_T) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) extends away (shown extending away) from the contact area (NDA2_T) in a direction (right) toward (shown toward) the active area (DA), and
a first length (L1: length of E_VAL) of the first portion (E_VAL) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) is greater (shown greater) than a second length (L2: length of E_R) of the second portion (E_R) of the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 11, Bang teaches the device of claim 10 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) is disposed between (shown between) the plurality of signal lines (SHL) and the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2).
Regarding claim 12, Bang teaches the device of claim 10 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) includes one or more first holes (TH2), and
wherein at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) includes one or more second holes (H: hole between SL2).
Regarding claim 13, Bang teaches the device of claim 12 and goes on to teach wherein at least one of the one or more first holes (TH2, Fig 9) in the connection electrode (E-CNT) overlaps (shown overlapping) with at least one of the one or more second holes (H) in the at least one of the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2).
Regarding claim 14, Bang teaches the device of claim 13 and goes on to teach wherein an outermost touch routing line (SL2_OM: leftmost SL2, Fig 9) among the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) includes (shown including) the one or more second holes (H).
Regarding claim 15, Bang teaches the device of claim 14 and goes on to teach wherein the outermost touch routing line (SL2_OM) is disposed in (shown in) an area (NDA1) outside (shown outside) of the contact area (NDA2_T).
Regarding claim 16, Bang teaches the device of claim 10 and goes on to teach wherein at least one touch routing line (SL2, Fig 9) among the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) has a shape (R1: rectangle cross-section of SL2) corresponding (shown corresponding) to a shape (R2: rectangle cross-section of E-CNT) of the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 18, Bang teaches the device of claim 10 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a low potential power line (E-VSS, Fig 9) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA),
wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT) is electrically connected (shown electrically connected) to the low potential power line (E-VSS).
Regarding claim 19, Bang teaches a display device (DM, Fig 9), comprising:
a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in (shown in) an active area (DA) of a substrate (SUB),
the light emitting element (OLED) including a first electrode (AE), a light emitting layer (EML), and a second electrode (CE);
a connection electrode (E-CNT) disposed in (shown in) a non-active area (NDA) of the substrate (SUB),
a plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA); and
a plurality of signal lines (SHL) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA),
wherein a portion (NDA2_T: area of NDA2 where E-CNT directly contacts CE) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) overlaps (shown overlapping) with the second electrode (CE).
Regarding claim 20, Bang teaches the device of claim 19 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) is configured to shield (noise propagated from the driving circuit toward the touch sensing layer may be blocked by the connection electrode, [0155]) the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) from noise generated by the plurality of signal lines (SHL).
Regarding claim 21, Bang teaches the device of claim 19 and goes on to teach wherein a contact area (NDA2_T: area of NDA2 where E-CNT directly contacts CE, Fig 9) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) directly contacts (shown directly contacting) the second electrode (CE) of the light emitting element (OLED), and
wherein a first portion (E_VAL: portion of E-CNT extending to the left of NDA2_T) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) extends away (shown extending away) from the contact area (NDA2_T) in a direction (left) toward (shown toward) the non-active area (NDA).
Regarding claim 22, Bang teaches the device of claim 21 and goes on to teach wherein a second portion (E_R: portion of E-CNT extending to the right of NDA2_T) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) extends away (shown extending away) from the contact area (NDA2_T) in a direction (right) toward (shown toward) the active area (DA).
Regarding claim 23, Bang teaches the device of claim 22 and goes on to teach wherein a first length (L1: length of E_VAL) of the first portion (E_VAL) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) is greater (shown greater) than a second length (L2: length of E_R) of the second portion (E_R) of the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 24, Bang teaches the device of claim 22 and goes on to teach wherein a first length (L3: length of horizontal portion of E_VAL before the diagonal portion that extends into VAL) of the first portion (E_VAL) of the connection electrode (E-CNT) is equal (shown equal) to a second length (L2: length of E_R) of the second portion (E_R) of the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 25, Bang teaches the device of claim 19 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) includes a plurality of first holes (TH2).
Regarding claim 26, Bang teaches the device of claim 25 and goes on to teach wherein the plurality of first holes (TH2, Fig 10) are arranged in a grid (shown arranged in a grid).
Regarding claim 27, Bang teaches the device of claim 25 and goes on to teach wherein at least one touch routing line (SL2, Fig 9) overlapping (shown overlapping) with the connection electrode (E-CNT) among the plurality of touch routing lines (SL2) includes a plurality of second holes (H: holes between SL2) overlapping (shown overlapping) with the plurality of first holes (TH2) in the connection electrode (E-CNT).
Regarding claim 28, Bang teaches the device of claim 27 and goes on to teach wherein the plurality of first holes (TH2, Fig 9) and the plurality of second holes (H) have a same shape and a same size (shown with same size rectangular cross-section in Fig 9).
Regarding claim 29, Bang teaches the device of claim 27 and goes on to teach wherein a center of at least one of plurality of first holes (TH2) is aligned (shown aligned) with a center of at least one of plurality of second holes (H).
Regarding claim 30, Bang teaches the device of claim 19 and goes on to teach wherein the connection electrode (E-CNT, Fig 9) is electrically connected (shown electrically connected) to low potential power line (E-VSS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (US 20210083013 A1) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-16, and 18-30 above, and further in view of Chu (US 20200118518 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Bang teaches the device of claim 1 and claim 10, the plurality of signal lines (SHL) and goes on to teach a gate driver (GDC, Fig 9) disposed in (shown in) the non-active area (NDA).
Bang fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of signal lines include clock lines connected to the gate driver.
However, Chu teaches the plurality of signal lines include clock lines (L, Fig 1A; signal lines used to perform clock operation, [0048]) connected (shown connected) to the gate driver.
Bang and Chu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Bang with the features of Chu to create a device wherein the plurality of signal lines include clock lines connected to the gate driver to solve the problem that the structure of the peripheral circuit in the related art is complicated (Chu, [0046]) and provide a device with a simple structure, variable transmission bandwidth, low power consumption and good electromagnetic interference performance (Chu, [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 20230006174 A1) - Wiring lines with holes in peripheral area of display
Kim (US 20190237533 A1) - Shielding wires in peripheral area with holes for outgassing
Lim (US 20210408211 A1) - Power lines in peripheral area with holes for outgassing
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897