DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, species a, claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 17, and 18 in the reply filed on 11 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5 and 8-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 May 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 29 October 2024 has been fully considered.
Specification
The preliminary amendments to the specification were received on 5 March 2024. These preliminary amendments to the specification are acceptable.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DIGITAL CONTENT DISPLAY COMPRISING QUANTUM DOT LIGHTING.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (Chinese Patent Application Publication 214011691, hereinafter Zeng ‘691) in view of Ueno et al. (Japanese Kokai Publication 2008-140704, hereinafter Ueno ‘704), Lüchinger et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0018287, hereinafter Lüchinger ‘287) of record, and Tran et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0243185, hereinafter Tran ‘185) of record.
With respect to claim 1, Zeng ‘691 teaches (FIG. 1) a digital content display substantially as claimed, comprising:
a backlight (100) comprising a violet-light emitting LED (22) having an approximately 425 nm (the 435 nm emission is approximately 425 nm; [0036]) centered wavelength and a long-blue emitting LED (21) having an approximately 470 nm (the 465 nm emission is approximately 470 nm; [0036]) centered wavelength ([0028]);
a spectrum conversion material adapted to receive light from at least one of the violet-light emitting LED (22) and the long-blue emitting LED (21) ([0043-0044]).
Thus, Zeng ‘691 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
converting at least a portion of received lights into green light with a half-max bandwidth of less than 30 nm;
a green sub-pixel color filter;
a red sub-pixel color filter; and
a blue sub-pixel color filter.
However, Ueno ‘704 teaches (FIG. 1) a spectrum conversion material (3a) over a blue LED (2) converting at least a portion of received lights into green light ([0024]) to improve efficiency of the blue LED ([0016])
Further, Lüchinger ‘287 teaches selecting materials for green light emission having a half-max bandwidth tuned to less than 30 nm to ensure superior quality of emitted light ([0047]).
Still further, Tran ‘185 teaches (FIG. 1) green (134), red (136), and blue (132) color filters adapted to receive and filter light to transmit light at desired spectra ([0064-0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the spectrum conversion material of Zeng ‘691 converting at least a portion of received lights into green light as taught by Ueno ‘704 to improve efficiency of the blue LED; to have formed the spectrum conversion material of Zeng ‘691 and Ueno ‘704 converting at least a portion of received lights into green light with a half-max bandwidth of less than 30 nm as taught by Lüchinger ‘287 to ensure superior quality of emitted light; and to have formed the digital content display of Zeng ‘691, Ueno ‘704, and Lüchinger ‘287 further comprising a green sub-pixel color filter, a red sub-pixel color filter, and a blue sub-pixel color filter as taught by Tran ‘185 to transmit light at desired spectra.
With respect to claim 2, Zeng ‘691 teaches wherein the spectrum conversion material comprises a quantum dot ([0044]).
With respect to claim 6, Zeng ‘691 teaches wherein the backlight is adapted to preferentially emit light from a single one of the violet-light emitting LED and the long blue emitting LED (21) ([0028]).
With respect to claim 18, Zeng ‘691 teaches (FIG. 1) a digital content display substantially as claimed, comprising:
a backlight (100) comprising a violet-light emitting LED (22) having an approximately 425 nm (the 435 nm emission is approximately 425 nm; [0036]) centered wavelength and a long-blue emitting LED (21) having an approximately 470 nm (the 465 nm emission is approximately 470 nm; [0036]) centered wavelength ([0028]);
a spectrum conversion material adapted to receive light from at least one of the violet-light emitting LED (22) and the long-blue emitting LED (21) ([0043-0044]).
Thus, Zeng ‘691 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
converting at least a portion of received lights into green light with a half-max bandwidth of less than 30 nm;
a green sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light;
a red sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light; and
a blue sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light.
However, Ueno ‘704 teaches (FIG. 1) a spectrum conversion material (3a) over a blue LED (2) converting at least a portion of received lights into green light ([0024]) to improve efficiency of the blue LED ([0016])
Further, Lüchinger ‘287 teaches selecting materials for green light emission having a half-max bandwidth tuned to less than 30 nm to ensure superior quality of emitted light ([0047]).
Still further, Tran ‘185 teaches (FIG. 1) green (134), red (136), and blue (132) color filters adapted to receive and filter light to transmit light at desired spectra ([0064-0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the spectrum conversion material of Zeng ‘691 converting at least a portion of received lights into green light as taught by Ueno ‘704 to improve efficiency of the blue LED; to have formed the spectrum conversion material of Zeng ‘691 and Ueno ‘704 converting at least a portion of received lights into green light with a half-max bandwidth of less than 30 nm as taught by Lüchinger ‘287 to ensure superior quality of emitted light; and to have formed the digital content display of Zeng ‘691, Ueno ‘704, and Lüchinger ‘287 further comprising a green sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light, a red sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light, and a blue sub-pixel color filter adapted to receive and filter the converted light as taught by Tran ‘185 to transmit light at desired spectra.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng ‘691, Ueno ‘704, Lüchinger ‘287, and Tran ‘185 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wyatt (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0130850, hereinafter Wyatt ‘850) of record.
With respect to claim 7, Zeng ‘691, Ueno ‘704, Lüchinger ‘287, and Tran ‘185 teach the device as described in claim 6 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the preferential emission of light comprises a rapid alternating between light emitted from the violet-light emitting LED and the long blue emitting LED.
However, Wyatt ‘850 teaches (FIGs. 5A-5D) rapidly alternating between light emitted from the different LEDs (325) to specifically target different areas of a display panel (250) and to operate under reduced power ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the preferential emission of light Zeng ‘691, Ueno ‘704, Lüchinger ‘287, and Tran ‘185 comprising a rapid alternating between light emitted from the violet-light emitting LED and the long blue emitting LED as taught by Wyatt ‘850 to specifically target different areas of a display panel and to operate under reduced power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to teach the digital content display of claim 17 in the combination of limitations as claimed, noting particularly the limitations:
the green sub-pixel filter having a center and peak wavelength of approximately 560 nm with an 80% relative maximum transmission (TMAX) between a wavelength range of approximately 520-530 nm and 570-580 nm, a 50% relative TMAX between a wavelength range of approximately 510-520 nm and 575-585 nm, and a 10% relative TMAX between a wavelength range of approximately 475-485 nm and 605-615 nm, and a rejection stop band at wavelengths less than approximately 465 nm and greater than 625 nm;
the red sub-pixel filter having a TMAX greater than 95% between a wavelength range of approximately 600-780 nm, an average transmission percentage (TAVE) of greater than 90% between a wavelength range of approximately 600-750 nm, a relative TMAX of 80% between a wavelength range of approximately 595-605 nm, a relative TMAX of 50% between a wavelength range of approximately 575-585 nm, a relative TMAX of 10% between a wavelength range of approximately 565-577 nm and a rejection stop band at wavelengths less than approximately 565 nm; and
the blue sub-pixel filter having a TMAX greater than 95% between a wavelength range of approximately 380-460 nm, an average transmission percentage (TAVE) of greater than 85% between a wavelength range of approximately 390-460 nm, a relative TMAX of 80% between a wavelength range of approximately 460-470 nm, a relative TMAX of 50% between a wavelength range of approximately 470-490 nm, a relative TMAX of 10% between a wavelength range of approximately 500-510 nm and a rejection stop band at wavelengths greater than approximately 515 nm.
Zeng ‘691 in view of Ueno ‘704, Lüchinger ‘287, and Tran ‘185 represent the closest prior art of record as set forth above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1 and 18. However, none of these references teach or suggest tuning the color filters to the claimed parameters in combination with the other elements of the claim. Color filters having these parameters may exist in the prior art, but are not shown in the prior art of record in combination with a backlight comprising a violet-light emitting LED having an approximately 425 nm centered wavelength and a long-blue emitting LED having an approximately 470 nm centered wavelength.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893