DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan-Dong et al. “Detection of RadioCarbon Dioxide with Double Resonance Absorption Spectroscopy”, Chinese Journal of Chemical Physics, May 20, 2021, pg1 – 8 in view of Shen et al. (CN 111224310 A; pub. Jun. 3, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: An apparatus for quantitatively detecting isotopologue of carbon dioxide using dual-photon absorption (pg.1 abstract, pg.5 col.1 III. 1st para), comprising:
a laser source (pg.3 fig.1b Probe laser), a laser frequency stabilizer (pg.3 col.2 L2-13), a sample chamber (pg.3 col.1 2nd para.), a signal detector (pg.2 col.2 II – pg.3 col.1 1st para., pg.3 fig.1b Det in front of Ref laser), and a signal analyzer (pg.3 fig.1b DAQ), wherein:
the sample chamber comprises an optical resonator and a piezoelectric; the laser source is configured to output a laser beam (pg.3 col.1 2nd para.);
the laser frequency stabilizer is configured to lock the laser beam to a mode frequency of the optical resonator (pg.3 col.2 L2-8);
the piezoelectric configured to adjust a length of the optical resonator to alter the mode frequency of the optical resonator to match energy levels of a target molecular isotopologue (pg.2 col.2 2nd para. teaches the cavity is tuned to match CO2, pg.3 col.1 2nd para.);
the signal detector is configured to detect a transmission intensity of the light beam passing the optical resonator to obtain a dual-photon absorption signal (Abstract, pg.3 fig.1b Det connected to DAQ); and
the signal analyzer is configured to analyze and process the dual-photon absorption signal to obtain a concentration of the target molecular isotopologue (Abstract, pg.3 col.1 2nd para.).
Yan-Dong et al. are silent about: a piezoelectric ceramic.
In a similar field of endeavor Shen et al. disclose: a piezoelectric ceramic (para. [0011], [0025]) motivated by the benefits for a device that is chemically inert, long-term reliability in harsh environments.
In light of the benefits for a device that is chemically inert, long-term reliability in harsh environments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the piezoelectric ceramic of Shen et al. in the apparatus of Yan-Dong et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: a fineness of the optical resonator is higher than 60000 (pg.3 col.1 2nd para.).
Regarding claim 4, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: the energy levels of the target molecular isotopologue comprise energy levels of dual-photon absorption, and
an energy level representing single-photon absorption is between the energy levels of dual-photon absorption (pg.1 Abstract, fig.1a).
Regarding claim 5, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: energy of a photon having the mode frequency matching the energy levels of the target molecular isotopologue is equal to a half of an energy difference between the energy levels of the target molecular isotopologue (pg.1 Abstract, fig.1a).
Regarding claim 6, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: fluctuations of temperature of the optical resonator are less than 10mK (pg.3 col.1 2nd para.).
Regarding claim 7, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: the sample chamber further comprises: a temperature controller, configured to control temperature of the optical resonator (pg.3 col.1 2nd para.).
Regarding claim 10, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: A spectrometer, comprising the apparatus according to claim 1 (pg.1 Abstract).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan-Dong et al. “Detection of RadioCarbon Dioxide with Double Resonance Absorption Spectroscopy”, Chinese Journal of Chemical Physics, May 20, 2021, pg1 – 8 in view of Shen et al. (CN 111224310 A; pub. Jun. 3, 2020) and further in view of Vodopyanov et al. (US 2011/0058248 A1; pub. Mar. 10, 2011).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: the laser beam is a continuous infrared laser beam, and a power of the laser beam is greater than 100mW.
In a similar field of endeavor Vodopyanov et al. disclose: the laser beam is a continuous infrared laser beam (para. [0035], [0074]), and a power of the laser beam is greater than 100mW (para. [0081]) motivated by benefits for a compact, low-cost device that exhibits low power consumption (Vodopyanov et al. para. [0040]).
In light of the benefits for a compact, low-cost device that exhibits low power consumption as taught by Vodopyanov et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the laser of Vodopyanov et al. in the apparatus of Yan-Dong et al. and Shen et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan-Dong et al. “Detection of RadioCarbon Dioxide with Double Resonance Absorption Spectroscopy”, Chinese Journal of Chemical Physics, May 20, 2021, pg1 – 8 in view of Shen et al. (CN 111224310 A; pub. Jun. 3, 2020) and further in view of Shulian et al. (CN 102253389 A; pub. Nov. 23, 2011).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references are silent about: the signal detector comprises a detector and a signal amplifier which are integrated; the detector is configured to detect the transmission intensity of the light beam passing the optical resonator to obtain the dual-photon absorption signal; the signal amplifier is configured to amplify the obtained dual-photon absorption signal.
In a similar field of endeavor Shulian et al. disclose: the signal detector comprises a detector (fig.1 items 42 & 43) and a signal amplifier (fig.1 item 44), the detector is configured to detect the transmission intensity of the light beam passing the optical resonator (fig.1 item 12) motivated by the benefits for increasing detector sensitivity.
In light of the benefits for increasing detector sensitivity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the detector & amplifier combination of Shulian et al. in the apparatus of Yan-Dong et al. and Shen et al.
Shulian et al. are silent about: a detector and a signal amplifier which are integrated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a detector and a signal amplifier which are integrated motivated by the benefits for a compact device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan-Dong et al. “Detection of RadioCarbon Dioxide with Double Resonance Absorption Spectroscopy”, Chinese Journal of Chemical Physics, May 20, 2021, pg1 – 8 in view of Shen et al. (CN 111224310 A; pub. Jun. 3, 2020) and further in view of Jourdainne (US 2018/0059003 A1; pub. Mar. 1, 2018).
Regarding claim 9, Yan-Dong et al. disclose: the signal analyzer is configured to: invoke a signal processing program to analyze and process the dual-photon absorption signal to obtain the concentration of the target molecular isotopologue (see rejection of claim 1).
The combined references are silent about: display the concentration of the target molecular isotopologue via an interactive interface.
In a similar field of endeavor Jourdainne discloses: display the concentration of the target molecular isotopologue via an interactive interface (para. [0097]-[0098]) motivated by the benefits for a portable apparatus.
In light of the benefits for a portable apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display of Jourdainne in the apparatus of Yan-Dong et al. and Shen et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884