DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received January 27th, 2026. Claims 1 and 14 have been amended. Claims 4-13, 17-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 14-16 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/511,682 has US Provisional Application 63/384,238 11/18/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 27th, 2026, have been fully considered, but deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which has been necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2019/0109684 in view Yang et al. (US 2023/0104295).
Regarding claims 1, 14, Chen et al. discloses a method, comprising: generating, by a processor of an apparatus (see Figure 2 [processor]), a distributed-tone resource unit (dRU) (paragraph 0154 [Various sized RUs separate the 26-tone RUs from each other and from the edges with 11 null tones interspaced]) with a respective position of each of one or more pilot tones shifted with a respective position of each of one or more other pilot tones kept unchanged (paragraph 0131 [RUs, null tones, data tones, and pilot tones in the first and fourth PHY 20 MHz SBs may not need to be adjusted or moved]); and performing, by the processor, a wireless communication in a 20MHz or 40MHz bandwidth with the dRU (paragraphs 0076, 0078, 0083 [Data frames can be used for transmitting data from an AP and/or a STA to other APs and/or STAs]).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the performing of the wireless communication in the 20MHz or 40MHz bandwidth with the dRU comprises performing the wireless communication in the 40MHz bandwidth with eighteen 26-tone dRUs (dRU26s), eight 52-tone dRUs (dRU52s), or four 106-tone dRUs (dRU106s), wherein pilot tone indices of the eighteen dRU26s comprise at least :for a first dRU26: -224;for a second dRU26: -125;for a third dRU26: -202;for a fourth dRU26: -103;for a fifth dRU26: -81;for a sixth dRU26: -114;for a seventh dRU26: -213;for an eighth dRU26: -92;for a ninth dRU26: -191;for a tenth dRU26: -169; for an eleventh dRU26: -70; for a twelfth dRU26: -147; for a thirteenth dRU26: -48; for a fourteenth dRU26: -180;for a fifteenth dRU26: -59;for a sixteenth dRU26: -158;for a seventeenth dRU26: -37; and for an eighteenth dRU26: -136,wherein pilot tone indices of the eight dRU52s comprise at least: for a firstdRU52: -224 -125;for a seconddRU52: -202 -103;for a thirddRU52: -213 -114;for a fourth dRU52: -191 -92;for a fifthdRU52: -169 -70;for a sixth dRU52: -147 -48;for a seventh dRU52: -158 -59; and for an eighth dRU52: -136 -37,wherein pilot tone indices of the four dRU106s comprise at least: for a firstdRU106: -224 -103;for a seconddRU106: -213 -92;for a thirddRU106: -169 -48; and for a fourthdRU106: -158 -37.
However, Yang et al. discloses wherein the performing of the wireless communication in the 20MHz or 40MHz bandwidth with the dRU comprises performing the wireless communication in the 40MHz bandwidth with eighteen 26-tone dRUs (dRU26s), eight 52-tone dRUs (dRU52s), or four 106-tone dRUs (dRU106s), wherein pilot tone indices of the eighteen dRU26s comprise at least :for a first dRU26: -224;for a second dRU26: -125;for a third dRU26: -202;for a fourth dRU26: -103;for a fifth dRU26: -81;for a sixth dRU26: -114;for a seventh dRU26: -213;for an eighth dRU26: -92;for a ninth dRU26: -191;for a tenth dRU26: -169; for an eleventh dRU26: -70; for a twelfth dRU26: -147; for a thirteenth dRU26: -48; for a fourteenth dRU26: -180;for a fifteenth dRU26: -59;for a sixteenth dRU26: -158;for a seventeenth dRU26: -37; and for an eighteenth dRU26: -136,wherein pilot tone indices of the eight dRU52s comprise at least: for a firstdRU52: -224 -125;for a seconddRU52: -202 -103;for a thirddRU52: -213 -114;for a fourth dRU52: -191 -92;for a fifthdRU52: -169 -70;for a sixth dRU52: -147 -48;for a seventh dRU52: -158 -59; and for an eighth dRU52: -136 -37,wherein pilot tone indices of the four dRU106s comprise at least: for a firstdRU106: -224 -103;for a seconddRU106: -213 -92;for a thirddRU106: -169 -48; and for a fourthdRU106: -158 -37 (see Table 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the pilot tone indices of the dRU26, dRU52, and dRU106 in order to perform transmission using 40MHz.
Regarding claims 2, 15, Chen et al. further discloses wherein: the respective position of each of one or more pilot tones is shifted by n * 9 in an event that the wireless communication is performed in the 20MHz bandwidth (see Figure 4B and paragraph 0131 [The RUs, null tones, data tones, and pilot tones in the second PHY 20 MHz may be shifted to the right by A tones, where A is greater than or equal to 5 and less than or equal to 13 (i.e., subcarrier indices+A). The RUs, null tones, data tones, and pilot tones in the third PHY 20 MHz may be shifted to the left by A tones, where A is greater than or equal to 5 and less than or equal to 13 (i.e., subcarrier indices−A)]), the respective position of each of one or more pilot tones is shifted by n * 18 in an event that the wireless communication is performed in the 40MHz bandwidth (see Figure 4B, also the limitation is further limiting a non-selected alternative limitation (e.g., 40MHz)), and n is an integer and n > 1 (paragraph 0131 [where A is greater than or equal to 5 and less than or equal to 13 (i.e., subcarrier indices−A)]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3, 16, Chen et al. is the closest prior art, but does not disclose wherein a ratio of a pilot tone spacing to a cyclic shift delay (CSD) periodicity is closer to x.5 when the respective position of each of one or more pilot tones is shifted compared to the ratio when the respective position of each of one or more pilot tones is not shifted, and wherein x is an integer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465