Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/3/2024, 12/3/2024, 11/10/2025 and 12/4/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 16, 24 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, lines 7-8, “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies L1” should read “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies Li=L1”.
In claim 16, lines 8-9, “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies L” should read “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies Li=L”.
In claim 24, lines 7-8, “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies L1” should read “duration information Li of the ith time domain sub-resource satisfies Li=L1”.
In claim 33, lines 3-4, “perform the method according to claim 12” should read “perform the method according to claim 11”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-
statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of
patent eligible subject matter because it is a shorthand way of writing an independent claim and thus
should be treated as an independent claim. The claim is rejected as being directed to signal per se. Please amend the claims to recite a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or clarify that the medium does not encompass transitory signals, consistent with MPEP 2106.03, MPEP 2111.05, and In re Nuijten.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 32, the scope of claim 32 is unclear because the apparatus is defined solely by reference to a method claim (claim 1), rather than by reciting the specific structural or functional limitations that distinguish the claimed apparatus. Incorporating method steps by reference into an apparatus claim does not clearly define the apparatus or the manner in which the processor and memory are configured to operate. As a result, it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art what specific structure or functionality is required for the claimed apparatus.
Furthermore, such a claim may improperly mix statutory classes by requiring the apparatus to be defined in terms of steps performed (i.e., method steps), resulting in ambiguity as to when infringement occurs—whether by making the apparatus or by using it to perform the method (see IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005)).
Accordingly, claim 32 fails to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention, as required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) (see Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898, 910 (2014); MPEP § 2173.05(q)).
To overcome this rejection, applicant is advised to amend claim 32 to explicitly recite the structural features and/or the specific functions performed by the processor and memory, rather than by reference to a method claim.
Regarding claim 33, the scope of claim 33 is unclear because the apparatus is defined solely by reference to a method claim (claim 11), rather than by reciting the specific structural or functional limitations that distinguish the claimed apparatus. Incorporating method steps by reference into an apparatus claim does not clearly define the apparatus or the manner in which the processor and memory are configured to operate. As a result, it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art what specific structure or functionality is required for the claimed apparatus.
Furthermore, such a claim may improperly mix statutory classes by requiring the apparatus to be defined in terms of steps performed (i.e., method steps), resulting in ambiguity as to when infringement occurs—whether by making the apparatus or by using it to perform the method (see IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005)).
Accordingly, claim 33 fails to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention, as required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) (see Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898, 910 (2014); MPEP § 2173.05(q)).
To overcome this rejection, applicant is advised to amend claim 33 to explicitly recite the structural features and/or the specific functions performed by the processor and memory, rather than by reference to a method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-16, 18-20, 22-27 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220361220 A1 (hereinafter Zewail) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63186701 20210510, hereinafter prov).
Regarding claim 1, Zewail teaches A communication method, comprising (Zewail [0008] a
method, ... are provided for wireless communication at a base station (prov [0007])):
sending downlink control information (DCI) to a terminal device (Zewail 406 in Fig. 4; [0087]
FIG. 4 illustrates an example communication flow 400 between a UE 402 and a base station 404 including a single DCI that schedules multi-PDSCH. The base station transmits DCI 406 to the UE 402 scheduling resources for multiple PDSCH having non-contiguous resources between PDSCH (prov Fig. 4, [0081]).),
wherein the DCI indicates a first time domain resource in a first slot, the first time domain
resource comprises M time domain sub-resources, at least two adjacent time domain sub-resources in the M time domain sub-resources are at an interval of a first time period, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087] FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. The DCI 502 may correspond to the DCI 406 or 414 in FIG. 4. The DCI 502 may indicate a TDRA row index for a row having K.sub.0=0 and SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) and SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5). K.sub.0=0 means that the PDSCH resources are allocated based on the slot in which the DCI is received. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
[0089] FIG. 5 illustrates symbols 7 and 8 of the slot as providing a time gap between the PDSCH transmissions (prov [0083]).
Note: The first PDSCH resource and the second PDSCH resource in Fig. 5 are two adjacent time domain sub-resources per adjacent definition in the instant application (See [0117]). The time gap is the interval.); and
sending a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the first time domain resource (Zewail 410 and 412 in Fig. 4; [0087] The UE 402 receives the PDSCH 1 410 based on the first SLIV of the TDRA table row and receives the PDSCH 2 412 based on the second SLIV of the TDRA table row (prov Fig.4, [0081]).).
Regarding claim 11, Zewail teaches A communication method, comprising (Zewail [0007] a
method, ... are provided for wireless communication at a UE (prov [0005]).):
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Zewail406 in Fig. 4; [0087] FIG. 4 illustrates an
example communication flow 400 between a UE 402 and a base station 404 including a single DCI that schedules multi-PDSCH.The base station transmits DCI 406 to the UE 402 scheduling resources for multiple PDSCH having non-contiguous resources between PDSCH. The UE 402 receives the DCI and determines the non-contiguous resource allocation for the multiple PDSCHs (prov Fig. 4, [0081]).),
wherein the DCI indicates a first time domain resource in a first slot, the first time domain
resource comprises M time domain sub-resources, at least two adjacent time domain sub-resources in the M time domain sub-resources are at an interval of a first time period, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087] FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. The DCI 502 may correspond to the DCI 406 or 414 in FIG. 4. The DCI 502 may indicate a TDRA row index for a row having K.sub.0=0 and SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) and SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5). K.sub.0=0 means that the PDSCH resources are allocated based on the slot in which the DCI is received. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
[0089] FIG. 5 illustrates symbols 7 and 8 of the slot as providing a time gap between the PDSCH transmissions (prov [0083]).
Note: The first PDSCH resource and the second PDSCH resource in Fig. 5 are two adjacent time domain sub-resources per adjacent definition in the instant application (See [0117]). The time gap is the interval.); and
receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the first time domain resource (Zewail 410 and 412 in Fig. 4; [0087] The UE 402 receives the PDSCH 1 410 based on the first SLIV of the TDRA table row and receives the PDSCH 2 412 based on the second SLIV of the TDRA table row (prov Fig.4, [0081]).).
Claims 20 and 22 recite similar limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein that the DCI
indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises start position information of each of the M time domain sub-resources, and/or duration information of each of the M time domain sub-resources (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087] FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. the DCI may indicate a row of a TDRA table that corresponds to a single K.sub.0 value for each of the PDSCHs and that includes multiple SLIVs. For example, the indicated row may have K.sub.0=0 and SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) and SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5). K.sub.0 indicates a slot of the resource allocation relative to the DCI scheduling the PDSCH. S corresponds to a starting symbol of the resource allocation relative to a first symbol of the slot indicate by K.sub.0 and L corresponds to a length of the resource allocation in symbols. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).).
Claims 12 and 23 recite similar limitations of claim 3 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 4, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein that the DCI
indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises at least one of start position information S.sub.1 of a first time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, duration information L.sub.1 of the first time domain sub-resource, and an offset O.sub.1 of the first time domain sub-resource, wherein there is a first association relationship between start position information S.sub.i of an i.sup.th time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources and at least one of S.sub.1, L.sub.1, and O.sub.1, and duration information L.sub.1 of the i.sup.th time domain sub-resource satisfies L.sub.i=L.sub.1, wherein i is an integer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to M (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087]FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. the DCI may indicate a row of a TDRA table that corresponds to a single K.sub.0 value for each of the PDSCHs and that includes multiple SLIVs. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
Note: S1 = 2, L1 = 5, M = 2, i = 2;
Si = S2 = 9, Li = L2 = 5;
Si = S1 + L1 + time gap (=2) and Li = L1).
Claims 13 and 24 recite similar limitations of claim 4 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 5, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein that the DCI
indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises at least one of start position information S.sub.1 of a first time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, duration information L.sub.i of an i.sup.th time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, and an offset O.sub.1 of the first time domain sub-resource, wherein there is a second association relationship between start position information S.sub.i of the i.sup.th time domain sub-resource and at least one of S.sub.1, L.sub.i, and O.sub.1, wherein i is an integer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to M (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087]FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. the DCI may indicate a row of a TDRA table that corresponds to a single K.sub.0 value for each of the PDSCHs and that includes multiple SLIVs. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
Note: S1 =2, M = 2, i = 2, Li = L2 = 5;
Si = S2 =9;
Si = S1 + Li + time gap (=2) ).
Claims 14 and 25 recite similar limitations of claim 5 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 6, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein that the DCI
indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises at least one of start position information S.sub.1 of a first time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, duration information L.sub.1 of the first time domain sub-resource, and an offset O.sub.i of an i.sup.th time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, wherein there is a third association relationship between start position information S.sub.i of the i.sup.th time domain sub-resource and at least one of S.sub.1, L.sub.1, and O.sub.i, and duration information L.sub.i of the i.sup.th time domain sub-resource satisfies L.sub.i=L.sub.1, wherein i is an integer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to M (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087]FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. the DCI may indicate a row of a TDRA table that corresponds to a single K.sub.0 value for each of the PDSCHs and that includes multiple SLIVs. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
Note: S1 = 2, L1 = 5, M = 2, i = 2;
Si = S2 = 9, Li = L2 = 5;
Si = S1 + L1 + time gap (=2) and Li = L1).
Claims 15 and 26 recite similar limitations of claim 6 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 7, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein that the DCI
indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises at least one of start position information S.sub.1 of a first time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources, duration information L of the first time domain sub-resource, and first indication information, wherein when the first indication information is a first value, the first indication information indicates that there is a fourth association relationship between start position information S.sub.i of an i.sup.th time domain sub-resource in the M time domain sub-resources and at least one of S.sub.1 and L, and duration information L.sub.i of the i.sup.th time domain sub-resource satisfies L.sub.i=L, wherein i is an integer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to M (Zewail Fig. 5; [0087]FIG. 5 illustrates an example time resource diagram 500 showing a DCI 502 that is transmitted from the base station to the UE in a first symbol of a slot. the DCI may indicate a row of a TDRA table that corresponds to a single K.sub.0 value for each of the PDSCHs and that includes multiple SLIVs. The SLIV 1 of (S, L)=(2, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the first PDSCH from symbol 2 to symbol 6 (e.g., having a length L=5 symbols). The SLIV 2 of (S, L)=(9, 5) indicates a resource allocation for the second PDSCH from symbol 9 for a length of 5 contiguous symbols to symbol 13 of the slot (prov Fig. 5, [0081]).
Note: S1 = 2, L = L1 = 5, M = 2, i = 2;
Si = S2 = 9, Li = L2 = 5;
Si = S1 + L + time gap (=2) and Li = L).
Claims 16 and 27 recite similar limitations of claim 7 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 9, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein before the sending
the DCI to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the terminal device, wherein the RRC signaling indicates at least one candidate time domain resource, each candidate time domain resource is corresponding to one index, and the at least one candidate time domain resource comprises the first time domain resource; and wherein that the DCI indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises an index corresponding to the first time domain resource (Zewail [0083] The multi-PDSCH DCI may indicate the allocated resources based on a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table (prov [0077]).
[0084] For a DCI that can schedule multiple PDSCHs, the TDRA may include entries such that each row indicates up to 8 multiple PDSCHs (that may be non-continuous in a time-domain). Each PDSCH may have a separate SLIV and mapping type. The number of scheduled PDSCHs may be implicitly indicated by the number of indicated valid SLIVs in the row of the TDRA table signalled in DCI. The DCI may indicate multiple PDSCH grants that are continuous resource in a time-domain or that are non-continuous in the time domain. The multiple SLIVs for a particular index of the TDRA table may be indicated in various ways. For example, each row may use S, L columns or may use SLIV values. Regardless of the way in which the multiple SLIVs are indicated, one row index may correspond to multiple SLIVs (prov [0078]).
[0093] the TDRA table referenced in the DCI may include multiple K.sub.0/K.sub.2 values and multiple SLIVs. ...The information in the TDRA table ... may be configured for the UE, e.g., in RRC signaling from the base station 804 (prov [0087]).).
Claims 18 and 29 recite similar limitations of claim 9 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 10, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the first time
period has a length of X symbols, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or the first time period is Y ms, and Y is greater than 0; or the first time period is Z slots, and Z is greater than 0 (Zewail time gap in Fig. 5; [0089] The example in FIG. 5 illustrates symbols 7 and 8 of the slot as providing a time gap between the PDSCH transmissions.
Note: X = 2).
Claims 19 and 30 recite similar limitations of claim 10 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Regarding claim 31, Zewail teaches A computer-readable storage medium, configured to store
instructions, wherein when the instructions are run by a computer, the computer is caused to perform the method according to claim 1 (Zewail [0008] a computer-readable medium, ... provided for wireless communication at a base station (prov [0007]).
[0038] the functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software, the functions may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. Computer-readable media includes computer storage media. Storage media may be any available media that can be accessed by a computer. By way of example, and not limitation, such computer-readable media can comprise a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM), optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage, other magnetic storage devices, combinations of the types of computer-readable media, or any other medium that can be used to store computer executable code in the form of instructions or data structures that can be accessed by a computer (prov 0035).
See claim 1 rejection above.).
Regarding claim 32, Zewail teaches A communication apparatus, comprising a processor,
wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, the memory is configured to store instructions, and when the instructions are run by the processor, the communication apparatus is caused to perform the method according to claim 1 (Zewail [0008] an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a base station (prov [0007]).
[0068] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 (prov [0063])
controller/processor 375 in Fig. 3; memory 376 in Fig. 3;
[0075] The controller/processor 375 can be associated with a memory 376 that stores program codes and data. The memory 376 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium (prov [0070]).
See claim 1 rejection above.).
Regarding claim 33, Zewail teaches A communication apparatus, comprising a processor,
wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, the memory is configured to store instructions, and when the instructions are run by the processor, the communication apparatus is caused to perform the method according to claim Zewail [0007]an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a UE (prov [0005]).
[0068] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a UE 350 (prov [0063])
controller/processor 359 in Fig. 3; memory 360 in Fig. 3;
[0071] The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data. The memory 360 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium (prov [0066].
See claim 11 rejection above.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of US 20240012095 A1 (hereinafter Ali) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63115508 20201118, hereinafter prov).
Regarding claim 2, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1.
Zewail does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving all or some
echo signals of the PDSCH, wherein the echo signals are used to sense a first target.
Ali in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving all or some echo signals of the PDSCH, wherein the echo signals are used to sense a first target (Ali [0011] FIG. 3B is a diagram illustrating one embodiment of DL radar sensing for full-duplex system using multiple narrow beams (prov Fig. 4, [0011])
[0080] FIG. 3B depicts a system 350 for monostatic radar sensing in a RAN, according to embodiments of the first solution. The system 350 involves the UE 305 served by the gNB 310, with the blockage 315 existing within a coverage area of the RAN. The gNB 310 sends a DL data signal 355 and also sends a DL radar signal 360 using a multiple beams (e.g., utilizing multiple narrow beams). Because the gNB 310 is a full-duplex device, the gNB 310 receives/senses the reflected DL radar signal(s) 365 (prov Fig. 4, [0097]).
[0092] the gNB may utilize the backscattered signal of downlink channel transmission (e.g., Physical Downlink Shared Channel (“PDSCH”)) for measuring the channel and identifying the blockages. In this implementation, a copy of the transmitted PDSCH signal needs to be kept at gNB after the DL transmission to perform channel measurement with respect to the DL echo/backscatter signal to determine the location-related information of the blockage (prov 0102)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zewail with Ali’s above teachings. The motivation is enhancing beam management by identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing (Ali [0002] (prov [0001])). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ali prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Zewail prior art) based on design incentives (enhancing beam management by identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 21 recites similar limitations of claim 2, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 8, 17 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail as applied to claims 1, 11 and 20 above, and further in view of US 20200100223 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 8, Zewail teaches The method according to claim 1.
Zewail does not explicitly teach wherein that the DCI indicates the first time domain resource
comprises: the DCI comprises bitmap information, the bitmap information comprises N bits that are in a one-to-one correspondence with N time units in the first slot, and the M time domain sub-resources comprise a time unit corresponding to a bit whose value is “1”, and do not comprise a time unit corresponding to a bit whose value is “0”.
Park in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein that the DCI indicates the first time domain resource comprises: the DCI comprises bitmap information, the bitmap information comprises N bits that are in a one-to-one correspondence with N time units in the first slot, and the M time domain sub-resources comprise a time unit corresponding to a bit whose value is “1”, and do not comprise a time unit corresponding to a bit whose value is “0” (Park [0290] Method 2: Bitmap-Based Time Domain Resource Assignment
[0293] time domain resource assignment bitmap field in DCI.
[0292] For example, in FIG. 11, the UE may notify whether PDSCH is assigned for each symbol via a time domain resource assignment bitmap 1124 having 14 bits. When 1 denotes PDSCH assignment and 0 denotes PDSCH unassignment, PDSCH is assigned only to symbols corresponding to a bit set to 1.
Note: As shown in Fig. 11, bitmap 1124 = 00001100110000, N= 14, M = 4, time unit =1 symbol.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zewail with Park’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting data resource assignment for low latency and high reliability data transmission in a wireless communication system (Park [0002]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Park prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Zewail prior art) based on design incentives (supporting data resource assignment for low latency and high reliability data transmission in a wireless communication system) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 17 and 28 recite similar limitations of claim 8 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418