Detailed Action1
America Invents Act Status
Rejections under 35 USC 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from a cancelled claim. For purposes of examination, claim 3 will be interpreted as depending from claim 1.
Rejections under 35 USC 1032
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-214720850-U (“Wang”) in view of USPGPub No. 2020/0094331 (“the ‘331 reference”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a twist drill with a multi-step drill point (figs. 1-2, ¶ [0002), wherein all references to the Wang specification refer to USPGPub No. 2022/0362863 which is the English publication of Wang), comprising: a shank (1); and a cutting portion (2); wherein the cutting portion is provided with a spiral flute (3) and a body clearance (4) (fig. 1, ¶ [0024]); a tip of the cutting portion is provided with a chisel edge (6) and a cutting edge (5), and a flank face (7) connected with the cutting edge is provided with a stepped groove (8); the stepped groove is configured to divide the cutting edge into several sections (figs. 1-2, ¶ [0024]-[0025]).
Wang teaches the cutting groove having a varying pitch that increases from the tip towards the shank (¶ [0028]-[0030]). Thus, Wang fails to explicitly teach a pitch of the stepped groove is configured to decrease along a direction from the tip of the cutting portion to the shank. However, this would have been obvious in view of the ‘331 reference.
The ‘331 reference is also directed to a twist drill with a multi-step drill point and a spiral stepped groove (fig. 3, ¶ [0006]-[0007]). The ‘331 reference teaches the pitch of the stepped groove can increase, decrease, or remain equal depending on the required type and property of drilling (¶ [0069]).
In this case, each of Wang and the ‘331 reference teach a twist drill with a multi-step drill point and a spiral stepped groove. While Wang teaches a pitch of the stepped groove increasing from the tip of the drill, the ‘331 reference teaches one of skill in the art that the pitch can also decrease depending on the type of drilling. Thus, in order to provide a drill optimized for other types of drilling, it would be obvious to modify Wang so that the pitch of the stepped groove decreases from the tip toward the shank.
Wang further teaches the stepped groove is in a spiral shape; a spiral direction of the stepped groove is the same as a spiral direction of the spiral flute (figs. 1-2, ¶ [0024]). Claim 1 also recites a slope of the stepped groove is configured to decrease along the direction from the tip of the cutting portion to the shank. In view of Applicant’s disclosure, slope is interpreted as the angle between a line orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the drill and the direction the stepped groove extends around the circumference of the drill. One of skill in the art appreciates that the slope of the stepped groove is related to the pitch of stepped groove and diameter of the drill bit, wherein for a constant or increasing diameter a decreasing pitch will result in a decreasing slope of the stepped groove (since decreased slope will reduce the axial length it takes for the stepped groove to make one full rotation). In this case, Wang et al. teaches a decreasing pitch from the tip towards the shank and an increasing diameter from the tip towards the shank. Thus, the slope of the stepped groove with respect to a line orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the drill will decrease in order to provide the decreasing pitch.
Claim 3 recites a decreasing range of the slope of the stepped groove is 17°-8°. MPEP 2144.05(II) states that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In this case, Wang et al. teach a decreasing slope of the stepped groove to provide a decreasing pitch from the tip towards the shank. While Wang et al. is silent as to specific pitch lengths (or the rate the pitch decreases), which is directly related to the slope and rate of change of the slope of the stepped groove, determining a range of workable pitches for the drill of Wang et al. can be found by routine experimentation since changing the pitches and determining the effects of the different pitches can quickly and easily be done with a software program. Thus, it would be routine experimentation to determine a range of pitches for each step of the drill that results in a range of slopes of the stepped groove (over at least a portion of the length of the drill) of between 17-8 degrees.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the ‘331 reference in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 1, the ‘331 reference teaches a twist drill with a multi-step drill point (fig. 3, ¶ [0006]-[0007]), comprising: a shank (2); and a cutting portion (1) (figs. 3 & 7, ¶ [0043]-[0044]); wherein the cutting portion is provided with a spiral flute (IV); a tip of the cutting portion is provided with a chisel edge (VII) and a cutting edge (VIII & 153) (figs. 3-4, ¶ [0045]), and a flank face (147) connected with the cutting edge is provided with a stepped groove (145) (figs. 3-5, ¶ [0050]-[0051]); the stepped groove is configured to divide the cutting edge into several sections (figs. 3-5, ¶ [0050]-[0051] & [0067]-[0069], i.e. the several sections being the different sections/surfaces of cutting edges or the different steps having varying diameters and pitches); and a pitch of the stepped groove is configured to decrease along a direction from the tip of the cutting portion to the shank (¶ [0069]).
The ‘331 reference fails to explicitly teach the cutting portion provided with a body clearance. However, body clearances are well known in twist drills to reduce friction. Wang also teaches that it is known to have multi-step twist drills that also have body clearance (fig. 1, ¶ [0024]). Thus, in order to reduce friction, it would be obvious to provide the cutting portion of the drill of the ‘331 reference with a body clearance.
The ‘331 reference further teaches the stepped groove is in a spiral shape; a spiral direction of the stepped groove is the same as a spiral direction of the spiral flute (fig. 3, ¶ [0048]-[0050]). Claim 1 also recites a slope of the stepped groove is configured to decrease along the direction from the tip of the cutting portion to the shank. One of skill in the art appreciates that the slope of the stepped groove is related to the pitch of stepped groove and diameter of the drill bit, wherein for a constant or increasing diameter a decreasing pitch will result in a decreasing slope of the stepped groove (since decreased slope will reduce the axial length it takes for the stepped groove to make one full rotation). In this case, the ‘331 reference teaches a decreasing pitch from the tip towards the shank and an increasing diameter from the tip towards the shank. Thus, the slope of the stepped groove with respect to a line orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the drill will decrease in order to provide the decreasing pitch.
Claim 3 recites a decreasing range of the slope of the stepped groove is 17°-8°. MPEP 2144.05(II) states that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In this case, the ‘311 reference teaches a decreasing slope of the stepped groove to provide a decreasing pitch from the tip towards the shank. While the ‘311 reference is silent as to specific pitch lengths (or the rate the pitch decreases), which is directly related to the slope and rate of change of the slope of the stepped groove, determining a range of workable pitches for the drill of the ‘311 reference can be found by routine experimentation since changing the pitches and determining the effects of the different pitches can quickly and easily be done with a software program. Thus, it would be routine experimentation to determine a range of pitches for each step of the drill that results in a range of slopes of the stepped groove (over at least a portion of the length of the drill) of between 17-8 degrees.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 11, 2026 (“the remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Each of applicant’s remarks is set forth, followed by examiner’s response.
On pages 3-4 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Wang teaches away from a decreasing pitch since it provides a benefit for an increasing pitch.
Wang does not teach away from a decreasing pitch. To teach away, a reference has to criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the limitation (see MPEP 2143.01(I) & 2144.05(III)). While Wang may provide some benefits of an increasing pitch, a benefit for an increasing pitch does not discredit or criticize a decreasing pitch. One of skill in the art appreciates that, often, there are benefits and tradeoffs to different and oppsoite designs. One of skill in the art is capable of analyzing different benefits and tradeoffs when determining a pitch. For example, the ‘331 reference teaches or suggests that there are some types of drilling where it is more desirable to have a decreasing pitch than an increasing pitch.
On pages 4-6 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the claimed slope is not related to the pitch.
The examiner is unclear how Applicant is interpreting “slope”. However, as interpreted in the rejection (i.e. slope is interpreted as the angle between a line orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the drill and the direction the stepped groove extends around the circumference of the drill), the slope is dependent upon the pitch and diameter. For example, stretching a coil spring will increase both the pitch of the coil and angle between a line orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the spring and the direction the coil extends. In contrast, compressing a spring will decrease the pitch and make the coil extend more parallel to the line orthogonal to the longitudinal direction. If Applicant is attempting to interpret “slope” differently than as interpreted in the rejection they are free to amend the claim to further define what they mean by slope.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.
2 In 103 rejections, when the primary reference is followed by “et al.”, “et al.” refers to the secondary references. For example, if Jones was modified by Smith and Johnson, subsequent recitations of “Jones et al.” mean “Jones in view of Smith and Johnson”.
3 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”