DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,206,481 to Kaisers et al.
Re-claim 1, Kaisers et al. disclose an electronically controlled brake valve comprising:
a housing 14;
an inlet port 1 within the housing;
an outlet port 22 within the housing;
an inlet chamber 92 within the housing and in fluid communication with the inlet port, the inlet chamber having an inlet seat;
an inlet valve within the inlet chamber and the inlet chamber surrounding the inlet valve, the inlet valve having a bore therethrough and an inlet valve seat circumscribing the bore, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position wherein the inlet valve seat contacts the inlet seat, and an open position wherein the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat, a spring biases the inlet valve toward the closed position;
a control piston 90 is slidably retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is sealingly mated with a sidewall of the modulation chamber, and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 93 and a control side 89, the dispensing side 93 of the modulation chamber is connected to the inlet chamber 92 by an opening that is surrounded by the inlet seat within the inlet chamber, the control piston has a control piston seat extending within the opening for contacting the inlet valve seat, the control piston moves between an open position wherein the control piston seat is spaced from the inlet valve seat, allowing fluid to flow from the outlet port through the dispensing side and out through the opening and out of the bore within the inlet valve (i.e. a brake release), a holding position wherein the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve seat while the inlet valve seat is in contact with the inlet seat, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve the and the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat thereby locating the inlet valve into its open position thus allowing fluid to flow from the inlet port through the opening through the dispensing side and to the outlet port (i.e. brake actuation), the open position of the inlet valve provides fluid communication between the inlet chamber and the outlet port through the dispensing side and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber from fluid communication with the dispensing side, the inlet port and the outlet port are on the same side of the inlet seat within the inlet chamber so that the open position of the inlet valve facilitates flow of fluid in through the opening and the open position of the control piston facilitates out of the opening (as shown in the figure below, the inlet port 1 and the outlet port 22 are below the shown plane and thus located on a side below the plane, alternatively, both ports are located on a same right side of the opening);
a modulation passage 64 is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber (see figure 1 and via line 68);
a first modulation valve 48 selectively connects the modulation passage 64 to the control side (via 58.2) to facilitate a flow of fluid from the inlet chamber 92 into the control side 89;
a second modulation valve 47 relieves pressure from the control side 89;
a controller 45 receives a proportional braking signal (as from pedal sensor 16), the controller processing the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 89 and thereby moving the control piston 90 to control fluid flow at the outlet port 22.
Re-claim 5, Kaisers et al. disclose an electronically controlled brake valve, comprising:
a housing 14;
an inlet port 1 within the housing that receives a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source 36 (figure 1);
an outlet port 22 within the housing;
an inlet chamber 92 within the housing and in fluid communication with the inlet port, the inlet chamber having an inlet seat;
an inlet valve within the inlet chamber and the inlet chamber surrounding the inlet valve, the inlet valve having a bore therethrough and an inlet valve seat circumscribing the bore, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position wherein the inlet valve seat contacts the inlet seat, and an open position wherein the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat, a spring biases the inlet valve toward the closed position;
a control piston 90 is slidably retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is sealingly mated with a sidewall of the modulation chamber, and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 93 and a control side 89, the dispensing side 93 of the modulation chamber is connected to the inlet chamber 92 by an opening that is surrounded by the inlet seat within the inlet chamber, the control piston has a control piston seat extending within the opening for contacting the inlet valve seat, the control piston moves between an open position wherein the control piston seat is spaced from the inlet valve seat, allowing fluid to flow from the outlet port through the dispensing side and out through the opening and out of the bore within the inlet valve (i.e. a brake release), a holding position wherein the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve seat while the inlet valve seat is in contact with the inlet seat, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve the and the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat thereby locating the inlet valve into its open position thus allowing fluid to flow from the inlet port through the opening through the dispensing side and to the outlet port (i.e. brake actuation), the open position of the inlet valve provides fluid communication between the inlet chamber and the outlet port through the dispensing side and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber from fluid communication with the dispensing side, the inlet port and the outlet port are on the same side of the inlet seat within the inlet chamber so that the open position of the inlet valve facilitates flow of fluid in through the opening and the open position of the control piston facilitates out of the opening (as shown in the figure below, the inlet port 1 and the outlet port 22 are below the shown plane and thus located on a side below the plane, alternatively, both ports are located on a same right side of the opening);
a modulation passage 64 is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber (see figure 1 and via line 68);
a first modulation valve 48 selectively connects the modulation passage 64 to the control side (via 58.2) to facilitate a flow of fluid from the inlet chamber 92 into the control side 89;
a second modulation valve 47 relieves pressure from the control side 89;
a controller 45 receives a proportional braking signal (as from pedal sensor 16), the controller processing the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 89 and thereby moving the control piston 90 to control fluid flow at the outlet port 22.
Re-claim 11, Kaisers et al. disclose an electronically controlled brake valve, comprising:
a housing 14;
an inlet port 1 within the housing that receives a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source 36 (figure 1);
an outlet port 22 within the housing;
an inlet chamber 92 within the housing and in fluid communication with the inlet port, the inlet chamber having an inlet seat;
an inlet valve within the inlet chamber and the inlet chamber surrounding the inlet valve, the inlet valve having a bore therethrough and an inlet valve seat circumscribing the bore, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position wherein the inlet valve seat contacts the inlet seat, and an open position wherein the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat, a spring biases the inlet valve toward the closed position;
a control piston 90 is slidably retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is sealingly mated with a sidewall of the modulation chamber, and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 93 and a control side 89, the dispensing side 93 of the modulation chamber is connected to the inlet chamber 92 by an opening that is surrounded by the inlet seat within the inlet chamber, the control piston has a control piston seat extending within the opening for contacting the inlet valve seat, the control piston moves between an open position wherein the control piston seat is spaced from the inlet valve seat, allowing fluid to flow from the outlet port through the dispensing side and out through the opening and out of the bore within the inlet valve (i.e. a brake release), a holding position wherein the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve seat while the inlet valve seat is in contact with the inlet seat, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat contacts the inlet valve the and the inlet valve seat is spaced from the inlet seat thereby locating the inlet valve into its open position thus allowing fluid to flow from the inlet port through the opening through the dispensing side and to the outlet port (i.e. brake actuation), the open position of the inlet valve provides fluid communication between the inlet chamber and the outlet port through the dispensing side and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber from fluid communication with the dispensing side, the inlet port and the outlet port are on the same side of the inlet seat within the inlet chamber so that the open position of the inlet valve facilitates flow of fluid in through the opening and the open position of the control piston facilitates out of the opening (as shown in the figure below, the inlet port 1 and the outlet port 22 are below the shown plane and thus located on a side below the plane, alternatively, both ports are located on a same right side of the opening);
a modulation passage 64 is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber (see figure 1 and via line 68);
a modulation valve 47/48 selectively connects a modulation passage to the control side 89 to facilitate a flow of fluid into the control side and for selectively releasing pressurized fluid from the control side;
a controller 45 receives a proportional braking signal (as from pedal sensor 16), the controller processing the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 89 and thereby moving the control piston 90 to control fluid flow at the outlet port 22.
Re-claim 12, the modulation valve is a first modulation valve 48 for allowing passage of pressurized fluid into the control side, and a second modulation valve 47 for releasing pressurized fluid from the control side 89.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaisers et al. in view of US 2002/0195870 A1 to Brunson et al.
Re-claims 2-4, 7, 8 and 13-16, Kaisers et al. fail to teach the electronically controlled brake valve connectable to a towing vehicle (such that the valve is located on the towed vehicle) which provides the brake signal, and includes a constant power circuit or independent constant power source independent of the towing vehicle.
Brunson et al. teach a trailer having an electronically controlled brake system, the trailer is connected to a towing vehicle 22 with a means of providing a brake signal proportional to an actuating operation (see paragraph 21), the towing vehicle is provided with a constant power circuit (paragraph 22, and plug 34) and an independent constant power source independent of the towing vehicle 22 (such as part of a trailer system, see paragraph 37 and battery 152). This arrangement allows the driver of the towing vehicle to determine a desired brake value that would be transmitted to the controller, as well as provide a power source during connection with the towing vehicle, so as to carry out requested brake commands, and during periods when disconnected from the towing vehicle, so as to maintain the trailer in a parked or locked condition. Therefore, as per the teachings of Brunson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the electronically controlled brake valve of Kaisers et al. on a towed vehicle connectable with a towing vehicle that has a constant power source and independent constant power source separate from the towing vehicle as taught by Brunson et al., as the valve system of Kaisers et al. is capable of being fixed to the towed vehicle and thus connectable with the towing vehicle, and have the brake valve connected with the power source of the towing vehicle as well as a separate independent power source ensuring safe operation during breakaway events or disconnection from the towing vehicle.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 2, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Application No. 18/513,117 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
August 14, 2026