DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6 line 3, it is unclear if the recitation “a second modulation valve” is intended to reference the previously recited second modulation valve (cl. 5 line 30), or another second modulation valve.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected based upon their dependence upon claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,242,627 to Prescott et al.
Re-claim 1, Prescott et al. disclose in figure 1, an electronically controlled brake valve, comprising: a housing; in inlet port 12; an inlet chamber 30b with an inlet seat 34a; an inlet valve 32, the inlet valve has a central bore 32a and an inlet valve seat 32b, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position and an open position, a spring 44 biasing the inlet valve toward the closed position; a control piston 26 is retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is in slides against a sidewall of the modulation chamber (via seal 28) and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 30 and a control side 22, the control piston has a control piston seat 26a that contacts the inlet valve seat 32b, the control piston moves between an open position with the control piston seat 26a spaced from the inlet valve seat 32b (as shown in figure 1), a holding position with the control piston seat 26a contacting the inlet valve seat 32b while the inlet valve seat is in contact with said inlet seat 34a, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat 26a contacts the inlet valve seat 32b and the inlet valve seat 32b is spaced from the inlet seat 34a (i.e. an open condition) thereby locating the inlet valve 32 into its open position, the open position of the inlet valve providing fluid communication between the inlet chamber 30b and the dispensing side 30 and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber 30b from fluid communication with the dispensing side 30; an outlet port 14 communicates with the dispensing side 30; a modulation passage (see figure 1 and leads to 18a) communicates with the inlet chamber 30b; a first modulation valve 18c selectively connects the modulation passage to the control side 22 to facilitate a flow of fluid from the inlet chamber 30b to the control side 22; a second modulation valve 20c relieves pressure from the control side; a controller (see column 1 lines 43-59) receives a proportional braking signal, the controller processes the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 22 and thereby moves the control piston 26 to control fluid flow at the outlet port (see column 3 lines 38-67 to column 4 lines 1-35).
Re-claim 5, Prescott et al. disclose in figure 1, an electronically controlled brake valve, comprising: a housing; in inlet port 12 connected to a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source (such as an air reservoir, see column 1 lines 63-64); an inlet chamber 30b with an inlet seat 34a; an inlet valve 32, the inlet valve has a central bore 32a and an inlet valve seat 32b, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position and an open position, a spring 44 biasing the inlet valve toward the closed position; a control piston 26 is retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is in slides against a sidewall of the modulation chamber (via seal 28) and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 30 and a control side 22, the control piston has a control piston seat 26a that contacts the inlet valve seat 32b, the control piston moves between an open position with the control piston seat 26a spaced from the inlet valve seat 32b (as shown in figure 1), a holding position with the control piston seat 26a contacting the inlet valve seat 32b while the inlet valve seat is in contact with said inlet seat 34a, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat 26a contacts the inlet valve seat 32b and the inlet valve seat 32b is spaced from the inlet seat 34a (i.e. an open condition) thereby locating the inlet valve 32 into its open position, the open position of the inlet valve providing fluid communication between the inlet chamber 30b and the dispensing side 30 and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber 30b from fluid communication with the dispensing side 30; an outlet port 14 communicates with the dispensing side 30; a modulation passage (see figure 1 and leads to 18a) communicates with the inlet chamber 30b; a modulation valve 18c selectively connects the modulation passage to the control side 22 to facilitate a flow of fluid from the inlet chamber 30b to the control side 22; a second modulation valve 20c relieves pressure from the control side; a controller (see column 1 lines 43-59) receives a proportional braking signal, the controller processes the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 22 and thereby moves the control piston 26 to control fluid flow at the outlet port (see column 3 lines 38-67 to column 4 lines 1-35).
Re-claim 6, the modulation valve 18c is a first modulation valve, the second modulation valve releases pressurized fluid, as stated previously.
Re-claim 11, Prescott et al. disclose in figure 1, an electronically controlled brake valve, comprising: a housing; in inlet port 12 connected to a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source (such as an air reservoir, see column 1 lines 63-64); an inlet chamber 30b with an inlet seat 34a; an inlet valve 32, the inlet valve has a central bore 32a and an inlet valve seat 32b, the inlet valve moves in an axial direction between a closed position and an open position, a spring 44 biasing the inlet valve toward the closed position; a control piston 26 is retained in a modulation chamber, the control piston is in slides against a sidewall of the modulation chamber (via seal 28) and divides the modulation chamber into a dispensing side 30 and a control side 22, the control piston has a control piston seat 26a that contacts the inlet valve seat 32b, the control piston moves between an open position with the control piston seat 26a spaced from the inlet valve seat 32b (as shown in figure 1), a holding position with the control piston seat 26a contacting the inlet valve seat 32b while the inlet valve seat is in contact with said inlet seat 34a, and a cracked position in which the control piston seat 26a contacts the inlet valve seat 32b and the inlet valve seat 32b is spaced from the inlet seat 34a (i.e. an open condition) thereby locating the inlet valve 32 into its open position, the open position of the inlet valve providing fluid communication between the inlet chamber 30b and the dispensing side 30 and the closed position of the inlet valve sealing the inlet chamber 30b from fluid communication with the dispensing side 30; an outlet port 14 communicates with the dispensing side 30; a modulation valve 18c/20c selectively connects a modulation passage to the control side 22 to facilitate a flow of fluid into the control side 22 (via valve 18c) and releasing fluid from the control side 22 (via valve 20c); a controller (see column 1 lines 43-59) receives a proportional braking signal, the controller processes the proportional braking signal and operates the first and second modulation valves to control fluid pressure on the control side 22 and thereby moves the control piston 26
Re-claim 12, the modulation valve is a first modulation valve 18c for selectively allowing passage of pressurized fluid into the control side 22, and a second modulation valve 20c operated by the controller for releasing pressurized fluid from the control side 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-10 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prescott et al. in view of US 2002/0195870 A1 to Brunson et al.
Re-claims 2-4, 7-10 and 13-16, Prescott et al. fail to teach the specific type of vehicle the brake valve is associated with, such as a towing vehicle which provides the brake signal, and includes a constant power circuit or independent constant power source independent of the towing vehicle.
Brunson et al. teach a towing vehicle 22 with a means of providing a brake signal proportional to an actuating operation (see paragraph 21), the towing vehicle is provided with a constant power circuit (paragraph 22) and an independent constant power source independent of the towing vehicle 22 (such as part of a trailer system, see paragraph 37 and battery 152). This arrangement allows the driver of the towing vehicle to determine a desired brake value that would be transmitted to the controller, as well as provide a power source during connection with the towing vehicle, so as to carry out requested brake commands, and during periods when disconnected from the towing vehicle, so as to maintain the trailer in a parked or locked condition. Therefore, as per the teachings of Brunson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the electronically controlled brake valve of Prescott et al. with a towing vehicle having a constant power source and independent constant power source separate from the towing vehicle as taught by Brunson et al.,
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/513,117 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the features recited in claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are recited in claims 1, 5 and 9 of the copending application.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 5 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/513,117 (reference application). As such claims 1, 5 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/513,117 (reference application) fully encompass the subject matter of claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 and therefore anticipates claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12. Thus the invention of claims 1, 5 and 9 of the copending Application No. 18/513,117 (reference application) is in effect a "species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1, 5 and 9 of the copending Application No. 18/513,117 (reference application), claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 13 are not patentably distinct from claims 1, 5 and 9, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claim 1, 5 and 9.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geobels, Roether, Hecker, Schnittger, Greisser, Shaw and Potter each teach a modulator valve having a modulation passage communicating an inlet chamber with a control chamber.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
February 2, 2026
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616