DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed on 11/16/2023 in which claim 1-20 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claim 1 and 12 are in independent form.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 4-7 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US PG Pub 2021/0361199) published on November 25, 2021 in view of Saint et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0353698) published on December 13, 2018.
As per claim 1, Kumar teaches A method for generating a user interface view including sensor data representative of analyte levels of a host, comprising:
accessing sensor data including a plurality of analyte readings of the host during a plurality of time periods, wherein each analyte reading is indicative of an analyte level of the host at a respective time(fig 2D-H Para[0073-0078] shows glucose level of a user corresponding to ta time interval, as taught by Kumar);
generating a first user interface (UI) view comprising one or more UI elements based on the plurality of analyte levels of the host(Fig 2D-H displays trend line based on the sugar level, as taught by Kumar);
in response to receiving a user selection of a pregnancy mode(Para[0139] e.g. pregnant type 1 and type 2 diabetic patient, as taught by Kumar), automatically modifying a parameter of at least one UI element included in the one or more UI elements (Para[0139] For pregnant type 1 diabetic patients, notifications can only be activated if a user's time in the target blood sugar range of 63-140 mg/dl is below 16 hours and 48 minutes per day. For pregnant type 2 diabetic patients, notifications can only be activated if a user's time in the target blood sugar range of 63-140 mg/dl is below 21 hours and 36 minutes per day, as taught by Kumar); and
generating a second UI view based on the plurality of analyte levels of the host (Fig 2D-H Para[0074-0075] second portion 237 includes: an analyte trend line 241 which can reflect historical analyte levels over time and a current analyte data point 239 to indicate the current analyte concentration value (shown in yellow to indicate that the current value is outside the target range) , as taught by Kumar).
Kumar does not teach to reflect a pregnancy-specific parameter
and the pregnancy-specific parameter
On the other hand, Saint teaches to reflect a pregnancy-specific parameter(Para[0109] the app can include a setting (e.g., in the user interface of the learning dose calculator module 220) for people with diabetes who become pregnant, for adjusting parameters associated with being pregnant, as taught by Saint)
and the pregnancy-specific parameter(Para[109] adjusting parameter based on the pregnancy, as taught by Saint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kumar invention with the teaching of Saint because doing so would result in controlling the gestational diabetes, which can occur during pregnancy when a pregnant woman develops a high blood glucose level.
As per claim 12, Kumar teaches A method for generating a user interface view including sensor data representative of analyte levels of a host(fig 2D-I Para[0020][0073-0078] teaches n analyte sensor coupled with sensor electronics, the sensor control device configured to transmit data indicative of an analyte level, as taught by Kumar) , comprising:
accessing sensor data including a plurality of analyte readings of the host during a plurality of time periods, wherein each analyte reading is indicative of an analyte level of the host at a respective time(fig 2D-H Para[0073-0078] shows glucose level of a user corresponding to ta time interval, as taught by Kumar);
generating a first user interface (UI) view comprising one or more UI elements based on the plurality of analyte levels of the host(Fig 2D-H displays trend line based on the sugar level, as taught by Kumar);
in response to receiving a user selection of a pregnancy mode(Para[0139] e.g. pregnant type 1 and type 2 diabetic patient, as taught by Kumar), automatically modifying a parameter of at least one UI element included in the one or more UI elements (Para[0139] For pregnant type 1 diabetic patients, notifications can only be activated if a user's time in the target blood sugar range of 63-140 mg/dl is below 16 hours and 48 minutes per day. For pregnant type 2 diabetic patients, notifications can only be activated if a user's time in the target blood sugar range of 63-140 mg/dl is below 21 hours and 36 minutes per day, as taught by Kumar); and
generating a second UI view based on the plurality of analyte levels of the host (Fig 2D-H Para[0074-0075] second portion 237 includes: an analyte trend line 241 which can reflect historical analyte levels over time and a current analyte data point 239 to indicate the current analyte concentration value (shown in yellow to indicate that the current value is outside the target range) , as taught by Kumar).
Kumar does not teach to reflect a pregnancy-specific parameter
and the pregnancy-specific parameter
On the other hand, Saint teaches to reflect a pregnancy-specific parameter(Para[0109] the app can include a setting (e.g., in the user interface of the learning dose calculator module 220) for people with diabetes who become pregnant, for adjusting parameters associated with being pregnant, as taught by Saint)
and the pregnancy-specific parameter(Para[109] adjusting parameter based on the pregnancy, as taught by Saint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kumar invention with the teaching of Saint because doing so would result in controlling the gestational diabetes, which can occur during pregnancy when a pregnant woman develops a high blood glucose level.
As per claim 2, the Combination of Kumar and Saint teaches wherein the pregnancy-specific parameter comprises a pregnancy-specific analyte range(Para[109] the app is configured to modify dosing parameters based on due date, or gestational age, which can be based on population trend of pregnancy effects (as pregnancy advances insulin resistance increases, especially in the 3rd trimester), as taught by Saint).
As per claim 3, the Combination of Kumar and Saint teaches wherein the pregnancy-specific analyte range comprises a pregnancy-specific glucose concentration range(Para[0109], as taught by Saint).
As per claim 11 and 16, the Combination of Kumar and Saint teaches further comprising, in response to receiving the user selection of the pregnancy mode(Para[0139] e.g. pregnant type 1 and type 2 diabetic patient, as taught by Kumar), causing at least one of (i) a reminder to log a fasting glucose reading to be displayed, or (ii) a reminder to log a post-meal glucose reading to be displayed(Para[0267][0082-0088][, as taught by Kumar).
As per claim 13, the Combination of Kumar and Saint teaches wherein automatically modifying the at least one UI element to reflect the pregnancy-specific information comprises causing a UI element corresponding to at least one of a fasting glucose value or a post-meal glucose value to be displayed(Para[0267][0082-0088][, as taught by Kumar).
5. Claims 8, 14-15 and 17are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US PG Pub 2021/0361199) published on November 25, 2021 in view of Saint et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0353698) published on December 13, 2018 in further view of Dugan (US PG Pub 2015/0289822) published on October 15, 2015.
As per claim 8, the Combination of Kumar and Saint does not teach further comprising: receiving input corresponding to a host due date;
determining a gestational age based on the host due date; and
causing a UI element corresponding to the gestational age to be displayed.
On the other hand, Dugan teaches further comprising: receiving input corresponding to a host due date(Para[0229] due date input, as taught by Dugan);
determining a gestational age based on the host due date(Para[0229] calculate the current age of gestation (gest.age) in weeks, as taught by Dugan); and
causing a UI element corresponding to the gestational age to be displayed(fig 16 show gestational age, as taught by Dugan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kumar and Saint invention with the teaching of Dugan because doing so would allow user to access this information to provide the user more detail about the instant risk score.
As per claim 14, the Combination of Kumar, Dugan and Saint teaches further comprising: receiving input corresponding to a host due date(Para[0229] due date input, as taught by Dugan); and determining a gestational age based on the host due date(Para[0229] calculate the current age of gestation (gest.age) in weeks, as taught by Dugan), wherein automatically modifying the at least one UI element to reflect the pregnancy-specific information comprises causing a UI element related to the gestational age to be displayed(fig 16 show gestational age, as taught by Dugan).
As per claim 15, the Combination of Kumar, Dugan and Saint teaches wherein the UI element related to the gestational age comprises educational information corresponding to the gestational age(Para[0061][0071], as taught by Saint).
As per claim 17, the Combination of Kumar, Dugan and Saint teaches wherein automatically modifying the at least one UI element to reflect the pregnancy-specific information comprises causing an onboarding sequence including a prompt to enter a due date to be displayed(Para[0229-0237], as taught by Dugan).
5. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US PG Pub 2021/0361199) published on November 25, 2021 in view of Saint et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0353698) published on December 13, 2018 in further view of Ooshima (US PG Pub 2005/0096540) published on May 05, 2005.
As per claim 9, the Combination of Kumar and Saint does not teach wherein the user selection of the pregnancy mode comprises switching a toggle UI element from a normal analyte range to the pregnancy-specific analyte range.
On the other hand, Ooshima teaches wherein the user selection of the pregnancy mode comprises switching a toggle UI element from a normal analyte range to the pregnancy-specific analyte range(fig 5-8 Para[0072-0078] teaches based on the selection of the plotted mark, data range being displayed corresponding to gestation period which includes normal range. Displayed information being switched based on the selection of the plotted mark, as taught by Ooshima).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kumar and Saint invention with the teaching of Oochima because doing so would result in increased efficiency by displaying the trend graph with related information in a time phase on the trend graph.
As per claim 10, the Combination of Kumar, Oochima and Saint teaches wherein automatically modifying the parameter of the at least one UI element comprises updating a time in range widget to reflect the pregnancy-specific analyte range(fig 5-8 Para[0072-0078], as taught by Ooshima).
Conclusion
/RAYEEZ R CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174 Monday, December 8, 2025