DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 5.18.26. In view of this communication, claims 1,3-5,7-12,14-16,18-24 are now pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1, 12 and 20, canceled claims 2,6,13,17 and added new claims 21-24 which will be examined below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides several arguments to which the Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: Levin does not disclose a stationary rectifier supported by a frame and electrically connected to a stationary armature winding, wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power as recited in claim 1.
Examiner Response 1: Applicant has made amendments specifically “frame configured to support electronic components of the electrical power generator; a stator supported by the frame; a stationary armature winding supported by the frame” and further down “wherein the magnetic flux generates AC electrical power in the stationary armature winding; and a stationary rectifier supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding, wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power” which will be examined in below sections.
Applicant Argument 2: Thus, in Bourgeois, the rectifier+chopper+filter assembly is associated with excitation control circuitry coupled to an AC power source generated by the generator, while the generator itself continues to output multi-phase AC power.
Examiner Response 2: Examiner previously used Bourgeois to read on structure related to “DC field winding extends radially from the stator…”.
Applicant Argument 3: Thus, Gao discloses that the AC/DC converter 116 is separate from, and external to, the generator 108. Rather than being incorporated into the generator, the AC/DC converter 116 is disclosed as a downstream power-conversion component electrically connected to the generator output through the AC bus 112.
Examiner Response 3: Applicant has added new limitations related to integrated structure of rectifier which will be considered in the usage of Gao.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7-8,10,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin (RU107418U1 English translation), in view of Bourgeois (US20210152065A1) and Yazaki et al (US20220320945A1), hereinafter Yazaki.
Regarding Claim 1, Levin discloses (Fig 1) an electrical power generator (Page 1, Line 24) comprising:
a frame (5) configured to support components (3,4,9,10) of the electrical power generator;
a stator (3,4) supported by the frame ;
a stationary armature winding (10) supported by the frame and coupled to the stator;
a stationary direct current (DC) field winding (9) [Page 2, Line 7] supported by the frame and coupled to the stator;
a magnetic shaft (1,2,6) extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding (Fig 1) and including a rotor pole structure (Fig 1) including one or more north poles (1,N)[Page 2, Line 4-5] extending radially outward (Line 4-5) from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles (2) [Line 5-6] extending radially outward (Fig 1) from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially (space between 1 and 2 in Fig 1) along the magnetic shaft, such that the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are positioned on opposing sides (Fig 1 discloses 1 and 2 are on opposite sides of the plane BB) of the stationary DC field winding (9), and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset (Page 1, Line 33)(Fig 1) relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; and
a DC power source (Page 2, Line 16 discloses “regulating the current of the control winding 9” electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding (9) and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft (Page 2, Lines 12-16 which is relevant and discloses in part “the axial flow of regulation created by the permanent magnets of both rotors, which can be changed by regulating the current of the control winding 9”.
wherein the magnetic flux generates AC electrical power in the stationary armature winding (Page 2 discloses “When the rotors 1 and 2 rotate, the magnetic flux Φ created by the permanent magnets 8 penetrates the armature winding 10, in which the emf is induced”).
Levin does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles and frame configured to support electronic components and a stationary rectifier supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding, wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power.
Bourgeois discloses (Fig 17) wherein the DC field winding (40) extends radially from the stator(501,20) [501 can be considered part of stator as it is stationary] in between the one or more north poles (12a) and the one or more south poles (12b)[0114].
Yazaki discloses (Figs 3,7) frame (16) configured to support electronic components (Fig 7 discloses 172 attached to 16)[0070] and a stationary rectifier (182) supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding , wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power (Fig 7 discloses 182 connected both ways to 2 phase terminals, capacitor and battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin’s electrical power generator with DC field winding between north and south poles of rotor as taught by Bourgeois in order to have sufficient proximity to the required magnetic flux path thereby reducing overall permeance and improving efficiency and reducing magnetic flux leakage and frame configuration to support rectifier as taught by Yazaki in order easily connect to 3 phase coil and DC components such as battery while at the same time using the cooling jacket to remove heat from electronic components.
Regarding Claim 7, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki further discloses further comprising: a controller (Levin,this is inherent as element 9 is disclosed as “control winding 9) configured to 1) measure an output voltage of the electrical power generator (Page 2 Line 24 discloses “To generate an output voltage of a given value”), 2) determine a feedback error based at least on a difference between the output voltage and a target voltage (this is inherent given Page 2 Line 24), and 3) adjust a DC excitation current applied to the stationary DC field winding based on the feedback error to adjust a strength of the magnetic flux and thereby adjust the output voltage to reconcile with the target voltage (Page 2, Line 22-23 discloses “By changing the magnitude and direction of the current of the control winding, it is possible to control the magnitude of the working flow and, therefore, the output power of the generator”.
Regarding Claim 8, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki further discloses wherein the rotor pole structure (1,2) of the magnetic shaft (1,2,6) is configured to introduce air flow through the stationary DC field winding (9) when the magnetic shaft rotates (this is inherent as any structure of rotor can be taken as “configured to introduce air flow through the stationary DC field winding”. Further structure of rotor of Levin is similar to instant invention as shown in Claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 10, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki further discloses wherein the DC power source (Levin,9 is DC control winding which inherently connected to DC power source) comprises a DC electrical bus (Connection between 9 and inherent DC power source is DC electrical bus).
Regarding Claim 21, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame includes a liquid cooling jacket configured to circulate liquid coolant through the frame to dissipate heat generated by the electrical power generator.
Yazaki further discloses wherein the frame (16) includes a liquid cooling jacket (21) configured to circulate liquid coolant [0034] through the frame to dissipate heat generated by the electrical power generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki electrical power generator with cooling jacket as part of frame as further taught by Yazaki in order to cool all of the heat generating components by removing heat using a water jacket.
Claims 3-5,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Chong (US20120286516A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is constant.
Chong discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is constant (Para0005 of Chong discloses a linear relationship between output frequency and shaft speed which then follows that for every constant speed value, there is a constant frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki with constant shaft speed as taught by Chong in order to have a suitable power output frequency that is constant and linearly related to shaft speed as required for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 4, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is variable.
Ching discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is variable (Chong Para0005 already discloses linear relationship between output power frequency and shaft speed which then follows that shaft speed can vary) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki electrical power generator with configuration for variable shaft speed as taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 5, Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 4. Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Chong does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic shaft is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft.
Chong further discloses [Para 0005] wherein the magnetic shaft (Fig 2,33,34) is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft [Para 0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Chong with magnetic shaft connected to variable speed engine shaft as further taught by Chong in order to generate electrical power while the aircraft is flying at varying speeds which is needed for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 11, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator.
Chong discloses (Fig 2) wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator (30) [AC induced by 33,34 is rectified by 36 which becomes DC power source 37].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki with DC power source from permanent magnet generator as taught by Chong in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois , Yazaki and Buffenbarger (US9917544B2).
Regarding Claim 9, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
Buffenbarger discloses [Col 3, Line 44-45] wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki with DC power source from battery as taught by Buffenbarger in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Claims 20,22,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Gao (US20210099117A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Levin discloses (Fig 1) an electrical power generator (Page 1, Line 24) comprising:
a frame (5) configured to support components (3,4,9,10) of the electrical power generator;
a stator (3,4) supported by the frame ;
a stationary armature winding (10) supported by the frame and coupled to the stator;
a stationary direct current (DC) field winding (9) [Page 2, Line 7] supported by the frame and coupled to the stator;
a magnetic shaft (1,2,6) of an engine of an aircraft (Levin Page 2, 33-34) and extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding (Fig 1) and including a rotor pole structure (Fig 1) including one or more north poles (1,N)[Page 2, Line 4-5] extending radially outward (Line 4-5) from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles (2) [Line 5-6] extending radially outward (Fig 1) from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially (space between 1 and 2 in Fig 1) along the magnetic shaft and positioned on opposing sides (Fig 1 discloses 1 and 2 are on opposite sides of the plane BB) of the stationary DC field winding (9), and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset (Page 1, Line 33)(Fig 1) relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; and
a DC power source (Page 2, Line 16 discloses “regulating the current of the control winding 9” electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding (9) and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft (Page 2, Lines 12-16 which is relevant and discloses in part “the axial flow of regulation created by the permanent magnets of both rotors, which can be changed by regulating the current of the control winding 9”) wherein the magnetic flux generates AC electrical power in the stationary armature winding (Page 2 discloses “When the rotors 1 and 2 rotate, the magnetic flux Φ created by the permanent magnets 8 penetrates the armature winding 10, in which the emf is induced”) ;
Levin does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles and frame configured to support electronic components and a stationary rectifier supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding, wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output the DC electrical power to a DC bus, and wherein the DC bus is configured to supply the DC electrical power to DC loads and systems of the aircraft.
Bourgeois discloses (Fig 17) wherein the DC field winding (40) extends radially from the stator(501,20) [501 can be considered part of stator as it is stationary] in between the one or more north poles (12a) and the one or more south poles (12b)[0114].
Yazaki discloses (Figs 3,7) frame (16) configured to support electronic components (Fig 7 discloses 172 attached to 16)[0070] and a stationary rectifier (182) supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding , wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power (Fig 7 discloses 182 connected both ways to 2 phase terminals, capacitor and battery.
Gao discloses (Fig 1) wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output the DC electrical power to a DC bus (118), and wherein the DC bus is configured to supply the DC electrical power to DC loads and systems of the aircraft [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin’s electrical power generator with DC field winding between north and south poles of rotor as taught by Bourgeois in order to have sufficient proximity to the required magnetic flux path thereby reducing overall permeance and improving efficiency and reducing magnetic flux leakage and frame configuration to support rectifier as taught by Yazaki in order easily connect to 3 phase coil and DC components such as battery while at the same time using the cooling jacket to remove heat from electronic components and usage of DC output as taught by Gao in order to power various DC loads within the aircraft.
Regarding Claim 22, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output the DC electrical power to a DC electrical bus.
Gao further discloses (Fig 1) wherein the electrical power generator (108) is configured to output the DC electrical power to a DC electrical bus (118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois and Yazaki electrical power generator with DC bus as taught by Gao in order in order to power various DC loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 24, Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Gao discloses the electrical power generator of claim 20. Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame includes a liquid cooling jacket configured to circulate liquid coolant through the frame to dissipate heat generated by the electrical power generator.
Yazaki further discloses wherein the frame (16) includes a liquid cooling jacket (21) configured to circulate liquid coolant [0034] through the frame to dissipate heat generated by the electrical power generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois, Yazaki and Gao electrical power generator with cooling jacket as part of frame as further taught by Yazaki in order to cool all of the heat generating components by removing heat using a water jacket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14-16,18-19, 23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Amended claim 12 recites “ An electrical power generator comprising: a frame configured to support electronic components of the electrical power generator; a stator supported by the frame; a stationary armature winding supported by the frame and coupled to the stator; a stationary direct current (DC) field winding supported by the frame and coupled to the stator; a magnetic shaft extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding and including a rotor pole structure including one or more north poles extending radially outward from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles extending radially outward from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially along the magnetic shaft, wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles, such that the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are positioned on opposing sides of the stationary DC field winding, and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; a DC power source electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft, wherein the magnetic flux generates AC electrical power in the stationary armature winding; a stationary rectifier supported by the frame and electrically connected to the stationary armature winding, wherein the stationary rectifier is configured to convert the AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, and wherein the DC electrical power is output from the electrical power generator; and a controller configured to 1) measure an output voltage of the DC electrical power output from the electrical power generator, 2) determine a feedback error based at least on a difference between the output voltage and a target voltage, and 3) adjust a DC excitation current applied to the stationary DC field winding based on the feedback error to adjust a strength of the magnetic flux and thereby adjust the output voltage to reconcile with the target voltage”. Previously claim 12 was rejected Levin in view of Bourgeois. However new limitations, specifically “a controller configured to 1) measure an output voltage of the DC electrical power output from the electrical power generator , 2) determine a feedback error based at least on a difference between the output voltage and a target voltage, and 3) adjust a DC excitation current applied to the stationary DC field winding based on the feedback error to adjust a strength of the magnetic flux and thereby adjust the output voltage to reconcile with the target voltage” cannot be read by Levin or secondary reference Bourgeois, Yazaki. In Levin, there is no explicit reference to DC output control. Page 2, Lines 22-23 discloses “By changing the magnitude and direction of the current of the control winding, it is possible to control the magnitude of the working flow and, therefore, the output power of the generator” which indicates control based on overall generator output. Therefore claim 12 is allowed. Claims 14-16,18-19, 23 are allowed as they are dependent upon claim 12.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834