DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 12.30.25. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1, 12 and 20 which will be examined below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides several arguments to which the Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: In contrast, Levin does not disclose the subject matter of claim 1 as currently amended. Rather, as shown in FIG. 1 (annotated and reproduced below), Levin discloses an inductor electric machine of alternating current combined excitation containing two packages of rotors 1, 2 and stators 3, 4 located in a common magnetic housing 5. Magnetic systems of rotors 1 and 2 are mounted on a single magnetic shaft 6. The housing 5 and the shaft 6 act as magnetic circuits through which the magnetic flux closes. The control winding 9 of the direct current is located in the inter-package space, and the anchor winding 10 of the alternating current covers the stators 3 and 4. According to Levin's configuration, the control winding 9 is located in inter-package space between the stators 3 and 4. As shown in FIG. 1, the control winding 9 is recessed away from the magnetic rotors and up behind the anchor winding.
Examiner Response 1: Applicant has made amendments specifically “wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles, such that the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles” which will be examined in below sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7-8,10,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin (RU107418U1 English translation), in view of Bourgeois (US20210152065A1) .
Regarding Claim 1, Levin discloses (Fig 1) an electrical power generator (Page 1, Line 24) comprising:
a stator (3,4);
a stationary armature winding (10) coupled to the stator;
a stationary direct current (DC) field winding (9) [Page 2, Line 7] coupled to the stator;
a magnetic shaft (1,2,6) extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding (Fig 1) and including a rotor pole structure (Fig 1) including one or more north poles (1,N)[Page 2, Line 4-5] extending radially outward (Line 4-5) from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles (2) [Line 5-6] extending radially outward (Fig 1) from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially (space between 1 and 2 in Fig 1) along the magnetic shaft, such that the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are positioned on opposing sides (Fig 1 discloses 1 and 2 are on opposite sides of the plane BB) of the stationary DC field winding (9), and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset (Page 1, Line 33)(Fig 1) relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; and
a DC power source (Page 2, Line 16 discloses “regulating the current of the control winding 9” electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding (9) and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft (Page 2, Lines 12-16 which is relevant and discloses in part “the axial flow of regulation created by the permanent magnets of both rotors, which can be changed by regulating the current of the control winding 9”. Levin does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles.
Bourgeois discloses (Fig 17) wherein the DC field winding (40) extends radially from the stator(501,20) [501 can be considered part of stator as it is stationary] in between the one or more north poles (12a) and the one or more south poles (12b)[0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin’s electrical power generator with DC field winding between north and south poles of rotor as taught by Bourgeois in order to have sufficient proximity to the required magnetic flux path thereby reducing overall permeance and improving efficiency and reducing magnetic flux leakage.
Regarding Claim 7, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois further discloses further comprising: a controller (this in inherent as element 9 is disclosed as “control winding 9) configured to 1) measure an output voltage of the electrical power generator (Page 2 Line 24 discloses “To generate an output voltage of a given value”), 2) determine a feedback error based at least on a difference between the output voltage and a target voltage (this is inherent given Page 2 Line 24), and 3) adjust a DC excitation current applied to the stationary DC field winding based on the feedback error to adjust a strength of the magnetic flux and thereby adjust the output voltage to reconcile with the target voltage (Page 2, Line 22-23 discloses “By changing the magnitude and direction of the current of the control winding, it is possible to control the magnitude of the working flow and, therefore, the output power of the generator”.
Regarding Claim 8, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois further discloses wherein the rotor pole structure (1,2) of the magnetic shaft (1,2,6) is configured to introduce air flow through the stationary DC field winding (9) when the magnetic shaft rotates (this is inherent as any structure of rotor can be taken as “configured to introduce air flow through the stationary DC field winding”. Further structure of rotor of Levin is similar to instant invention as shown in Claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 10, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois further discloses wherein the DC power source (9 is DC control winding which inherently connected to DC power source) comprises a DC electrical bus (Connection between 9 and inherent DC power source is DC electrical bus).
Regarding Claim 12, Levin discloses (Fig 1) an electrical power generator (Page 1, Line 24) comprising:
a stator (3,4);
a stationary armature winding (10) coupled to the stator;
a stationary direct current (DC) field winding (9) [Page 2, Line 7] coupled to the stator;
a magnetic shaft (1,2,6) extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding (Fig 1) and including a rotor pole structure (Fig 1) including one or more north poles (1,N)[Page 2, Line 4-5] extending radially outward (Line 4-5) from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles (2) [Line 5-6] extending radially outward (Fig 1) from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially (space between 1 and 2 in Fig 1) along the magnetic shaft and positioned on opposing sides (Fig 1 discloses 1 and 2 are on opposite sides of the plane BB) of the stationary DC field winding (9), and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset (Page 1, Line 33)(Fig 1) relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; and
a DC power source (Page 2, Line 16 discloses “regulating the current of the control winding 9” electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding (9) and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft (Page 2, Lines 12-16 which is relevant and discloses in part “the axial flow of regulation created by the permanent magnets of both rotors, which can be changed by regulating the current of the control winding 9”.
a controller (this in inherent as element 9 is disclosed as “control winding 9) configured to 1) measure an output voltage of the electrical power generator (Page 2 Line 24 discloses “To generate an output voltage of a given value”), 2) determine a feedback error based at least on a difference between the output voltage and a target voltage (this is inherent given Page 2 Line 24), and 3) adjust a DC excitation current applied to the stationary DC field winding based on the feedback error to adjust a strength of the magnetic flux and thereby adjust the output voltage to reconcile with the target voltage (Page 2, Line 22-23 discloses “By changing the magnitude and direction of the current of the control winding, it is possible to control the magnitude of the working flow and, therefore, the output power of the generator”. Levin does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles.
Bourgeois discloses (Fig 17) wherein the DC field winding (40) extends radially from the stator(501,20) [501 can be considered part of stator as it is stationary] in between the one or more north poles (12a) and the one or more south poles (12b)[0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin’s electrical power generator with DC field winding between north and south poles of rotor as taught by Bourgeois in order to have sufficient proximity to the required magnetic flux path thereby reducing overall permeance and improving efficiency and reducing magnetic flux leakage.
Claims 2-5,11,13-16,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong (US20120286516A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois further discloses wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output alternating current (AC) electrical power (Abstract discloses “inductor AC machine”) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
Chong discloses [Para 0005] wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft (Fig 2, 33,34) and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois electrical power generator with speed of shaft linearly coupled to AC frequency as taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 3, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 2. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong further discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is constant, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output constant frequency AC electrical power (Para0005 of Chong discloses a linear relationship between output frequency and shaft speed which then follows that for every constant speed value, there is a constant frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong with constant output frequency from constant shaft speed as further taught by Chong in order to have a suitable power output frequency that is constant as required for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 4, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 2. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong further discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is variable, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output variable frequency AC electrical power (Chong Para0005 already discloses linear relationship between output power frequency and shaft speed as shown in Claim 2 rejection above .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong electrical power generator with configuration for variable output frequency for variable shaft speed as further taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 5, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 4. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic shaft is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft.
Chong further discloses [Para 0005] wherein the magnetic shaft (Fig 2,33,34) is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft [Para 0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong with magnetic shaft connected to variable speed engine shaft as further taught by Chong in order to generate electrical power while the aircraft is flying at varying speeds which is needed for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 11, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator.
Chong discloses (Fig 2) wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator (30) [AC induced by 33,34 is rectified by 36 which becomes DC power source 37].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with DC power source from permanent magnet generator as taught by Chong in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Regarding Claim 13, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 12. Levin in view of Bourgeois further discloses wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output alternating current (AC) electrical power (Abstract discloses “inductor AC machine”) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
Chong discloses [Para 0005] wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft (Fig 2, 33,34) and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois electrical power generator with speed of shaft linearly coupled to AC frequency as taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 14, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 13. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong further discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is constant, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output constant frequency AC electrical power (Para0005 of Chong discloses a linear relationship between output frequency and shaft speed which then follows that for every constant speed value, there is a constant frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong with constant output frequency from constant shaft speed as further taught by Chong in order to have a suitable power output frequency that is constant as required for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 15, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 13. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong further discloses wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft is variable, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output variable frequency AC electrical power (Chong Para0005 already discloses linear relationship between output power frequency and shaft speed as shown in Claim 2 rejection above .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong electrical power generator with configuration for variable output frequency for variable shaft speed as further taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 16, Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong discloses the electrical power generator of claim 15. Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic shaft is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft.
Chong further discloses [Para 0005] wherein the magnetic shaft (Fig 2,33,34) is coupled to a variable speed shaft of an engine of an aircraft [Para 0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois and Chong with magnetic shaft connected to variable speed engine shaft as further taught by Chong in order to generate electrical power while the aircraft is flying at varying speeds which is needed for multiple electrical and electronic loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 19, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 12. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator.
Chong discloses (Fig 2) wherein the DC power source comprises a permanent magnet generator (30) [AC induced by 33,34 is rectified by 36 which becomes DC power source 37].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with DC power source from permanent magnet generator as taught by Chong in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Regarding Claim 20, Levin discloses (Fig 1) an electrical power generator (Page 1, Line 24) comprising:
a stator (3,4);
a stationary armature winding (10) coupled to the stator;
a stationary direct current (DC) field winding (9) [Page 2, Line 7] coupled to the stator;
a magnetic shaft (1,2,6) extending through the stator and the stationary DC field winding (Fig 1) and including a rotor pole structure (Fig 1) including one or more north poles (1,N)[Page 2, Line 4-5] extending radially outward (Line 4-5) from the magnetic shaft and one or more south poles (2) [Line 5-6] extending radially outward (Fig 1) from the magnetic shaft, wherein the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles are spaced apart axially (space between 1 and 2 in Fig 1) along the magnetic shaft and positioned on opposing sides (Fig 1 discloses 1 and 2 are on opposite sides of the plane BB) of the stationary DC field winding (9), and wherein the one or more north poles are axially offset (Page 1, Line 33)(Fig 1) relative to the one or more south poles on the magnetic shaft; and
a DC power source (Page 2, Line 16 discloses “regulating the current of the control winding 9” electrically connected to the stationary DC field winding (9) and configured to induce a DC voltage in the stationary DC field winding to generate a magnetic flux that is conducted through the magnetic shaft and between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles of the magnetic shaft (Page 2, Lines 12-16 which is relevant and discloses in part “the axial flow of regulation created by the permanent magnets of both rotors, which can be changed by regulating the current of the control winding 9”.
wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output alternating current (AC) electrical power (Abstract discloses “inductor AC machine”) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC field winding extends radially from the stator in between the one or more north poles and the one or more south poles and wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
Bourgeois discloses (Fig 17) wherein the DC field winding (40) extends radially from the stator(501,20) [501 can be considered part of stator as it is stationary] in between the one or more north poles (12a) and the one or more south poles (12b)[0114].
Chong discloses [Para 0005] wherein a speed of the magnetic shaft (Fig 3, 53) and a frequency of the AC electrical power output from the electrical power generator are linearly coupled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Levin’s electrical power generator with DC field winding between north and south poles of rotor as taught by Bourgeois in order to have sufficient proximity to the required magnetic flux path thereby reducing overall permeance and improving efficiency and reducing magnetic flux leakage and with speed of shaft linearly coupled to AC frequency as taught by Chong in order to have a controllable relationship between shaft speed and power frequency that can be used for suitable loads within an aircraft.
Claims 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois and Gao (US20210099117A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a stationary rectifier electrically connected to the stationary armature winding and configured to convert AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output DC electrical power.
Gao discloses (Fig 1) a stationary rectifier (116 which is connected to stator 108 which is stationary) electrically connected to the stationary armature winding (108) and configured to convert AC electrical power [0025] generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, and wherein the electrical power generator (100) is configured to output DC electrical power (136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with configuration to output DC electrical power as taught by Gao in order to power a set of DC loads within an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 17, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 12. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a rectifier electrically connected to the stationary armature winding and configured to convert AC electrical power generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, and wherein the electrical power generator is configured to output DC electrical power.
Gao discloses (Fig 1) a rectifier (116 which is connected to stator 108 which is stationary) electrically connected to the stationary armature winding (108) and configured to convert AC electrical power [0025] generated in the stationary armature winding to DC electrical power, and wherein the electrical power generator (100) is configured to output DC electrical power (136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with configuration to output DC electrical power as taught by Gao in order to power a set of DC loads within an aircraft.
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Bourgeois and Buffenbarger (US9917544B2).
Regarding Claim 9, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 1. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
Buffenbarger discloses [Col 3, Line 44-45] wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with DC power source from battery as taught by Buffenbarger in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Regarding Claim 18, Levin in view of Bourgeois discloses the electrical power generator of claim 12. Levin in view of Bourgeois does not explicitly disclose wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
Buffenbarger discloses [Col 3, Line 44-45] wherein the DC power source comprises a battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electrical power generator of Levin in view of Bourgeois with DC power source from battery as taught by Buffenbarger in order to provide DC excitation to generator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834