DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features in claims 1-14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show Figs. 15A, 15B failed to show the structural details for all reference numerals as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1925” has been used to designate both UV light and system (see Fig. 13B) Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: airflow apparatus in claims 1, 10, 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 5, 13, 19 recite a limitation “a size the vent can be adjusted”. It is unclear what the claimed “a size the vent can be adjusted” means. Does it mean the vent size can be adjusted or the size of the opening of the vent can be adjusted? It is also unclear how the size be adjusted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2007/0261263 A1) in view of Ballentine et al. (US 8,356,422 B1).
Lee discloses a drying system 10 comprising: a body 30; a body coupler 90 configured to engage a fitting 23 associated with a hydration bladder 20; an airflow apparatus 80, 170 inside the body (Fig. 7) and configured to drive air flow through the body coupler 90 into the hydration bladder 20; a power input 190; and a switch 180 operably connected to the airflow apparatus 80 (Figs. 8-10). Wherein the airflow apparatus further comprises: a heat element 170; and a fan 80. Wherein the body coupler 90 further comprises: a hooded scoop (Figs. 4-7). Wherein the body coupler 90 further comprises: a vent 100 (Fig. 7). Wherein a size the vent 90 can be adjusted (paragraph [0029]). However, Lee does not discloses the body coupler is in the body. Ballentine et al. discloses a drying system 12 comprising a body 26 and a body coupler 82, 84 in the body 26 configure to engage a fitting 16 associated with a hydration bladder 14 (Fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying system of Lee to provide the body coupler in the body of the drying system as taught by Ballentine et al. in order to form a seal inside the drying system body to enhance the pressurization and inflation of the hydration bladder.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US
2007/0261263) in view of Ballentine et al. (US 8,356,422 B1) as applied to claim 15 above, and
further in view of Stewart (US 2013/0212900 A10) and Locke et al. (US 8,591,486 B2).
The drying system of Lee as modified by Ballentine et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 20 except for wherein a light source assembly, the light source assembly further comprising: a tube; a driver; and at least one light source configured on the tube. Stewart discloses an airflow apparatus 26 comprising a UV light source assembly 74 configured in the opening of the airflow apparatus 26 (Fig. 3, paragraph [0036]). Locke et al. disclose a light source assembly comprising: a tube 148; a driver 150; and at least one UV light source 146 configured on the tube 7 (Figs. 2-3, col. 5, lines 33-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of Lee to include a light source assembly as taught by Stewart in order to remove odors and to provide the light source assembly with a tube, a driver and at least one light source configured on the tube as taught by Locke et al. in order to facilitate control the light source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14 are allowed.
Claims 5, 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for allowance of claims 1-14 is the inclusion of the limitation regarding a ganged drying system comprising a plurality of drink tube ports in claims 1, 10 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barker et al. (US 5,222,308) discloses a ganged drying system comprising a body, a plurality of body couples, airflow apparatus and power input (Fig. 1). Lozenski (US 7,430,816) discloses a ganged drying system comprising a body 12 a plurality of body couples 20, an airflow apparatus 40 and power input 46 (Figs. 3-4). Lafleur et al. (US 5,287,636) discloses a ganged drying system comprising a body 12, a plurality of body couples 22, an airflow apparatus 44, and a switch 27 (Figs. 1, 3).
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY