Detail Action
This office action is in response to the RCE filed on 3/3/2026.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, and 18-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomlin (US 10,866,792 B1) in view of Wright et al. ( US 2022/0091966 A1)
Per claim 1,
Tomlin discloses
obtain, via a user interface of a compliance checker, one or more user input indicating a compliance condition associated with source code; (c7:50-c8:67, discloses user input to set up deployment pipeline rules, where conditions are specified; C7:1-6, discloses values of parameters; c5: 15-40, discloses rules specified one or more conditions to determine if source code is erroneous)
generate, using the compliance checker in association with the indication of the compliance condition, a compliance file indicative of the compliance condition based on mapping the one or more user inputs obtained via the user interface to corresponding fields in the compliance file; (c10: 9-21, discloses rule repository storing rules. File is interpreted as stored data. See cleaning rule table including identification of cleaning rules, parameters, parameter values…. C6:60-C7:7, discloses cleaning rules set up including parameters and values of parameters which are mapped in cleaning rule table in rule repository as disclosed above.)
perform, using the compliance checker in association with the compliance file, a compliance test on the source code to generate a compliance test result; output an indication of the compliance test result; (c9: 40-55, discloses applying rules to test if source code is compliant in GUI)
and
perform an action in association with the indication of the compliance test result. (c11: 17-40, discloses addressing issue…automatically modify source code)
output an indication of the compliance test result, wherein the indication of the compliance test result includes a respective interface element for each respective compliance condition that is not satisfied (c14:14-42, disclose GUI for presenting the first and/or second issue and notification for first issue and/or second issue corresponding to respective compliance condition not satisfied. )
and wherein each respective interface element is configured to cause, in response to an interaction with the respective interface element, the compliance checker to perform an action that corresponds to the respective interface element. (continue, see addressing a first issue and/or second issue via modifying dataset and/or metadata causing the corresponding issue.)
perform, in response to an interaction with at least one of the respective interface elements, and in association with the indication of the compliance test result, an action that corresponds to the at least one of the respective interface elements.(continue from above modification corresponding first issue and/or second issue in GUI.)
Tomlin does not, however, Wright discloses
prior to deployment of the source code in a production environment ([0060], discloses performing checks based on preconfigured rules as part of deployment pipeline prior to deployment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wright into the teachings of Tomlin to include the limitation disclosed by Wright. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to ensure compliant functioning of software as suggested by Wright ([0002])
Per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the indication of the compliance test result comprises a pass indication or a fail indication. (Tomlin, c8: 48-62, discloses rule condition tested for valid/violated corresponding to pass/fail)
Per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the user interface of the compliance checker comprises an interactive interface configured to receive non-code user inputs. (Tomlin, c7:65-c8-5, discloses rules according to user inputs where the rules are not programming code or non-code.)
Per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the compliance condition is associated with a specified deployment parameter. (Tomlin, c6:60-c7:6, discloses parameters)
Per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the compliance file is further indicative of at least one additional compliance condition associated with at least one additional specified deployment parameter. (c7: discloses pipeline cleaning rule import new deployment pipeline cleaning rule.)
Per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the compliance condition is associated with a plurality of code components, and wherein the one or more processors, to perform the compliance test, are configured to determine whether the source code includes at least one code component of the plurality of code components. (Tomlin, c8: 29-45, discloses source code of a branch is broken)
Per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action, are configured to cause a display device to display a representation of the indication of the compliance test result. (Tomlin, c9: 40-55, discloses applying rules to test if source code is compliant as presented in GUI)
Per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action, are configured to modify the source code in association with the compliance condition. (Tomlin, c11: 17-40, discloses addressing issue…automatically modify source code)
Per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright discloses
wherein the compliance checker comprises an application programming interface. (Tomlin, c20:16-25, discloses method comprises API)
Per claim 11,
Tomin discloses
providing a user interface of a compliance checker; obtaining, via the user interface, one or more user input indicating a compliance condition associated with source code;( c7:50-c8:67, discloses user input to set up deployment pipeline rules, where conditions are specified; C7:1-6, discloses values of parameters)
performing, using the compliance checker in association with the compliance condition, a compliance test on the source code to generate a compliance test result; (c9: 40-55, discloses applying rules to test if source code is compliant as presented in GUI)and
presenting, via the user interface, an indication of the compliance test result. (c6: 45-52 discloses GUI for presenting issues.)
presenting, via the user interface, an indication of the compliance test result,
wherein the indication of the compliance test result includes a respective interface element for each respective compliance condition that is not satisfied (c14:14-42, disclose GUI for presenting the first and/or second issue and notification for first issue and/or second issue corresponding to respective compliance condition not satisfied. )
and wherein each respective interface element is configured to cause, in response to an interaction with the respective interface element, the compliance checker to perform an action that corresponds to the respective interface element. (continue, see addressing a first issue and/or second issue via modifying dataset and/or metadata causing the corresponding issue.)
Tomlin does not, however, Wright discloses
prior to deployment of the source code in a production environment ([0060], discloses performing checks based on preconfigured rules as part of deployment pipeline prior to deployment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wright into the teachings of Tomlin to include the limitation disclosed by Wright. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to ensure compliant functioning of software as suggested by Wright ([0002])
Per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated.
further comprising generating, using the compliance checker in association with the indication of the compliance condition, a compliance file indicative of the compliance condition. (Tomlin, c10: 9-21, discloses rule repository storing rules. File is interpreted as stored data.)
Claims 13-16 are method claims corresponding to system claims of 2, 4, 6 and 7 and are rejected for similar reason of rejections of claims 2,4,6, and 7.
Per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated.
Tomin discloses
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to perform an action and in association with the indication of the compliance test result. (Tomin, c11: 17-40, discloses addressing issue...automatically modify source code)
Tomlin does not, however, Wright discloses
prior to deployment of the source code in a production environment ([0060], discloses performing checks based on preconfigured rules as part of deployment pipeline prior to deployment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wright into the teachings of Tomlin to include the limitation disclosed by Wright. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to ensure compliant functioning of software as suggested by Wright ([0002])
Claims 19 is computer-readable medium claims corresponding to claims 3 and 10 and are rejected for similar reason.
Per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Tomlin/Wright discloses
wherein the compliance test result includes an indication of a location in the source code associated with a failed compliance condition.(Tomlin, C5:15-65, discloses flagging programming errors and automatically modify, relocate, or remove source code involving the issue.” In order to remove/modify or relocate source code involving at issue, the location of the source code must be know prior to the remove/modify or relocate of source code.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomlin (US 10,866,792 B1) in view of Wright et al. ( US 2022/0091966 A1) and further in view of Liu et al., (CN 202010737890 A)
Per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Tomin/ Wright does not disclose, however, Liu discloses
wherein the one or more processors, to determine whether the source code includes the at least one code component, are configured to determine whether the source code includes each code component of the plurality of code components. (Abstract, discloses deployment rules to include all modules to provide association among modules.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of into the teachings of Tomlin/ Wright to include the limitation disclosed by Wright/ Wright. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to provide associated modules in a software deployment via deployment rules to ensure all components are part of a deployment as suggested by Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomlin (US 10,866,792 B1).
Per claim 17,
Tomlin discloses
obtain, via a user interface of a compliance checker, one or more user input indicating compliance condition associated with source code; (c7:50-c8:67, discloses user input to set up deployment pipeline rules, where conditions are specified; C7:1-6, discloses values of parameters)
generate, using the compliance checker in association with the indication of the compliance condition, a compliance file indicative of the compliance condition based on mapping the one or more user inputs obtained via the user interface to corresponding fields in the compliance file; (c10: 9-21, discloses rule repository storing rules. File is interpreted as stored data. See cleaning rule table including identification of cleaning rules, parameters, parameter values…. C6:60-C7:7, discloses cleaning rules set up including parameters and values of parameters which are mapped in cleaning rule table in rule repository as disclosed above.)
perform, using the compliance checker in association with the compliance file, a compliance test on the source code to generate a compliance test result;(c9: 40-55, discloses applying rules to test if source code is compliant as presented in GUI)and
output an indication of the compliance test result.(c9: 40-55, discloses applying rules to test if source code is compliant as presented in GUI),
wherein the indication of the compliance test result includes a respective interface element for each respective compliance condition that is not satisfied (c14:14-42, disclose GUI for presenting the first and/or second issue and notification for first issue and/or second issue corresponding to respective compliance condition not satisfied. )
and wherein each respective interface element is configured to cause, in response to an interaction with the respective interface element, the compliance checker to perform an action that corresponds to the respective interface element. (continue, see addressing a first issue and/or second issue via modifying dataset and/or metadata causing the corresponding issue.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please refer to revised office action addressing additional limitation and argument are included in this office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]]
/PHILIP WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199