DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are independent.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The prior-filed application is U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/383,939 (filed on 11/16/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2024 and 12/13/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,861,013) (hereinafter “Edwards”).
Regarding method claim 1 and corresponding portion of machine claim 12, Edwards teaches a method of controlling a first pump in a coolant distribution unit for cooling electronic components, (Fig. 3, 4 - - coolant pump used to distribute coolant is controlled using electronic system)
the method comprising: setting a control priority to a first value indicative of a client mode in which a first local controller generates a first speed signal for the first pump in response to an instruction received from a master controller; (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - control is set for speed of pump in response to controller instruction)
determining a first interval since a last communication from the master controller; (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - period, i.e. interval, is determined)
and if the first interval exceeds a preset dead time, setting the control priority of the first local controller to a second value indicative of an autonomous mode in which the first local controller generates the first speed signal for the first pump based on one or more parameters stored in a memory of the first local controller. (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - when period, i.e. interval, expires, i.e. exceeds a preset dead time, controller automatically controls pump using speed signal, i.e. control priority is set to autonomous mode)
Regarding method claim 2, Edwards teaches generating, at the first local controller, a second speed signal based on a target speed. (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - control is set for speed of pump in response to controller instruction)
Regarding method claim 3, Edwards teaches determining that the first pump is a passive pump, and, when the first interval exceeds the preset dead time, generating, at the first local controller, a third speed signal to reduce a speed of the first pump. (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - when period, i.e. interval, expires, i.e. exceeds a preset time, controller automatically controls pump using speed signal; Col. 19 Lines 21-37 - - where pump speed is decreased, i.e. reduced)
Regarding method claim 4, Edwards teaches providing a first pump cassette, including the first local controller, the first pump, a first pump drive, and at least one peripheral electronic device. (Fig. 5A - - pump mechanism including controller, pump, drive and peripheral device, is used)
Regarding method claim 5, Edwards teaches wherein the at least one peripheral electronic device includes a fan. (Fig. 5A - - fans 510 are used)
Regarding method claim 6, Edwards teaches wherein the first pump cassette includes a first power button. (Col. 17 Lines 11-40 - - pump is turned on or off, i.e. using power button/switch)
Regarding method claim 7, Edwards teaches providing a second pump cassette including a second local controller, a second pump, and a second pump drive; receiving a power button signal indicating a depression of the first power button; generating, at the master controller, responsive to the power button signal, a first ramp instruction to increase a first speed of the first pump; sending the first ramp instruction to the first local controller; generating, at the master controller, responsive to the power button signal, a second ramp instruction to decrease a second speed of the second pump; and sending the second ramp instruction to the second local controller. (Fig. 5A - - multiple pump mechanisms can be used, including second controller/pumps 335’ connected to controllers 530 and power button)
Regarding method claim 8, Edwards teaches removing the second pump cassette while the first pump of the first pump cassette continues to operate in the autonomous mode. (Col. 9 Line 53 – Col. 10 Line 13 - - components can be removed while remaining system continues to operate)
Regarding method claim 9 and corresponding machine claim 14, Edwards teaches wherein communication between the master controller and the first local controller and the second local controller adheres to a Modbus protocol. (Col. 20 Lines 45-58 - - network communication is used, where communication includes adhering to communication protocol)
Regarding method claim 10, Edwards teaches controlling the first pump in a reservoir pump unit of a liquid to air coolant distribution unit. (Col. 5 Lines 41-61 - - liquid coolant to air cooling is used)
Regarding method claim 11 and corresponding machine claim 20, Edwards teaches setting the control priority of the first local controller to the second value indicative of the autonomous mode when an emergency loss of at least one of communication or power occurs. (Col. 16 Lines 36-59 - - control is set when loss of pump occurs)
Regarding machine claim 12, Edwards teaches a reservoir pump unit for use in a coolant distribution unit for cooling electrical components, the reservoir pump unit including a controller slot receiving a master controller, the master controller being configured for toolless removal from the controller slot; a first cassette bay receiving a first pump cassette, the first pump cassette including a first pump and a first local controller, (Fig. 5A - - multiple pump mechanisms can be used, including second controller/pumps 335’ connected to controllers 530 and power button)
where the rest correspond to method claim 1 above.
Regarding machine claim 13, Edwards teaches a second cassette bay receiving a second pump cassette, the second pump cassette including a second pump and a second local controller, wherein the first pump cassette includes a power button; and when the power button is depressed, the master controller generates a first ramp instruction to increase a speed of the first pump and a second ramp instruction to decrease a second speed of the second pump. (Fig. 5A - - multiple pump mechanisms can be used, including second controller/pumps 335’ connected to controllers 530 and power button)
Regarding machine claim 15, Edwards teaches wherein, when the first local controller is in the client mode, the first local controller receives an instruction from the master controller to implement a first of a plurality of operating modes. (Col. 6 Lines 3-27 - - pump depends on mode, i.e. multiple modes are used)
Regarding machine claim 16, Edwards teaches wherein the first pump cassette includes a locking system to engage a locking mechanism of the reservoir pump unit to selectively lock or unlock the first pump cassette relative to the reservoir pump unit. (Col. 6 Lines 3-27 - - quick connect couplings, i.e. locking/unlocking mechanisms, are used)
Regarding machine claim 17, Edwards teaches wherein the locking system is in electrical communication with the first local controller. (Col. 6 Lines 3-27 - - electrical communication is performed between mechanisms)
Regarding machine claim 18, Edwards teaches wherein the coolant distribution unit includes at least one fan. (Fig. 5A - - fans 510 are used)
Regarding machine claim 19, Edwards teaches wherein the reservoir pump unit is installed in a liquid to air coolant distribution unit including a plurality of fans. (Col. 5 Lines 41-61 - - liquid coolant to air cooling is used; Fig. 5A - - fans 510 are used)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119