Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “separator conduit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“internal means” (or “internal separation means”) produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture flowing vertically through the conduit in claims 1 and 17.
Fig. 1 discloses that the structure that correspond to “internal means” may be a spiral insert 50 in paragraph [0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 11, and 14 recite the limitation "the same".
Claims 5-6, and 10-11 recite the limitation "the top".
Claims 4, 8, and 13 recite the limitation "the range".
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cross-sectional area and dimensions" in line 2.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "internal spiral flow means" in line 1.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As regarding claims 4-5, 8, 11, 13, and 17, the word "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the word "substantially" is a required by the Applicant as part of the claimed invention or not.
Claims 18-20 depend on claim 17; and hence are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites “the vortex separation section comprising internal separation means” in line 9. It is unclear whether the “internal separation means” in line 9 is intended to be the same as the “internal means” in line 6 of claim 1, or whether these terms refer to different elements.
A similar rejection applies to claim 17.
Claims 2-16 and 18-20 depend on claims 1, 17; and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauthier et al (US 20110036752; hereinafter Gauthier).
As regarding claim 1, Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for a gas-liquid separator (figs. 2-3), adapted for separating liquid and gas in an ebullated bed reactor (1 of fig. 3) under operating conditions, the separation device comprising: a transfer conduit (31) for transferring a gas-liquid mixture stream from a lower section of an ebullated bed reactor to an upper section of the reactor, wherein the conduit is oriented vertically during operation in the reactor, the conduit having a lower opening and an upper opening, and comprising internal means to produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture flowing vertically through the conduit; a vortex separation section, located on top of and adjacent to the upper opening of the transfer conduit, the vortex separation section comprising internal separation means for separating the gas-liquid mixture stream into a liquid-rich stream and a gas-rich stream, a top plate, an outlet for the liquid-rich stream, and an outlet for the gas-rich stream; and a gas-rich stream outlet conduit located on top of and adjacent to the vortex separation section and in fluid communication with the gas-rich stream outlet of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 2, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the transfer conduit comprises lower and upper sections, the lower and upper sections being open on both ends and configured to fit together at corresponding ends to form the conduit, the upper section comprising the internal means to produce a spiral flow in a gas-liquid mixture flowing through the conduit and the lower section being configured to allow a gas-liquid mixture to flow into the lower opening and pass through the lower section into the lower end of the conduit upper section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 3, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the transfer conduit lower section is adapted to fit in corresponding openings in a flow-through pan (200) of an ebullated bed reactor (1) so that a gas-liquid mixture can be passed from the lower section of the reactor into the separation device.
As regarding claim 6, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the vortex separation section is open on the bottom, has a cross-sectional area and dimensions that are larger than the transfer conduit, is positioned over the top of the transfer conduit and extends below the top of the transfer conduit (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 7, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the vortex separation section is sized to provide a liquid flow pathway between the exterior of the conduit and the interior of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 9, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the liquid-rich stream outlet comprises the liquid flow pathway (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 10, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the gas-rich stream outlet is located at the top of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 11, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the internal separation means comprises a separator conduit extending from the top of the vortex separation section to the transfer conduit upper opening, the separator conduit being aligned with and having substantially the same cross-sectional dimensions as the gas-rich stream outlet (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 12, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the internal separation means comprises a separator conduit having a smaller cross-sectional area and dimensions than the cross-sectional area and dimensions of the transfer conduit (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 14, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the transfer conduit, the internal spiral flow means, the vortex separation section, the internal separation means, the gas-rich stream outlet, and the gas-rich stream outlet conduit are centrally aligned about the same vertical axis (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 15, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for a flow through pan gas-liquid separator (200) for an ebullated bed reactor comprising a plurality of separators (fig. 3).
As regarding claim 16, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for an ebullated bed reactor (1) comprising the flow through pan gas-liquid separator (200).
Claims 17-20 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 14-16 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US 20110036752; hereinafter Gauthier).
As regarding claim 4, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the upper and lower sections of the transfer conduit are substantially round or pipe sections having diameters in the range of about 2 to 8 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the upper and lower sections of the transfer conduit are substantially round or pipe sections having diameters in the range of about 2 to 8 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 5, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the internal means to produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture is a spiral or helical insert having a length substantially the same as the length of the transfer conduit upper section, wherein the insert is positioned within the transfer conduit upper section from the top to the bottom of the upper section and has substantially the same dimensions as the interior cross-section of the transfer conduit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the internal means to produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture is a spiral or helical insert having a length substantially the same as the length of the transfer conduit upper section, wherein the insert is positioned within the transfer conduit upper section from the top to the bottom of the upper section and has substantially the same dimensions as the interior cross-section of the transfer conduit in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Amblard et al (US 20190321753; hereinafter Amblard; helicoidal spiral 42 is positioned about upper section showed in fig. 2).
As regarding claim 8, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the vortex separation section is substantially round or a pipe section having a diameter in the range of about 4 to 12 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the vortex separation section is substantially round or a pipe section having a diameter in the range of about 4 to 12 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 13, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the internal separation means is substantially round or a pipe section having a diameter in the range of about 1 to 6 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the internal separation means is substantially round or a pipe section having a diameter in the range of about 1 to 6 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773