Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “transfer conduit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: There are inconsistencies in claim 1, all references to “conduit” should be amended to “transfer conduit.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauthier et al (US 20110036752; hereinafter Gauthier).
As regarding claim 1, Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for a gas-liquid separator (figs. 2-3), adapted for separating liquid and gas in an ebullated bed reactor (1 of fig. 3) under operating conditions, the separation device comprising: a transfer conduit (31) for transferring a gas-liquid mixture stream from a lower section of an ebullated bed reactor to an upper section of the reactor, wherein the conduit is oriented vertically during operation in the reactor, the transfer conduit having a top and a bottom, a lower opening and an upper opening, a cross-sectional area and dimensions, and comprising internal means to produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture flowing vertically through the conduit; wherein the transfer conduit comprises lower and upper sections, the lower and upper sections each having a top and a bottom and being round or pipe sections that are open on both ends and configured to fit together at corresponding ends to form the conduit, the upper section comprising the internal means to produce a spiral flow in a gas-liquid mixture flowing through the conduit and the lower section being configured to allow a gas-liquid mixture to flow into the lower opening and pass through the lower section into the lower end of the conduit upper section; wherein the internal means to produce a spiral flow in a liquid and gas mixture is a spiral or helical insert positioned within the transfer conduit upper section from the top to the bottom of the upper section and has the same dimensions as the interior cross-section of the transfer conduit; a vortex separation section, located on top of and adjacent to the upper opening of the transfer conduit, the vortex separation section having a top and a bottom and comprising internal separation means for separating the gas-liquid mixture stream into a liquid-rich stream and a gas-rich stream, a top plate, an outlet for the liquid-rich stream, and an outlet for the gas-rich stream; and a gas-rich stream outlet conduit located on top of and adjacent to the vortex separation section and in fluid communication with the gas-rich stream outlet of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 3, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the transfer conduit lower section is adapted to fit in corresponding openings in a flow-through pan (200) of an ebullated bed reactor (1) so that a gas-liquid mixture can be passed from the lower section of the reactor into the separation device.
As regarding claim 6, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the vortex separation section is open on the bottom, has a cross-sectional area and dimensions that are larger than the transfer conduit, is positioned over the top of the transfer conduit and extends below the top of the transfer conduit (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 7, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the vortex separation section is sized to provide a liquid flow pathway between the exterior of the conduit and the interior of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 9, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the liquid-rich stream outlet comprises the liquid flow pathway (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 10, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the gas-rich stream outlet is located at the top of the vortex separation section (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 11, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the internal separation means comprises a separator conduit extending from the top of the vortex separation section to the transfer conduit upper opening, the separator conduit being aligned with and having the cross-sectional dimensions of the gas-rich stream outlet (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 12, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the internal separation means comprises a separator conduit having a smaller cross-sectional area and dimensions than the cross-sectional area and dimensions of the transfer conduit (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 14, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for wherein the transfer conduit, the internal flow means to produce a spiral flow, the vortex separation section, the internal separation means, the gas-rich stream outlet, and the gas-rich stream outlet conduit are centrally aligned about a vertical axis (annotated fig. 3).
As regarding claim 15, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for a flow through pan gas-liquid separator (200) for an ebullated bed reactor comprising a plurality of gas-liquid separators (fig. 3).
As regarding claim 16, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention for an ebullated bed reactor (1) comprising the flow through pan gas-liquid separator (200).
Claims 17-20 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-16 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US 20110036752; hereinafter Gauthier).
As regarding claim 4, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the upper and lower sections of the transfer conduit are round or pipe sections having diameters of about 2 to 8 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the upper and lower sections of the transfer conduit are round or pipe sections having diameters of about 2 to 8 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 8, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the vortex separation section is round or a pipe section having a diameter of about 4 to 12 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the vortex separation section is round or a pipe section having a diameter of about 4 to 12 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 13, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the internal separation means is round or a pipe section having a diameter of about 1 to 6 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the internal separation means is round or a pipe section having a diameter of about 1 to 6 inches in order to enhance vortex separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US 20110036752; hereinafter Gauthier), as applied supra, and further in view of Amblard et al (US 20190321753; hereinafter Amblard).
As regarding claim 21, Gauthier discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gauthier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the gas-rich stream outlet conduit comprises an angular orientation relative to horizontal when the gas-liquid separator is positioned in a vertical orientation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the gas-rich stream outlet conduit comprises an angular orientation relative to horizontal when the gas-liquid separator is positioned in a vertical orientation in order to enhance gas-liquid separator performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Amblard ([0028] and 55 of figs. 2-4). Both Gauthier and Amblard are directed to cyclonic separator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 21 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773