DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman (US. Pub. No. 2019/0079176 A1; hereinafter “WEISSMAN”) in view of Jung (US. Pub. No. 2018/0054086 A1; hereinafter “JUNG”)
Regarding claim 1, WEISSMAN teaches a system (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1) comprising:
an array of antennas that are controllable to generate directed beams of radio frequency (RF) radiation (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, antenna 114, 112); and
an anchor wireless device coupled to the array of antennas (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reader 110), the anchor wireless device to:
transmit, via the array of antennas, a first wireless signal as a first directed beam (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043], beam steering pattern 400) at a first azimuth towards a first plurality of identification (ID) tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, tags 150-154), wherein the first plurality of ID tags are ambient power (AMP) devices that harvest environmental energy (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0047], power harvester); and
receive, via the array of antennas, second wireless signals from the plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reply 132, para. [0046]), each second wireless signal including a second data packet responding with the requested information for a corresponding ID tag of the plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0045]).
WEISSMAN is silent to teaching that wherein the first wireless signal includes a data packet requesting information.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG teaches a system wherein the first wireless signal includes a data packet requesting information (see JUNG, fig. 2, S230, information request signal, para. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of WEISSMAN and the teaching of JUNG in order to allow the wireless communication being decoded and recognized by the receiver (see JUNG, para. [0073-74], fig. 7, communications 780,740). Communication efficiency and power transfer efficiency are improved by allowing the transmitter and receiver both can effectively communication with each other, i.e. ID, location and configuration information (see JUNG, para. [0004])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising the plurality of ID tags, wherein each ID tag of the plurality of ID tags is to:
receive the first wireless signal (see JUNG, fig. 2, S230);
parse the data packet to determine the requested information (see JUNG, para. [0046]); and
generate a second wireless signal with the second data packet containing the requested information (see JUNG, fig. 2, S240, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising an environmental sensor coupled to each of the plurality of ID tags, and wherein the requested information comprises at least one of an ID of a respective ID tag, temperature data, humidity data, pressure data, level data, or environmental-related data received from a respective environmental sensor coupled to the respective ID tag (see WEISSMAN, para. [0045], identifier of tag).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the anchor wireless device is further to:
transmit, via the array of antennas, a plurality of first wireless signals as different directed beams at a plurality of corresponding azimuth ranges (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, 400, para. [0043]), each different directed beam being transmitted during a different scanning period (see WEISSMAN, fig. 11, 1175, beam scanning, para. [0078]); and
for each azimuth range of the plurality of corresponding azimuth ranges:
receive the second wireless signals from the plurality of ID tags located in an area activated by a corresponding directed beam of the different directed beams (see WEISSMAN, fig. 10, 1040, para. [0071]);
store IDs from data packets received within the second wireless signals (see WEISSMAN, fig. 10, 1040, para. [0071]); and
store environmental data, received within the data packets, associated with corresponding ID tags of the plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 11, 1140, para. [0076], orientation data, table).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the anchor wireless device is further to:
assign a beam index to each azimuth range of the plurality of corresponding azimuth ranges (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0026], beam identifier);
map, within a data store, each of a plurality of geographic zones to a corresponding beam index (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043]); and
store, in the data store, IDs of each of the plurality of ID tags in association with a mapping between a geographic zone and a beam index (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043], fig. 11, 1140).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the anchor wireless device is further to scan, via the array of antennas with the first wireless signal, at different time periods, also in a vertical direction to communicate with ID tags in horizontal slices of a three-dimensional region being scanned (see WEISSMAN, fig. 8, para. [0060-62]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the anchor wireless device is further to one of: transmit an energizing RF signal towards the plurality of ID tags from which the plurality of ID tags harvest energy; or cause the first wireless signal to also be the energizing RF signal (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the energizing RF signal is a millimeter wave signal (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, mmWave 552, para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first wireless signal is within a first RF band or is a continuous waveform (CW), and wherein each second wireless signal is within one of the first RF band or a second RF band (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, 130, 132, UHF, RF).
Regarding claim 10, WEISSMAN teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by an anchor wireless device using an array of antennas (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, antenna 114, 112), a first wireless signal as a first directed beam (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043], beam steering pattern 400) towards a first plurality of identification (ID) tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, tags 150-154), wherein the first plurality of ID tags are ambient power (AMP) devices that harvest environmental energy (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0047], power harvester), and
receiving, via the array of antennas, second wireless signals from the plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reply 132, para. [0046]), each second wireless signal including a second data packet responding with the requested information for a corresponding ID tag of the plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0045]).
WEISSMAN is silent to teaching that wherein the first wireless signal includes a data packet requesting information.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG teaches a method wherein the first wireless signal includes a data packet requesting information (see JUNG, fig. 2, S230, information request signal, para. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of WEISSMAN and the teaching of JUNG in order to allow the wireless communication being decoded and recognized by the receiver (see JUNG, para. [0073-74], fig. 7, communications 780,740). Communication efficiency and power transfer efficiency are improved by allowing the transmitter and receiver both can effectively communication with each other, i.e. ID, location and configuration information (see JUNG, para. [0004])
Regarding claims 11-18, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as forth above in claims 11-18, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, WEISSMAN teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first anchor wireless device using a first array of antennas (see WEISSMAN, fig. 8, tx1, 810), a first wireless signal as a first directed beam (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043], beam steering pattern 400) towards a first plurality of identification (ID) tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, tags 150-154), wherein the first plurality of ID tags are ambient power (AMP) devices that harvest environmental energy (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0047], power harvester), and
receiving, via the first array of antennas, second wireless signals from the first plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reply 132, para. [0046]), each second wireless signal including a second data packet responding with the requested information for a corresponding ID tag of the first plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0045]).;
transmitting, by a second anchor wireless device using a second array of antennas (see WEISSMAN, fig. 8, tx2, 812), a third wireless signal as a second directed beam (see WEISSMAN, fig. 4, para. [0043], beam steering pattern 400) towards a second plurality of ID tags that are co-located in a vicinity of the first plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, tags 150-154, fig. 8, tag 832), wherein the second plurality of ID tags are AMP devices that harvest energy (see WEISSMAN, fig. 5, para. [0047], power harvester), and
receiving, via the second array of antennas, second wireless signals from the second plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reply 132, para. [0046]), each second wireless signal including a fourth data packet responding with the requested information for a corresponding ID tag of the second plurality of ID tags (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, reply 132, para. [0046]).
WEISSMAN is silent to teaching that wherein the first wireless signal includes a first data packet requesting information; wherein the third wireless signal includes a third data packet requesting information.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG teaches a metho wherein the first wireless signal includes a first data packet requesting information; wherein the third wireless signal includes a third data packet requesting information (see JUNG, fig. 2, S230, information request signal, para. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of WEISSMAN and the teaching of JUNG in order to allow the wireless communication being decoded and recognized by the receiver (see JUNG, para. [0073-74], fig. 7, communications 780,740). Communication efficiency and power transfer efficiency are improved by allowing the transmitter and receiver both can effectively communication with each other, i.e. ID, location and configuration information (see JUNG, para. [0004])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the method of claim 19, deconflicting, by the first and second anchor wireless devices, a first channel over which the first wireless signal is transmitted from a second channel over which the third wireless signal is transmitted (see WEISSMAN, fig. 8, RSSI1, RSSI2, para. [0031], triangulate).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of WEISSMAN and JUNG teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the first wireless signal is within a first RF band or is a continuous waveform (CW) and the third wireless signal is within one of the first RF band or a second RF band (see WEISSMAN, fig. 1, 130, 132, UHF, RF), further comprising scanning a geographic area, by the first and second anchor wireless devices, to identify further ID tags while not double-scanning any single zone of a plurality of zones within the geographic area (see WEISSMAN, para. [0035], interlaced timing mode).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that WEISSMAN is silent to teaching the antenna array receiving the second wireless signals (backscatter signals). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. WEISSMAN teaches, fig. 1 and fig. 2, antenna array 112a,b and 212a,b, transmitting and receiving first and second wireless. In addition to antennas 112, WEISSMAN also teaches antenna 114 for beamforming. The examiner submit that WEISSMAN’s antenna 112 and 114 together reads on the claimed “array of antennas”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648