DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHERMAN (US 20210242737 - previously disclosed).
Regarding claim 1, SHERMAN discloses a rotor 14 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising:
a plurality of layers 56 forming a stack of layers 56 with each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 adjacent at least one other layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 (para [0054] and Fig. 4), each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 defining a plurality of magnet openings 50 therethrough, the plurality of magnet openings 50 aligned to form a plurality of magnet channels that extend through the rotor 14 (Fig. 4), each magnet opening 50 defined by an inner radial wall (at central body portion 78) and an outer radial wall 70 (Fig. 4), the inner radial wall of at least one of the magnet openings 50 of each layer 56 including an inner retention tab 62 that extends towards the respective outer radial wall 70 (Fig. 8); and
a magnet 48 received in each magnet channel, each magnet 48 engaged with the inner retention tabs 62 of multiple layers 56 such that the magnet 48 is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein one or more of the inner radial walls or the outer radial walls 70 include a magnet stop 94 that extends towards the opposite wall, the magnet stop 94 configured to prevent a magnet 48 passing through the magnet opening 50 from translating (radially) within the magnet opening 50 (para [0071]).
Regarding claim 3, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein an air channel of the magnet channel is disposed beyond the magnet stops 94 when the magnet 48 is received in the magnet channel (see annotated Fig. 10, below).
Regarding claim 4, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the outer radial wall 70 of at least one magnet opening 50 of the plurality of magnet openings 50 of each layer 56 includes an outer retention tab 94 that extend towards the respective inner radial wall, the outer retention tab 94 is configured to engage a magnet 48 that passes through the magnet opening 50 to mechanically retain the magnet 48 in a respective magnet channel.
Regarding claim 5, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the inner retention tab 62 extends from a point inner of the respective inner radial wall (at minimum, radially inner wrt the post 64) with a relief opening (at spoke 88) defined on either side of the inner retention tab 62 (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the magnet 48 is engaged with the inner radial walls defining the respective magnet channel receiving the magnet 48 (via tabs 62 and posts 64).
Regarding claim 7, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 includes the inner retention tab 162 in magnet openings 50 adjacent a single pole of the respective layer 56 (Fig. 12 and para [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 7 wherein the remaining magnet openings 50 of each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 define tab recesses that are configured to receive the inner retention tab 162 of other layers 56 (Fig. 13)
Regarding claim 9, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 7 wherein each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 is rotated by one or more poles from the previous layer 56 such that the inner retention tabs 162 are aligned at a predetermined number of layers 56 (Fig. 13), the predetermined number of layers 56 being a function of the number of poles of the rotor (para [0083]).
Regarding claim 10, SHERMAN discloses an electric machine comprising: a stator 12 defining a rotor cavity; and a rotor 14 according to claim 1 rotatably disposed within the rotor cavity of the stator (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, SHERMAN discloses a rotor 14 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising:
a plurality of layers 56 forming a stack of layers 56 with each layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56 adjacent at least one other layer 56 of the plurality of layers 56, each layer 56 of the stack of layers 56 defining a plurality of magnet openings 50 disposed radially about the respective layer 56 (para [0054] and Fig. 4), the magnet openings 50 of each layer 56 aligned with the magnet openings 50 of the other layers 56 of the plurality of layers 56 to define a plurality of magnet channels (Fig. 4) that extend through the rotor 14, each magnet opening 50 defined by an inner radial wall and an outer radial wall 70 opposite the inner radial wall, the plurality of magnet openings 50 including a first magnet opening 50, the inner radial wall of the first magnet opening 50 including a retention tab 62 that extends towards the outer radial wall 70 (Fig. 8); and
a magnet 48 received in a respective magnet channel , the magnet 48 engaging retention tabs 62 of respective layers 56 such that the magnet 48 is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 13, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of layers 56 includes a first layer 56, a second layer 56 in contact with the first layer 56, and a third layer 56 in contact with the second layer 56 such that the second layer 56 is disposed between the first layer 56 and the third layer 56 (Fig. 3 and 6), the second layer 56 rotated relative to the first layer 56 such that the first magnet opening 50 of the second layer 56 is out of alignment with the first magnet opening 50 of the first layer 56 (para [0058]), the third layer 56 rotated relative to the second layer 56 such that the first magnet opening 50 of the third layer 56 is out of alignment with the first magnet opening 50 of the first layer 56 and the first magnet opening 50 of the second layer 56 (para [0058] and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein engagement of the retention tabs 62 of the respective layers 56 with the magnet 48 bends the retention tabs 62 of the respective layers 56 out of plane with the rest of the respective layer 56 of the retention tab 62 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 14, wherein the retention tabs 62 are self-biased towards the plane of the respective layer 56 of the respective retention tab 62 when engaged with the magnet 48 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 16, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 14, wherein the retention tabs 62 are prebent out of plane with the rest of the respective layer 56 of the respective retention tab 62. (the tabs are prebent, as broadly claimed, by the initial insertion of the magnets. See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." See also para [0031] wherein multiple axially-arranged magnets may be placed in a single slot thus the first magnet would ‘pre-bend’ the tabs prior to insertion of the second magnet.)
Regarding claim 18, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein the magnet 48 is in contact with the inner radial wall of the plurality of layers 56 defining the respective magnet channel (via tabs 62).
Regarding claim 12, SHERMAN discloses a rotor 14 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising: a plurality of layers 56 forming a stack of layers 56, each layer 56 of the stack of layers 56 defining a plurality of magnet openings 50 disposed radially about the respective layer 56 (para [0054] and Fig. 4), the magnet openings 50 of each layer 56 aligned with the magnet openings 50 of the other layers 56 of the plurality of layers 56 to define a plurality of magnet channels (Fig. 4) that extend through the rotor, each magnet opening 50 defined by an inner radial wall and an outer radial wall 70 opposite the inner radial wall, the plurality of magnet openings 50 including a first magnet opening 50, the inner radial wall of the first magnet opening 50 including a retention tab 62 that extends towards the outer radial wall 70 (Fig. 8), wherein the plurality of layers 56 includes a first layer 56, a second layer 56 in contact with the first layer 56, and a third layer 56 in contact with the second layer 56 such that the second layer 56 is disposed between the first layer 56 and the third layer 56 (Fig. 6), the first magnet opening 50 of the first layer 56 disposed adjacent a first magnetic pole of the rotor 14, the first magnet opening 50 of the second layer 56 disposed adjacent a second magnetic pole of the rotor 14, and the first magnet opening 50 of the third layer 56 disposed adjacent a third magnetic pole of the rotor 14 (para [0059]), the first, second, and third magnetic poles disposed radially about the rotor 14 from one another (para [0058-0059]) and a magnet 48 received in a respective magnet channel, the magnet engaging retention tabs 62 of respective layers 56 such that the magnet is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel (Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHERMAN in view of TUCKER (US 20210075278 – previously disclosed).
Regarding claim 17, SHERMAN discloses the rotor according to claim 11.
However, SHERMAN does not teach each layer of the plurality of layers has a thickness in a range of 0.1 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters.
TUCKER teaches each layer of the plurality of layers has a thickness in a range of 0.1 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters (see para [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of SHERMAN with layers in the claimed range of thickness, similar to TUCKER.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to increase strength and decrease manufacturing costs of the lamination, as taught by TUCKER (see para [0039]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20090230803-A1 NAKAYAMA discloses magnet retaining tabs 8d extending from only a single pole; US-20200014260-A1 ARAI discloses alternating magnet retaining tabs.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834