DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 03/06/2026, with respect to objections to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TUCKER (US 20210075278).
Regarding claim 1, TUCKER discloses a rotor 10 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising:
a plurality of layers 22 forming a stack of layers 22 with each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 adjacent at least one other layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 (para [0030] and Figs. 3 and 6), each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 defining a plurality of magnet openings 24 therethrough, the plurality of magnet openings 24 aligned to form a plurality of magnet channels that extend through the rotor 10 (Fig. 3), each magnet opening 24 defined by an inner radial wall 96 and an outer radial wall 88, the inner radial wall 96 of at least one of the magnet openings 24 of each layer 22 including an inner retention tab 48 that extends towards the respective outer radial wall 88 (Fig. 6); and
a magnet 16 received in each magnet channel, each magnet 16 engaged with the inner retention tabs 48 of multiple layers 22 such that the magnet 16 is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel (see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 2, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein one or more of the inner radial wall 96s or the outer radial walls 88 include a magnet stop 34 that extends towards the opposite wall, the magnet stop 34 configured to prevent a magnet 16 passing through the magnet opening 24 from translating within the magnet opening 24 (para [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein an air channel of the magnet channel is disposed beyond the magnet stops 34 when the magnet 16 is received in the magnet channel (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the outer radial wall 88 of at least one magnet opening 24 of the plurality of magnet openings 24 of each layer 22 includes an outer retention tab 46 that extend towards the respective inner radial wall 96, the outer retention tab 46 is configured to engage a magnet 16 that passes through the magnet opening 24 to mechanically retain the magnet 16 in a respective magnet channel.
Regarding claim 5, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the inner retention tab 48 extends from a point inner of the respective inner radial wall 96 with a relief opening 60 defined on either side of the inner retention tab 48 (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the magnet 16 is engaged with the inner radial wall 96s defining the respective magnet channel receiving the magnet 16 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 includes the inner retention tab 48 in magnet openings adjacent a single pole of the respective layer 22 (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, TUCKER discloses a rotor with remaining magnet openings of each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 define tab recesses that are configured to receive the inner retention tab 48 of other layers 22 (Fig. 11)
Regarding claim 9, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 7 wherein each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 is rotated by one or more poles from the previous layer 22 such that the inner retention tabs 48 are aligned at a predetermined number of layers 22 (Fig. 2), the predetermined number of layers 22 being a function of the number of poles of the rotor (para [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, TUCKER discloses an electric machine comprising: a stator defining a rotor cavity; and a rotor 10 according to claim 1 rotatably disposed within the rotor cavity of the stator (see para [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, TUCKER discloses a rotor 10 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising:
a plurality of layers 22 forming a stack of layers 22 with each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 adjacent at least one other layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22, each layer 22 of the stack of layers 22 defining a plurality of magnet openings 24 disposed radially about the respective layer 22 (para [0030] and Figs. 3 and 6), the magnet openings 24 of each layer 22 aligned with the magnet openings 24 of the other layers 22 of the plurality of layers 22 to define a plurality of magnet channels (Fig. 3) that extend through the rotor 10, each magnet 16 opening 24 defined by an inner radial wall 96 and an outer radial wall 88 opposite the inner radial wall 96, the plurality of magnet openings 24 including a first magnet opening 24, the inner radial wall 96 of the first magnet opening 24 including a retention tab 48 that extends towards the outer radial wall 88 (Fig. 6); and
a magnet 16 received in a respective magnet channel , the magnet 16 engaging retention tabs 48 of respective layers 22 such that the magnet 16 is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel (see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of layers 22 includes a first layer 22, a second layer 22 in contact with the first layer 22, and a third layer 22 in contact with the second layer 22 such that the second layer 22 is disposed between the first layer 22 and the third layer 22 (Fig. 3 and 6), the second layer 22 rotated relative to the first layer 22 such that the first magnet opening 24 of the second layer 22 is out of alignment with the first magnet opening 24 of the first layer 22 (para [0035] and Fig. 3 and 6), the third layer 22 rotated relative to the second layer 22 such that the first magnet opening 24 of the third layer 22 is out of alignment with the first magnet opening 24 of the first layer 22 and the first magnet opening 24 of the second layer 22 (para [0035] Fig. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 14, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein engagement of the retention tabs 48 of the respective layers 22 with the magnet 16 bends the retention tabs 48 of the respective layers 22 out of plane with the rest of the respective layer 22 of the retention tab 48 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 14, wherein the retention tabs 48 are self-biased towards the plane of the respective layer 22 of the respective retention tab 48 when engaged with the magnet 16 (para [0054]).
Regarding claim 16, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 14, wherein the retention tabs 48 are prebent out of plane with the rest of the respective layer 22 of the respective retention tab 48. (the tabs are prebent, as broadly claimed, by the initial insertion of the magnets. See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." See also para [0031] wherein multiple axially-arranged magnets may be placed in a single slot thus the first magnet would ‘pre-bend’ the tabs prior to insertion of the second magnet.)
Regarding claim 17, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein each layer 22 of the plurality of layers 22 has a thickness in a range of 0.1 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters (see para [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, TUCKER discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein the magnet 16 is in contact with the inner radial wall 96 of the plurality of layers 22 defining the respective magnet channel (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, TUCKER discloses a rotor 10 for an electric machine, the rotor comprising: a plurality of layers 22 forming a stack of layers 22, each layer 22 of the stack of layers 22 defining a plurality of magnet openings disposed radially about the respective layer 22 (para [0030] and Figs. 3 and 6), the magnet openings of each layer 22 aligned with the magnet openings of the other layers 22 of the plurality of layers 22 to define a plurality of magnet channels (Fig. 3) that extend through the rotor, each magnet opening defined by an inner radial wall 96 and an outer radial wall 88 opposite the inner radial wall 96, the plurality of magnet openings including a first magnet opening, the inner radial wall 96 of the first magnet opening including a retention tab 48 that extends towards the outer radial wall 88 (Fig. 6), wherein the plurality of layers 22 includes a first layer 22, a second layer 22 in contact with the first layer 22, and a third layer 22 in contact with the second layer 22 such that the second layer 22 is disposed between the first layer 22 and the third layer 22 (Fig. 3 and 6), the first magnet opening 24 of the first layer 22 disposed adjacent a first magnetic pole of the rotor 10, the first magnet opening 24 of the second layer 22 disposed adjacent a second magnetic pole of the rotor 10, and the first magnet opening 24 of the third layer 22 disposed adjacent a third magnetic pole of the rotor 10 (Fig. 3 and 6), the first, second, and third magnetic poles disposed radially about the rotor 10 from one another ((Fig. 3 and 6)) and a magnet 16 received in a respective magnet channel, the magnet engaging retention tabs 48 of respective layers 22 such that the magnet is mechanically retained in the respective magnet channel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834