DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US 2024/0165914, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse (MPEP 818.01(a)) of the invention of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 05 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 16 November 2023 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “the twill pattern braided layer is formed on the stone pattern braided layer, and the UD layer is formed on the twill pattern braided layer” renders the claim indefinite, as the phrase “the twill pattern braided layer” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Claim 4 is directly dependent upon claim 3, which is directly dependent upon claim 1, wherein none of claims 1, 3, and 4 recite a “twill pattern braided layer”. As such, it is unclear whether the twill pattern braided layer constitutes one of the “multiple layers including carbon fibers” of the article defined by claim 1, or another/additional layer which is not necessarily required to include or be formed from carbon fiber.
For examination on the merits, claim 4 is interpreted in accordance with the following amendment, of which is also respectfully suggested in order to overcome the indefiniteness issue(s): “The article according to claim 3, wherein include a twill pattern braided layer
Regarding claim 10, the recitations of “the twill pattern braided layer” and “the UD layer” render the claim indefinite and are unclear for the same reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4 – the aforesaid recitations lack sufficient antecedent basis, as claim 10 is dependent upon claim 8 which is directly dependent upon claim 1, wherein none of claims 1, 8, and 10 recite “a twill pattern braided layer” or “a UD layer”.
For examination on the merits, claim 10 is interpreted in accordance with the following amendment, of which is also respectfully suggested in order to overcome the indefiniteness issue(s): “The article according to claim 8, wherein include a twill pattern braided layer and a UD layer, and the stone pattern braided layer, the twill pattern braided layer, and the UD layer are formed in order from an inner side toward an outer side.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikuchi (JP 2019-194018; “Kikuchi”) (original copy and machine translation provided herewith; translation text and original copy Figures relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi discloses a (tubular) lens barrel (article) for an optical device, e.g. camera, said barrel formed from a multilayer material comprising at least one carbon fiber layer [p. 1 ln. 13-14, 55-60; p. 2 ln. 30-34]. In a particular embodiment [Figs. 7A-7C; p. 6 ln. 56–p. 7 ln. 15], the multilayer material includes an inner braided carbon fiber layer (5) and an outer braided carbon fiber layer (3), with a unidirectional (UD) carbon fiber prepreg sheet layer (4) interposed therebetween [Figs. 7A-7C; p. 6 ln. 56–p. 7 ln. 15, in accordance with p. 2 ln. 41-58; p. 3 ln. 1-7, 17-19, 39-41; p. 4 ln. 39-45].
The outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) is formed from continuous carbon fibers which extend in left and right directions at oblique angles (non-right angles) relative to the axial direction of the tube (i.e. relative to imaginary line extending parallel to axial direction of tube) and are successively braided in an up-down direction while crossing under/over each other [Fig. 7A; p. 2 ln. 42-47, 54-58; p. 3 ln. 1-7; p. 6 ln. 56–p. 7 ln. 15; p. 8 ln. 59–p. 9 ln. 40]. To illustrate/support the foregoing and the basis of the rejection as a whole, the aforecited Figs. 7A-7C of Kikuchi are reproduced hereinbelow, captioned as Figure 1; an enlarged view of Fig. 7A annotated by the Examiner to include the imaginary line extending in the axial direction is shown thereafter, captioned as Figure 2.
Figure 1. Tubular lens barrel and multilayer material of Kikuchi
Figure 2. Enlarged Fig. 7A, with overlaid axial direction line
Kikuchi discloses – depicted in [Fig. 5A] as angle (23) formed between axial direction line and fibers extending in left direction – that the braid angles (23) of the inner and outer braided layers are predetermined/set in consideration of the desired strength and rigidity of the lens barrel [p. 8 ln. 59-60]. As an example, the braid angle (23) of the inner layer (5) may range from 3-30°, and the braid angle of the outer layer (3) may range from 5-60° [p. 9 ln. 1-4]. As shown above in Figure 2, the braid angle of the outer layer is approximated to be about 45°.
The lens barrel of Kikuchi, set forth/cited above, anticipates the article defined by each and every limitation of claim 1.
The multilayer material (forming the lens barrel) comprising inner (5) and outer (3) braided carbon fiber layers corresponds to the claimed multiple layers including carbon fibers. Further, the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) corresponds to the claimed wherein at least one of the multiple layers is a stone pattern braided layer.
Specifically, it is noted that Applicant’s specification: (i) indicates that the term “stone pattern braided layer” is “a layer with a structure that the carbon fibers continuously extending in left and right oblique directions are successively braided in an up-down direction while crossing each other” [0022]; (ii) defines the “braiding angle” as “an angle formed between the tube axial direction of the tubular laminate and the braided carbon fibers” [0045] (same as Kikuchi); (iii) indicates that said braiding angle of the stone pattern braided layer is preferably 45° or more [0088]; and (iv) indicates that the angle formed between the fibers extending in the left and right oblique directions (the angle relative to each other) may be, but is not limited to, 90° [0024].
In view of the aforesaid (i)-(iv), it is clearly evident that the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) of the multilayer material of Kikuchi – set forth/cited above, reproduced in Figure 1, and shown with annotations in Figure 2 – corresponds to (anticipates) the claimed stone pattern braided layer under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof in accordance with Applicant’s specification (see MPEP 2111; MPEP 2111.01(II)).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the article defined by claim 3 – the multilayer material of Kikuchi set forth/cited above includes unidirectional carbon fiber layer (4) (at least one of the multiple layers is a Uni Direction (UD) layer) interposed between the inner and outer braided carbon fiber layers.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Kikuchi discloses that the inner and outer braided carbon fiber layers may be pre-impregnated or coated with a resin [p. 2 ln. 41-47], the interposed UD carbon fiber layer (4) may be pre-impregnated or coated with said resin [p. 2 ln. 48-52], or the resin may be applied to the multilayer material by coating or spraying [p. 4 ln. 1-6], wherein the multilayer material is heated/pressurized, and optionally pressed, to melt and solidify the resin to fix the layers and thereby form the lens barrel [p. 3 ln. 55–p. 4 ln. 9]. Kikuchi discloses that the aforesaid resin is, inter alia a thermoplastic polycarbonate resin [p. 4 ln. 11-15] (see MPEP 2131.02(II)). The polycarbonate resin for solidification/fixing of the layers corresponds to “wherein the multiple layers include resin, and the resin is polycarbonate” as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated) and corresponds to “wherein at least one of the multiple layers is made of Carbon Fiber Reinforced Thermo-Plastics (CFRTP)” as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated herein by reference. In view thereof, Kikuchi discloses that the aforesaid solidification of the resin results in an ultrathin resin layer (41) present on the outer surface of the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3), said layer (41) defined by the resin utilized to impregnate/coat the braided carbon fiber layer, e.g. thermoplastic polycarbonate [p. 7 ln. 9-15; Fig. 7C]. Further, Kikuchi discloses that the ultrathin resin layer (41) is preferably covered by an additional resin layer (40), of which is preferably formed from the same resin utilized for impregnation/coating, e.g. thermoplastic polycarbonate [p. 7 ln. 9-51]. The additional resin layer (40) corresponds to the claimed “covering film layer formed as an outermost layer”.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the article defined by claim 8 – the lens barrel of Kikuchi is tubular.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity). In view thereof, Kikuchi discloses that the lens barrel formed from the multilayer material (incorporated herein from above) constitutes a casing that holds (therein) the optical elements, such as the lens and mirror, of an optical apparatus such as a camera [p. 2 ln. 30-39]. The lens barrel of the camera, which constitutes a casing of said camera and is formed from the multilayer material set forth/cited above and incorporated herein, and which contains parts, e.g. optical elements such as the lens and mirror therein, anticipates the casing/article defined by each and every limitation of claim 11. Specifically, the camera corresponds to “A device”; the lens barrel formed from the multilayer material corresponds to the “as a casing, an article comprising: multiple layers including carbon fibers, wherein at least one of the multiple layers is a stone pattern braided layer”; and the optical elements (e.g. lens and mirror) contained within the lens barrel correspond to the “parts covered with the casing”.
Regarding claim 12, the rejections of claim 1 and claim 11 are incorporated herein by reference – the camera of Kikuchi set forth/cited in the rejection of claim 11 anticipates the optical device defined by each and every limitation of claim 12. Specifically, the camera corresponds to “An optical device comprising an optical element and a structural member arranged to hold the optical element”; the lens barrel formed from the multilayer material corresponds to the “structural member arranged to hold the optical element” and “as the structural member, an article comprising: multiple layers including carbon fibers, wherein at least one of the multiple layers is a stone pattern braided layer”; and the optical elements (e.g. mirror/lens) correspond to “an optical element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Regarding claim 2, as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 under 102(a)(1), the multilayer material of Kikuchi [Figs. 7A-7C], in addition to the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) (stone pattern braided layer), includes inner braided carbon fiber layer (5).
Kikuchi (i) does not explicitly require, or imply, that the inner braided carbon fiber layer (5) must be identical to the outer layer, or must exhibit the same braiding pattern as the outer layer. In view thereof, Kikuchi (ii) teaches that the braid angle of the inner layer (5) maybe different from that of the outer layer [p. 8 ln. 59–p. 9 ln. 4], and (iii) discloses/teaches that the inner or outer braided layer may be a twill pattern braided layer [Figs. 1A-1B, 4A-4B, 5A-5B].
That is, Kikuchi (iv) teaches that the outer (3) and inner (5) braided layers may be interchanged such that the braided layer (5) constitutes the outer layer and braided layer (3) constitutes the inner layer [Figs. 4B, 5B], wherein (v) as depicted [Figs. 4A, 5A] the braided layer (5) is a twill pattern braided layer – i.e. is formed from left and right continuously extending fibers which define an oblique angle relative to one another, which define an oblique braid angle relative to the axial direction of the tube, and which are braided in an up-down direction wherein one left extending fiber crosses over two right extending fibers and then under two right extending fibers (i.e. under-2-over-2 pattern) and vice versa in the opposite directional relationship [Figs. 1A, 3A, 4A, 5A]. The aforecited twill pattern braided layer of Kikuchi is in accordance with the claimed twill pattern braided layer in view of Applicant’s specification [Fig. 2A – (23), Fig. 7A; 0023].
In view of the totality of (i)-(v), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer material of Kikuchi [Figs. 7A-7C] (as set forth/cited and relied upon above in the rejection of claim 1) by utilizing the twill pattern braid to form the inner braided carbon fiber layer (5), as the aforesaid twill pattern braid would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kikuchi as suitable for the intended use as the inner braided carbon fiber layer (5) (as well as suitable for the outer layer, or both the inner and outer layer) (MPEP 2144.07), and/or in order to achieve the predictable result of a multilayer material exhibiting a different degree(s) of strength and/or rigidity when formed into the lens barrel, e.g. based on a predetermined, desired or requisite degree(s).
In accordance with the aforesaid modification, the multilayer material of Kikuchi (hereinafter “modified Kikuchi”) would have comprised, in the following stated order from the outer surface of the tubular barrel to the inner surface thereof: the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) [Fig. 7A] (stone pattern braided layer), the UD carbon fiber sheet layer (4), and an inner carbon fiber braided layer (5) exhibiting the twill pattern braid [Figs. 1A, 3A, 4A, 5A]. The aforesaid inner layer (5) reads on the claimed “wherein at least one of the multiple layers is a twill pattern braided layer” in accordance with Applicant’s spec as cited hereinabove. The multilayer material of modified Kikuchi reads on the article defined by claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi as applied to claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above under 102(a)(1), the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity). In accordance therewith, the multilayer material (tubular) of “modified Kikuchi” includes the outer carbon fiber (stone pattern) braided layer (3), inner carbon fiber (twill pattern) braided layer (5), and the UD caron fiber sheet layer (4) interposed therebetween, i.e. 5/4/3 from the inner circumferential surface to the outer circumferential surface of the tube.
In view of the totality of the foregoing, Kikuchi teaches that the UD layer (4) may define the innermost surface of the tubular multilayer material [p. 3 ln. 5-7, 32-37] (inner braided layer may be omitted, or inner braided layer may be interchanged with UD layer); and teaches that the outer (3) and inner (5) braided layers may be directly adjacent one another, with additional braided layers (i.e. layers (3) or (5)) formed on the outer periphery of the outer braided layer (3) [p. 3 ln. 5-7, 32-37].
As such, based on the combined totality of the foregoing inclusive of (i)-(v) set forth above at ¶32-33 and incorporated herein as stated, Kikuchi reasonably teaches – that is, reasonably encompasses multilayer material embodiments where – the UD layer (4) can define the innermost surface of the tubular multilayer material; the outer (stone pattern) braided layer (3) may define the outer(most) surface layer, or one or more “outer” layer(s) which is disposed radially outward from the center of the tube and on or at least over said UD layer defining the innermost surface; and that the inner (twill pattern) braided layer (5) may define the intermediate layer positioned between the innermost and outermost layer and is suitably disposed directly adjacent (i.e. in direct contact with) the outer (3) layer.
Simply put, the teachings of Kikuchi reasonably encompass, and thereby render prima facie obvious, the embodiment(s) of the multilayer material which exhibits the layer sequence 4/5/3, from the inner circumferential surface to the outer circumference surface of the tube, i.e. UD carbon fiber sheet layer (4), (twill pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (5), and (stone pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (3). The aforesaid 4/5/3 layer sequence of the multilayer material of modified Kikuchi corresponds to the article defined by claim 4 in accordance with the interpretation thereof set forth in the rejection of claim 4 under 112(b) above – that is, corresponds to “The article according to claim 3, wherein the multiple layers include a twill pattern braided layer formed on the stone pattern braided layer, and the UD layer is formed on the twill pattern braided layer”.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi as applied to claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection claim 8 above under 102(a)(1), and as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, Kikuchi discloses that the braid angle of the outer layer (3) (stone pattern braided layer) suitably ranges from 5-60° (¶17 above), and as shown in Figure 2, the braid angle of the outer layer (3) of the multilayer material/lens barrel [Figs. 7A-7C] is approximately 45°. Also stated above, the braid angle disclosed by Kikuchi is identical to the claimed “braiding angle” in view of Applicant’s spec (¶17, 20 above).
Given that Kikuchi teaches that the braid angle of the outer layer may range up to 60°, and teaches that the braid angle affects the strength and rigidity of the lens barrel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have routinely increased or decreased the braid angle of the outer braided carbon fiber layer (3) of the multilayer material [Figs. 7A-7C] in order to have optimized the rigidity and/or strength of the barrel, thereby necessarily resulting in the braid angle of the outer layer (3) being varied over the range of, inter alia 45° to 60° which overlaps with, and thereby renders prima facie obvious the claimed range of 54° or more (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Applicant is respectfully directed to MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) and (II)(B), which indicate that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation – the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages. A change in form, proportions, or degree ‘will not sustain a patent’ – it is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi as applied to claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, further in view of Yamamoto et al. (JP 2012-032745; “Yamamoto”) (original copy and machine translation provided herewith; translation text relied upon).
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, the rejection of claim 2 and the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above are incorporated herein by reference (not repeated).
As set forth above/incorporated herein, in totality, Kikuchi teaches that the UD caron fiber sheet layer (4), in the alternative to defining the intermediate layer interposed between the (stone pattern) braided layer (3) and (twill pattern) braided layer (5), may define the innermost layer or may be omitted, such that the multilayer material may be composed of the (stone pattern) braided carbon layer (3) and the (twill pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (5), wherein layer (3) may define the inner surface of the tube or layer (5) may define the inner surface of the tube (specifically discloses as positionally interchangeable). That is, Kikuchi reasonably encompasses embodiments of the multilayer material forming the tubular lens barrel exhibiting the following layer sequence, from the inner circumferential surface of the tube to the outer circumferential surface: (stone pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (3)/(twill pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (5), i.e. 3/5.
Kikuchi recognizes that it was known in the prior art to form one or more outer layers, or the outermost circumferential surface layer, of lens barrels for cameras – formed from multilayer unidirectional carbon fiber prepreg sheets – from a unidirectional carbon fiber prepreg sheet [p. 1 ln. 26-53]. However, the use of multiple UD carbon fiber sheets layered atop one another (i.e. sans braided/woven layers) and laminated/cured via thermosetting resin, can result in strength reduction due to increased numbers of seams located along the axial length of the barrel, as well as an increase in overall weight of barrel [p. 1 ln. 44-53]. As is clear from the cited disclosure/teachings of Kikuchi in the rejections above and incorporated herein, Kikuchi solves the strength reduction problem and reduces the weight of the lens barrel through the use of the aforecited braided layers in the multilayer material, which is impregnated or coated with a thermoplastic such as polycarbonate and subsequently cured to form the solidified barrel.
In view thereof, Kikuchi explicitly teaches that additional carbon fiber layers, e.g. braided carbon fiber layers, may be formed on the outer circumferential surface layer of the lens barrel (defined by a braided layer) [p. 3 ln. 36-37].
As such, Kikuchi is silent regarding a UD carbon fiber sheet layer defining the outer/outermost circumferential surface layer of the tubular multilayer material forming the lens barrel, i.e. silent regarding a UD carbon fiber layer (4) being disposed on the outer surface of the foregoing multilayer material composed of, from inner to outer surface: (stone pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (3)/(twill pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (5).
Yamamoto, directed to lens barrels formed from a multilayer laminate comprising multiple layers of UD carbon fiber prepreg sheets overlaid and laminated to one another, teaches that the outermost circumferential surface layer of the lens barrel is suitably a UD carbon fiber sheet wherein the carbon fibers thereof are aligned in the circumferential direction of the tubular barrel (as opposed to aligned in the axial direction of the barrel) [0001-0002, 0005, 0011-0012, 0015, 0029]. Yamamoto teaches that suitably, the UD carbon fiber sheet whose fibers are aligned in the circumferential direction of the barrel and defining the outermost surface layer of the barrel (hereinafter “UD CF circumferential layer”), may be the only layer of the multilayer laminate whose fibers are aligned in the circumferential direction [0012 – (4)]. Yamamoto teaches that the impregnating resin for at least one sheet is suitably a thermoplastic [0012 – (10-11)]. The UD CF circumferential layer imparts vertical crack resistance to the lens barrel [0010, 0013, 0036, 0050].
Kikuchi and Yamamoto each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer material of modified Kikuchi (set forth hereinabove) by utilizing a UD carbon fiber prepreg sheet, with the fibers thereof oriented circumferentially around the lens barrel (UD CF circumferential layer), as the outermost circumferential surface layer of the material, in order to increased the vertical crack resistance of the lens barrel. The multilayer material of modified Kikuchi resultant from the aforesaid modification would have comprised the following layers in the order stated, from the inner circumferential surface of the tubular barrel to the outer circumferential surface: (stone pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (3)/(twill pattern) braided carbon fiber layer (5)/UD CF circumferential layer (4). The multilayer material of modified Kikuchi corresponds to the article defined by claim 10 in accordance with the interpretation thereof set forth in the rejection of claim 10 under 112(b) above – that is, corresponds to “The article according to claim 8, wherein the multiple layers include a twill pattern braided layer and a UD layer, and the stone pattern braided layer, the twill pattern braided layer, and the UD layer are formed in order from an inner side toward an outer side”.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
US 2011/0039047 to Carson et al. – discloses braided composite tubing including multiple layers comprising braided carbon fibers, the layers being braided at different angles relative to one another [Abstract; Figs. 4-6; 0013, 0016, 0035, 0076]
US 5,304,421 to Lamy et al. – discloses a frame component for spectacles formed from fiber-reinforced resin comprising a tubular braid formed from continuous carbon fibers braided at angles relative to one another of 15° to 45° [Abstract; Fig. 1; col. 2 ln. 3-30, 53-61; col. 3 ln. 16-38]
US 4,847,063 to Smith – discloses a method of forming hollow carbon-based composites around an axis of symmetry, wherein multiple plies of carbon fibers are braided over the surface of a mandrel, followed by impregnation of the multiple braided plies with resin and curing thereof [Abstract; Figure; cols. 1-3]
US 2022/0270780 to Yi et al. – discloses multilayer composite laminates including multiple layers of woven carbon fibers and curable resin stacked and laminated to one another [Abstract; Figs. 1, 6; 0003-0007, 0045-0046]
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Aaron Austin can be reached at (571) 272-8935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782