DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on June 10, 2026
Claims 1,3-13,16-18,20-26,29 and 30 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-13,16-18,20-26,29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US: 2019/0141550 A1) in view of MESHKATI et al. (US: 2015/0358959 A1).
As per Claim 1Yi teaches a method for wireless communication by a network node, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a latency report indicating a first latency value associated with a first uplink packet of a first set of uplink packets associated with a medium access control (MAC) transport block (TB) (Paragraph 0100, 0121, 0128 When the UE performs UL packet delay measurement per resource block (RB), 0128, the UE calculates UL packet delays for each PDCP SDU by recording the time duration between a time point when a PDCP SDU arrives at PDCP entity (e.g., PDCP upper SAP) and a time point when the first part of this PDCP SDU is delivered to lower layer (e.g., MAC entity) for each PDCP SDU. Then the UE sums up UL packet delays of all PDCP SDUs from each RB (i.e., RB 1˜RB 10 in FIG. 13) during the measurement period, and obtains UL packet delay of each RB by dividing the summing result by the number of PDCP SDUs from each RB. Assuming that values of the obtained UL packet delays of each of RB 1˜RB.. ), a second latency value associated with a second uplink packet of the first set of uplink packets, and a number of uplink packets lost in the first set of uplink packets (Paragraph 0128, 0138 After performing UL packet delay/discard rate measurements, the UE constructs a UL Packet Measurement Report per LCP by including at least one set of followings: i) an ID of a LCP, ii) an UL packet delay of the LCP and/or an UL packet discard rate of the LCP. );
transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more
transmission parameters associated with a second set of uplink packets in accordance with receiving the latency report (Paragraph 0143, 0151-0153, 0160 the UE constructs a UL Packet Measurement Report including IDs of LCGs (i.e., an ID of LCG1 and an ID of LCG 3) and UL packet delays of each LCG (190 for LCG 1 and 150 for LCG 3), as shown in FIG. 15. the UE calculates an average of UL packet delay of each LCG using UL packet delays of LCPs. For each LCG, the UE sums up all the UL packet delays of LCPs having RBs whose UL packet delay is above a threshold during the measurement period, and obtains an UL packet delay of the same LCG by dividing the summing result by the number of LCPs with same LCG); and
receiving, from UE, the second set of uplink packets in accordance with the adjustment to the one or more transmission parameters (Paragraph 0138, 0154 After performing UL packet measurements, the UE constructs a UL Packet Measurement Report per LCG by including at least one set of followings: i) an ID of a LCG and ii) an UL packet delay of the LCG, and/or an UL packet discard rate of the LCG. UL packet discard rate measurement per LCG, the UE calculates an average of UL packet discard rate of each LCG using UL packet discard rates of RBs whose UL packet discard rate is above a threshold. For each LCG, the UE sums up all UL packet discard rates of RBs with same LCG whose UL packet discard rate is above a threshold during the measurement period, and obtains an UL packet discard rate of the same LCG by dividing the summing result by the number of RBs with the same LCG).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
2. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 3 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a message indicating a latency report configuration, wherein: the latency report is received based on transmitting the message (Paragraph 0084, 0085, 0104 the UE to report an UL packet delay measurement and an UL packet discard rate measurement per QCI to the eNB. Packet Delay in DL per QCI refers to packet delay for DRBs. The objective of this measurement is to measure L2 Packet Delay for operations and maintenance (OAM) performance observability or for QoS verification of MDT. For arrival of packets the reference point is PDCP upper service access point (SAP). For successful reception the reference point is MAC lower SAP. The Detailed Definition and explanations of the Packet Delay in DL per QCI can be found in Math FIG. 1 MDT measurements may include packet delay measurement, packet discard rate measurement, and packet loss rate measurement.).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 4 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 3, wherein: the latency report configuration indicates a periodicity of the latency report; and the latency report configuration is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message or a quality of service (QoS) configuration message (Paragraph 0105, 0123 the UE receives a message (e.g., a RRC signal, a PDCP control PDU, a MAC control element, or a PHY signal) which requests UL Packet Measurement Report, or ii) if UL packet delay of a PDCP SDU is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined), or iii) if UL packet delay of a RB is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined), or iv) if UL packet discard rate of a RB is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined). UL Packet Measurement Report by the eNB by receiving an RRC message with MDT measurement configuration which may include a measurement period and a reporting unit. ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 5 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 4, wherein: the first latency value is a first average latency associated with a group of initial uplink packets over a previous period of time; and the second latency value is a second average latency associated with a group of last uplink packets over the previous period of time (Paragraph0123, 0133 the UE calculates UL packet delays for each PDCP SDU by recording the time duration between a time point when a PDCP SDU arrives at PDCP entity (e.g., PDCP upper SAP) and a time point when the first part of this PDCP SDU is delivered to lower layer (e.g., MAC entity) for each PDCP SDU. ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 6 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the latency report configuration is an on-demand request for the latency report (Paragraph 0102, 0114 the UE to report an UL packet delay measurement and an UL packet discard rate measurement per QCI to the eNB. Therefore, new criteria of reporting the UL packet delay measurement and the UL packet discard measurement needs to be defined. ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 7 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the one or more transmissionparameters comprise one or more of: a grant size of the second set of uplink packets; a periodicity of the second set of uplink packets; a timing of the second set of uplink packets; a grant associated with the second set of uplink packets from a configured grant to a dynamic grant; or a logical channel configuration (Paragraph 0005, 0069 the amount of resources to grant to each terminal in future subframes, information about the buffer situation is useful, a data size, and hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ)-related information. In addition, the eNB transmits UL scheduling information of UL data to a corresponding UE so as to inform the UE of a time/frequency domain which may be used by the UE, coding, a data size, and HARQ-related information.).
As per Claim 8 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a session management function (SMF), a message requesting an update to QoS characteristics in accordance with receiving the latency report (Paragraph 0037, 0081 FIG. 2B, an eNodeB 20 provides end points of a user plane and a control plane to the UE 10. MME/SAE gateway 30 provides an end point of a session and mobility management function for UE 10. The eNodeB and MME/SAE gateway may be connected via an S1 interface. wireless mobile networks quality of user experience changes dynamically and depends on large variety of factors. Because of that mobile operators are willing to timely and effectively evaluate provided Quality of Service (QoS) in their networks.).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 9 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising, in accordance with receiving the latency report: adjusting a QoS codec, dynamically enabling and/or disabling one or more component carriers, adjusting a radio bearer mapping, adapting radio access network (RAN) resources, enabling or disabling packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication, adjusting a carrier group mapping, moving a quality of service (QoS) flow to a different slice, updating a UE route selection policy (URSP), and/or updating the URSP for one slice of a group of slices (Paragraph 0054, 0059, 0085 FIG. 6 is a conceptual diagram for a PDCP entity architecture. The objective of this measurement is to measure L2 Packet Delay for operations and maintenance (OAM) performance observability or for QoS verification of MDT. For arrival of packets the reference point is PDCP upper service access point (SAP). FIG. 6 represents one possible structure for the PDCP sublayer, but it should not restrict implementation. Each RB (i.e. DRB and SRB, except for SRBO) is associated with one PDCP entity. Each PDCP entity is associated with one or two (one for each direction) RLC entities depending on the RB characteristic. A packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer performs a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information for efficient transmission ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 10 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the latency report is received in a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) control protocol data unit (PDU), a radio link control (RLC) PDU, a radio resource configuration (RRC) message, a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) control PDU, or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) (Paragraph 0116, 0117, 0121 the UE calculates UL packet delays for each PDCP SDU by recording the time duration between a time point when a PDCP SDU arrives at PDCP entity (e.g., PDCP upper SAP) and a time point when the first part of this PDCP SDU is delivered to lower layer (e.g., MAC entity) for each PDCP SDU. Then the UE sums up UL packet delays of all PDCP SDUs from a RB during a measurement period, and obtains UL packet delay of the RB by dividing the summing result by the number of PDCP SDUs from the RB. ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 11 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the latency report is associated with: quality of service (QoS) flow or a group of QoS flows at a bearer level, a specific radio bearer, a specific logical channel, and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) set type (Paragraph 0092, 0146, a Quality of Service (QoS) level for a radio bearer so that the radio bearers with the same QCI would be treated in a similar way regardless of manufacturers/operators. As logical channels with same priority based on the QoS of the radio bearers can be grouped in to same LCG, by reporting the UL packet measurements (e.g. UL packet delay measurement and UL packet discard rate measurement) per LCG, the UE can report UL packet measurements more efficiently).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 12 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the latency report includes a QoS flow identifier (QFI) (Paragraph 0092, 0094 QoS Class Identifier (QCI). QCI defines a Quality of Service (QoS) level for a radio bearer so that the radio bearers with the same QCI would be treated in a similar way regardless of manufacturers/operators. Standardized characteristics associated with standardized QCI values are specified. The characteristics describe the packet forwarding treatment that a service data flow (SDF) aggregate receives edge-to-edge between the UE ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
As per Claim 13 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the latency report includes one or more bits indicated parameters associated with the first set of uplink packets (Paragraph 0096, the pre-configuration of node specific parameters for each QCI. The goal of standardizing a QCI with corresponding characteristics is to ensure that applications/services mapped to that QCI receive the same minimum level of QoS in multi-vendor network deployments and in case of roaming. ).
Yi does not explicitly disclose latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters
However, MESHKATI from an analogous art similarly teaches latency value, transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating an adjustment to one or more transmission parameters ( Paragraph 0026, 0035, 0049, 0094 For example, This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, where femto node 104 provides coverage area 110, adjusting RF parameters based on measured capabilities of femto node 106 allows femto node 104 to effectively shrink its coverage area to coverage area 132, which causes device 124 to communicate with femto node 106.. example, parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters for the various femto nodes and communicate the adjusted RF parameters to the femto nodes. The femto nodes can receive the RF parameters and accordingly adjust RF parameters based on those received. A threshold value, e.g., backhaul latency measurement threshold value (first threshold value), the backhaul condition associated with backhaul error rate may be identified when the backhaul error rate is above a threshold value, e.g., backhaul error rate threshold value (second threshold value), and/or the backhaul condition associated with jitter value may be identified when the jitter value is above a threshold value, e.g., jitter threshold value (third threshold value). In an additional or optional aspect, any combination of the three backhaul conditions and/or threshold values may be used for identifying the backhaul condition at the femto node. For example, if backhaul latency measurements increase (e.g., higher latency measurement values or above the first threshold value));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yi to include the teaching of MESHKATI so the parameter adjusting component 212 can adjust RF parameters 220 of femto node 202, such as transmission power. (See MESHKATI Paragraph 0045).
14-15. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 16 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of uplink packets and the second set of uplink packets are protocol data unit (PDU) packets or belong to specific PDU sets (Paragraph 0065, 0123 For each measurement period, the UE may transmit an UL Packet Measurement Report per RB, i) if the UE receives a message (e.g., a RRC signal, a PDCP control PDU, a MAC control element, or a PHY signal) which requests UL Packet Measurement Report, or ii) if UL packet delay of a PDCP SDU is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined), or iii) if UL packet delay of a RB is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined), or iv) if UL packet discard rate of a RB is above a threshold (received by RRC signal or pre-defined). ).
As per Claim 17 Yi - MESHKATI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first uplink packet is an initial packet in the MAC TB and the second uplink packet is a final packet in the MAC TB or a quality of service (QoS) flow of a plurality of QoS flows associated with the MAC TB (Paragraph 0123, 0128 the UE may transmit an UL Packet Measurement Report per RB, i) if the UE receives a message (e.g., a RRC signal, a PDCP control PDU, a MAC control element, or a PHY signal) which requests UL Packet Measurement Report, or ii) if UL packet delay of a PDCP SDU is above a threshold).
Claims 18– 30 are an apparatus claims corresponding to the method claims 1 – 17 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 – 17. Claims 18 – 30 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1 – 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463